Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie Fixed 12.25" 1055 Carbon Blade, Rosewood Handles

Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie Fixed 12.25" 1055 Carbon Blade, Rosewood Handlesrated 3.520 stars out of 5 (25 reviews)
3.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
5
3 star
8
2 star
0
1 star
4
Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie Fixed 12.25 inch 1055 Carbon Blade, Rosewood Handles

 

Price: $119.95

Save $80.04 (40%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie Fixed 12.25" 1055 Carbon Blade, Rosewood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Harry B.
Pittsburgh PA.
Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
A great bowie from Cold Steel
This is a very nice large bowie, with great balance and a wonderful heft. it'll make a great chopper and a very good cutter and also has a very businesslike and utilitarian look without decoration or frills. Overall a great knife and a good purchase, with the second lowest price on the internet!
Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie Fixed 12.25" 1055 Carbon Blade, Rosewood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tex
Washington state
Oct 13, 2017
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard
Fantastic knife for the connoisseur on a budget
These 1 star reviews seem to be people who either don't own one or don't understand knives. As an ABS trained bladesmith I have a fair amount of knowledge on the topic. The construction hasn't been 1055 in years so the info on this site is out of date. It is "hard" to sharpen due to being hard spring tempered 1090 steel, not because it's poorly tempered as the "operator's" review implies. Take anyone who calls themself an "operator" with a grain of salt as only airsoft kids and armchair soldiers tend to use that title. Mine is hefty, well fitted, and holds a razor edge through heavy use. It is dull upon shipping, but if you can't hand sharpen to a razor edge, you don't need a knife like this to begin with. The imperfections are par for the course with any hand forged blade for less than a grand, but add charm and a touch of authenticity. Weighted for chopping it is not a fighting bowie, but rather an all purpose bowie however the finger groove in the choil makes the blade far more nimble. It is not "dipped in black stuff" as the "operator" claims either. It is in fact blued and has a bit of cosmolene on it to protect during transport. All in all the best bowie for your money and far sturdier than either the Laredo or Natchez bowie. I can't recommend it enough, it's become my everyday carry knife.
Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie Fixed 12.25" 1055 Carbon Blade, Rosewood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Abraham
Newark
May 01, 2014
Pros: Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great Fixed Blade
I love the weight and feel. Some are complaining about the wood grain - it's wood bro, there are going to be differences knife to knife. This is a big blade, so know what you are getting - fun to show off and works perfectly - Get one! - Man I love me some Cold Steel!
Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie Fixed 12.25" 1055 Carbon Blade, Rosewood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bret W
Ca.
Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Finish, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
cold steel frontier bowie
KnifeCenter shipped this to me (in Ca.) when others would not!Perfectly legal but just would not ?Anyway,knife center is my guys now!Great knife!It's huge.I like big,well proportioned,old school knives and this is my new favorite.Granted this is not built like a custom knife but your not payin the high dollars either.
Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie Fixed 12.25" 1055 Carbon Blade, Rosewood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brian W.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin (USA)
Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Outstanding Old School Bowie Knife!!
I love Cold Steel knives. I have owned both versions of the CS Trail Master Bowie knife...the hogh carbon one And now I proudly own the CS Trail Master San Mai III Bowie knife!! Been wanting that one for a long while. Got an unexpected refund. I bought it and a Rhondo handmade custom fitted sheath made Specifically for the CS Trail Master Bowie knife. I also had bought the CS Marauder Bowie knife too. I tell you, I Loved that knife. But I decided to give that one and my other Trail Master Bowie knife as gifts to 2 different co-workers. So far I have given at least one high end production knife such as my 2 Cold Steel Bowie knives, and a few handmade custom bowie knives, to eac of my co-workers. I feel that sinceGod has been so good to me with Blessings, I should also spread those Blessings. Anyway, still, I Love Cold Steel knives and Love my new CS Trail Mastee San Mai III Bowie knife!! Now, I have had my eye on the CS Frontier Bowie knife for a while now. And based on very positive reviews on this knife Everywhere, I decided to buy this awesome knife tonight!! I will leave an update on the knife when I receive it. And if it is as rugged, big, and badass as others have claimed in their review of it, then I am sure...no...Positive...that my review will be yet Another hogh end positive review as well!! I Am really excited aboutnit and cannot Wait to receive my brand new Cold Steel Frontier Bowie knife!! Thanks for reading!!!
Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie Fixed 12.25" 1055 Carbon Blade, Rosewood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
William
Mississippi
Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Excellent knife in every regard...
This is a great piece. Any real knife aficionado knows that one hand-made piece will have variations from another, and this is no exception to that rule. I had to tighten the scales on mine when it came in, but I'm certainly not going to whine about it. Hard use will eventually loosen them and then I'll have to tighten them again. Heck, I might even have to actually SHARPEN it myself (and know how to do so). This is a knife for the manly men, not the whiney-boys who want pretty toys. This is a hard-use blade for real work in the real world.
Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie Fixed 12.25" 1055 Carbon Blade, Rosewood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alden
Endless Mountains, Pennsylvania
Oct 15, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Most Attractive finish EVER
88CSAB= COLD STEEL SITE HAS IT LISTED AS 1085 steel .I dont understand why I see these listed in different steels but I got an early one and the finish is a work of art.Mine is wonderful steel,nice and sharp out of the box,great profile,lines,grinds.,sheath...I am always amazed these are just over $100 bucks.WHAT A QUALITY KNIFE..I honestly give this value award for the money.I know is some "Wanna "Be" fool", speaking reviews on here,using words like green horns,etc while everyone has a different use and may like their knife razor sharp (above utility edge)when entering the bush as I do.If chopping is needed(Which MAY DULL CHEAPER BLADES at faster rate) I use the area close to hilt so to preserve the front portion of blade for tasks a sharp edge is needed.I have bears,bobcat's,foxes,coyotes,skunk's just walking by my door.Even must escort my pup out to wee at nite..Rabid animal attacks occur here and when I need to flick,I want my tip portion razor sharp.That guy talking like he is Bowie himself is a muppet.lol...You people chase the traits in your knife for your life, and let the muppet speak of $1200.00 Randall he never chopped with a day in his life.lol.Nothing worse than a know it all fool.Everyone here has a different need and a different region for their blade.I will admit,I normally can find a axe or large machete to chop rather than scuff up my side knife.Anyone doing that with a Randall unless in survival situation,is again,A MUPPET.lol..These here Frontier 1917's are great knives.I even bought a used one to beat up and have my new one in the box greased in Johnson's floor wax to enjoy the cosmetic bliss of the finish...You'd be pleased with these
Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie Fixed 12.25" 1055 Carbon Blade, Rosewood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Roberth
MD
Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Materials, Finish, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Weight
Massive Bowie!
Wow! That was my first impression when unboxing the beast. And it is a beast. This is one big bowie. From the blade length and width, to it's thickness. This is very stout knife. I do like how CS opted for a nice big fuller in the blade. This helps lighten this massive blade without sacrificing strength. This is good because this knife is plenty heavy enough with it. Overall the blade and guard are substantial. The handle is sort of a full tang. The tang runs the full length of the handle, it it not the full width. The wooden scale actually has a channel carved into it so that it sits or "caps" the tang from the top side. So what to have a tang where the metal is exposed along the bottom length, but covered along the top length (I hope I explained that good enough for people to understand). This is not a con though, as the tang is still very substantial and runs the entire length, even ending at the point (which is good for pommel strikes). The sheathe is very nicely done as well. The frog can easily be removed if you prefer to just slip the knife in your belt to carry that way. or with the frog, you can loop it on your belt. It has metal parts at the throat and tip of the sheathe as well, which is also blued the same color as the knife blade. Overall, for the price of this knife this is and outstanding deal. I can't believe I got this much knife, and very good knife at that, for this much money. It's no Von Tempskey, but it's still an excellent buy.
Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie Fixed 12.25" 1055 Carbon Blade, Rosewood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mark D
Washington
Apr 09, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Good value for the price.
I bought this knife for performing hiking/camping chores with a little bit of extra style. I was pleasantly surprised at the fit and finish of the sheath: the pivot on the hanger really helps manage the blade when you sit down. The knife is solidly assembled and the finish is well executed. The edge needed some attention out of the box. The perceived weight is in the "manageable" range, but not what I would call "lively" in the hand - it's a tool rather than a weapon (although a proper distal taper would solve that). Overall, you can't beat it for the price point.
Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie Fixed 12.25" 1055 Carbon Blade, Rosewood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Keith B
Horizon City, Tx
Oct 28, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
1917 Frontier Bowie
Mine came in great shape. Solid, and well built. A true Texas style bowie. Only issue was a little screw up on the secondary bevel on one side of knife. I plan on full convexing it anyway. Doesnt seem overly heavy for its size. Well worth this price for such a great knife!
Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie Fixed 12.25" 1055 Carbon Blade, Rosewood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kevin
USA
Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None
not bad
has far as over all its not bad I have some LITTLE flaws there is a little crack in the hilt and some discoloration in the hilt but that's all so far and this thing is HEAVY
Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie Fixed 12.25" 1055 Carbon Blade, Rosewood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rodger Young
Fremont, WA
Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, None
It's a knoif
A preface; I didn't buy this knife to use, I have other big blades for field use. This will be a display piece. Its fit and finish is more than satisfactory to that end. Despite its size it is not nose heavy, the balance point is a 1/4" forward of the choil. The Indian influence is apparent in the heavy cross guard and the mild scimitar sweep to the belly. The sheath is very sturdily built and shows excellent finish. The stocks fit the tang well with only a minor saw mark on the toe. The blued finish is smooth and mostly regular and appears to be durable. I'll keep a light coat of beeswax on it just in case. Minor, perfectionist, gripes: The primary bevel was slightly off center and the knife appears much sharper than it actually is. A correct sharpening would solve both of these issues. Luckily, I live up the street from Albert at Seattle Edge and he could protect the bluing while I might scratch it in the process of sharpening. He evened out the bevel and added a razor's edge. While the design and finish of the sheath is excellent it is not vat dipped leather so the inside of the scabbard is still white. Not a cosmetic issue as much as one of durability and corrosion resistance. More serious complaints are that the rivet for the frog swivel abuts the crossguard hard enough to scratch it and the scabbard is so tight that drawing the blade takes two hands. Cool features: The frog on the sheath allows the knife to be removed from the belt without removing the knife from the sheath. A very old design unseen in these days of Fastex buckles and Velcro. The "British Proof Certificate" showing that the blade passed testing to certify British swords and describing the test standards.
Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie Fixed 12.25" 1055 Carbon Blade, Rosewood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Donald Seddon
so cal
Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material
This is what I want when the Zombies attack
I did have to send back the first one because of a small crack in the handle. Knifecenter honored their no hassle return policy. Aside from not being cold steel sharp, which a little honing will cure, this thing is massive, impressive, and an instant conversation piece. I do get the impression that these were found by cold steel in someones warehouse after sitting for some time. They feel like they are made in india, kind of crude, covered in dried up oil, no cold steel stamp, rusted fittings. BUT if I were lost in the jungle, with a knife sharpener, this is a killer knife. I am afraid that the handle might not stand up to the level of use you would abuse this blade to.
Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie Fixed 12.25" 1055 Carbon Blade, Rosewood Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Josh
Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
The blade was flat at the first and last 1/2" of the blade and sharpening the tip was not easy. The knife feels sturdy it was just sad to see a tag that states strongest sharpest knives in the world and then see such a sad "edge"
Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie Fixed 12.25" 1055 Carbon Blade, Rosewood Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
David
Bedford IN
Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Materials, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish
well...
well... mine came in less then perfect condition. The blade was scratched the scabbard had rust on the rivets and it was not that sharp. But other than that it is a good blade, just wish it would not have been handled so poorly.
Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie Fixed 12.25" 1055 Carbon Blade, Rosewood Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Walter F Bill
montana
Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Finish
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, None
How can this be?
Such a good looking, old fashioned knife and such size, but then the blade is dull? For that kind of money, one should expect a very sharp knife. What gives?
Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie Fixed 12.25" 1055 Carbon Blade, Rosewood Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Michele
napoli(Italy)
Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
good
I am a great fan of CS knives so I was a little disappointed when I saw this knife. It was totally unsharpened (no problem to sharpen with my Worksharp bought here) and rivets on sheath are made in iron and was badly rusted ( it take a lot of oil and one hour of hard work to restore). The sheath is well made and the knife is beautiful. Handle is comfortable. Overall a good knife but can be made a lot better
Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie Fixed 12.25" 1055 Carbon Blade, Rosewood Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Kalvin
Hong Kong
Apr 30, 2014
Pros: Finish, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Materials, None
Cons: Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Eye candy, but just that.
This knife is neither a fighting knife nor a survival knife. On the design of the knife, it is a beast.It has the classic bowie style blade with a deep blood groove, an oversize handle guard and a nice handle. However, it is not suitable for either fighting or survival. Although the blade has a deep blood groove, a generous hand guard and an acute tip, weighting at over 20 ounces, you have to be a big guy to wield it quickly, let alone using it effectively in a fight. The needle tip of the blade is excellent for piercing material, however 1055 steel is too soft to support such an acute tip so the tip will break if it is abused, including stabbing hard wood, which brings me to the next point. The acute point and hand guard makes the frontier bowie not suitable for survival tasks, its acute point will snap even processing hard wood and the hand guard will get in the way when splitting logs. Cold steel did offer a finger choil for detail work but it is not comfortable to use. Also the back spine was not sharpen for fire steel striker. The finishing on the blade is acceptable, however the grind is not unify through out the blade and is kind of dull out of the box comparing with other cold steel products. The handle finishing is great.But the handle is too square and is not very comfortable. Luckily, the handle is very thick and wide so you can sand it down to your liking. The leather on the sheath is a bit thin and the fitting isn't the best, but as a collectible, it is done really well. The belt loop can be removed from the sheath to give it a slimmer profile. One quick note, the colour of the handle is much more darker than it was shown on the picture, almost a dark chocolate brown, but the wood grain pattern is still clearly visible. Overall, this blade is more of a collectible item or project knife than a fighting knife or survival knife.The blade is very elegant and some what intimidating (I guess you can scare off unwanted visitors with it), but the material choice and blade geometry made it not suitable for fighting or survival. Lastly, thank you for reading my whole review and tolerating my poor English. I hope it helped you in considering whether or not to purchase this item.
Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie Fixed 12.25" 1055 Carbon Blade, Rosewood Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Josh
Mar 13, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Not what I expected
Well this knife is ok but the blade edge was not good at all and they claim to be the toughest and sharpest in the world. The first and last 1/2" of the blade was as dull as a butter knife and took quite a bit of sharpening to correct. Also it's not easy to sharpen the tip without marring up the bluing on the blade. Other then that mess it's a pretty stout knife.
Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie Fixed 12.25" 1055 Carbon Blade, Rosewood Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Johan
Sweden
May 01, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material
Decent, nothing more.
The knife itself is sturdy and well made. The problem is with the edge grind. On the whole blade the edge is missaligned and way off center to the right. If I had access to a belt grinder it would be easily fixable, but as I don't the blade is almost unusable since it would take a long long time to fix it just by hand. I would not reccomend buying this knife before Cold Steel fixes their quality control. Although this is the only CS knife I have EVER had an issue with.
Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie Fixed 12.25" 1055 Carbon Blade, Rosewood Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Michele
Napoli(italy)
May 27, 2014
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard
gooooood knife!
it a huuuuge knife, very well made but, unfortunately (mine) is totally unsharpened and that's strange for a CS. For the price tag sheath is good but something better is possible. blade is 1055 steel which is a good steel but loose the edge quite fast. Overall quality is good but it is a project CS could improve!
Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie Fixed 12.25" 1055 Carbon Blade, Rosewood Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Shawn
Mtns.
Jun 08, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Materials, Handle Material, Finish
Look elsewhere.
To be honest,this knife came with a fit/finish that you would expect to see on a flea market knife.I ordered mine from another website,and upon looking it over, after recieving it,i immediately contacted them,and returned it,the same day,for a refund.This is unacceptable,especially for a knife that costs over $100.I can understand a knife that costs $25-50 having these issues,but not one that costs well over $100.I have seen bowie knives made from 420 and 440a stainless,that had better fit/finish,and were sharper than this bowie.Not to mention cost far less.In other reviews i read, mine wasn't a rare occurance.Seems like CS shipped alot of these "defect" knives.How did these get past QC? Does CS even have QC in India?To be fair,this bowie, in Perfect condition, isn't worth a penny over $75.In the condition mine came in,with the angled to the right blade,and uneven grind,and nicks in the blade,and handle,it wasn't worth more $25.This bowie does not have the premium materials in it, to justify costing over $100.1055 steel is not even close to being the best 10xx steel available.The handle,while decent looking,is nothing to ride home about.The sheath is the ONLY decent quality.This knife should have been marked"Factory seconds",it was that bad.This bowie isn't practical for anything other than a "showpiece".Once you handle it,you"ll see.It's too heavy,bulky,and unbalanced,to use effectively at ANY activity.Very POOR QC on CS's part.Unacceptable..Plain and simple.
Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie Fixed 12.25" 1055 Carbon Blade, Rosewood Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Robert E
Chester, Va
Apr 11, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality
Factory Defect
Blade emerges from handle at a pronounced and unacceptable angle to the right. Very poor quality control on the part of Cold Steel.
Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie Fixed 12.25" 1055 Carbon Blade, Rosewood Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Thunder Phoenix
Netherlands
Apr 04, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Materials, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Finish, Blade Material, Handle Material, Materials
Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie go or no go ?? a real No-no
I owned many Cold Steel knives in the past for my field tasks as an operator. All of them performed good. This Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie as mentioned is produced in India !?!? 1) the blade The blade is really ............. trash. Difficult to sharpen. After closer inspection also found out the blade is not symmetrical. The manufacturer has real problems to machine correct fullers. The fuller on the left-side showes a ridge in the middle of the fuller, the full lenght. The right side was ok. This machined flaw was first hard to detect, because the blade was dipped and covered with a thick black stuff/goo for anti-corrosion purposes. When rubbing your thumb over the left fuller you will feel the ridge in the fuller. 100% sure when this thick black anti corrosion goo is removed, the flaw can be clearly visible. I did not adress this problem and to KnifeCenter, but directly to Cold Steel. Knife Center is only retailer and has nothing to with knife production. Cold Steel will receive this knife back for investigation. I not even want a refund for this knife, but let Cold Steel judge themselves where they want to go with their QA policy. 2) Sheath The best I have ever seen. The real English/Indian craftmanship you can expect. 3) Advise If going for a Cold Steel Bowie, take any they sell in every price range. All other Cold steel Bowies are produced immaculately sofar. The Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie is a real blasphemy for what Cold Steel stands for.
Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie Fixed 12.25" 1055 Carbon Blade, Rosewood Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Thunder Phoenix
Netherlands
Apr 05, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Materials, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Blade Material, Finish
revised view + update
I owned many Cold Steel knives in the past for my field tasks as an operator. All of them performed good. This Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie as mentioned is produced in India !?!? 1) The blade is really ............. trash. Difficult to sharpen. After closer inspection also found out the blade is not symmetrical. The manufacturer has real problems to machine correct fullers. The fuller on the left-side showes a ridge in the middle of the fuller, the full lenght. The right side was ok. This machined flaw was first hard to detect, because the blade was dipped and covered with a thick black stuff/goo for anti-corrosion purposes. When rubbing your thumb over the left fuller you will feel the ridge in the fuller. 100% sure when this thick black anti corrosion goo is removed, the flaw can be clearly visible. I did not adress this problem to KnifeCenter, but directly to Cold Steel. Knife Center is only the retailer and has nothing to do with knife production. Cold Steel will receive this knife back for investigation. I not even want a refund for this knife, but let Cold Steel judge themselves where they want to go with their QA policy. 2) Sheath . The best I have ever seen. The real English/Indian craftmanship you can expect. 3) Advise if going for a Cold Steel Bowie, take any they sell in every price range. All other Cold steel Bowies are produced immaculately sofar. The Cold Steel 88CSAB 1917 Frontier Bowie is a real blasphemy for what Cold Steel stands for. Since I still needed an intermediate Bowie in a good price range, I ordered a Cold Steel Marauder from Knife Center. One of my colleagues ownes a Marauder. That was a real confirmation ..... While the Cold Steel Marauder shines and shows quality, Cold Steel 1917 Frontier Bowie is really an insult for the all Cold Steel Bowie-type knives. Better equip the Marauder with a steel/brass hand guard and ask 10$ more, but take the Cold Steel 1917 Frontier Bowie out of the production line or let it be produced in Japan or Taiwan.