Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath

Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheathrated 4.794 stars out of 5 (34 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
27
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25 inch Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath

 

Price: $71.95

Save $48.04 (40%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
William B.
Nacogdoches, Texas
Oct 13, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Good Knife
The knife is long and light weight but is well made. I was a little surprized that it had Taiwan stamped on the blade but it seems to be everything that it was advertized to be. The sheath is composit and light. I'm a little concerned that the sheath might not stand up to really rough treatment but I could be wrong. It was sharp enough to shave hair out of the box. The sheath has a tight fit but I think you could grind down the protrusions inside the sheath with a dremel tool and make it just right. Good knife for the price.
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
David
Mid Atlantic
Sep 22, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
A great addition to my collection .
I am seeing too many people talking about this knife as though it were a utility knife . It is not designed with that in mind . This knife is designed to be a weapon . A utility knife will have a safe side , an unsharpened side . This does not have a safe side putting this knife in the weapons category . The balance is very good . The sub-hilt handle is very secure , no one will take this from you , unless you are unconscious . All in all an excellent example of a purpose built knife . This should be on your short list to take with you if you go into harms way regularly .
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Edge Wizard
Arlington,Tx.
Oct 29, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Another Excellent knife from Cold Steel....
An outstandng heavy duty knife that will cut through even bone joints on hunting kills... Very sharp edge and retains it's edge after even heavy cutting jobs...Grip is outstanding in all weather and conditions....A real worker..An excellent outdoor kife....
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Blademan
,
Sep 30, 2019
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Words aren't enough
I got this knife as an addition to a collection of combat knives. I have Ka-Bars, Bucks, and a few Schroders, but this knife is truly a masterpiece, the grip as well as the sub hilt ensure that if things got messy, your grip would still be solid. The blade has an awesome frosted/satin finish. Now normally I'm a mirror finish guy myself, but on this blade, it works. The dual hollow grin creates a fine tip, edges, and reduces the weight to the point that, for a knife of this size, the blade feels weightless and effortless to use. The blade was paper cutting sharp out of the box, and the sheath holds the knife securely, even with the clasp undone. The only thing I will say about this blade is that it looks like many of my other clip points I use to whittle, so my thumb instinctively wants to touch the spine, and I repeat this thing is SHARP. The guard thankfully stops me from filleting my own thumb, and does well to stop the hand in general on the thrust, overall, great knife! 10/10 would buy again, and likely will on my next paycheck.
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joel M.
Jackson, NJ
Nov 06, 2014
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Unbelievable knife for the money!
The OSS is very light and maneuverable for a knife this large. The injection-molded handle has me concerned about durability, but feels great in the hand and masterfully fitted. The knife is very sharp out of the box, but not hair-shaving sharp. I imagine just a small touch-up with a barber strap would bring it there, if that's what you need. The sheath compliments the knife perfectly, but the friction fit alone will not hold the knife in place for inverted carry. For that, the convenient snap strap should be engaged. You MUST be very careful handling the OSS, the point is wicked and the double edge blade will remove a finger without much effort at all. Cold Steel stays true to its quality pledge with the OSS, HIGHLY recommended as a combat fighter, not many better than this!
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sebaste1111
Montreal, QC
Apr 30, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
I wanted to add this knife to my collection, I don't intend to use it for anything else than having a nice, tough looking knife in it. This knife feels lively in hand and its large blade feels like it could easily deliver strong, devastating cuts. Both edges come very sharp. The handle is confortable. The sheath seems okay, since I never go in the woods, I can't say if it is useful or not, but I have to say the knife will fall if you put it in the sheath, then put the sheath upside-down and shake it just a little.
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rodger S.
New Orleans, LA
Jun 02, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Magnificent Knife
I am most impressed with this knife. I have a significant number of combat related knives and this is by far my favorite. There was some concern with the sub-hilt design, but I have found that it increases the knife's stability and control. You will be pleased as well.
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dwain
Georgia
Sep 07, 2008
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
It is well crafted and balanced
I have had this knife for 6 months now. It is well crafted and balanced. I have really put in some serious work as far as hacking with this blade on my numerous fishing trips. I fell in love with the sharp double blade edges. I think the quality outweighs the price hands down. Like Dan mention, the sheath is a two hand job. Overall, I am sold on cold steel.
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jo
Nagnao, Other
May 29, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: None
It's a great knife
It's a great knife:)
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kenro
NORCO, LA.
Nov 09, 2009
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
PROFESSIONAL DEFENSE
KEPT BETWEEN SEAT AND CONSOLE "JUST IN CASE". MOST PEOPLE ARE IMPESSED WITH IT'S "SCARINESS" AND DON'T LIKE TO HOLD IT. "ONE SLEEK, MEAN LOOKING WEAPON". THE "FINGER GUARD" TAKES SOME ADJUSTMENT AND ALMOST INTERFERES WITH SOME DEFENSIVE AND OFFENSE HAND POSITIONS.
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Iy
CNJ
Jan 17, 2019
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
OSS
Great knife and great service!!!
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jerome H
Mississauga, ON, Canada
Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Review of Cold Steel 12RTKJ1 Recon Tanto
Presently used for show. I especially love the feather light handling of this knife. Excellent handle. I sit and admire it quite often with all my other Cold Steel Knives. Buying Cold Steel is like knowing you are going to be pleased with your purchase.
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tunguska
Colorado
Jan 09, 2019
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Best Tactical Fighter
Had this knife for about a year. It’s a beast and my best one thrust penetrator - the dual side blade is strong and goes through the toughest fabric and leather with ease. What amazed me was what a quality slasher it was in addition to its piercing capability. I one a lot of knife but this would be my hands down go to knife if my life depended on it in a fight.
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bones
So Cal
Apr 15, 2012
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Only one problem.
I like the knife immensely and the sheat is excellent except for the snap on the strap. I simply cannot use it as it is not long enough. Just a matter of quality control.
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Burbank, Il
Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great blade
Great knife,size,balance & sheath is perfect.The only fix I need is a tec-lock for horizontal carry,I stroped on leather & it's razor sharp.Love it.
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Woodsman Turley
handley wv
Oct 21, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
dosent get no better
One excellent knive I've had it for about 4 years now absolutely love it u can't beat a coldsteel wish they were made in the usa but all well if I lost it I would defently replace it
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Judge
North Central USA
Oct 05, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish
OSS Sub-Hilt Fighter
From what I know, a good fighting knife should fit the hand naturally (perfect balance), have a non-slip grip surface, maximized deployment, be as light as possible without sacrificing tactical length. The OSS sub-hilt pretty much meets my standards. The double-edge blade gives great deployment potential. The Kraton grip is not going to leave your hand under most rigorous action, but could additionally be secured with thong from the end of the grip. Oddly enough, I'm not sure how I feel about the sub-hilt. I heard of some people who actually cut it from the knife. I suppose if you found it caught between ribs and your hand was slick with blood, then then the sub-hilt would facilitate withdrawal. But at the same time, it somewhat limits changing grip on the knife as it is deployed. I like the sheath, but would suggest a small drain hole near the tip to keep rain off the blade. That bright, shiny blade is fun to look at, but I don't necessarily want everyone to notice it, depending on the circumstances. All in all, that double, razor-edged blade, combined with the other mentioned features and the characteristic strength of Cold Steel products makes this a good weapon to have when one goes into harm's way.
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andy
Michigan
Apr 10, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
OSS (San Mai)
Just got this knife after very long waiting. Waiting was worthwhile because the knife is beautiful ! Best knife I ever had! Excellent quality! Well balanced. Blade is shaver sharp ,shiny and perfect! Want to buy another one !
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Inham Raja
Oslo, Norway
May 18, 2011
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
One hell of a sexy knife
I wanted one good knife which i could use for everything, fishing, hunting, combat ore just for a tool. This knife is all that and more, a really best friend which look really good as well. Cant find anything bad to say about the knife though, i just love this one. A lightweight, extremely sharp and shiny knife.
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hogzilla
ID
Feb 09, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
PIG STICKER
Just stuck 3 hogs in south TX with the OSS. Knife performed great. Razor sharp and the perfect length. This lil piggy is goin to the butcher!!!
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rich P.
Orangevale, CA
Dec 28, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: None
Cold Steel OSS Subhilt Fighter
I have been using knives since I grew up in the swamps of S.C. Nobody combines form and function like Cold Steel, but this OSS is something special. The subhilt handle means a take-away is out of the equation. The double edge blade means double trouble to anything opposite it. The sheath allows infininite wear arrangements, which gives me a lot of flexiibility placing it anywhere on my person. This is one great knife!
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ari D
Evanston, WY
Mar 30, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great sub-hilt knife!
THIS KNIFE IS EFFN AWESOME!
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
Maine
Aug 22, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
A Terrific Knife
I couldn't be happier with this knife and the service at Knife Center is great. I have absolutely nothing negative to say about this purchase.
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Azi D
Tartarus
Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Finish, None
Best bang for your bucks you are likely to find in this price range.
Just received my OSS and it exceeded my expectations for such a cheap knife. Both sides of the blade are razor sharp. The blade somehow feels even lighter than advertised, and the sub-hilt kraton handle feels extremely ergonomic and secure in the hand. The kraton is highly frictional and waterproof, vibration damping, impact resistant, insulated from heat and electricity, as well as cushioning for improved ergonomics. I highly suggest paracord-ing the sheath to allow for rapid one-handed draws from any horizontal carry position. As with all cold steel sheaths, if the sheath is too tight for you all you have to do is throw your OSS in the washing machine with your laundry. Remove it before you put your clothes in the dryer, then wipe your knife off and let your knife and sheath dry in the sun. This will expand the sheath by a millimeter or two, making your draw effortless without compromising the sheath's ability to retain the weapon. I also highly recommend adding an adjustable paracord lanyard to the handle because although the sub-hilt handle feature is great, there is a whole there for a reason. Was going to order another one but decided I will order two in order to get that free shipping. The only thing that I don't like is that the finish is almost a mirror finish and therefore reflects light. It would be awesome if it came in black but you cannot win them all. Sincerely, an unkown but active operator.
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan
Missouri
Sep 01, 2008
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Great combat knife
This is a great sub-hilt fighter. Being lighter and having a more secure grip, it is actually more practical than the Black Bear, which is more of a show knife in that it looks pretty but doesn't actually handle as well, plus it is a lot more expensive. The only thing I don't like is the extremely tight snap-fit of the handle into the sheath so that almost takes two hands to draw this knife, one to hold the sheath in place while the other draws the blade out.
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jp
Cape Town
Apr 11, 2009
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Excellent double edged knife
Excellent double edged knife for any price. Yes, the sheath needs to be tied down or needs another hand to get the blade out quickly, but at least you know it won't get dislodged too easily. Surprisingly light for its size. Handle grips incredibly well & blade is super sharp. Explains why I keep buying Cold Steel.
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Thechriszone
Reno, NV
Mar 19, 2010
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
A Great Knife!
Wonderful balance and feel. However, while the sheath is well made and a safe carry, it would have been better if all the holes were aligned to fit the belt loop to allow for a variety of carry options. As always, KnifeCenter is a good company to do business with.
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Vicarious Reality
Zlopa
Apr 16, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
500ml
I modified my handle, i cut off the top guard and the second guard, but i kinda wish i hadn't. There needs to be steel in the guards. Reason i can remember why i cut off my top guard; it was poking my hand as it it curved backwards.
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Johnny Reb.
sweden
Mar 31, 2010
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
not as sharp as i hoped for
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
William B
Nacogdoches, Texas
Oct 26, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Finish, None
Cons: Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Good Knife
This knife is good for one thing above all others. It's a self defense knife. Too light for heavy chopping. A little too long for legal street carry. Taiwan is stamped on the blade so I assume it was made there. That's not so bad in this day and age. AUS8A is the steel used. A good combination of strength, rust resistance and sharpening ease. The sheath is a little cheap but does the job. Hard to draw the knife. must hold the sheath tightly to withdraw the knife. The hilt and finger extension are all molded together of one materal. Not sure if the hilt would hold up to a sharp blade attack. It is good for protecting your hand from slipping onto the blade. Overall a good bladed for the money, which you could depend on for self defense.
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Saberian
Austin, TX
Mar 06, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Materials, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Scary knife
Let me say, for the price, this is probably one of the scariest and effective combat knives around. It's light, long, double edged, and chilling razor sharp for Japanese AUS-8 stainless steel. It's a dual hollow ground blade and very effective in any type of combat situation. If you want to kill something, this is truly the knife for you. Or to have in any collection. I would easily replace this with my standard Tanto as a sidearm knife. The sheath perfectly fit's the scabbard but it is very snug and one must be very cautious about pulling this blade out. If you get one, you will know what I mean. Other than that, the sheath is pretty sweet and works in many fashions adding it to the battle dress Uniform. but seriously Cold Steel has a thing about quality that they had adhered to for just about every product that I have ever owned of theirs. Very well made blade otherwise and worth the investment for any serious collector.
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Vengance R.
Bryan, Texas
Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
extremely happy
Love the knife....
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jason
Long island, ny
Jun 03, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Fantastic knife at a great price point
I have several knives and this double edged knife is one of my favorites. Sharp steel and very secure grip from the kraton and the sub hilt. Definitely could do some damage to an intruder. This knife is kept next to my bed at night and I feel safer knowing that. Knife is light but I like that for combat.
Cold Steel 39LSSC OSS Subhilt Fighter Fixed Blade Knife 8.25" Double Edge, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Igor
CNJ
Aug 04, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Рекомендую
Knife is good.Рекомендую всем .