Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 90N Norse Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall

Cold Steel 90N Norse Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overallrated 4.083 stars out of 5 (24 reviews)
4 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
14
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
2
Cold Steel 90N Norse Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22 inch Overall

 

Price: $26.95

Save $18.04 (40%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 90N Norse Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Greg Z.
indiana
Jun 15, 2015
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
nice hawk good price
completes my cold steel viking axe collection.
Cold Steel 90N Norse Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
David M
oklahoma
Jun 19, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
I have 6 different tomahawks and this is my favorite one. Broad head for chopping and great for throwing too. Makes a cool ting sound when chopping feels like your destroying the tree when it rings. It rocks
Cold Steel 90N Norse Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
David K.
Buff, New York
May 21, 2014
Pros: Construction, Head Material, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Exceptional
I use this hawk for chopping wood, fruits, pumpkins, and fannys, jk. I don't even know where to start. The feel of this thing in your hand is just nasty. The weight of it is perfect, handle is perfect, wich means you can one or two hand your way to glory. It was wild sharp out of the box, I just gave it a light re-edging because I cant leave well enough alone. I would really like to customize the handle and darken it up a bit (plenty of custom ideas online). The axe head is held in with a single screw on the back of the eye, but it hasn't loosened on me once. First day I got it I let my really careful friend Curtis hold it and he dropped it head first on the concrete but it didn't do a damned thing to it. You might want to buy a sheath anyways for it so the blade doesn't get messed up.
Cold Steel 90N Norse Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
William
Bangor, ME
Aug 21, 2012
Pros: Weight, Head Material, Balance
Cons: None
Norse Hawk
Bought 5 of these for throwing at SCA events (medieval). They are much lighter than the trail hawks I previously purchased, but they throw great! The flared blade sticks thru a much greater range of rotation than my other hawks. It will even stick if it hits with the handle parrallel with the ground. A very forgiving hawk, I've had several people stick it on the first throw. Highly recomend! The only negative is the set screw in the handle. Easy fix--take it out!
Cold Steel 90N Norse Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert Of Wolf Fork
Portland, OR (Kingdom of An Tir)
Mar 13, 2012
Pros: Construction, Balance, Weight, Head Material
Cons: None
Incredible Throwing Axe
I have thrown this tomahawk over the last five years with great success. I compete in the Society for Creative Anacronism (SCA) and have been in the top ten competitors each year. This is in large part due to the Norse Hawk. It is beautifully balanced and perfect weight for throwing. Oh, and it also splits wood. I strongly recommend it
Cold Steel 90N Norse Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Machine H
Fl
Feb 16, 2013
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
norse hawk
As a fellow Viking I love this hawk.weight length blade quality all excellent.
Cold Steel 90N Norse Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
John T
South Texas
Nov 24, 2015
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Super Hawk
This is the second Norse Hawk I have ordered. This tomahawk is an excellent thrower. It is well made and the extended cutting edge provides more sticking options. I soak it is stripper to remove the black paint as I prefer the look of good steel.
Cold Steel 90N Norse Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Austin
Mo
Feb 02, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Awesome but needs work
when i received the product i could have knocked the head off with 2 fingers. i was mad but if u put tape on the handle then hammer the head up over it holds better and your really going to have to tighten the screw which doesn't even penetrate the wood. great chopper i was surprised. its a beast its worth buying
Cold Steel 90N Norse Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Eric
CO
Mar 29, 2014
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Fixer upper
All the Cold Steel Hawks are of good quality they just need to be refinished. Doesn't take to long, I've refinished two already they turned out excellent. I'd definitely give them a five out of five after customization.
Cold Steel 90N Norse Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Knife Nut
Roanoke, Va
Jul 18, 2012
Pros: Balance, Handle Material, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Construction, None
It's a cold steel tomahawk
What can I say. It's a cold steel tomahwk and if you have several of these you know that you have remove that idiotic pin and probably cut around the head a bit more. Overall I like this one. I plan on customizing it to look like an authentic Viking Axe.
Cold Steel 90N Norse Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Doug
Monterey
Oct 08, 2014
Pros: Weight, Balance, None
Cons: Handle Material
good bargain buy
Upon opening the box, I was happy to see exactly what I was expecting: a solid handle balanced head. The blade wasn't very sharp, but with a little filing and some time on a stone, it turned out very nice. I noticed a lot of people complaining about it having a set screw instead of just a friction fit, hut I don't currently see a problem. I actually went to take the head off to sharpen it, and even with the screw out, it held tight. I suppose after throwing it a few times it might come loose, at which time I will modify it to friction fit. My ONLY complaint about the handle was that it was a little rough/splintery. I used a torch to give it a little aged look and bring out the grain, then I sanded it smooth so as it could slip from my hand easier. I followed this up with some carnauba wax to seal it from the elements. Overall, happy and would buy another if I had the need.
Cold Steel 90N Norse Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Troy S
Apo, Ae
Sep 06, 2015
Pros: Weight, Construction, Head Material
Cons: None
Fun project piece
As purchased I thought this hawk was "OK". The head is good quality steel and the haft is hickory with a decent grain. The head, as received, was not sharp at all. After removing the black paint, inducing a vinegar patina, sharpening the head and staining the haft I have a pretty cool and functional viking inspired tomahawk.
Cold Steel 90N Norse Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Halfdan
Vahalla
Jun 17, 2012
Pros: Balance, Handle Material, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Construction, None
nice weapon
Great for slaying trolls and sea monsters. Put a good edge on it and make sure to get extra handles.
Cold Steel 90N Norse Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ohiodude
NM
Mar 04, 2012
Pros: Head Material, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: Balance, None
Solid tool
Remove the head, reverse the handle in the collar and friction fit .... tight AND can ber removed if needed. The hawk heads are rock-solid; I broke a paver accidentally, and not a chip or notch on the edge. Nice thing about the head is it can be used as a hand-tool if removed. The TrailHawk is even better - faster, and more versatile with the hammer poll. Cold Steel is a knife company, so their "sheaths" are basic, even the Concealex. They stick with their best bet - good steel
Cold Steel 90N Norse Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jeff
Woodbridge, Va
Nov 21, 2012
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great quality
I received the hawk quickly and did my standard modifications- stripped the black paint from the head, sanded and rubbed beeswax into the handle, and added a longer Allen screw to the screw hole in the axe head. Not that it wasn't an excellent chopper right out of the box, but these tomahawks rise to a whole new level with a little customization. After the mods were finished, about 30-45 minutes, I took it to some well seasoned firewood. The chips flew. It's not really a splitter, the blades thin all the way back to the eye, but it'll chop through just about anything you want it to, given enough time.
Cold Steel 90N Norse Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brad
Toronto
Apr 07, 2016
Pros: Construction, Balance, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great for throwing
Good tomahawk due to the $24 price tag. It is covered in a thick black paint, the blade needed sharpening, and the handle needed sanding. That aside there is a set screw in the back so the handle doesn't slip, long handle for customization, and the axe head design doesn't allow for top of the handle to be damaged when thrown. I am very happy with it even with the axe head being clearly stamped made in Taiwan and having a shitty sticker saying made in America. After getting one, I order 6 more through Knife Center with the sheaths and gave them to friends. Everybody is happy with them and I am happy that 6 tomahawks didn't get held up at customs coming to Canada. I recommend getting the sheaths with the tomahawk but some sheaths didn't fit some of the tomahawks properly but could fit others, and one sheath didn't fit any axe properly. The sheath I would give a 3/5 but you kind of need it.
Cold Steel 90N Norse Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tim
Iraq
Aug 25, 2010
Pros: Weight, Construction, Head Material
Cons: None
great throwing axe
This axe holds an edge well and has proven very sturdy. I recommend buying spare handles until you know how far the axe goes in one rotation and get your distance. All the other reviewers seem to have missed the fact that this axe has a tapered handle. Instead of tightening the screw loosen it then tap the top of the handle with a mallet or drive it down on the edge of a step to wedge the head tighter into the taper then re-tighten the screw. Normal seasonal weather changes will cause the wood to shrink making the head loose until it has been seated very firmly. it would be nice if this axe had a sheath for storage.
Cold Steel 90N Norse Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Axer
CT
May 28, 2008
Pros: Balance, Handle Material, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Construction, None
Cold Steel Norse Hawk
This blade holds an edge well due to the good materials used (1055 steel). I sharpened it with my 4000 grit water-stone and removed the bur with a chromium oxide strop - it shaved the hair off my arm - after many full throttle swings in to hardwood. I have owned three of these - all have the same flaw - the head comes loose with use. The head is attached with a single screw that digs into the wood. It needs some wire between the head and handle, i did this and have had no problems since. THis thing is fun to throw!
Cold Steel 90N Norse Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Don L
okla
Jan 02, 2013
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
i bought the norse hawk primarily for throwing was initaly disapointed when it bounced off target an head slipped half inch problem easily correced just wish coldsteel had taken care of situation during manufacture edge extremely dull an lock screw far to short since making these corrections i have an excelent throwing hawk
Cold Steel 90N Norse Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kenneth
NJ
Jul 08, 2009
Pros: Weight, Head Material, Balance
Cons: None
For the low price, this axe is well worth it.
I'm just learning how to throw, and this axe is a lot of fun. The head will come loose and must be pushed back into position or secured with a screw. One of my handles cracked, but I glued it back together and wrapped grip tape around it to keep it secure; I've have had no problems since. For the low price, this axe is well worth it.
Cold Steel 90N Norse Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Allen B
Arlington, VA
Apr 22, 2012
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
A serviceable period tool
The axe is an adjunct to my other Viking blades and meets my expectations. It is an unornamented but very serviceable tool, that permits owner decoration if such is desired. The only limitation I've found is that the blade covering is a cheesy bit of plastic. It would be a better period piece of the manufacturer offered a choice of sheaths/scabbarding.
Cold Steel 90N Norse Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Iurii L
Eugene, OR - Kingdom of An Tir, Barony of Adiantum
Mar 10, 2013
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Dimensions need correcting.
Along with Robert of Wolf Fork, I also compete in the Society for Creative Anachronism (SCA) in the same Kingdom, but a different Principality and Barony. This is a very nice axe overall, and after shortening the handle to my preferences for weight/balance, it worked great! However, the dimensions of the blade in the listing are WRONG, it says the blade's 'primary edge' is 4", it is actually almost 4 1/2". For our thrown weapons competitions we have a maximum allowable blade edge, and that is 4", meaning that this axe cannot be thrown without being modified. I had to do so, and now it has some slight balance issues, Knife Center said they got their information from the Cold Steel website, and wouldn't change the information unless Cold Steel changes the information on their website and/or tells them that the information has been changed. So if you you want to use this axe for SCA thrown weapons competitions, check your Kingdom's thrown weapons rules about blade size, you might be better off buying one of the other axes/tomahawks unless you like using a grinder/files to shave off about a 1/2" of steel.
Cold Steel 90N Norse Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 1 stars out of 5
Hodor
Sweden
Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Handle Material
Nope
The head did not fit the handle, not even close, and the head was not aligned with the handle making the axe glance of things I hit (seriously dangerous). I had to make a new handle to be able to do anything with it. I have thrown it at some trees, I have used it to clear brush and to cut some low hanging branches. The steel does not hold an edge well. Cool idea, terrible execution. I did not buy mine from KnifeCentre, fyi, but this is the first and last Cold Steel product I will buy period.
Cold Steel 90N Norse Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 1 stars out of 5
Thomas
N.C
Jan 20, 2013
Pros: Construction, None
Cons: Head Material, Balance, Weight, Handle Material
I bought this cause I love cold steel I have a small collection of cs knifes and wanted to add this to it also to use. When it came the first thing I checked was how sharp it was it was so dull it couldn't go through cardboard without its bunltness. I sat there and sharpened it on my stone for 30 mins didn't make any difference. Also it feels of balance and wired to hold. I recommend not buying this I expected way more of a cs product.