Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 20PC Finn Bear Fixed 4" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath

Cold Steel 20PC Finn Bear Fixed 4" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheathrated 4.704 stars out of 5 (27 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
19
4 star
8
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Cold Steel 20PC Finn Bear Fixed 4 inch Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath

 

Price: $14.95

Save $6.04 (29%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 20PC Finn Bear Fixed 4" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Trond
Oslo, Norway
Dec 08, 2010
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great value for money
This knife is probably one of the best you can get in this price range. Decent steel, decent sheath, lightweight and shaving sharp out of the box. I think this knife could handle most of the tasks you'll throw at it. Perfect for hiking and hunting. Wouldn't baton with it though, as the spine isn't very wide.
Cold Steel 20PC Finn Bear Fixed 4" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Daniel A.
Singapore
Sep 02, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Simply Sharp! Good Value
It came out razor sharp from the box. I wouldn't expect less for a typical Cold Steel product. Simply love it, have been playing with it. Good value for the money spent.
Cold Steel 20PC Finn Bear Fixed 4" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jonathon
VA
Aug 05, 2009
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Can't Beat It For The Price
I know that some people would critique this blade and say "ow it just a piece of import crap" and yes it may be made in Taiwan but it is also Cold Steel and they don't make garbage. For the price you just cannot beat it. The Finn Bear came to me out of the box "hair-shaving" sharp and lets look at this blades intended use, a carry fixed-blade your not worried about being tough on. I noticed that a lot of people had negative comments on the sheath, I've had no issues with it. Bottom Line: Good Job Cold Steel, Great Value
Cold Steel 20PC Finn Bear Fixed 4" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ralph P
NYC
Feb 14, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Finn Bear
A good tough work belt knife for rigging in the studios -- rope work and general construction work. Handy size
Cold Steel 20PC Finn Bear Fixed 4" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kenneth W
indiana
May 17, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
great knife
i love this knife, i can use it anywhere. it is virtually impervious to the elements. it holds an edge ok, and it is easy enough to sharpen. where i live and work it is very wet and i appreciate the easy of care. perfect do all knife, from cooking to outdoors, even defense if need be. it isnt full tang but i havent had any trouble so far. i have beat on it a bit and it has held up fine. the sheath holds the knife securely and is water proof as well. i like that i can clip it to my pocket instead of my belt, more comfortable and easyer to reach. overall great utility knife.
Cold Steel 20PC Finn Bear Fixed 4" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aaron
suburbia, maryland
Mar 29, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Awesome!
Great knife! holds an edge well. supah sharp even after batoning through wood! Worth the $$
Cold Steel 20PC Finn Bear Fixed 4" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Clyde
Christmas Valley, Oregon
Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None
EDC
Went on my belt the day I got it and has not been removed since. I use this little knife for everything (almost)! Extensive use in the kitchen and for general every day usage. I would have liked just a bit more weight to the handle but having the poly handle makes cleanup super easy.
Cold Steel 20PC Finn Bear Fixed 4" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vjf
La.
Apr 11, 2011
Pros: Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
excellent inexpensive knife
I use the knife as an everyday outdoors and camping knife.
Cold Steel 20PC Finn Bear Fixed 4" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charlie
Los Angeles California
Jul 03, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great knife legal to carry
The Cold Steel Finn Bear is legal to openly carry knife. It comes sharpened and is sturdy. It's handy for many small tasks
Cold Steel 20PC Finn Bear Fixed 4" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charlie
Los Angeles California
Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great knife legal to carry
The Cold Steel Finn Bear is a legal to openly carry knife. It comes sharpened and is sturdy. It's handy for many small tasks
Cold Steel 20PC Finn Bear Fixed 4" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steppinrazor
Simi Valley, CA
Oct 05, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Material
Great all around hunting knife

I just gutted, skinned and boned out my entire muley with the Cold Steel FinnBear. I would recommend it for the price.

It was pretty sharp to the end. Though it will need to be sharpened to do another (normal because the hide hair is notorious for dulling blades). The handle's texture allowed me to switch positions on the knife with one blood soaked hand.

I do generally prefer drop points so I probably will try their Pendleton Lite Hunter and Canadian Belt Knife.

The Canadian Belt Knife may be best for skinning, considering the angle. But I would not want to have to use it to bone out the meat. You usually want a decent point to do that. I think the FinnBear or the Pendleton Lite are the best all around.

Unless I am buying a Busse version of a Pendleton, I'm sticking with a new, inexpensive Cold Steel blade. They are lightweight, sharp, strong and inexpensive. So while I hunted for 3 days from 5am to 7pm 8mi/day and 3000 vertical ft per day and the FinnBear did not move from its supplied cordura sheath (and it does not have a locking strap), it is so inexpensive it would not hurt anything but my pride to lose it.

The FinnBear is a good all around knife for cutting up your kill. I would recommend it. Just 2 cents from a 4th generation butcher.

Cold Steel 20PC Finn Bear Fixed 4" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gch
Leesburg VA
Dec 20, 2011
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great value-for-money
Got this as a gift for my son who really likes the Scandinavian style. When I was a teenager I found a similar style knife while hiking (turns out to be quite an expensive knife) and have used it ever since. The Cold Steel version is bigger and lighter, but has improvements over the knife of 30+ years-ago design.
Cold Steel 20PC Finn Bear Fixed 4" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charlie Foxtrot
North Metro MN.
Nov 17, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Outstanding !
I really like this knife, but at this price I could afford not to. This thing is built to use. It's not a pretty museum piece that you can't bring yourself to cut with. Skinning, batoning, carving...bring it on. It's light weight enough to carry on a cord around your neck ( Lapp style ) or clip it to a belt loop with a carrabiner.
Cold Steel 20PC Finn Bear Fixed 4" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ed G
Philadelphia, Pa
Feb 21, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
MY KAYAK KNIFE
This is my kayaking knife and I wear it on my neck and secure it in my life jacket. I like to think I'm ready for any tangled rope disaster. It is also a great all around camp knife. Don't leave home without it. You can't beat the price either. The only comparable like price knife I can think of is a Swedish Mora and the Finn Bear is simply a better knife.
Cold Steel 20PC Finn Bear Fixed 4" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob M
Southampton, PA
Dec 09, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
A great knive for the money
I purchased a Finn Bear about a year or so ago and think it's just a great little knife. I bought this knife for a friend who, I'm sure, will like it as much as I do. Very sharp and very handy to have at your side.
Cold Steel 20PC Finn Bear Fixed 4" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lance
Hawaii
Dec 01, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: None
A great alternative for a Mora if you do not like scandi edges.
Just like what the title says. If you are a fan of Northern Europen style blades, but not the scandi grind most come with, this is a great blade. The shape and handle seems a little odd at first, but it is very versatile and comfortable when using different carving techniques. Very lightweight, and good rust resistance. The 4116 krupp steel holds a very good edge for a stainless steel. It is a good size for general food and kitchen tasks, and takes the place of a paring or steak knife. I like to have one large blade, and one blade when butchering meat, and this works very well. The sheath is a simple pouch. It works, but could be better. I EDC'd this blade for over 2 years, and never had it fall out. It is very low profile as well, and most people never knew I had a belt knife on when they saw me. At the price point, it's right on. This knife is light enough, cheap enough, and has the rust resistance that it can be thrown in any glove box, tool box, tackle box or pack you have.
Cold Steel 20PC Finn Bear Fixed 4" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
George C.
Washington DC
Nov 29, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Modern iteration of a traditional Puukko
As a young teenager hiking one summer in 1977 I came across a knife that an unfortunate camper lost. Years later I discovered it was a variation on the Nordic Puukko designed by Tapio Wirkkala for the Hackman Oy company. The knife has a blade of 3.25" and is some kind of razor sharp stainless. It has a polyamide handle with brass bolster and pommel in a leather sheath. My son has taken an interest in this particular knife, and I was surprised to discover that Cold Steel makes one that looks quite a lot like it, so I ordered him one for Christmas. The Fin Bear, like all CS knives, is on the large side, but not overly so. Proportionally it looks almost identical in the lines of both blade and handle. The knife is lighter than the Hackman due to what feels like a hollow handle, yet the blade is secure such that it makes me believe that there is a tang that is secured into it. The sheath is functional with no chance of accidentally losing the knife from the sheath due to the knife's incredibly light weight. The combination of price, blade, and styling would earn it a "10" from me for what it is if the rating went above "5." Fancy? No. But the familiar lines, functional sharp steel, and price make this a great knife.
Cold Steel 20PC Finn Bear Fixed 4" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
T Spoon
Palo Alto, CA
Sep 20, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great knife for the price
Great utility knife. I wanted something for general use, kitchen use, "bushcraft", etc. The handle is a good size, the blade is sharp and easy to keep sharp, and a good thickness. If I need a knife, I will always go with a Cold Steel.
Cold Steel 20PC Finn Bear Fixed 4" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Woodsmanturley
west virginia
Oct 21, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
sharpest factory knive
Sharpest knive I've ever bought new excellent small game knive love what can I say coldsteel rules
Cold Steel 20PC Finn Bear Fixed 4" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Natural-Outlaw
Northern Wisconsin
Nov 24, 2012
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Good Knife
As I have some beautiful Finnish knive, mostly in the Sammi tradition, I was curious about this knife. I already have the Hunter Lite, and Roach Belly. The handle shape is outa the ordinary as it is triangular shaped with rounded edges. Takes a little gettting use to. For some reason the handle turns my black, similar to the color you might have on yer hands after handling a newspaper. I have always liked this blade shape with the straight back. The 1.4416 stainless is affordable steel, yet performs very well with it's fine grain in the steel. It is semi-hollow grind as opposed to a Scandi grind found on a Finnish Knife. At the same time, this blade is very sharp! No complaints.
Cold Steel 20PC Finn Bear Fixed 4" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
In The D
Detroit, Mi
Nov 05, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
good knife, poor sheath
I really like this knife, it has a great feel in the hand. The shape of the handle is unusual but surprisingly easy to get used to, and I found it very comfortable to use in my glove size medium hands. I do wish it had a better grind than hollow, it is very sharp but I would love to see this knife in a flat or scandi grind for better strength. Nonetheless it has performed well at everyday chores cutting rope and cardboard and the like. The sheath is ok, not the safest, as there is nothing really strong to protect you from the edge or point of the blade. But my main gripe is the cheap rivets corroded out very quickly, making the sheath even less secure. I bought this several years ago (the rivets rusted out in mere months), so I hope Cold Steel has fixed the problem; they are generally a company that delivers good value. I would still recommend this knife.
Cold Steel 20PC Finn Bear Fixed 4" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bushmaster Man
Ftown NM
Apr 14, 2010
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
good knife for the price
the kinda knife your not scared to use or abuse. i dont know about the handle material but the tear drop spape is odd at first but i learned to like it.
Cold Steel 20PC Finn Bear Fixed 4" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Geoff
South Africa
Jul 26, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None
Outstanding handle
This knife's handle is very unusual but surprisingly practical - ideal, in fact. Apart from that, I like the simple shape of the blade. The steel's surface scratches very easily, but it holds an edge well enough & is very easy to sharpen. I've used it mostly for fishing but also for cooking. It's light enough to wear around my neck when I go fishing, but its stylish design doesn't look too out of place in a kitchen. The sheath is basic but works fine. A good, inexpensive utility knife.
Cold Steel 20PC Finn Bear Fixed 4" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Adk Bob
New York
Oct 29, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Finish
Cons: None
great knife for the money
Great light weight knife for bushcraft.
Cold Steel 20PC Finn Bear Fixed 4" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Down-Nola
NY
Mar 03, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None
Good Knife for the price
Overall good knife,blade is easy to sharpen and holds a decent edge.Sheath holds the knife well,and the ribbed handle has pretty good grip.Great beater knife and you cant argue with the price.
Cold Steel 20PC Finn Bear Fixed 4" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ruiz
El paso, Tx
Jun 13, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Material
great knife!
i was expecting a poor quality cordura sheath, but i do not have anny problem with it, it holds the knife perfectly. the handle feels a little akward at first but you will get used to it. it holds a nice sharp edge and its easily re-sharpens. it can be thrown away and nothing will happen to the knife. you get more for the price
Cold Steel 20PC Finn Bear Fixed 4" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jason
Maine
Feb 02, 2017
Pros: Weight, Finish, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
A must have
Great buy for the price, you can't go wrong.