Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 20NST Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles

Cold Steel 20NST Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handlesrated 4.071 stars out of 5 (14 reviews)
4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
2
1 star
0
Cold Steel 20NST Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5 inch Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles

 

Price: $21.95

Save $28.04 (56%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 20NST Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Daniel
North Carolina
Feb 06, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use
An excellent pocket knife for an excellent price
I've always enjoyed the Cold Steel line; but they can be very expensive. You guys at Knifecenter sell these great knives at a very affordable price. Plus you get all the reliability and high quality in any Cold Steel knife. Light weight, strong, and sharp. Great choice for an EDC knife.
Cold Steel 20NST Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
St Louis
Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Excellent EDC for price
Grip, blade, liner-lock, all work terrific. Great price on sale. Cold Steel at its best
Cold Steel 20NST Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matthew K
Sep 05, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
Amazing knife
The Cold Steel Pro-lite is a great knife! I would HIGHLY recommend this knife on account of the knife is TOTTALY underpriced, the material is amazing, the handle just feels wonderful, the blade was razor sharp and it was really light! And I guess that's why its the Pro-lite... Their are very few con(s) about this knife, such as it is pretty had to close for someone with a weak grip like mine... But that is also a plus for child-proof and a REALLY strong lock. So really the knife has NO cons in my opinion...
Cold Steel 20NST Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Curtis M
U.S.A.
Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great choice for a pocket knife
- lockup is sound - handle is comfortable to hold - blade gets very sharp with minimal effort - cost is low compared to performance achieved
Cold Steel 20NST Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stuart H.
Toronto, Canada
Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
"A Great Duty Knife"
If you're employed in a profession that requires the carry of a duty knife, well, then look no further than the Cold Steel "Pro-Lite". This knife is an excellent budget folder that won't weigh you down...or let you down. The "Pro-Lite" is large enough for tactical deployment, and yet practical enough for EDC use. So if you're a soldier, peace officer or security guard out shopping for an incredibly strong and lightweight folder that features above average ergonomics, I heartily recommend the Cold Steel "Pro-Lite"!
Cold Steel 20NST Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Handyman
indiana
Jun 11, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
cold steel pro-lite
solid built, strong locking mechanism. So many knives today are liner locks that I do not like. It is good to find a knife with a strong lock. And at this price point I didn't expect to get a very good product, but I was pleasantly surprised. Its not a $200 knife but it's good.
Cold Steel 20NST Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bill
New York
Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
A nice knockaround knife but could have been sharper
I jumped on this deal because I love the quality of Cold Steel knives; I have used a variety of them for years and they always perform well. The Pro-Lite is a nice little knife that fits my XL hands well. The Triad lock is always a little stiff on closing at first but with a little quality oil and usage it breaks in nicely. The handle is comfortable and gives a decent grip [NOTE - I have not tried it when wet or oily yet]. The 4116 blade is sturdy and works well; and it takes and keeps a good edge too. The ONLY reason I am giving this a 4 out of 5 rating is that this is the first Cold Steel knife I have purchased that was not razor sharp out of the box! It only took a few minutes to get it hair shaving sharp [used Spyderco Sharpmaker & old Leather belt to strop/polish the edge] but I was disapointed that it did not come that way.
Cold Steel 20NST Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dan
Melbourne Beach, Fl
Feb 25, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Lock Type
Great for what it is.
Sharp on delivery. Tight on delivery. Wanted a tanto blade, it was on sale - so... No liners on this knife - a minus. Cold Steel counts on the integrity of their plastic to hold it together during work e.g. twisting and torque - or not. Light and quick but lock back a slow-down versus a liner lock - hell, I think ALL knives should have liners. What were they thinking? OK inexpensive knife if you couldn't find the same size Gerber Paraframe.
Cold Steel 20NST Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Wayne
Texas, USA
Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use
Cold Steel Pro-Lite
I use my knives for everyday purposes, be it outdoor or industrial applications, and own a lot of them. My new Pro-Lite is definitely a trophy among the rest. The blade holds an edge well, and is easy to maintain an edge on. The tanto design makes piercing easy, and the flat long edge make cuts quick without any exaggerated wrist movement. The thumb stud makes opening convenient, though it does not have spring assisted opening. Additional relief in the handle behind the thumb stud would really improve opening.The lock is solid... I feel confident that the blade is not going to accidentally close with this lock.It has a positive engagement, and no slack movement. It is a bit stiff to disengage, but that is a fair trade for absolute safety. The handle is comfortable, light, strong, and the through hole makes the addition of a wrist strap or lanyard easy (especially if using out on the water).The pocket clip is sound, and is ambidextrous. Overall, this is a great knife for the money. Having over 100 different knives, this is my new daily carry. I definitely recommend it...
Cold Steel 20NST Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Anthony R
Vic
Mar 14, 2018
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use
Cons: None
A great unit
General hunting, fishing and bushcraft.
Cold Steel 20NST Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Patrick
Wheatfield, In
Mar 01, 2019
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, None
Cons: Blade Material
A good knife.
I have just received this knife. The overall build quality is great. I really appreciate the ergonomics of the handle, the clip positioning, the thick stock of the blade as well as its grind. It came razor sharp and it is pretty light in the pocket. If possible, I will update my view on it in a months time. So far it seem to be a great knife for the money.
Cold Steel 20NST Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Chris
Heatherton , Other
Mar 12, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Lock Type, Handle Feel
cold steel folder
blade quality is great but handle feels flimsy and is very difficult to close knife
Cold Steel 20NST Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Buddy
Virginia
Jul 01, 2017
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Edge retention leaves too much to desire
The Pro-Lite comes with an ergonomic handle,strong locking system,and stout pocket clip.The one area where the Pro-Lite comes up short and simply leaves too much to desire is in it's grade of steel.4116 is an inexpensive,soft grade of steel and has below average edge retention.To be honest,any number of Kershaw's 8cr13mov folders,Spyderco's Byrd line,Ontario's RAT line,as well as Kabar's Dozier line,are better values.The best budget folder available today in my opinion is none other than the D2 version of the RAT 1..The D2 RAT 1 is only about $10 more than the Pro-Lite..
Cold Steel 20NST Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Derek D
San Diego
Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
I purchased this as a daily cary knife
Was not happy with the blade it did not hold an edge. I gave it to a coworker after a week.