Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle

Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handlerated 4.483 stars out of 5 (89 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
54
4 star
29
3 star
3
2 star
1
1 star
2
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2 inch Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle

 

Price: $38.95

Save $26.04 (40%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Seaeagle
Republic of Ireland
Mar 20, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Superb Quality, Competitive Price!
I am a collector and am very particular about a knife being a good example of what it claims to be! The knife met all my expectations and consequently I have no criticisms about it!
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brad P.
Indianapolis, IN
Jan 10, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Love this knife
A friend saw my knife and liked it, so I ordered him one for Christmas. He was quite surprised and happy.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill
Springfield, IL
Mar 28, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Kobun Tanto
Great lightweight knife with excellent feel and a rugged and useful sheaf.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ssg T, J W
Ghazni, Afghanistan-
Apr 30, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Cold Steel Kobun review-
I am an Infantry Soldier currently stationed in Afghanistan. I needed a fixed blade knife for a back up as we do NOT carry bayonets anymore. Most of the fixed blades out there are novelty and nor meant for real combat use. The Cold Steel Kobun is a hard duty, no frills, nothing fancy fixed tanto knife. Not to big, not too small. Not too heavy and not too expensive. I have a small team of PSD Soldiers and we guard a LTC. We are sometimes in close quarters where we are greatly outnumbered. The visible knife lets them know that serious injury will be inflicted regardless of outcome. Most trained personnel know this. The Kobun is a GREAT knife for our application. So much so that I ordered 7 of them. One for each one of my team-
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kurt H.
Largo, Fl
Oct 11, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Just Right
This knife was just what I was looking for and then some. Thin and light weight with a great feel in the hand, razor sharp Out of The Box! I find myself grabbing for this little baby whenever I'm in need of a quick blade for around-the-house type chores. I find this will fit just about anywhere you would want to put it, with or without the sheath. I liked it so much, I went ahead and bought 2 more! (great value for the money) Chalk up another 5 stars for Cold Steel!!
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jonathan
Spring,Texas
Mar 09, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
EVERYTHING THE DOCTOR ORDERED
I purchased the Kobun after some extensive searching for a serious boot knife I could wear everyday. The knife is everything I wanted and more. Its light enough that it doesn't bother me to wear for 8-10 hours. Yet its also strong and has extremely sharp right out of the box. The handle while thinner than I am used to for a blade this size, has an awesome grip and the knife's slimness helps even more with concealment. Whether I strap it to my leg or lash it inside a cowboy boot, it stays put, and stays concealed. I'm recommending this to my buddies.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eric
KY
Aug 14, 2019
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
I don’t know what to put here but it’s good
I use it for cutting and carving I’ve had it for 9 years and it still looks like it did when I got it I love it’s over all build I can be hard to get out of the sheath but it could be counted as a safety it won’t fall out at least
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jennifer
Fruita, Co
Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Great Knife!
For the money this is a really great knife. The profile is slim which makes it the perfect boot knife m
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
A
MI
Mar 23, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Nice knife, great price.
Nice knife. The handle might feel a little thin, but overall I really like this knife. The sheath seems to be okay, you could use paracord and make some belt loops if the clip doesn't work right for you. But for the money, this is a great knife. If you want something bigger, go for the Master Tanto; if you want something cheaper, go for the Tanto Lite model.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Slash
Virginia
Dec 28, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None
Great Lightweight Knife
Great for slashing bashing burning and flashing
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Timmy C
Louisiana
Nov 26, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish
Cons: None
really good value
This knife is great. And the sheath is good too too all around self defense knife.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Woodsman Lt
somewhere in WV
Feb 09, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
to big for a boot Knive to small for edc
It came razor sharp but kinda useless just in my collection
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sean B.
Sterling Alaska
Aug 04, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
A great addition to the Cold Steel Tanto line
This knife is an exceptional value! Being made of AUS8& with a great handle material, is it thin, yes both the handle&the blade are. Are they to thin NO! They made it specifically this way and it is very comfortable to wear&to handle. The sheath is not that bad but does have a plastic boot/belt clip molded in but there's more than 1way to remedy this. Mine fits perfectly in the sheath. Came sharp&ready for action. Is it as nice as both of my Recons Aus8/&San Mai no but the price is no where near them also but is a steal for such a knife as this is!! And for those that aren't afraid to try&no how to, this does throw exceptionally well! If anyone knows of a better deal/brand/price please let us all know. You will not be sorry if you purchase this knife$$.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stu
El Paso, TX
Jul 22, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great knife for the money!
This is a great knife for the money. The handle is ergonomic and it takes a fine edge. I really did not mind the sheath, as the knife fits into the sheath with a positive retention, with a dull 'click'. I recommend the knife overall.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ronald D
Colorado
Sep 02, 2019
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great all around small knife
My kobun is about a year old now..it is used for about everything a smaller blade would be used for- whittling, cutting meat, kitchen use... the steel and tempering are excellent for my uses. A touch-up on ceramic stick (cuz I wanted to, not because it was needed) is all Ive done to it and it holds an edge. The chisel point takes a little getting used to, and it sails right thru meat and veggies. I had been eye-balling this blade for several years and finally sprung for it when they were on sale. Altho not a hunting knife, it is easily right up there with my Buck 119. Would buy again. The kraton rubber grip, ummm not so much but on a blade this size and intended or likely uses just fine.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Martin F
Brainerd, Minnesota
Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Quality Knife Means Business
I have recently received this knife to use primarily as a boot knife, motorcycling.. It clips comfortably inside my 8" Bates MC boot... I wish it was more secure on the boot, I would not want to pull up the sheath as I unleashed this knife. The blade is "shaving sharp" out of the box. I demonstrated that on my arm to a friend. The handle has good texture and is strong. The blade point is a perfect design and shape should piercing ever become necessary. The blade is thick on the back and strong.. While carrying it concealed, and hoping to never have to use it other than for utility, I have shown it to friends that are unfamiliar with Cold Steel, a nice knife to "show off". I will also carry this knife inside my vest, clipped onto a heavy suspender. The holes along the sheath would make lashing convenient.. A great knife for the money, the design feels good in the hand.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Efrain G.
Ponce, PR
Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Tanto boot knife
This knife is more than I had hoped for. It size is perfect for concealment. Very sharp blade. I do not regret buying this knife, excellent quality.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kw
Alaska
Oct 08, 2011
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Best boot knife ever
This knife is an exceptional deal. Small, light, and razor sharp out of the box. I intend to put this blade to the test.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Clou
France, Paris
Mar 24, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
very nice, sharp
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Malcom V
Cranebrook,
Feb 28, 2012
Pros: Weight, Finish, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
value!!
can not go past this knife! sharp out of box and cops my abuse.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
American Chopper
Kansas City, MO
Dec 19, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
fantastic blade
I love everything about this knife. I love the balance, it feels very lively in the hand. It's very light so it doesn't cause fatigue when carrying it. The sheath is great, very strong and holds the knife well. The handle is probably the best part. It's very thin and easy to conceal but extremely comfortable. You can't go wrong with this knife.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
The Gun&Knife Kook
Wyoming
Apr 25, 2012
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Huge quality, small price
Great for personal defense or opening the mail. I still can't believe Cold Steel produces this quality at this price point! Buy two of 'em
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Risingsun350
Raleigh, NC
Mar 03, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Awesome Tanto Boot/CQB knife
Extremely lite weight knife, very sharp, awesome... in love with this knife... i have several and have given them out as gifts...friends love it too. Its a little hard right now to find a business that has it in stock but besides that... its a great knife, a MUST HAVE!
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Billy W.
Memphis, TN
Dec 12, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Awesome for the price!
Cold Steel you did it again.This knife is AWESOME. Right out of the box the knife is Razor sharp. The sheath is made out of Kydex and is made perfect with a strong sturdy clip.The knife is lightweight and you forget it is even there. The Knife may seem to have a small finger guard, but the handle is great and you wont have to worry about your hand riding up the blade. I recommend this knife to anyone who wants a nice knife and is on a budget.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Naed
Texas
Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Kobun
This is an excellent utility knife and I've owned multiple kobuns in the past. I've used this knife as a kitchen knife to chop meat and peel fruit, as a camping knife and utility knife, even as a thrower with excellent balance. I'm a huge fan of the recon tanto but its size makes it unsuitable for every day carry. Thats where the kobun comes in. I can legally carry it on my belt whenever i need to have a bigger knife on my person. Can't go wrong with this one.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
1911Fanatic45
Oakland, CA
Jan 30, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
High Value Tactical
Very light and fast. Also a good A**hole deterrent.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ethan
Minneapolis
Mar 12, 2013
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Top Value
It's a good all-around knife. I'm frankly, quite stunned at the quality level for the money. This is an outstanding knife for what it costs. Don't be misguided by my claims of value, however. ..that doesn't mean this is a cheap knife. It's not ...the materials are quite good and will render years of reliable service. The knife came relatively sharp and takes an edge fairly easy. If you're a japanese sword enthusiast, this knife won't replace a hand-made japanese knife with wooden sheath and all the accoutrements. However, if you like the design in general, it would made a great everyday work knife. I hesitate to call this an EDC knife only because of it's size. Plus, the definition of an EDC knife depends entirely on your line of work. If your line of work is "soldier", or perhaps "construction worker"...no it's not excessive at all. If you're a business executive, you might want to consider a nice folding knife from somewhere else. For defense purposes: the sheath is very thin and clips nicely in the small of the back. the handle is relatively thin also, so it makes carrying a breeze. If a slightly thicker handle is required, it can always be wrapped with ito or de-cored paracord.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vince M
New Castle, PA
Jul 13, 2011
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Buy
One of the greatest boot-knives I've ever bought. Bought one previous from Cold Steel, then from Knifecenter: Just as good. Super-sharp.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin Phill
Teeds Grove, Iowa
Feb 07, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Looking for a good knife
I do martial arts and there are formes we do with knives and I was looking for a good one to use.This knife was just what I was looking for well balanced and the handle has excellent grip. I would recommend this knife to any martial artist or anyone who is looking for a good quality knife.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charles H.
Mason, Tn.
Jan 11, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Love it!
Cold Steel definitely has a winner with the Kobun. The beauty of this blade just touches all the right buttons in me. Im a blade guy and i appreciate a well designed knife. This thing has it all in spades! Good steel, lightweight,good belly on the blade,good handle, great sheath etc........
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Isaiah
denver
Jun 08, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
best boot knife
i bought this knife for my boss (he did a custom lime green powder coat job on my bike) we took a good look at it was beautiful, light weight and super concealable the blade shaved the hair off my arm right out of the box. i will be buying one for myself to keep in my jacket
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bb
TN
May 19, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Great light weight fixed blade
This knife is super sharp from the box. It is also well balanced it you can't tell from the picture but in the center of the handle it swells and tapers towards the back and towards the handle which makes it easier to grip the thin handle. The only down side to this knife is the sheath but for the price I can't complain after it works. This would be a good boot knife or back up knife it is just a little too thin for me if I where going into battle. All around this great for the money.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
The Duke Of Windsor
Philadelphia PA, USA
Nov 29, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great at what it is: a BOOT knife.
This is an excellent knife and a nearly perfect example of it's type (a boot knife) whose purpose some reviewers seem to have overlooked. "It's slim". Yes, because it is to be concealed in your footwear. "The belt clip is backwards". No, it's not, since it's not a belt clip: this goes inside your boot in which case it faces the "right" direction. "Not combat ready". Sure, because we're not all Army rangers dropping into active war zones. Basically, you'll get a great knife with a sturdy sheath for a little over 30$: get one and enjoy it for what it is.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rod
Guatemala
Oct 07, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
EXCELLENT Tanto!
I love this knife! I collect swords and my favorites are my Japanese swords. This Tanto looks very traditional and modern at the same time. It's look is authentic to japanese style and it's feel and sheath are modern. Weight and sharpness is great! I have absolutely nothing negative to say about this knife!! I'm thinking of buying another one.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rashmi
Jayanagar, Bangalore,
May 29, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great
Light weight, very well balanced. Blade length is ideal for almost any purpose.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Knifeenthusiast
Somewhere in Tx
Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
great knife
I just got this knife and it made a great first impression the knife came wicked sharp and shaved paper easily. The Kobun feels nice in my small hand. the finish gives the knife an elegant look. the sheath is also nice and is easy to attach. Kudos to Coldsteel
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jesse
California
May 13, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Get it
This thing is insane. It would appear rather thin on the website but in reality is a huge chunk of metal. Very thick. Sheath retention is great. The handle is rather basic, nothing to special but not terrible either. The guard is basically nonexistent so if you plan on using this for self defense, which I dont know why you would because its 40 dollars, it's probably not the best idea. It would do some damage but again shouldnt be a go to. Was somewhat skeptical of Aus8 on a fixed blade but man is this thing tough. I went ham on some tin cans and not a single chip and slight if any loss of sharpness. As I said the blade is extremely thick and being a tanto point it is great at what it should do. However with the tiny guard it's a double edged sword type of deal. Highly recommend.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Al Smiff
Melbourne Australia
Mar 19, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Finish
must have big boots
This knife is a bargain for the price. My first cold steel Tanto and I love it...better quality than I had expected. Its probably WAY too big for a boot knife for me, but maybe in a field military setting it is well suited.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ops1
richmond,va
Feb 05, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
know your equip
this is lite boot knife not a combat knife.this knife is not ment to be carried into a war zone with the sheath it comes with.this is a very sturdy blade and i have the orig. model of this knife and cant wait to get this new model.when you buy a knife buy 1 suited to your needs and know what its limitations and functions are.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Oakland Park
Aug 01, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Finish, None
Cold Steel Kobun Boot Knife
The product was described as a light weight boot knife and that was exactly what it was. The knife was light, thin, and very sharp. It did what a knife is suppose to do without the bulk. There is nothing negative that I can observe, but if I have to be critical I would say that the hole at the end of the handle is not necessary due to the firm and excellent grip of the knife.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bear
brunswick ga
Nov 16, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
anuther good back up by cold steel
good light knife that ya can stach in a gear box or dump bag
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Makv
Denver,CO
Jan 09, 2011
Pros: Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
excelent size and design.
Excellent size and design for a backup knife. A great value for a Cold Steel knife and after 5 previous models this one will be just as valued.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Erik
KS
Jan 12, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great knife
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Crazyjoe
Lake Wallenpaupak ,Pa.
May 04, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
LOVE IT
right outta the box I coulda' shaved with it.and as a back-up boot knife,its perfectally balanced,(and since I also am able to throw just abnout alla my knives,S-Fk,V-42,13"bowie,S&w H.R.T boot knife,to name a few)One just rember that any knife thats worth its weight in steel SHOULD be used for what its made for ...Nuff Said!
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marcus
WV
Mar 13, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Best buy for the Money!!
I use this knife as one of my everyday carry blades. Its steal is excellent for the money and is a absolute razor. Anyone who likes the tanto design will like this blade. Just be careful of the length when you carry in certain municipalities. Be safe!
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brandon Cr
Tucson, az
Dec 16, 2016
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Material, Materials, Blade Sharpness
Great knives
I keep them for my collection. The style is great
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike A
miami,fla
Mar 30, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
gtreat gaurdian
I love edge weapons one more to my collection.this knife is the best I've had for the price.sharpnes Was good but I got more out of it.you can shave with it now.I have it concealed with me on my waist all day It's very comfortable.please don't try this of your not experience with knifes you can get hurt.I've gone thru 2 1/2 inches deep on green coconuts with out a problem.also it has great balance for throwing.am very happy I will stongly recomend this knife to any one I give it 5 stars.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Agentofwrath
Queen Creek, Arizona
May 24, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great Blade for the Price!
I use it while in the field with the unit. I use it at home to open letters, everything. This is one great blade that keeps and edge and is well balanced. Thank you Knife Center for giving the opportunity to purchase this knife at such a great price.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Logan C
Battleford SK
Jun 19, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great knife
I carry this knife with me for everyday use. I like the fact that it is a carbon steel blade and it is very sharp. Great handle and the sheath for it is awesome. Worth every penny.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bobhobnob
austin, tx
Aug 10, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Good deal !!!
Very well made for just 30 dollars!I should get another one. You can buy six of these for the price of just one master tanto and have them all over the place!
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Richard W.
Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great for it's purpose.
To those who use it as a combat knife I would ask them if they would prefer a 9mm. or a M-16 as their primary combat weapon. I would not have carried it back when I was deployed in the Marine Corps. For a concealed boot blade/purse blade it's one of the best you can find in even a slightly higher price range. It's thin, concealable, and very tough for it's purpose, especially with the tanto design. I carry one in my boot at all times and sometimes forget it's there because it's thin. The sheath works very well in the boot (unless you lash your laces like the hulk) and I've removed the clip in one and used 550 cord to have a makeshift belt knife for easy access in certain situations. It can be used for most all daily tasks (cutting boxes, letter opener, rope or straps) and will maintain its quality over years. I also give them as gifts to my girl, mom, buddies girlfriends, and the other ladies in my life and they love the utility and feel safer. If you can find a better fixed blade for this purpose at this price range, please tell me. Easy 5 out of 5 for it's intended purpose and price range.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Seaeagle
Republic of Ireland
Mar 09, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Re-introduced range: great product quality
I can not comment on the previous production run of this knife, but the re-introduced model which I have just purchased seens to be of excellent quality. Fit and finish right out of the box cannot be faulted. Excellent service from knifecenter saw them sending off the knife to me the moment the back-order had arrived.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert912
Charlotte, NC
Oct 08, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
What a knife!
This knife comes sharp! I love it. Feels great in the hand, non-slip and fast... What's not to love? ;) I can't say anything negative about this knife...
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
E Lenk
webberville MI
Mar 02, 2011
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
great knife
Awesome knife love the blade and the handle great for hunting
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Power_Vano
Georgia
Jul 15, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish
Very good but could be even better
Kobun is very good small sized tanto blade for it's price. Although the balde is thin, it is quite sturdy, steel is good too. The big Con is handle. Rubber is good but it lacks good shape.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Samerai Sheepdog
Florida
Mar 02, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Light weight and very concealable. Will do what it was designed to do. This is my EDC boot knife from here on out. I carry it inverted on my left hip(sheath under belt and clip out), as I am primarily left handed. I have run with it many times and no worries about it falling out from the sheath. I keep some mineral oil on the blade to preserve the AUS 8 metal from any potential rusting from my moist environment, just like the samerai do. Take care of it and it will take care of you. I prefer double edge knives, but I also love the American tanto design for single edge combat knives. Cold steel Tantos are just beautiful blades to behold.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Warrior13
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 20, 2010
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None
I do private security. Very lightweight and concealable. Sturdy sheath.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Nabim
Phuket, Thailand
Jun 01, 2011
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material
It's a good choice.
I'like a tanto design. It's great.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Don
georgia
Jun 04, 2014
Pros: Materials, Finish, Blade Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Handle Material
I wish the handle wasnt so thin. Other than that im impressed with the knife.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Amateur Knife Guy
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jun 01, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Weight, Materials, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Cold Steel Knife
The knife is very sharp and has good weight distribution. I do not like the handle. The handle is a bit thin and feel flimsy. The handle has no hammer function, not that it needs one. The grip on the handle is good though. Also I do not like the way the sheath looks and will be getting a different one.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Julian Parker
picayune mississippi
Jun 20, 2011
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material
cold steel kobun light weight boot knife
it is a good boot knife great blade,handle needsa work but it will do in a pinch.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jim
SC
Aug 04, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
A Great Buy....
Purchased for a 72 hour bug out pack for my wife. I feel it will work out well for her since it can be used for several different tasks. A great tool for the price....
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Azrider
Southern Arizona
Oct 13, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Great Knife for the Price
I got this knife because there are so many "Gun Free" zones that it made me nervous to take my CCW weapon into. No prohibitions on knives! I wear boots and it fits well in the boot without effecting my foot or the wearability. The handle is longer than I had expected but that makes it easier to grab and hold. The holster is a little tight on the blade grip but will settle down, I'm sure. I can't get it to go onto a pair of boots that have a padded collar so I'm looking into some mods. It's a great knife for the price.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Nic
Canada
Jun 26, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Use the Kobun as a edc carry and backup woods blade. Blade is great size. Super thin. Would like options of better steel and a traditional Japanese tanto, but for the price you can't beat the Kobun. SHEATH SUCKS. Why use a product that dulls the edge? Would buy again even with the bad seath.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Navygeorge
Columbia, South Carolina
Jul 10, 2011
Pros: Materials
Cons: None
Exactly as advertised
Effective, plain and simple, great price
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Hugh H
Norristown Pa.
Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material
Knife review
I use it for backup protection. ... Have always like the Tanto blade. ... Would've liked a better discription of the handle, but buying sight unseen is a chance you have to take. ..
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Happy Camper
Seattle
Jul 18, 2011
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None
Very Nice
I just bought this havnt recieved it yet but a cool sidenote is, this knife is featured on quite a few NCIS episodes Ziva can be seen carrying it, and there is one episode where she is teaching knife throwing to everyone and they have about 6 of them on top of a wooden crate, also in the first episode she is a "liason officer" i belive the episode is "silver war" where they find the mummified hand in a safe deposit box, she throws it to kill a baddie in the climactic standoff scene in the graveyard. Ive held one and thought the balance and quality is clasic Cold Steel and a great value for less than $30 teh only con would be even though i have medium/small hands i thought the handle was a bit on the thin side, its quite like the handle on the S&W HRT tanto boot knife
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Reg
Down Under
Jun 14, 2017
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Cold Steel Kobun
Great price excellent quality..This knife works well for me no need to pay big bucks for a similar knife..The Kobun will do..Reg R..
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Happycamper
Seattle
Jul 22, 2011
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Kobun Tanto
This is one sweet boot knife, its light slim and has a razors edge and has a perfect balance for quick movements, the hilt is a little lacking and a slight swell in the handle would be nice, but i held one before i bought it and I knew it was worth it, this is a fantastic value and i reccomend it, I gave it 4 stars because of the sheath every other aspect of the knife is great the quality the price and everything else, however the sheath is a bit off, the Secure Ex system is great, but on this one the belt clip is on the wrong side so the knife clips on edge forward or if you do In the waistband carry its the right direction, This knife is just too large to put inside an 8" boot, one positive is the clip is removeable, so you can lash the sheath with paracord to your leg without a snag hanging off the side
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Undercover In San Francisco
San Francisco
Dec 15, 2017
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Amazing knife! Sheath... not so much.
Cold Steel makes amazing products, without a doubt. They've pioneered the modern tanto blade and made it a staple in many knife users' go-to toolkits. People trust their blades, and the blades deliver. The Kobun is no exception... inexpensive, yes, but that is because Cold Steel has been refining its manufacturing techniques for so long and enjoying the economies of scale that come with commercial success that they've been able to produce a world-class, basic tanto knife for an extremely low cost. This in no way diminishes the value of the product, which came razor sharp, highly concealable (if that's important to you) due to its thin profile, and solidly built with a full tang. You won't go wrong by owning this knife. Then, there is the sheath. A different story entirely. Imagine a scenario in which you need to draw your Kobun quickly. You grip the handle and pull... and the whole sheath comes along with the knife. The Kydex sheath keeps such a tight grip on the knife that you have to use your other hand to hold the sheath in order to extract the knife. In a knife fight, this sheath would give new meaning to the term "death grip". You wouldn't get a second chance, and it would be game over for you. I've read that Kydex also dulls the blade relatively quickly, but I haven't owned the knife long enough to experience this myself. Cold Steel's Kobun is an amazing knife, but the sheath is surprisingly awful. Hopefully enough Kobun owners bring this to the company's attention that Cold Steel rectifies the situation for current and new Kobun owners. Meanwhile, I'm going to purchase a custom leather sheath so that my Kobun doesn't exist solely as a paperweight.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Not John Doe
not College Park MD
Nov 15, 2010
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
serves well in its intended role
Kinda bugs me how grunts are complaining about this knife's combat/utility performance, considering it was not designed for that role. Clearly it was designed as an ultralight & concealable backup weapon, emphasis on concealment. If you want a heavy duty combat/ute then buy a Becker BK7 or CS Recon Tanto rather than a Kobun. Apples and oranges. I feel the Kobun is really meant to bridge the gap between full sized fixed blades and large folders in the 4-5" blade range. The Kobun trades off some of the concealability of a large folder for the sake of much greater rigidity and penetration through heavy clothing. My only disappointment was that the forward edge was not as wicked sharp as I prefer. An hour with my DMT black hone on a new angle fixed her right up.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rafterrs
Norway
Aug 05, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Sweet and light!
Cool locking knife. A light good bush-edc knife.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mcintx
Houston, TX
Jan 30, 2020
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Nice blade, sheath could be better
The blade is a nice size and the grip is comfortable. I feel like the blade could be sharper. Not sure what the bevels are but I haven't gotten it as sharp as I would like it. I wanted this for a boot knife which it does well. I would prefer the sheath to sit further in the boot. The sheath is fine, a little hard to get in and out but with a little trim to the plastic that retains the knife and it draws much nicer.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brad
Indianapolis, IN
Dec 20, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Cold Steel Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kra
Light weight, seems strong. A friend saw it and loved it, I ordered him one for Christmas!
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Therapist
Annandale, VA
Dec 04, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Outstanding
Nice knife with an outstanding sheath. Do not believe the negitive comments some make.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ops-2
DENVER
Mar 10, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
ITS REAL
I find this knife to be of good use for what it is. The blade stays shape when not over used, like all knifes, it has its limitations. I like that its light and easy to handle, but then. I would like a little larger handle, as i am a large handed fellow. The sheath is not the best, but does do the job. But, it is a back-up knife in the world of combat, I find it hard to believe you would trust your life to a knife that cost $50.00/on sale @ $30.00.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Knife Man
la palma ca
Dec 25, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Finish
Cons: Materials, Finish, None
nice knife ,love it im planning to buy more knife from u guys
added to my knife collection
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Franck From The French Alps
May 27, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Balance in hand is just fine, the handle is still a little too thin. I did not try it on the field yet but the blade and sharp seems strong enough for the daily outdoor job. Good value for money.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Heruscustos
Pa
Feb 14, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Finish, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Materials, Weight, Blade Material
Great back-up/off hand EDC
The truth is that this is one effective backup to your main knife and if your primary weapon is a firearm still a back up to your main knife. I own two and thats always been their place - 2/3, 3/4. These are really light knives and but for their ability to be made really sharp and ease of resharpening I wouldn't take them serious as combat knives.The second generation has a shinny less appealing blade than the first which was beadblasted. The sheath is cold steel's own securex which is supposed to be great at keeping this knife in place. In about four years of using this knife its never accidentally dislodged from its sheath but I believe your experience because Ive had the experience of half-playfully chopping a student of mine in the head with a AUS8 blade still sheilded as he mock attacked and know the disappointment of having that blade break at the neck in the sheath and thats my reason for relegating anything AUS6/8 to a backup role in my personal defense system. Still the knife is dollars cheaper here than what I bought both of mine for at Cold Steel 2/4 years ago and this blades flat profile/low signature,carry and forget weight and sweet curved belly on a tanto are too many sweet spots for anyone not to own and add this baby to their personal defense system.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Cj The Beast
Fargo ND
Jan 21, 2011
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Handle Material, Materials
Sharp and Light
Great shape. Tanto blade points are the best. The only issue is that the hilt (that clips into the secure-EX sheath) is made of Kraton (hard rubber, but rubber non the less) and might break down due to the friction of removing it from the sheath. Love this knife!
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brian M
Monmouth Oregon
Mar 04, 2013
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Great knife
Got my knife in three days it was super sharp right out of the box.The handle was a little thin took some getting use to but over all great knife,didn't care for the sheath but it is a light weight easy to carry knife
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Franck From The French Alps
May 27, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Balance in hand is just fine, the handle is still a little too thin. I did not try it on the field yet but the blade and sharp seems strong enough for the daily outdoor job. Good value for money.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jonas F
Sweden
May 03, 2013
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Great little blade.
I've had my eyes on the Kobun for years now, finally got around to buying it and I don't regret doing it. It's shaving sharp out of the box and the blade length, overall length, slim profile and light weight is perfect for a fixed blade EDC. The only downside with the knife is the sheath. The retention is good but I don't like the clip, thankfully it's easy to remove but I'd like some better carry options.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Grim
Albany, Ga
Jun 26, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: Materials, Blade Sharpness
great knife but......
just cant keep it sharp but its ok
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Doc Simpson-Davis
Gila Wilderness, NM
Mar 11, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Finish, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Material, Weight, Materials
The KOBUN Tanto is NOT for Hard use in Combat sits.
I am a Former US Army RANGER Medic, served in Viet Nam from 1964-67, as part of a Dust-off Crew. Back then the RANDLE Combat Knife was the one we all wished for. Since then I have collected Knives of all kinds for all uses. I now have 23 Cold Steel Knives from Folders to Fixed Blade, the best all around knife is the RANGER Tanto with Concealex sheath, now there is what a KOBUN is NOT, The RT is a very dependable, excellent Hard use Combat Knife my Nephew received one from me as He left for Iraq, on his first TOD he told me that he had rarely had to use it in Hand to Hand but did use it to punch holes is steel doors in Urban street searches House to House where many times the doors had to be rammed or locks cut to get in. The spine on the KOBUN is too thin and flimsy for what is Termed Hard Use Combat knives, and for $109.95 you would be in better shape for anything you might have to do, In AARs, many in his Unit and Team reported that the Recon Tanto with it's heavier thicker blade with a parkerized finish was the best of the best. HOOAH, DocNKimber In The Gila Wilderness of NM
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Kc
eagle river
Oct 23, 2012
Pros: Weight, Finish, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Cool knife
It can stab, alright steel, minimal handle. It is was it is. Cheap, effective, looks good, and its cold steel.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Franko
North Texas
Mar 24, 2010
Pros: Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Not Bad
The concept is a good idea, but there isn't much to keep your hands off the edge. I could imagine cutting myself pretty badly with it if I ever need to use it. It is light and flat which is nice for making it compact, but it is light and flat and there isn't much to hold on to. It doesn't feel very good in my hand. I've been impressed with Cold Steel's blades for some years. This one wasn't very sharp. But, it looks cool in my collection.
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
Taliban Joe
fort hood, texas
Feb 04, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Weight, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Overall Quality
another mistake
I am a member of the U.S army and was serving in Afganistan about 9 months ago. I carried this knife with me. What a mistake. The blade is thin and weak. I had this knife on my LBE and it always fell out of the sheath. Finally, fell on pavement and broke into two pieces. cold steel risks lives overseas!
Cold Steel 17T Kobun Light Weight Boot Knife Fixed 5-1/2" Tanto Blade, Kraton Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
Twisted Left
Virginia
Mar 25, 2019
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Suck ass sheath
NIce blade, really. Sheath sucks, really. You cannot draw this knife without the sheath coming with it. Not much point to it. I am looking for a sheath I can use with it, but no luck so far. I wish I had listened to the reviews before I bought it.