Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 43NSK Mini Pal Push Dagger 1" Blade, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath

Cold Steel 43NSK Mini Pal Push Dagger 1" Blade, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheathrated 4.370 stars out of 5 (27 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
6
3 star
1
2 star
3
1 star
0
Cold Steel 43NSK Mini Pal Push Dagger 1 inch Blade, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath

 

Price: $17.95

Save $11.04 (38%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 43NSK Mini Pal Push Dagger 1" Blade, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stephane C
Ste-Justine.Quebec,Canada.
Feb 06, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
le model cold steel 43NSK MINI PAL DAGUE A POUSSER.
J ai adorer le produit,je bricole beaucoup et vue la coupe differente des deux coter du couteau je peux couper n importe quelle fil ,soi de cuivre ou de nylon sans aucun effort,je l adore ,merci de l excellent produit et aucune crainte a l acheter il est excellent .
Cold Steel 43NSK Mini Pal Push Dagger 1" Blade, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Us Sailor
Great Lakes, IL
May 07, 2012
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Great Self Defense/ Disarm tool
I'm part of security force in the Navy and we talk about this little knife or ones like it all the time. If someone gets us from behind and say they try to put a choke hold on us or something then this little knife would be great to disarm them and allow you to get your gun or oc spray.
Cold Steel 43NSK Mini Pal Push Dagger 1" Blade, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michaelw.
Elmwood, NorCal
May 12, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Keychain knife
This is very tiny compared to the Urban Pal - blade length on the Urban Pal and this Mini Pal are accurately stated, but the Mini Pal has a MUCH narrower blade. As a result, the sheath if MUCH more compact, double so since the Urban Pal sheath has to be wider than the blade to allow lacing holes. In short, the Urban Pal is scaled more like a compact t-handle pocket knife, while the Mini Pal is scaled to fit unobtrusively on a key chain - and it comes with a key chain snap. The sheath holds the blade very snugly, but as the last reviewer pointed out, there is no longer a "snap-to-release" latch mechanism holding the Mini Pal in its sheath, so be aware of this in your daily carry and make sure you are comfortable that no situation will arise where the handle could catch on something while you pull on the sheath, or vice versa. For guaranteed safety, just take off the key chain clip and it is very unlikely the blade and sheath will ever separate from each other on their own in your pocket. I have two of these - one of them with the key chain clip on it, the other with a camping style safety pin attached to the key chain clip. The camping style safety pin, unlike a milliner's safety pin, is pretty hard to open by accident, and made of much sturdier, heavy duty spring wire, so you can clip this handy blade anywhere you like on your clothing. I usually prefer that, over a neck strap. ONE MAJOR DESIGN FLAW, easy to fix: you can't tell whether the blade is right side up, or upside down, by feel of the sheath or the handle. I fluctuate between wrapping a tiny rubber band around one side of the t-grip and putting tape around it, so I can tell by touch which side is up. UNLIKE THE URBAN PAL, right-handers can use this for whittling when held by the finger tips - the Urban Pal and this Mini Pal serrate opposite sides of the blade! On the Urban Pal, the "flat" side of the blade is on the "wrong" side just like an Emerson. On this Mini Pal, the "flat" side of the blade would be next to a No. 2 pencil if you were trying to whittle the point. That is the preferred orientation for more controllable whittling. If you ever wear down the serrations (to the point the blade needs sharpening), a friendly re-sharpening service can re-configure the blade to a regular edge - but that should take forever, if you use this for a package opener like I do.
Cold Steel 43NSK Mini Pal Push Dagger 1" Blade, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Athena
Midwest
May 25, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Small, light, compact
My just-in-case knife. Small, light, sharp, with a very comfortable handle.
Cold Steel 43NSK Mini Pal Push Dagger 1" Blade, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
Oakland, Ca
Jul 26, 2019
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Best of its kind
All of these mini knives have sheaths that kind of suck. This one is the best I've found, though it is not perfect. The blade is discreet and you forget you have it until you need it. It is small enough to blend in on a keychain, even. I own but do not carry one, but I just bought my ex-military wife her third one. They haven't broken or worn out, but the handle snags on stuff, and sometimes it snags hard enough that the knife is pulled from the sheath and gets lost. I doubt this thing will do much lasting damage and it is very unlikely to drop a determined attacker, but it'll definitely make someone change their assessment of your threat level. It is a sturdy little knife that keeps a pretty sharp edge and can be pulled out as fast as your hand can move to grab it.
Cold Steel 43NSK Mini Pal Push Dagger 1" Blade, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Smokey
Indianapolis, Indiana
Feb 24, 2011
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Nice Little Edition For Your Keychain
Cold Steel 43NSK Mini Pal Push Dagger 1" Blade, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Irish Knife Collector
IRELAND
Aug 03, 2010
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
SMALL BUT VERY EFFECTIVE
OK THIS IS THE FIRST KNIFE THAT HAS DRAWN BLOOD FROM ME.... I ONLY GRAZED ACCROSS MY FINGER WHEN OPENING IT AND IT REALLY WENT IN DEEP.... THIS THING WOULD BE EXCELLENT FOR SELF DEFENSE BECAUSE IT WOULD GLIDE THROUGH CLOTHES AND GET TO THE FLESH VERY EASILY!!! AND I MUST SAY THAT I LOVE THE HANDLE MATERIAL, ITS SOFT BUT SEEMS VERY HARD WEARING!
Cold Steel 43NSK Mini Pal Push Dagger 1" Blade, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ralph From Berkeley
El Cerrito, California
Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Sometimes less is more: * ultra light; * very tiny; * easy to "deploy"
Sometimes less is more: * ultra light (half ounce); * very tiny (1" blade, handle covered by hand); * easy to "deploy" - just pull out of handle clipped to clothing etc.; * no fumbling with risk of drop (as on pocket knife) to open blade; * impossible to have blade knocked closed on your fingers if rushed; * very difficult to knock out of your hand; * held between middle and ring finger, you can still open and use that hand; * much less penetration that longer blades; * less risk of unintentionally "deadly force" due to less penetration; * capable of "deadly force" via multiple strikes or strike & draw (slash); * no "pocket printout" if carried behind a handkerchief or credit card. This is, if used as self-defense, primarily, a "release and run" self-defense knife, for getting away from surprise bearhugs, headlocks, chokes including RNC's. If you clip it to clothing, like on a shirt button (underneath the button hole, between top and bottom layers) or on a bra strap, you have a readily accessible way to get an assailant to release you with minimal permanent damage, low-risk of fatality (or even of e.r. visit), and less explaining to do all-around. It is also pretty inconspicuous if you carry it in your hand, unsheathed, while getting into your car or walking from parking space to door. On the other hand, if you have watched Cold Steel's gruesome "attack a side of beef" videos, you understand that even a small knife, intentionally aggressively used, is capable of lethal force (multiple punch strikes with slash to withdraw), which could potentially save your life from a murderer. Do not underestimate the importance of easily keeping a solid grip on this small knife even if your hand or arm are struck by a stick. The sheath is much improved over the original version since it no longer requires a well-placed "pinch" to release the locking mechanism - this is simply friction retention, nothing to think about except pulling it out. I would like to see Cold Steel make this in two versions: a black version (low reflectivity, less obtrusive) and the existing uncoated version (less "militarized"). While it would be nice to have this in non-serrated, my sharpening service has successfully re-ground worn-down samples into a plain edge. I would also like to see Cold Steel re-title this as the "Utility Pal" or "Package Pal" or something as inoffensive as possible. At least "Mini" is less question-raising than "Urban" as used by the "Urban Pal." You should be careful carrying this in your jurisdiction, since some jurisdictions prohibit ANY fixed blade knife regardless of length, and some prohibit ANY t-handled knife, no matter how small, due to the common use of so-called "gambler's daggers" (or "push daggers") during the San Franciso Gold Rush era. If you are military and commonly wear gloves, the Urban Pal will be easier to grip and hold, or you can even upsize beyond that, thanks to Cold Steel's amazing collection. At that point the risk of lethality increases, but if you are on duty you are generally legally protected. I use this for package opening and it does a great job. The single edge allows me to bear down on the top of the blade for easier cutting, or I can hold it in my hand (not between fingers) with my thumb on top of the blade. I have used this to separate half a Thai bbq chicken purchased on the street in Thailand into parts to share with my wife, to slice open the fibrous husk of a rambutan. I find it much safer than a folding knife (two accidents - my kid jostled me while opening my folder and pushed the blade back on my hand before I hand completed the opening; and the large hole in a folder got opened by other junk in my pants pocket and stabbed me). It is also minimally "threatening" to bystanders, although respecting the nervous-nelly nature of bystanders is always a good idea. The one time I was followed into an alley by a suspicious character, the sight of this in my hand was enough to make him reconsider and back away, so overall this is good for both utility and self-preservation, without weighing down your pocket or leaving an obvious silhouette in your pocket.
Cold Steel 43NSK Mini Pal Push Dagger 1" Blade, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ahmet
Ağrı, Other
Feb 18, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: None
excellent
this knife is my self security knife, i carry every day, very comfortable handle and very sharp. its good knife.
Cold Steel 43NSK Mini Pal Push Dagger 1" Blade, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Greyeagle
Shasta Lake, Ca
May 26, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
very good EDC knife
I wear this knife everyday . sometimes even forget its around my neck . Is good to know it's there for that quick fix or minor emergency. Be Prepared , Semper Fi ! !
Cold Steel 43NSK Mini Pal Push Dagger 1" Blade, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ernie Math
San Francisco
Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Company on the subway
This is such a handy little blade-the sheath is perfect. A finger on either side of the blade-stem and a push with my thumb and it's ready. I always have this when I travel public transit. I was impressed when it whistled through hanging 1/8" leather without slowing down. If I had known how to get it into use rather than figuring it out it would've been nice. I am very fond of this,but plan to get an Urban Pal; my hands are a little too big for this model. I will pass this on to my sweetie.
Cold Steel 43NSK Mini Pal Push Dagger 1" Blade, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
The Fixer
EX. MILITARY, VIRGINIA
Oct 16, 2009
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Material, Handle Material, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish, None
Cons: Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Finish
KCREVIEW
SERVICE WAS GREAT. AND THE MAIL TIME RESPONSE WAS ALSO GREAT. THANK YOU VERY MUCH. AND I LOOK FORWARD TO ORDERING AGAIN SOON. LOUIS LAVORE
Cold Steel 43NSK Mini Pal Push Dagger 1" Blade, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Knife
Knife, USA
Jan 15, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Had it for a year, lost it, now getting another.
I bought this little knife last year and use it on my keychain. It gives you a sense of security and its small enough that its not noticeable. This little knife stayed razor sharp even after I used it for opening letters. I almost used it once. I would had to have someone confront me with this b/c its impossible to get it out someone's hands. The only negative is that sometimes it would come out of the sheath in my wife's purse and it then became a bit dangerous.
Cold Steel 43NSK Mini Pal Push Dagger 1" Blade, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mia
Seattle
Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Excellent product!
My husband absolutely loves this knife. He's had one previously for over 5 years. Very durable product. Compact & perfect for regular usage on a keychain.
Cold Steel 43NSK Mini Pal Push Dagger 1" Blade, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Krp
US
Dec 03, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Simply a fantastic product.
My wife has carried one of these on her key chain for about fifteen years and after years of use, it still functions perfectly.She's got an extra set of keys now, time for another Mini-Pal!
Cold Steel 43NSK Mini Pal Push Dagger 1" Blade, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vp
ma
Aug 13, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Cold steal mini push dagger
Excellent product for the price. Product is durable and met my expectations!
Cold Steel 43NSK Mini Pal Push Dagger 1" Blade, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
G Man
pittsburgh pa
Dec 15, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
mini pal cold steel
bought 2 one for me an one for girlfriend very compact light perfect on key chain for women would do the job if need be
Cold Steel 43NSK Mini Pal Push Dagger 1" Blade, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dave
U.S.
Feb 01, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Tiny but concealable
I use it for self protection. Its small, not very visible and allows you to hang it on your key chain. I think its too small to do any real damage to your attacker unless you cut or slash at the eyes. You may get lucky with a slice to the throat. Its a good defense weapon to strike and get away.
Cold Steel 43NSK Mini Pal Push Dagger 1" Blade, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Don
georgia
Jun 05, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Nice. Wish both blades had an edge
Cold Steel 43NSK Mini Pal Push Dagger 1" Blade, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Wade A.
Seattle, WA
Jan 06, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Great Value
Great little self defense knive for my wife's and daughter's key chains.
Cold Steel 43NSK Mini Pal Push Dagger 1" Blade, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jim
Canton Oh
Dec 09, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Cold steel mini pal push dagger 1
When you mailed my knife you put my phone number on my shipping information.
Cold Steel 43NSK Mini Pal Push Dagger 1" Blade, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chris
22182
Aug 11, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great little knife. Small and sharp, just what I needed. I wish it was double edged though. I would recommend this product.
Cold Steel 43NSK Mini Pal Push Dagger 1" Blade, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Colleen
Alexandria, VA
May 11, 2012
Pros: Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Mini Pal Review
After a while, the knife becomes loose and can fall out of the sheath. I have lost two of them before because of this.
Cold Steel 43NSK Mini Pal Push Dagger 1" Blade, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
George
CT
May 01, 2015
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Not the same as years prior
The older model has a push button scabbard release. The model I just received is a friction fit scabbard. The newer design is not as safe and more difficult to release and insert
Cold Steel 43NSK Mini Pal Push Dagger 1" Blade, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Jeff
Ohio
Feb 20, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
look for something else
very easy to lose. the T handle grabs ahold of anything & poof its gone. i will not buy another, after losing 2. 1 as a neck knife & 1 as a keyring attachment. dont buy it. it will disappear w/o notice.
Cold Steel 43NSK Mini Pal Push Dagger 1" Blade, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Sam Del
brussels
Jan 19, 2011
Pros: Weight, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Cold Steel 43NSK Mini Pal Push Dagger 1" Blade, Kraton Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Nick
Rochester, NY
Jan 16, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Urban Pal is Far Better than the Mini Pal
I had the Urban Pal previously and bought the mini pal as a replacement. Wish I had waited until the urban pal came back in stock. The mini pal is not nearly as substantial.