Reviews and Ratings for Columbia River CRKT Carson M4-02S Assisted 3.25" Plain Blade, Stag Handles

Columbia River CRKT Carson M4-02S Assisted 3.25" Plain Blade, Stag Handlesrated 3.458 stars out of 5 (24 reviews)
3.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
4
3 star
6
2 star
3
1 star
3
Columbia River CRKT Carson M4-02S Assisted 3.25 inch Plain Blade, Stag Handles

 

Price: $56.95

Save $33.04 (37%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Columbia River CRKT Carson M4-02S Assisted 3.25" Plain Blade, Stag Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
"Old Marine"
Gresham, Oregon
Oct 22, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
I found it!
This is the EDC I have been looking for in a tactical knife with assited opening that doesn't look like a tactical knife. A sturdy well built knife that looks good with stag handles and satin stainless steel bolsters. Take the clip off and it's small enough to carry in a pocket but has a 3.25 blade.With a Lawks saftey it's like a small fixed blade! Not as sharp as I wanted so I ran it through my recently purchased Edgecraft Sportsman sharpner and it's ready to go. Good job CRKT!
Columbia River CRKT Carson M4-02S Assisted 3.25" Plain Blade, Stag Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
William
Keene, California
Apr 28, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Beautiful Construction
Great size, small but feels great in the hand. It's a shame the auto assist opening doesn't work all that well but still a great pocket knife. I am not a fan of the pocket clip but this one feels great in the hand and wasn't worth removing. Good Value
Columbia River CRKT Carson M4-02S Assisted 3.25" Plain Blade, Stag Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ivan I.
Philadelphia
Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Perfect EDC
I purchased this knife before and the only reason I needed a new one is because my backpack was stolen and this was one of the items inside. CRKT's "Outburst" assisted opening technology is simple and works. It is easy to open, lock, use, unlock, and fold all with one hand. The blade comes from the factory quite sharp and holds an edge fairly well and, from my previous experience with this knife, I can tell you that it resharpens nicely. It is a solid, well built tool and the stag handles are handsome and enhance the knife's grip. It may take you a bit of practice, and the knife may feel a bit stiff at first - especially when engaging the lock - but you will get the swing of it and soon it will be second nature. The knife locks up tight - no wiggle - and when the lock's engaged - it's as good as a fixed blade. I purchased it here because the Knife Center is an authorized CRKT distributor and while you might find this knife cheaper on eBay or somewhere else, beware - you might end up with a poorly constructed knock-off. CRKT warrants their knives for life...as long as they are real...and the only way to guarantee that is to purchase the knife from an authorized distributor.
Columbia River CRKT Carson M4-02S Assisted 3.25" Plain Blade, Stag Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mel Whitworth
League City, TX
May 18, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Another awesome knife!! Very pleased
I carry it when I wear jeans
Columbia River CRKT Carson M4-02S Assisted 3.25" Plain Blade, Stag Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mel Whitworth
League City, TX
May 23, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None
Love the knife
Hunting and general use..Great carry knife..Looks awesome!
Columbia River CRKT Carson M4-02S Assisted 3.25" Plain Blade, Stag Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Denis T
Canada
Dec 23, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
Amazing pocket knife
That was the knife I was searching for ! Great and usefull design. Small pocket size with thick blade. adjustable one hand opening. The strength is amazing for a Pocket knife that small. Use it for 2 years now, it always follow me outside in the rough wilderness for fishing and hunting. Smaller than my Katz Cheetah folding knife it replaced it most of the time. One oil drop on the axis once in a while and its ready to work again smoothly. Strong enough to pry small crate covers also.
Columbia River CRKT Carson M4-02S Assisted 3.25" Plain Blade, Stag Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Md
NC
Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great knife
This was a gift for my husband who has owned other Columbia River knives. He really likes that he can open with one hand when he is working. The stag handle is beautiful in person.
Columbia River CRKT Carson M4-02S Assisted 3.25" Plain Blade, Stag Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim D
Erie Pa
Jan 12, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great knife!
Great knife no problems at all. Opens with just a flick of the thumb. Love the stag handles and very sharp.Great knife will be in my pocket always.Great value will purchase another. TD.
Columbia River CRKT Carson M4-02S Assisted 3.25" Plain Blade, Stag Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Vincenzo
Belgium
Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: Overall Quality, None
Nice little EDC that requires a bit of care.
Spring-assisted blade flies open very nicely with little effort (after a bit of use) and the knife generally feels great in the hand. A word of caution for the screws: a few of them fell out very early (critically, one of the screws holding the bolsters) and I had to superglue them. All is fine after that but I kind of resent the fact that I can not take the knife apart anymore. Love the shape of the blade.
Columbia River CRKT Carson M4-02S Assisted 3.25" Plain Blade, Stag Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
John M
Trego, Montana
Apr 16, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great Everyday Carry
Great all around everyday carry, however not without problems. First week the tiny screws holding the stag handles on, fell out. Manufacturer should use LockTite or some equivalent. Can't believe that's not an automatic knowing CRKT
Columbia River CRKT Carson M4-02S Assisted 3.25" Plain Blade, Stag Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mm
Boston
Nov 02, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
really like it
It took me a while to get the hang of opening it. The key is following the instructions to flick it like you are shooting a marble (as directionally counterintuitive as that may seem). It is a great looking knife, feels real comfortable in the hand. Only thing I do not like about this knife is the clip. The end of the clip seems kind of sharp, I keep scratching my hand on the end of the clip hanging outside of my pocket.
Columbia River CRKT Carson M4-02S Assisted 3.25" Plain Blade, Stag Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Vincenzo
Belgium
Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: Overall Quality, None
Nice little EDC that requires a bit of care.
Spring-assisted blade flies open very nicely with little effort (after a bit of use) and the knife generally feels great in the hand. A word of caution for the screws: a few of them fell out very early (critically, one of the screws holding the bolsters) and I had to superglue them. All is fine after that but I kind of resent the fact that I can not take the knife apart anymore. Love the shape of the blade.
Columbia River CRKT Carson M4-02S Assisted 3.25" Plain Blade, Stag Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Marc
hawaii
Dec 19, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use
nice knife but have a few issues
I like the knife, the only issue I have is it is hard to close. the locking bar/lever should be raised allowing a little more metal to grab with your thumb allowing easier closing with one hand. Other than that it is an awesome looking knife.
Columbia River CRKT Carson M4-02S Assisted 3.25" Plain Blade, Stag Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Randy B
Durham, NC
Apr 19, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Slight disappointment
Looks food. Assisted open doesn't open the blade all of he way. Perhaps it will work better after more use.
Columbia River CRKT Carson M4-02S Assisted 3.25" Plain Blade, Stag Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Cody
Grand Blanc, MI
Dec 30, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, None
Not too shaby
Not a bad knife. I had read the reviews of this knife and was a little concerned when I ordered it but its an okay knife. It dose take a minute to get used to how you open it but you'll get the hang of it after a while. Mine seems to be fine, nothing special but I'm happy with it.
Columbia River CRKT Carson M4-02S Assisted 3.25" Plain Blade, Stag Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jim Bowie
Virginia
Sep 21, 2020
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Very Pretty but terrible open assist
Out of box, very nice looking. Good attention to detail. Well made and sharp. BUT like other reviews impossible to open with one hand assist mechanism. Spring too tight or not machined properly. Very disappointed with an otherwise great looking knife.
Columbia River CRKT Carson M4-02S Assisted 3.25" Plain Blade, Stag Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Marco
Firenze
May 18, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
OK...
Had no problems opening this knife like the other reviewers. You have to push the thumb stud straight up in line with the handle, opposed to out like most other knives. The assisted opening mechanism is extremely fast and strong, however it is so strong it eventually loosened up the scales. Also, the grind was uneven on my knife.
Columbia River CRKT Carson M4-02S Assisted 3.25" Plain Blade, Stag Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
John Doe
Tulsa, OK
Oct 22, 2010
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality
Columbia River Carson M4-02S Assisted 3.75" Plain Blade, Stag Handles
I sent it back. Only fully opens about half the time. Liner lock was difficult to release. Over priced for its general quality.
Columbia River CRKT Carson M4-02S Assisted 3.25" Plain Blade, Stag Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Jim
New Mexico
Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, None
Beautiful knife design, very hard to open
I purchased this knife as an every day carry (edc) because of its classic looks and assisted opening ability. The knife delivers on design, material quality and craftsmanship, but the assisted opening system is very poor. Very hard to open. If I had not discarded the box and receipt I would return the knife. I will say the locking mechanism is top notch and a great design.
Columbia River CRKT Carson M4-02S Assisted 3.25" Plain Blade, Stag Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Lora
Des Moines
Mar 29, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Weight, Pocket Clip
Looks great, but stag is a drag
Pick this knife up to add to the EDC collection, also because I loved the stag look and solid appearance as a folder. Am a long time fan of CRKT. The good: the look is everything I could have asked for, beautiful; assist works great; lock works great; hand feel is excellent (though a little heavier than most of my EDC). It's a tough knife. The bad: the clip, here's why, obviously the stag handle is going to have irregularities, but the handle IS carved out a bit under the clip to afford AN ATTEMPT to clip it. However, they left tiny protrusions right around the clip opening. Besides being a stiff clip, there is no way it will not "grab" jeans material and refuse to slide in (and if I ever got it clipped I'm sure I'd never get it out). I went through the reviews again and noticed what my eyes didn't see the first time, several references of using the knife as a pocket knife or in a gear bag/backpack. To me the knife is heavy and bulky enough that I don't want it as a pocket knife, that's why I got it with a clip. So, I like the knife, but probably need to take off the clip and Dremel down the burrs. It's just odd because, like I said, CRKT had already obviously carved out a recess for the clip, they just left these obstructive burrs right under the stiff end of the clip. I did call Knife Center, but obviously they are not going to look for a different replacement with these specifics (not unreasonable), so I'm left to making the fix myself. Overall, I'd give the knife itself a 4 for quality and look, but I'm choosing a 2, because without the clip ready (out of the box), the functionality of a clip knife is significantly lacking.
Columbia River CRKT Carson M4-02S Assisted 3.25" Plain Blade, Stag Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Efahl
SoCal
Oct 20, 2010
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Handle Material
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Pretty, but assist is poorly designed
Blade looks good and is fairly sharp out of the box. Stag scales fit ok, there is a bit of a gap on the tail end on one side. Major problem: the assist mechanism sucks. There is huge drag on the spring (or maybe the cam geometry is wrong), but it is impossible to open one handed. I have adjusted the spring in and out, so that it has a different attack point on the cam, but to no avail. No matter where the spring hits the cam, it is a two hand job to pry it open. (I've opened and closed it maybe 80 times now, playing with the spring adjustment, no changes in stiffness.) I'm going to pull the assist spring out altogether and see how I like it.
Columbia River CRKT Carson M4-02S Assisted 3.25" Plain Blade, Stag Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Eric F
SoCal
Nov 16, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Pretty, but useless
This thing is lovely to look at, but the opening mechanism is seriously flawed. I could not open it at all to begin, had to use a tool to pry it open the first couple of times, then got the proper tool, disassembled the spring (which appears to be set too deeply into the handle) and reworked it. Now I can open it with two hands, but it's still a chore. Pretty pathetic quality control for such a nice looking piece.
Columbia River CRKT Carson M4-02S Assisted 3.25" Plain Blade, Stag Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Miguel
California
Nov 19, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality
Thumb stud broke after 2 months of light use
Used it for a seasonal job for light cutting when needed. It's a beautiful knife but I am very disappointed with it. I do not recommend this knife
Columbia River CRKT Carson M4-02S Assisted 3.25" Plain Blade, Stag Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Eric F
SoCal
Nov 16, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Pretty, but useless