Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 27TDT Micro Recon 1 Tanto 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles

Cold Steel 27TDT Micro Recon 1 Tanto 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handlesrated 4.786 stars out of 5 (14 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Cold Steel 27TDT Micro Recon 1 Tanto 2 inch AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles

 

Price: $24.95

Save $16.04 (39%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 27TDT Micro Recon 1 Tanto 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ragnar
Norway
May 18, 2012
Pros: Ease of Opening, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
Fun little thing
This is a fun little knife, can't stop flicking it :) Sturdy, easy to sharpen and for the price you can't go wrong :)
Cold Steel 27TDT Micro Recon 1 Tanto 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Daniel G
Irvington New York
Jul 17, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Cold Steel 27TDT Micro Recon 1 Tanto 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Murle M
Columbia, SC
Apr 24, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Wonderful small lightweight knife
Just happened to hear about Cold Steel's new products for 2012. I saw that there was a mini Recon 1, I loved the size and weight of the original Recon 1 that this was a must buy. This knife is very lightweight, and compact. I'm not sure actually what Simulated G10 as the handle is supposed to be made out of but overall this fits the bill. I also was hesitant about using the supplied key ring, but found it works perfectly for my situation. Not only that but had never purchased from KnifeCenter, but they proved themselves to be reliable and quick on the delivery. So glad to now have my Mini Recon 1 on hand.
Cold Steel 27TDT Micro Recon 1 Tanto 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wong M
Hong Kong
Sep 24, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Great little knife
I prefer the pocket clip Perfect for little jobs 。
Cold Steel 27TDT Micro Recon 1 Tanto 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cubaho
Ireland
Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
Excellent
Best pocket knife I have, EDC top choice. Lightweight, sharp and resistent. Not tried yet in hard mode, but it pierce and slash in almost everything I tried, such as wood, plasterboard, metal, plastic. It is perfect for your pocket, that is what I was looking for. Recommended!
Cold Steel 27TDT Micro Recon 1 Tanto 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
A
MI
Apr 16, 2012
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great little knife
I bought two of these knives, one in each blade style. I prefer the tanto blade, as it's thicker overall. A very sharp knife. A little hard to open, but once it's locked open, it's rock solid. I made lanyard with paracord. An excellent backup/extra knife for everyday use and carry and a great value for the price.
Cold Steel 27TDT Micro Recon 1 Tanto 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
James O
Ottawa, On
Jun 16, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Great little knife
Easy to open. Great blade shape. Excellent materials. I wish it had a clip though. You can't easily use a knife for everyday use when it is attached to a bunch of keys so leave it lose but in that case, wish it had a clip.
Cold Steel 27TDT Micro Recon 1 Tanto 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
M.K
Los Angels, CA
May 15, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Excellent Key Knife
Amazingly sharp and affordable compared to every online sites. It's thin and perfect for keys.
Cold Steel 27TDT Micro Recon 1 Tanto 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ggjb
Louisiana
Nov 12, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening
Micro Recon Tanto
I think that it's a wonderful little pocket knife. It feels well constructed, and the blade and lock have absolutely no play while open or closed. Perfect for little jobs where you need a small blade, and for carrying around in your pocket unobtrusively. The only problem I have with it, is my hands are fairly large, so I can only get 2 fingers and my thumb on it. That size also makes it difficult (for me anyways) to be reasonably quick trying to open it one-handed. That's not the knife's fault, and not what it was designed for, is how I look at it. I don't plan on using it as a defensive knife, although I do see where it could be used in that manner, in a pinch, with that extremely sharp blade that mine came with. Use it for the utility it was designed for, and I think that it will serve your purpose very well.
Cold Steel 27TDT Micro Recon 1 Tanto 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul
AZ
May 24, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
Great little knife!
It locks, it cuts and it slips in your pocket and you won't know it's there until you need it. Typical of cold steel blades this thing is so sharp i could shave with it. I am happy with my purchase and plan to buy its big brother when it is available.
Cold Steel 27TDT Micro Recon 1 Tanto 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Johnksa
DFW TX.
Jan 07, 2018
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
A pleasant surprise
I was expecting this knife to be primarily a toy, but was surprised at its functionality when I received it. The handle, though obviously very small is very grippy due to the textured G10 and has a functional shape. I can only grip it with my first two fingers and thumb, but the shape of the handle makes the grip very secure in the hand and provides sufficient leverage for any task one would expect to take on with a knife this size. For reference, when closed, this knife is shorter than my index finger. The blade opens easily and the Tri-Ad lock engages positively but is easily disengaged. I was initially worried that the lock might be difficult to disengage to close the knife, but it is actually quite easy to depress. My wife has handstrength issues and she was able to easily unlock and close the knife. The blade operates so smoothly that it is actually possible (with some practice) to flick it open with centrifugal force. I'm not recommending that practice or claiming that it's easy, but I tried it just for laughs and it is possible. This knife does NOT have a pocket clip which is quite appropriate given the very small size and weight of the knife. It comes with a split ring so it can be attached to a keyring and it is certainly small and light enough for that carry method. In summary, this knife, in spite of being very small and light is not a toy. It is a fully functional knife with a good quality, stainless steel, locking blade and a handle that makes using the knife easy and safe. If you're looking for a small, light, functional and good-looking knife, this would be a very good choice.
Cold Steel 27TDT Micro Recon 1 Tanto 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Anthony
Albany, Ny
Jan 18, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Handle Material
I LOVE IT / (FAKE G10)
Goes along with my keys, if you forget your knife you still have 2" of working blade or protection.It came sharp out of the box and it took a little bit of practice but i eventually was able to flick open the little bugger. The handles are FAKE G10 which was a huge turn off for me considering the price it would be for cold steel to put real G10 on such a small handle. The handles have good texture but they aren't G10 and have worn down faster. Overall its a good knife, but knife center should change the title of the knife to FAUX g10 so the customer immediately knows what they are getting.
Cold Steel 27TDT Micro Recon 1 Tanto 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Alex
Puerto Rico
Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, None
Great EDC
I use it for my work EDC. Super lightweight and compact. Cool design and hand feeling. Blade sharped as hell. Not amaze by the back lock, can't be locked easily one handed, but do the work.
Cold Steel 27TDT Micro Recon 1 Tanto 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
David V
Hong Kong, Other
Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
A Great, Tiny Knife
A seriously impressive little blade for the price. It's on my keyring, and I carry and use it daily. I find it awesomely practical. The AUS8 steel can be kept scary sharp, and the G10 doesn't disappoint, even in such a tiny form factor. Downsides: the metal used for the thumb stud is not so skookum and got chewed up badly when I tried to loosen it. The lockback started sticking, but after disassembling and cleaning I've had no problems. Overall I feel that this little knife represents excellent value for money - so much so that I'm considering getting one or two more.