Reviews and Ratings for Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZSF Carson Flipper 3.875" Bead Blast Combo Tanto Blade, Desert Tan GFN Handles

Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZSF Carson Flipper 3.875" Bead Blast Combo Tanto Blade, Desert Tan GFN Handlesrated 4.500 stars out of 5 (14 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZSF Carson Flipper 3.875 inch Bead Blast Combo Tanto Blade, Desert Tan GFN Handles

 

Price: $56.95

Save $33.04 (37%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZSF Carson Flipper 3.875" Bead Blast Combo Tanto Blade, Desert Tan GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Old Vet
Ohio
Sep 12, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath, None
Exceptional value
I have the "OPERATION IRAQI FREEDOM" logo version of this beast and I want to keep i for my grandson. I like the heft of this knife and use the new one as my everyday carry knife. It works hard all day and handles anything I throw at it.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZSF Carson Flipper 3.875" Bead Blast Combo Tanto Blade, Desert Tan GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jsoc 001
KCMO
Dec 30, 2009
Pros: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Workhorse !
This knife is a real hoss. Great lock up and smooth opening. Not real thrilled about the extra lock, but I'll live with it. Great knife for the money.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZSF Carson Flipper 3.875" Bead Blast Combo Tanto Blade, Desert Tan GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rich
Columbus, Ohio
Aug 29, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
One touch Knife
I use this as my go-to knife. It is big. If you are looking for a hide-away, little cutie, look elsewhere. This is a strong cutter. Easily clears thin brush and slices rope like nothing else. I reshaped the cutting edge to my liking, but this is a fast opening and solid unit.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZSF Carson Flipper 3.875" Bead Blast Combo Tanto Blade, Desert Tan GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Justanotherleatherneck
Overseas
May 04, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Blade of choice
This blade has served me well on deployments. It became my choice blade, I even traded my other knives away for dip. Fits on web gear easily with attached clips, easy to get to places on chest, and you don't have to worry about crew chiefs getting you for blades (fixed blades have been known to cut their owners in a rough landing). The dam thing is so strong, we used it as an extra step once, jammed it into the all. I was only worried someone would steal it before we got back down. I highly recommend this knife.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZSF Carson Flipper 3.875" Bead Blast Combo Tanto Blade, Desert Tan GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jonas
Australia
Sep 07, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Type, Handle Material, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
Excellent value
I'm intending to use this folder as my new camper and outdoor knife when going walkabout. My old folders (a $10 admittedly shonky chinese number) lock mechanism failed, so I was looking for something a little bit more secure, so that was my primary concern since the old one almost took a finger off as it failed. After some abusive testing with this knife (chopping heavily into some wood) I don't think I have to worry about that with this one. It feels very sturdy and the lawk functionality works pretty well even though I'm a leftie. I'm pretty happy with the steel (for the price) as well and it seems to hold its edge reasonably well. I've cut some paper and cardboard and done some (admittedly feeble) woodwork with it and the factory sharpening lasted quite a while before I had to sharpen it. I won't be doing too much of that with this blade, the tanto blade is poorly suited for such. I like the heft and how easy it opens. Mind you, it's quite big for a folder and looks quite intimidating; if that's a pro or a con is up to the user, but I like the look if it. The pocket clip leaves quite a bit of the knife visible in the pocket however and is unfortunately very stiff, so I've ordered a deep carry titanium clip for it.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZSF Carson Flipper 3.875" Bead Blast Combo Tanto Blade, Desert Tan GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Salcha
kandahar
Dec 19, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Feel, None
good knife
....had mine for a couple years. holds an edge, easy to dis-assemble/clean after deployment. the divots in the handle tend to collect dust-sand-mud...I run mine thru a dishwasher whenever I get stateside, just use q-tips out here in the sand. does cut thru nylon webbing, cardboard and can punch thru light metal....I like the tanto tip....good carry knife....but not light
Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZSF Carson Flipper 3.875" Bead Blast Combo Tanto Blade, Desert Tan GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott A.
trenton, nc
Mar 29, 2012
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None
real solid and strong knife
i really like tantos, if you switch the pocket clip to tip up carry when you pull it out of your pocket catch the fliper on your pocket and boom it is ready for action
Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZSF Carson Flipper 3.875" Bead Blast Combo Tanto Blade, Desert Tan GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
James
Elgin, Il
Feb 24, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
great self defens design
I've had this knife over a year maybe two, I don't keep track of stuff like that. However, since I bought it it has been in my left pocket. I have a Glock on my right hip or a Kahr in my right pocket, so as my back up weapon i trust it completely, but, most of all is the 'flippers' which is the only knife I've seen with finger guards on both sides. Thus it presents some protection from an adversary, but more importantly they prevent my fingers from slipping forward on a stab. But even more importantly ( I carry it blade pointing up and the blade to my rear). When I draw it from my pocket I hook the flipper on my pocket and the knife is opened. Thus I can bring it into service very quickly. I'm not a great fan of Aus8 but I can keep it sharp. I'd prefer a harder steel like Maxamet or s110. It's an attractive knife, and when it's open it has the shape of a shark, The clip works very well, the lockup is tight. Mine shows no sign of rust and as understand it the Aus8 shouldn't rust.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZSF Carson Flipper 3.875" Bead Blast Combo Tanto Blade, Desert Tan GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Daedalus
Fl
Jul 08, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Weight
Great Carrier/ Tactical Folder
I just got the product in the mail a couple hours ago. I have only put it down to write this quick review. The blade is strong and sharp out of the box, able to shave and cut through all the materials I put it against. The AutoLAWKS feature was something I was unfamiliar with in practicing, but was prepared for with this knife. I literally had to think about how I would engage the AutoLAWKS feature on the knife before I go it. Now, just a few hours of practice later, I have gotten pretty comfortable with the feature, though some with sensitive appendages would not like this feature at all. Only worry: the blade thumb lock LOCKED UP when it got a tiny bit dirty. Like the rifle that bears its name, these M16 are very tight knives that require cleaning pehaps more so than other knives. But when you take care of it, it will take care of you.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZSF Carson Flipper 3.875" Bead Blast Combo Tanto Blade, Desert Tan GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
John Z
port norris, nj
May 11, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
excellent knife
i like everything about this knife except for the serrated edge and it is not made in america. the over all performance of it is great
Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZSF Carson Flipper 3.875" Bead Blast Combo Tanto Blade, Desert Tan GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Daedalus
Fl
Nov 06, 2012
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Material, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, None
One year down... Many more to go!
I wrote an initial, out-of-the-box review about a year and a half ago on this folder. I'm back to give some more insight after a little more than a year of carrying it. On that, wherever I've been allowed to carry it, I have. It has been my EDC blade since I've acquired it. The knife doesn't sit very low in the pocket (it actually sticks out a bit), but it is comfortable to carry. That being said, pocket clips are extremely strong, and practically never catch on anything. Versatility and ability to handle a variety of tasks is good, everything from cutting open boxes and processing food, to knife fighting and minor bushcraft chores. The weight does give it some more capability, but some shorter or smaller individuals may find it to be too big. Sharpness wasn't a problem until I did sharpen it... the "razor" style grind (very steep on one side, very shallow on the other) makes it a little difficult to sharpen. However, it still can be kept to a "sharp enough" edge. Serrations are excellent, the best I've ever seen on a folding knife; still sharp after a year of hard use. Blade material allows for some rusting to occur, at least in my environment, so keep clean and oiled. After a break-in period, no more blade-lock hang ups, the AutoLAWKS system is one that I like, and I recommend that other knife makers put on their folders. Like all dangerous things, it takes practice to learn, but it is no slower than any other liner lock after said practice. Carson Flipper opening devices allow for multiple ways of opening the knife in hand, out-of-pocket, or even upside down in hand. Handle will take some scaring (if you care about its appearance) but those are just badges of honor on a knife, right? IN SUMMARY, I would (and have) trust my life to this folder. Are there more expensive, more high quality knives out there? Yes. Does this knife need some TLC and practice? Yes. But FOR THE MONEY, I can't think of a better tactical folder. An all around good, cheap and very usable buy for the civilian sheepdog, LEO or Military member.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZSF Carson Flipper 3.875" Bead Blast Combo Tanto Blade, Desert Tan GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chris R
oregon
Aug 22, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: Weight, None
HONKER OF A KNIFE
Bought it on a whim, looking for a self-defense knife. Not usually my type of knife but it looked neat, great blade design, positive lock up with no blade play. Pocket clip is ambi-dex, blade is thick. The dual flippers help the blade swing out smooth, but get in the way when open if you like to put your thumb on the back side of the blade when cutting or doing detail work. Fits the mold of a fighting knife, no doubt, but is large and the flippers get snagged if carried in the pocket for EDC. The instructions in the box state that the knife should not be carried in the pocket. While drawing or inserting the knife into the pocket the flippers get hung up ind the pocket edge and acually open the knife ,and if you are unaware you may stick your hand in and find a partially opened blade. I tried it and it can happen. But for a military/fighting knife it does a great job.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZSF Carson Flipper 3.875" Bead Blast Combo Tanto Blade, Desert Tan GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jesse
Brighton, Mi
Mar 03, 2010
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None
Awesome deal on a great knife.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZSF Carson Flipper 3.875" Bead Blast Combo Tanto Blade, Desert Tan GFN Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
John
Minnesota
Apr 02, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, None
Cons: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight
OK! Not great, not bad
First thing I noticed was how unbalanced the knife was when opened, the blade weighs at least double the handle! I feel like it would be awkward to wield in a stressful emergency situation and prefer my Spyderco knives for EDC use instead. Not necessarily a bad knife, just not the one for me. Also the edge is sharpened on only one side, not sure what kind of steel was used for the blade. For the cost, it is a desirable knife for my collection.