Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 92EAA FGX Balisong Butterfly Knife 5" Double Serrated Edge Griv-Ex (Hard Plastic) Blade and Handles

Cold Steel 92EAA FGX Balisong Butterfly Knife 5" Double Serrated Edge Griv-Ex (Hard Plastic) Blade and Handlesrated 4.467 stars out of 5 (15.0 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
4
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Cold Steel 92EAA FGX Balisong Butterfly Knife 5 inch Double Serrated Edge Griv-Ex (Hard Plastic) Blade and Handles

 

Price: $12.74

Save $4.25 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 92EAA FGX Balisong Butterfly Knife 5" Double Serrated Edge Griv-Ex (Hard Plastic) Blade and Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jrc
Fargo, ND
Apr 05, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Buy of the century

For 13 bucks, you can't do better. I watched the videos and have no doubt that this knife can do some serious damage to a person. I really bought this for flipping, however. It handles really well. Even though the serrations and point look wicked, the blade does not have enough mass to hurt you if you hit your finger while flipping it. Also, since it is double-edged, you don't have to keep track of which way it's turning. If you put some force behind it, I'm sure it would be great for self-defense. This knife is really light weight for its size, but the weight is nicely balanced. I only have one minor complaint. It was stiff on one side so it did not flip smoothly. Since it is nonmetallic, I wasn't sure what to use, but Gunslick, which is graphite, seems to work well.
Cold Steel 92EAA FGX Balisong Butterfly Knife 5" Double Serrated Edge Griv-Ex (Hard Plastic) Blade and Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Connor B
Kansas City Missouri
Apr 18, 2019
Pros: Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

For 12 bucks you can buy a burger or you can buy this awesome blade

Durable light and good for flipping. Comes sharp and handles well when sawing or stabbing. Good knife for a good price. Good beginner flipper as well
Cold Steel 92EAA FGX Balisong Butterfly Knife 5" Double Serrated Edge Griv-Ex (Hard Plastic) Blade and Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tommyboy
Greenwood, Mo
Mar 27, 2019
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Great Purpose-Built Tool

What some other reviews fail to recognize about this Bali, is that it was designed and built with a single purpose in mind - personal protection in areas where you probably need it most. This is for venues like concerts, sporting events, etc. where metallic tools might draw unwanted attention. It achieves this purpose exceedingly well. The blades are sharp - much like the arrowheads CS recently released. They will produce devastating cuts! The tip is reinforced and sharp and will have no problem getting through a heavy leather jacket. It is everything you could ask for in discreet personal protection.
Cold Steel 92EAA FGX Balisong Butterfly Knife 5" Double Serrated Edge Griv-Ex (Hard Plastic) Blade and Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kaz
Home
Apr 04, 2019
Pros: None
Cons: None

Cold steel FGX Bali-Song awesome

Awesome Bali-Song for light weight flipping action and super smooth and enjoyable also could be weapon for self defense love it great price. Better than more expensive Bali-Song knives out there super hard plastic just awesome.
Cold Steel 92EAA FGX Balisong Butterfly Knife 5" Double Serrated Edge Griv-Ex (Hard Plastic) Blade and Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Judge 454
Culloden, Wv
Apr 19, 2019
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Not a practice balisong

Both sides are serrated and sharp, so be safe when flipping knife. No metal anywhere, so you “could” defend yourself in places that restrict weapons for law abiding citizens. (Metal detectors). Of course that is purely speculation and I would not suggest or do myself. Blade is strong and capable of self defense in a situation where you are limited to what you can carry.
Cold Steel 92EAA FGX Balisong Butterfly Knife 5" Double Serrated Edge Griv-Ex (Hard Plastic) Blade and Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paladin
West Coast
Mar 26, 2019
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

Please STOP calling this a "toy"

Yes, the uninformed and ignorant will say that this is a cute toy, but then, this is usually coming from those who consider the Balisong to be a sharpened fidget spinner which they use to show off their flipping "skilz" for YouTube views, and not the ery efficient weapon it actually was designed to be. Lynn Thompson designed this to be a last ditch self defense WEAPON that is light weight (+- 2 oz), and as a plus, since it has NO METAL PARTS, will not trigger things that will cause you to NOT have a defensive tool when you will may likely need it. It will stab through a stack of cardboard from tip to hilt, same as ANY OTHER Cold Steel blade, and, people do not have layers of cardboard as skin. The serrated edge is sharp enough to break skin, even with light contact while flipping, so, a slight adjustment in technique is called for, unless you don't mind some fluid seepage where it does what it's designed to. Look up the Cold Steel Balisong video if you have any doubts. Another winner from the folks at CS.
Cold Steel 92EAA FGX Balisong Butterfly Knife 5" Double Serrated Edge Griv-Ex (Hard Plastic) Blade and Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Genarro
Carson City
Mar 21, 2019
Pros: Weight, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None

Awesome inexpensive bali

It is actually a lot better than what I expected for the price - It flips well and is basically a pseudo trainer. As a beginner flipper, I find it quite enjoyable!
Cold Steel 92EAA FGX Balisong Butterfly Knife 5" Double Serrated Edge Griv-Ex (Hard Plastic) Blade and Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
T
Florida
Aug 18, 2020
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None

Surprisingly Sharp! Get the Tanto version if you just want to flip it.

I just received this Balisong and I am happy with the feel and quality for the price. I was extremely surprised how sharp this thing is! It as absolutely a deadly weapon and the tip is needle sharp and sturdy. Because of this, I now wish that I had purchased the TANTO version instead. This is not a Balisong that you want to mindlessly flip, and it will cut up your hand. If you want one for self defense for some reason than get the double serrated version, if you want a Balisong to flip and have fun with, then get the Tanto version.
Cold Steel 92EAA FGX Balisong Butterfly Knife 5" Double Serrated Edge Griv-Ex (Hard Plastic) Blade and Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Quick Blade
WV
Jul 03, 2019
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, None

Light weight but Big

This was one of 2 knives I ordered from Knife Center, the other was a Sog Flash FL. This was my first time ordering from Knife Center and the shipping was very fast. The Cold Steel balisong is big. Read the description. It is extremely light for is size. It is also extremely sharp. The dagger like point and the two edged serrations are sharp and should not be played with like this is a toy are you are going to injure yourself,, I hope they come out with a smaller version soon.
Cold Steel 92EAA FGX Balisong Butterfly Knife 5" Double Serrated Edge Griv-Ex (Hard Plastic) Blade and Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Adam
Szeged,
Apr 12, 2019
Pros: Handle Material, Ease of Opening, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

Cool Stuff

Bought for flipping, and i was curious about the knife material. The size of the knife surprised me, it's larger than expected, but fits perfectly in my palm. Weight is low compared to it's size, that's unusual, the handles are also thicker, and pretty rectangular, than usual, it needs slightly different flipping techniques, some tricks are harder to perform with it, but not impossible. The clacking is a bit weird, but not awful, i'll get used to it. The double serration looks cool, but not good, because it's too sharp, performing tricks like Chaplin, etc., is pretty uncomfortable. Blunting down the lower quarter of the blade, on safe handle side, will solve this problem, for this purpose i used polishing paper. With this little modification, i have now a perfect sized, cool looking knife, with smooth actions, it looks spectacular while flipping. Worth to buy it, if you want some interesting knife.
Cold Steel 92EAA FGX Balisong Butterfly Knife 5" Double Serrated Edge Griv-Ex (Hard Plastic) Blade and Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Peter
Titusville, Nj
Mar 29, 2019
Pros: None
Cons: None

Much bigger than expected

It's a nice design, and well made for being all polymer. It's much bigger than I expected. I guess that's my fault for not looking at the specs. I'd like it better if it was smaller.
Cold Steel 92EAA FGX Balisong Butterfly Knife 5" Double Serrated Edge Griv-Ex (Hard Plastic) Blade and Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jason
Hawaii
May 03, 2019
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, None
Cons: Blade Material, Handle Material

The cheapest US made balisong KNIFE you can buy

Straight to the point on this... I have to admit, when I first saw the FGX, I had no interest in it at all. It's an extremely UGLY knife - and in person, it's even uglier. It's also flippin' thick compared to most other balis, and very impractical to EDC. That said, Cold Steel designed this purely to be a dirt cheap WEAPON. I've rammed this thing into both 10 and 50 layer stacks of cardboard, dozens of times, and it held up great save for the very tip suffering minuscule blunting. (Needless to say, my boss was not amused.) I'm confident that if it can hold up to that abuse, you could quite possibly entrust your life to this as a last resort in a defensive scenario. I only picked this up after seeing a few flippers I follow check it out themselves and approve. For the price, I figured, "Ehh, why not?" It's extremely lightweight, especially given its size, but balance isn't bad at all. It also does not fit in pockets easily, and can be pretty uncomfortable to try. Unless you have a sheath large enough for it (I currently don't), it further detracts its usefulness for every day tasks, and as a weapon. You can flip this, but if you like doing tricks with balisongs, you're a bit limited on what you can do with it unless you're willing to sand away one of the serrated edges, or don't mind having irritated skin from all of the tiny punctures of the serrations. The latch fits super tight between handles, and makes the knife feel solid when locked in place. There's a minimal amount of wobble between handles - as much as I expected there to be - and so far it hasn't gotten worse after what I've put it through. While it's functionality is limited, this was worth the money to me as a collectors/conversation piece. It would've been nice if this had a nicer finish, but I suppose I can't really complain about it for the price. If my memory is correct, Cold Steel stated they would make a more flipper-friendly FGX down the line, which I'm very looking forward to. It's also why I'm holding off from grinding down one of the edges. Hopefully it will be Cold STEEL and not Cold PLASTIC.
Cold Steel 92EAA FGX Balisong Butterfly Knife 5" Double Serrated Edge Griv-Ex (Hard Plastic) Blade and Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Larry D
Memphis
Mar 25, 2019
Pros: Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

Responding to

Dude... you really need to pay attention to the FGX line, its made to be polymer, grivory, etc. Your review is unfair!
Cold Steel 92EAA FGX Balisong Butterfly Knife 5" Double Serrated Edge Griv-Ex (Hard Plastic) Blade and Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Iboogie
CA
Mar 20, 2019
Pros: None
Cons: None

PLASTIC

Yeah, super cheap but it shows. The entire knife is made of plastic, yes the blade too. The blade is sharpened though, like dangerous sharp. I'm not mad because it wasn't really expensive. It's a cool little toy knife though.
Cold Steel 92EAA FGX Balisong Butterfly Knife 5" Double Serrated Edge Griv-Ex (Hard Plastic) Blade and Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Kevin
,
Apr 03, 2019
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Material

Plastic

Did not expect the blade to be polymer(plastic). I had no idea Griv-Ex was plastic alloy.