Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 54VPM Lucky One Gentleman's Pen Knife 3.25" Closed, S35VN Blade Carbon Fiber Handles

Cold Steel 54VPM Lucky One Gentleman's Pen Knife 3.25" Closed, S35VN Blade Carbon Fiber Handlesrated 4.500 stars out of 5 (8 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Cold Steel 54VPM Lucky One Gentleman's Pen Knife 3.25 inch Closed, S35VN Blade Carbon Fiber Handles

 

Price: $49.95

Save $60.04 (55%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 54VPM Lucky One Gentleman's Pen Knife 3.25" Closed, S35VN Blade Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Richard
Hollidaysburg, Pa
Jun 01, 2020
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

Pricey, but excellent

It's a simple, very well-crafted slipjoint made with premium materials. The price stings a bit, but it is still cheaper than its high-end slipjoint counterparts from We Knife or MKM,m despite comparable quality.
Cold Steel 54VPM Lucky One Gentleman's Pen Knife 3.25" Closed, S35VN Blade Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Adam
Pittsburgh Pa
Aug 13, 2020
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Lucky Indeed

As mentioned.. Crazily light weight. Sharp little knife and also cuts well. Great little guy to carry without scaring anyone. Couple good conversations started with this little gem.
Cold Steel 54VPM Lucky One Gentleman's Pen Knife 3.25" Closed, S35VN Blade Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bur Temple
Tucson Arizona
Aug 20, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Surprised

This knife surprised me. I fed it into my daily work knife rotation at a big box rental center. I have some classic robust pocket knives that I keep sharp at all times but this little guy kept being put to use because it would stay out of the way until I need a sharp blade that did not scare customers. I think it is a great knife and would like to buy a few more for friends and family. The blade is long enough to quickly slice a wedge of lemon for my ice tea at break time. The carbon fiber is handsome and the price is great: a real bargain after paying over $200 for a couple of my EDC folders.
Cold Steel 54VPM Lucky One Gentleman's Pen Knife 3.25" Closed, S35VN Blade Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eric
Utah
May 08, 2017
Pros: Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Great Knife

I use this knife in daily carry. The blade steel and temper is hard and durable. I like the light weight of the knife it feels like I am carrying a feather.
Cold Steel 54VPM Lucky One Gentleman's Pen Knife 3.25" Closed, S35VN Blade Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Will
LA
Aug 10, 2020
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness

I like it, just not sharp

I just got this in, played around with it a bit and I can definitely see how I’ll enjoy this little slipjoint. The action is firm but not hard to pull up. You don’t need to use the nail nick, just pinching it will do. The half stop is firm, and I like the knife overall. The carbon fiber handles are good quality and smooth. It feels good. My only gripe is that it came pretty dull. Like having trouble cutting through paper or even piercing it really. I’m going to spend some time sharpening it. I expected a bit more ease in piercing at least with the saber grind and very thin blade... but it’s pretty dull. Again, lovely little blade. Definitely worth the price and will be really easy to carry. So light I can almost not even feel it in my pocket. Just didn’t come sharpened at all.
Cold Steel 54VPM Lucky One Gentleman's Pen Knife 3.25" Closed, S35VN Blade Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
No Nickname
Ohio
Oct 08, 2020
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip

Excellent for suit/tie or tux

Read reviews and watched videos. I was looking for a VERY light pocket knife to wear with dressier clothing. The great steel and materials and weight caught my eye. This is a very sharp little knife with good fit and finish. The blade is centered and the nail nick isn't really needed. I have had better factory grinds though (point deducted). The pocket clip is inset and may require a spacer if removed. The type and size of the blade will not scare most of the snowflakes in our world. A knife like this is a requirement for certain, specific, social occasions, and to that purpose...it serves well. It arrived in a timely manner. Thank You Knife Center for a great price and great service.
Cold Steel 54VPM Lucky One Gentleman's Pen Knife 3.25" Closed, S35VN Blade Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jay R
TN
Jul 23, 2020
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Material
Cons: None

Tiny Things Come in Good Packages.

These came out with a tag of about $100. I felt like I had inadvertently wandered into a comedy club. Then the price fell to $50.00, I got on board.For all you Benchmade fans out there thinking that the Bugout is light, you need to check this out. I often clip this to the collar of my T-shirt. It doesn't sag the material. I often forget it's there unless I happen to see my self in a mirror..It is VERY shart (I worked on it), the blade centering is spot on, the action is smooth, and the lock up is absent. It stays open very well.If I want a serious knife, I will use the Recon 1. I might use a Medford.........it I owned one. If you want a tiny knife that you will regret purchasing, let me recommend the Buck Nana Bantam. I have saved a copy of this in case it gets rejected on the basis of naming other knives.
Cold Steel 54VPM Lucky One Gentleman's Pen Knife 3.25" Closed, S35VN Blade Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Andrew
Tustin, Ca
Oct 01, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Lock Type, Pocket Clip

Outstanding EDC and gentleman's knife

Great little knife. Fits in many EDC wallets. The construction is great. It is so light, you can easily forget it is in your pocket, even in the lightest of athletic shorts. There are some QC issues on mine, a slight off-centering, by slight I mean about 0.01 inches, and the saber grind isn't even on both sides. I got mine on the sale Knifecenter had, so it was easily worth it. This is my backup, or wallet carry. Many people like to keep a Victorinox as their backup or wallet carry, I carry this. The Carbon Fiber is smooth, no voids, and contoured. The blade heat treat seems spot on, as all Cold Steel HT's seem to be. mine was sharp when I got it, but not the usual Cold Steel bite-ya-if-you-look-at-it-wrong sharp. A quick run on a fine diamond stone and a strop cleaned it right up. I am thinking about buying another, just to make sure I always have one, and one to buy as a gift. This little thing is the light carry for anyone who doesn't wanna carry a Swiss Army Knife, or just wants another option.I highly recommend it. If it had completely perfect grinds and the blade wasn't just a tiny bit out of alignment, this would have 5 stars. it would have 4.5 right now if I could give that.