Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 53HS Spike Tokyo 4.25"" Blade, Cord Wrapped Handle

Cold Steel 53HS Spike Tokyo 4.25"" Blade, Cord Wrapped Handlerated 4.462 stars out of 5 (26 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
18
4 star
4
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
1
Cold Steel 53HS Spike Tokyo 4.25 inch inch Blade, Cord Wrapped Handle

 

Price: $24.95

Save $25.04 (50%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 53HS Spike Tokyo 4.25"" Blade, Cord Wrapped Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hogger
Fort Worth
Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Good Knife
A good piercer. The blade is nice I like it a lot. Replaced a knife that was hanging around my rear view mirror with this nasty little dude
Cold Steel 53HS Spike Tokyo 4.25"" Blade, Cord Wrapped Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
michigan
May 31, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
great buy
I got this little knife while traveling in south America. I used it for utility and security. Had it around my neck under my tee shirt or polo shirt and no one ever knew I had it. One of the best knives I have.
Cold Steel 53HS Spike Tokyo 4.25"" Blade, Cord Wrapped Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill
Portland,Or.
Feb 18, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Neck Knife
The knife is what I expected and more.
Cold Steel 53HS Spike Tokyo 4.25"" Blade, Cord Wrapped Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mountian Man Turley
handley west virginia
Jul 29, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
perfect boot knive
I don't leave the house whith out this best boot knive I've ever owned razor Sharp out of the box and easy to keep that way I've skinned animalsx cleaned fish u name it love it
Cold Steel 53HS Spike Tokyo 4.25"" Blade, Cord Wrapped Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stickler
Leesburg, Va
Nov 08, 2019
Pros: Finish, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Finish
Dancing Blade!
Love this thing! Its a thick robust blade. I know that everybody talks about how your hand will slide up to the blade... Maybe it can happen if you're stabbing a concrete wall but this slender blade will probably not meet too much resistance on a softer target. The cord wrapping does surprisingly a good job of providing friction on the thrust. I have large hands and long fingers but this grip (for its intended purposes of concealment and defense) is not too bad at all. The key is not to "fist" the grip with your palm, but to wrap your fingers around it. The thinness of the grip gives it a nice maneuverability that moves fluidly around your hand. It dances in your hand! Some minor imperfections on the grind I noticed. it wasn't too sharp out of the box. But because of the sheer thickness of the blade, it maybe a bit harder to get a keen thin hollow grind edge. But then again, to maintain that edge, you would need a better steel than this... Long story short, it is done right for its steel and its purpose:: conceal, stab and get out. You don't need too much edge retention for that. The sheath is pretty good. anything else would cost more. This does its job well. No rattle, snug fit. Use your thumb to push it out. If you don't you end up tugging at it which would be clumsy. I wear this knife in an appendix carry. I rigged a small monkey's fist with a 550 cord so it doesn't slide down my pants. Nobody can see it even with a thin tee shirt. I like this so much I ordered another one. I think the length is long enough for self defense (reaching vital organs and providing some reach) while being thin and light for it to be carried very concealed. My favorite part of this knife? Love the sound it makes when you drop it flat on a wooden table. That metallic "cling"...
Cold Steel 53HS Spike Tokyo 4.25"" Blade, Cord Wrapped Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
The Student
New York, NY
Jun 03, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Awesome
Decided to buy this knife to carry when I go off to college. Perfect size. took paracord through the sheath and fastened it to my belt. Razor sharp and yet amazingly sturdy. Perfect for utility and self defense
Cold Steel 53HS Spike Tokyo 4.25"" Blade, Cord Wrapped Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rs
Austria
Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None
perfect steak knife
Cold Steel 53HS Spike Tokyo 4.25"" Blade, Cord Wrapped Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rs
Austria
Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None
perfect steak knife
Cold Steel 53HS Spike Tokyo 4.25"" Blade, Cord Wrapped Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dante
Sep 02, 2016
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
A very strong knife
A very great sharp, feel a solid built and secure in the hand
Cold Steel 53HS Spike Tokyo 4.25"" Blade, Cord Wrapped Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
An Old Deputy
Bossier, LA
Jul 01, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
these are SERIOUS pieces of equipment
read mrkams review and do NOT handle these Cold Steel knives carelessly AT ALL. They are designed for PROFESSIONALS and ,honestly, only these types should wear them in the manner they are intended. Cold Steel is the finest (and SHARPEST) non-custom mass manufacturer there is. Have four of their knives and they are all unbelievably sharp (and DANGEROUS!!).
Cold Steel 53HS Spike Tokyo 4.25"" Blade, Cord Wrapped Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jozz
Marseille, France
May 02, 2010
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Materials, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
A beautiful design for a great price!
Cold Steel 53HS Spike Tokyo 4.25"" Blade, Cord Wrapped Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Phil P
The Projects
Sep 06, 2011
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Tokyo Spike
A very handy little tool to have with you when walking in the city. You never know when the pick pockets are going to strike, so I leave this little guy in my pocket blade up with an empty wallet to give them a nice surprise. You should have one in your pocket to !
Cold Steel 53HS Spike Tokyo 4.25"" Blade, Cord Wrapped Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill
Mannsville NY
Mar 07, 2016
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Well made. Secure sheath. Fairly comfortable.
Handy little fixed blade & looks cool as hell. Thought it would be impractical as a neck knife due to weight & length but it's surprisingly unobtrusive to wear. Being a Cold Steel, it's well made for the price.
Cold Steel 53HS Spike Tokyo 4.25"" Blade, Cord Wrapped Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ben H
Lanexa, VA
Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Top Notch
Cold Steel 53HS Spike Tokyo 4.25"" Blade, Cord Wrapped Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gil Silva
Braga
Sep 02, 2010
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None
Great knife
Great knife nothing to say.
Cold Steel 53HS Spike Tokyo 4.25"" Blade, Cord Wrapped Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
J.Weber
Tennessee
Nov 20, 2008
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Tokyo Spike
Great knife! First rate quality and razor sharp! The size and sheath are perfect to carry concealed. Testing on a raw chicken, it cuts to the bone on every swipe! This knife is designed very similar to the larger OUTDOORSMAN! I can't say enough about this knife's quality and sharpness, except that after I got my first, one I ordered two more! Don't hesitate buy this knife!
Cold Steel 53HS Spike Tokyo 4.25"" Blade, Cord Wrapped Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Batman
Scottsville
Oct 09, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
FINE
great knife for when you can't carry anything bigger. the other knives I got if I put them in my sweatpants they would fall down. would like to see alternative sheaths as a option. I would like to see a sheath that holds two blades in a inverted v formation with the edges toward the inside, with the center being able to hold a badge or a Velcro patch for us military guys
Cold Steel 53HS Spike Tokyo 4.25"" Blade, Cord Wrapped Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jozz
Marseille,FRANCE
Apr 30, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cool design
Cold Steel 53HS Spike Tokyo 4.25"" Blade, Cord Wrapped Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Manvic
Albuquerque, NM
Dec 19, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
great knife
size
Cold Steel 53HS Spike Tokyo 4.25"" Blade, Cord Wrapped Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Adrien J
Eugene OR
Mar 19, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Handle Material, None
great knife
knifty little tool, i used to open boxes at work after i lost my mini tac, it hardly ever dulls.original not sure if the price got messed up but it originally costs $39
Cold Steel 53HS Spike Tokyo 4.25"" Blade, Cord Wrapped Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rj
North Central Indiana
Aug 29, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material
Very Nice Knife Wrapped with Very Cheap Handle Wrap
If this knife actually had a well wrapped handle, it would be an unbeatable deal, but the cord is more like threads and is only one wrap thick.... Nonetheless, its a great knife/sheath system. I do wish cold steel would produce the same sheath with a belt clip....I would grab one immediately
Cold Steel 53HS Spike Tokyo 4.25"" Blade, Cord Wrapped Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Colin S
Franklin, MA
Nov 05, 2011
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cool Knife, Great concealed carry
This is very easy to conceal, as a student in Boston it was a good purchase. it has a very sharp forward 1/3 of the blade. the straight area wasn't super sharp but a ceramic hone will fix it. i do like the knife and the sheath tension is perfect for a neck knife, if you run it WILL NOT FALL OUT, which is great for evasive purposes. it does take a bit to get used to weight but its worth it. I do wish that the handle had finger grooves, you must be careful and have a STRONG GRIP or you could cut your fingers.
Cold Steel 53HS Spike Tokyo 4.25"" Blade, Cord Wrapped Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Frank Castle
ON
Jan 23, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
only good 4 poking things...
This is an excellent knife, except it does not have enough of a guard to safely stop your hand from sliding onto the primary or secondary cutting edges if used to stab into anything! All the Cold Steel knives I have are great; (recon tanto, Ak47 folder in aluminum, superedge, trueflight thrower, kukri machete(short version), however this knife's usefulness is short-lived. Looks good, and slashes well, that's about it...
Cold Steel 53HS Spike Tokyo 4.25"" Blade, Cord Wrapped Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jimmy
Artesia, NM
Dec 24, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Finish
Cons: None
Be careful
Looks and feels good for stabbing except it needs cross/hand guard. Seems that your hand might slip onto the blade. Really good on tires.
Cold Steel 53HS Spike Tokyo 4.25"" Blade, Cord Wrapped Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Eric F
Canberra, Other
Apr 07, 2015
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Really nice except for the sheath.
The knife arrived and is as good as the video clip advertised. Blade sharp, fits the hand nicely so moves well in the hand. Was a little disappointed when I hung it from the neck and the blade kept slipping out of the sheath and heading towards my feet and the floor. lol So it becomes a good tackle box knife for fishing (a delicate filleting blade).
Cold Steel 53HS Spike Tokyo 4.25"" Blade, Cord Wrapped Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
Mrkam
Fairfield, CA
Dec 08, 2010
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
VERY DANGEROUS CONDITION
After a $500 emergency room visit to re-attach a part of my son's thumb, we see, after searching a bit on the website, that there is a disclaimer that the sheath is made VERY tight, and that the first few times removing the knife might be very difficult. Well, it was. You can't expect every purchase to chase this down and search for every product???? PLEASE WRAP THE KNIFE BOX WITH THIS NOTICE. THIS IS AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS CONDITION, AS THE BLADE IS VERY SHARP..... I really do not want anybody else to go through this. Most expensive cheap knife I have ever bought.