Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath

Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheathrated 4.584 stars out of 5 (77 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
54
4 star
16
3 star
5
2 star
2
1 star
0
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875 inch Overall, No Sheath

 

Price: $19.95

Save $12.04 (38%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom
So.Cal.
Jan 04, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Good size and weight and very sturdy. Edge is sharp for digging and cutting roots. Be sure to buy the sheath for this shovel.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
David M
oklahoma
Jun 19, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
If u put grip tape on the handle it helps a lot
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Colonel
Valier,Illinois
Nov 29, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Design
Cons: None
Don't Get In The Way Of This Thing!!!
You're not going to dig the Panama Canal with it, and that's not where this puppy shines anyway. This is a fairly benign looking weapon, and a tool second. The factory edge was easy to improve to shaving sharp, and is a very forgiving thrower, every bit as easy as the BadAxe, and much better as a tool or hand weapon. The sheath could be a tad better, but it will keep you from cutting yourself accidentily once you've sharpened it! Good take on the old Setznaz tool. Knife Center provided great service, and the best price on the "Net". Many thanks!!! Colonel.....
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brandon B
North Texas
Feb 07, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Absolute Ironmongery
Outstanding shovel that rides in the back of my 4X4. Yes it digs. Yes it will chop Run the edge along a grinding wheel and it turns into an bloody battle axe that yes you can still dig with. It chops, it stabs, it moves earth. Dig it.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Darnolddawg
Metro Louisville
Jul 29, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
A handy tool to have on hand.
I wanted a small practical entrenchment tool to keep in the car and for camping. This item fits the bill.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dcflux
North Palm Beach, FL
May 03, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Wow, a real sharp shovel
Great product for all around camp use. The blade on this shovel is SHARP. The shovel has a shape that allows you to use it as an ax or as a weapon if necessary. Thick steel with nice coating. Strong wood handle that is thick enough to be used with all your strength. The handle has a nice ball end for great handling. The handle can easily be removed and replaced with a longer one if needed. The shovel has a great "ring" to it!
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael
Peaks of Otter, VA
May 17, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
AWESOME!
Great item! I'm sure that I'll buy at least one more. As has been stated often; be sure to buy the separately sold sheath, this is one sharp instrument.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wipman
Spain
Nov 09, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
The best CBT shovel that i had
It's just perfect; very sharp, good steel, can be used perfectly as axe and as a shovel, easy to use and even comfortable without forget that's a CBT shovel and that you're digging with it. You can dig the holes for the poles of a wire fence in no time with it and chop some wood and three bark very easy to make a small camp fire, it's perfect as camping multi-tool, sturdy... sharp... it's just the perfect CBT shovel and the best one that i ever had; those three-fold CBT shovel are crap and a joke at the side of this great tood, it's really good.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim
MS
Sep 10, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Best multipurpose shovel/hatchet/big knife around
this thing can dig a hole, cut down a tree, and defend your life in a pinch. even if you break the handle you can still grab enough of the metal to still do the job. great tool for many many things. can even do the job of a big knife.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Blacklable
escanba,MI
Aug 21, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Awsome all around shovel !
I did a lot of research before buying this product. I myself am really rough on things and this held up no problem.First I took it on a camping trip and dug out my shelter, cut sticks to use for my shelter. So all in all it's a great tool and better survival instrument. The quality of the shovel is very good.the steel is tough and holds up to plenty of abuse. the only bad thing is the handle has a good coat of varnish upon it so it becomes hard if not dangerous to use the shovel when wet but the handle is made a hard wood and good quality. So all I did was wrap hockey tape around where my hand mostly is on the handle.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nathan
canada
Sep 22, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
awesome
Excellent little shovel. Well built and ready to use.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Don
Pennsylvania
Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Great survival weapon.
The shovel will be used as an emergency item in my car survival kit. The shovel has a very well designed and has decent weight if a self defense weapon in needed when your out on the road. Recommend every one get on for your car or survival needs.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Daniel
Portland, Oregon
Jan 14, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Simple, well-made, mutli-functional
I bought this shovel to replace TWO camping tools. One was my machete for blackberry vines and the other was the very popular folding shovel that can be bought at any surplus store. I found the folding shovel to be too structurally weak and the Cold Steel shovel is obviously just a shovel head mounted securely on a thick wood handle. The head comes semi-sharpened out of the box but I will soon sharpen one side specifically for blackberry vines (a constant headache for Pacific NW hikers/campers). The only other modification I'll do is to sand the handle because in the rainy Pacific NW it is a little too slick. A great buy. As far as a throwing weapon, the other reviewer needs to be a little more realistic. When I got the Cold Steel video in the mail I knew it was BS just by looking at the pear shaped guy with short-shorts, white chicken legs, and white tennis shoes (standing proud, no less, with cutlass sword in hand).
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nils Iver
Skien, Other
Dec 14, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Excellent tool for excellent price
Excellent overall durability, sharpness and coating protection for a fair price! A shovel are not for everyone, ya gonna use it to bury your excrements or make a firepit? There are many more options to do that with by using your wits and suddenly it will cost you nothing and take no space in your backpack at all, just improvise with items around you. It's neither not suited to axe or hurl around with, consider the hurling just a demonstration of useless strength. Only issue are the troublesome rust at the uncoated edges, but should also be easier to treat for being across said edges. This cannot be escaped in treated knives either, so it's technically not even up for a debate, but be aware nonetheless.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paddy
Australia
Apr 29, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
An "A" grade tool
Sturdy and sharp as are all Cold Steel products this is a remarkable implement for the money. Some people have complained about the slippery nature of the varnished handle. Buy 50 cents worth of steel wool and fix it! When I go for my power-walk at night I wear a day pack with a sand bag in it for extra weight. Now I attach the CS shovel with its cover. Personal protection, and I'm not carrying a "weapon".
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Woodsman Lt
somewhere in WV
Jan 24, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
not your ordinary shovel
This thing is wicked a shovel an axe a throwing weapon badass
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sage64
Canada,On,Toronto
May 26, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: Design
The best shovel
If ur looking for a good shovel this is the best one I think and the sheath u have to by but overall I like what I What I got
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark W.
San Francisco
Dec 28, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Spetznatz design, classic.
A lot more fun that the old WWII folding shovel I had as a kid. Don't know what I'm going to do with it, but I threw it in the trunk of my Subaru just in case I get stuck somewhere and have to dig up some dirt to throw under the wheels. Since this is a shovel from Cold Steel, they had to go ahead and semi-sharpen the edges, since the Spetnatz, when not using high explosives, artillery, and AKA's, apparently fell back on their entrenching tools (i.e., this shovel) for self defense. I think if Thompson got married, had a wife, and came out with a line of Teddie Bears, he'd probably put lead weights in their cute little bear heads so you could swing them by their feet and use them as attack Teddie Bears, just in case, you know. (That's only partly a joke, he DOES make "combat marking pens", look it up, the Sharkie.)
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ken L
Martinez ca
Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Design
Cons: None
Nice shovel for the money
I ordered 2 one for my wife's car and one for my own. Product came as advertised. Cold steel makes good equipment for what they charge.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
R J B
Louisiana
Aug 29, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Great Shovel
Everything I expected from Cold Steel, perfect for what I bought it for, behind the seat of my truck, and hiking
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike P
Goose Creek, SC
Jul 24, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Every Trunk or Truck Should Have One
Since they first came out, I have had one. Having a lifetime and then some with training in service and out using edged weapons and improvised weapons, I feel every vehicle should have Cold Steel Special Forces Shovel, a good machete-nothing like the GI Ontario 18'' machete with the hard sheath,a shotgun and a good supply of 00 buckshot, an emergency handgun with a shoulder rig and a good supply of ammo for having to possibly walk a few miles in the dark, and REAL flashlights, like the Fenix, Surefire or Streamlight LED flashlights. Ha ha! Sort if goes like having a decent repair kit for vehicle and tires, first aid kit and a few knives and Gorilla Tape! Even crossing through the boonies can lead to a bad night w/o only once is a teaching moment! The CS SF Shovel is easily sharpened all the way around with a machete file and then honed to a razor's edge for one seriously vicious weapon. I have one designated by the handle as a weapon/emergency chopping tool with non skid tape and rubberized tape, and the other with the working edge has a varying layers of 90MPH tape and rubberized tape. I can ID each by feel in the dark this way too. Ready for almost anything? I try to be. And almost all the aforementioned items come from here.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Happy Camper
Seattle
Jul 05, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Cold steel Awesomeness
Great Shovel, The edges are nice and sharp, I think a fiberglass handle would be better, and also the "business" end of the wood could have been thinner, but i took me knife and whittled it down and varnished it black so now it wont get all messed up when digging, i have the sheath and its pretty good as well very handy
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kelly G
Midlothian Texas
Oct 08, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Very useful for light chopping and digging tasks. Very sturdy design, unlike some other compact shovels.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Singapore
Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Expect the unexpected
The build of the shovel was very sturdy, makes you feel like you are wielding thor's hammer in your very hand. however, i would recommend heavy oiling on the blades as it tends to rust easily. Mine had a few rust spots after digging wet soil. Cheers.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Akai
Canada
Sep 05, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
And essential survival tool.
Woah, is this shovel sharp! You can use it to make a shelter, dig, chop wood, paddle, defend yourself, and even throw! I like this a lot. Tough 1055 carbon steel, and an American hickory handle, some of the best materials you can get for a tool like this. Highly recommended. If the handle breaks, you can order or even make a new one.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vincent R.
Phalsbourg, Ae
Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
superbe poduit
petite pelle tactique tres interessante et tres solide poids plume , excelent produit
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eric
North/East Ohio
Dec 13, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Incredibly useful tool
I purchased two of these shovels ten years ago. They've rode in the back of both my and my wifes car. They've dug trenches, cut roots, fashioned snowmen, dug holes for umbrellas at the beach, been used as axes and machetes, been sharpened and re-sharpened with *no* problems whatsoever. *Everyone* should have several of these.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scaatylobo
Western NY state
Nov 30, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Cold Steel shovel
I took the shovel to a tree [ yes a tree] in my back yard and it was truly amazing to see it bite like a small axe.It was also nice to NOT worry about the wire that had grown into the tree - or the ground I hit while cutting,and the shovel is still sharp and ready to go.Its in my vehicle and will go with me everywhere,and I will get another as a backup.I even got to throw [ and stick ] a friends and it works.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marce
Puerto Rico
Jul 27, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Overall Quality
Exelente producto!
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bjo
italy
Aug 07, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Great !!!!!!!!!!
great tool to dig and split.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim R.
Chicago, IL
Jul 28, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Great Shovel
I have not used this for long, only about a month, but it is one tough mother... I have cut down small trees with it, dug spider holes, hacked through thick pork leg bone and it is still sharp. must have for in place or drive off bug out.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike P
Goose Creek, SC
Aug 21, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Absolutely An Essential Item!
I have had one in my trunk and back of the truck for years. I have recently received two more I got to have my razor edge onto-and safely IN THE SHEATH~! I can literally shave with all of them. I never found a need for a less spooky, ha ha, utility edge, as I have split and chopped a lot of wood for my range shooting and work with them just as well. It should be called an axe/shovel, because this is what it brings to the table. And, so much easier as they now come with a good edge already. I only needed a steel to hone them. Again with the bug out kits I advise, as does FEMA (Hmmmm...) so one also is with the pack, one with the vehicle, and one for the belt. One of the favored hand to hand weapons in WW I even, a good short and sharpened shovel is hard to beat! And this is the best. Simple is always the best-and this is well worth having a few at the price. I even have a razor sharp one waiting for my brother on his next visit. Do yourself a BIG favor and have the sheath for it too! It will cut you being loose and uncovered in a vehicle trunk! And it sure would be a nasty surprise for a bad guy bothering you as you have to change a flat one night!
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Td
MI
Jun 27, 2020
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Good value
Finest barbeque tool. Ever.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wayne G.
Springfield,IL
Aug 31, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
A greta survival tool
I use this shovel when hiking and camping. It is relatively light, strong and can be used as an axe as well as a camp shovel. I could well imagine it would come in handy as a weapon in an emergency. I can't really think of anything negative about the shovel. I really like it and I highly recommend it to others.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
USA
Jan 11, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Nice and Sharp
Great product. I bought this as a replacement of my original that got left behind on an outing. Spade is already sharpened - not a tool for youngsters to play with. Keep in mind to properly maintain the edge to prevent rusting. I owned my first one for 15+ years and had no problems.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chuck Mcdonald
S.C.
May 20, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
amazing
i use it for anything i can manly a stress outlet itll tear a chuck of wood to peaices and throws well to.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scaatylobo
Western NY
Dec 19, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Design
Cons: None
C/S shovel !
If you ever think you might dig a hole,cut a small tree,wack some brush,drive a small spike,chop your way into a vehicle,or even imagine your in a zombie movie = then you might find a use for this tool.From digging a cat hole in the woods to chopping a small [ 4" ] tree this tool did the dirty work without a problem.I liked it so much I got another for the wife's car.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Babyjeezus
NC
May 23, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Might order another one!
This thing is sooo handy! Cuts, chops, and digs! It has replaced my current backpacking cat-hole shovel and machete' and/or camp axe. What a chopper!!!!
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike P.
Goose Creek, SC
May 25, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
A Must Have Tool
There is not any leeway, in my opinion, about having one of these! It is great that now they even already come sharpened, and a decent steel will make the edges razor sharp. Great for roots that way, outstanding close quarters defensive weapon that way. It chops like a champ, is truly solid steel and has heft, and I always have one in the truck, and two spare in the house. One is always near the bedroom door, even, right next to the shotgun. It is that good. I painted one's handle all black, used the sling swivel drill bit to make a end hole and screwed in a heavy sling swivel stud, and ran a paracord lanyard through this. I then used the camouflage wrap cloth tape for firearms and gave it a really great grip handle. You HAVE to get the sheath! They get way too sharp to be sitting around uncovered! Get one, it might save your life at home, in the woods or broken down some way out place in the dark some night. With this shovel, a good handgun, a good carbine or shotgun, and a good Cold Steel knife, like the San Mai III Recon Tanto, you are survivalist/prepper ready.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jay Allen
CA
Jun 29, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Special Forces Entrenching Tool
Sturdy, same great design as the Spetnaz Tool, can be used to hack brush, dig , and clear fire debris.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
David M
oklahoma
Jun 19, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
It throws,it digs, it chops perfect for camping or playing in the woods
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Deckard
Missouri
May 03, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
very versitle
This is a great value for such a versatile tool. Its much more substantial than I thought it would be and is balanced well making it a great tool chopping whatever you need to. But it also serves it primary function as a shovel equally as well. Its sharp edge cuts earth and roots well and the short stubby handle gives the strength to lift out.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Big T
Georgia
Jun 22, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Great little shovel
This little shovel is tough as nails! Can't beat it for the price!!!
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike "Lightning Wolf"
marin county, ca
Dec 28, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Great Product
This is such an inventive product, that I was not aware ever existed before, but now I see how necessary and useful it is. I enjoy how satisfying it is to use. The balance and weight is perfect and the way it throws and "throps" onto the target is exquisite! Love this new tool/toy!
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark
US
Aug 29, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality
Cons: None
Excellent tool!
I bought this shovel with the intention of carrying it in the back of my truck for occasional use. I must say I'm impressed by its quality and SHARPNESS. Excellent for cutting small branches! Will buy another for my wife's car.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin
north carolina
Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Great Bushcraft Tool!!
In a pinch it can replace a knife, axe, machete, fry pan, paddle and digs a great fire pit too! Great tool for the price.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ethan
Australia
Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Design
Cons: None
Great camp shovel
So far i have used it to dig out my 4x4 bogged in sand and to cut down a couple of Blackboys, worked real good
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wolfman77
Las Vegas, NV
Mar 06, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Design
very handy tool
Very handy Lt. truck shovel, great weapon that doesn't look like a weapon. Great for low profile defense. The fold up shovels are okay for digging (if they don't loosen up while you're working), however, you can't deploy them as a weapon very quickly. This sucker is ready to go at all times, either for prospecting, or defending the claim.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Skeezix
Backside of nowhere, northern Missouri
Feb 03, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
VERY handy and well built tool.
I keep this shovel in my truck and have taken it backpacking, camping, and canoeing for years. It always performs perfectly, no matter what I demand from it. But I don't throw it. It's the perfect shovel for digging cat-holes and fire-pits when you're backpacking, camping or canoeing. And if you sharpen one of the edges of the blade, it hacks brush surprisingly well. I've dug out my stuck truck with it a couple of times. It's a very handy companion to have with you.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ron S
Jul 01, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Chop chop
I keep one in each car. Never know when you may need to dig yourself out of trouble! Get some training from someone good in European Combatives & you'll be amazed what you can do with it. It's just a tool to LE. Not like a machete, knife or club.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
Australia
Jul 27, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Digging , chopping wood .. Very solid tool.great value for money
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mr. Filimon
Sandakan, Sabah.
Aug 04, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Tiny-Tough-Tremendous
This is the same shovel that Zachary Fowler's select with ten other items in TV show's programme 'Alone' Season 3. Which is Fowler's announce as a winner 'Last Man Standing', struggle 87 days in Patagonia. This shovel is quite tiny comparing to actual size, which is easy to carry. Made from tough and strong material and tremendous performance, and it's proven by Fowler's in Patagonia The shovel edge was sharpened suitable for chopping task. Grab one now!!
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mohammed Bukhari
Springfield Gardens, Ny
Apr 11, 2012
Pros: Materials Quality
Cons: None
Coo Shovel
First time i used this shovel in camping it was so cool , light whight and the sharp is good for cutting the rope and open some box with it , i would like to extra one to leave it on my truck , i recommend this tools
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Martin H.
Florida
Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Gift
I bought this as a Christmas gift for someone who roams around in the Arizona desert so I didn't use it myself, I didn't even throw it once. However, I did compare it to a Russian original and the Cold Steel version from Knifecenter looks as good or better in all respects. Exactly what I wanted.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Them0nk
california
Feb 24, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
I would have given it a 5 but the shovel was bent weird. I don't want to deal with the hassle of exchanging and waiting on shipping again.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Obx351
Mid-Atlantic
Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Great product for the price
Pretty cool multi-use shovel that's made of tough 1055 steel. I bought mine for camping and to use as an emergency blade/chopper in the woods. It's just under 3 lbs with the sheath and is perfect for small digging jobs. It's probably hit or miss on how well the handle holds up but I'll deal with it for the cost. I suspect if you don't throw it the handle will last a long time. You can sharpen some or all of the edges and use it as a machete, light wood chopper or a weapon. The factory edge is not that sharp but good enough to use in a pinch and it's safer IMO. I am sure it'll do a great job digging and cutting roots right out of the box. Get the sheath too. It's got a loop that you can hang off of your gear or belt.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Erk
California
Nov 09, 2009
Pros: Design
Cons: None
Spetz
Good shovel, but if you wanna throw something, go with a knife. And bob, spetsnaz DID in fact use a shovel very similar to this one.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
John
Texas
Feb 10, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Design
Cons: None
Lol! This thing is just to cool.
I bought this for camping. Holy crap! Ever buy something and then realize your probably going to get yourself trouble with it? Shovel, axe, self defense tool, throwing axe! Its strong and fairly light. Cold Steel makes replacement handles. Take this and a mill file to the woods and it will handle just about all of your camp chores and provide an amusing afternoon of entrainment learning to throw it. The only con is it needs a good sheath.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Zeke C
Stouffville, Canada
Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Materials Quality
Cold steel shovel
I haven't use this item yet it mainly for winter if i ever got stuck on the snow. Product seem to be very solid only the handle a little light.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Gerry
Alanson Mi.
Jun 02, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
I plan to use it as a rabbit stick.
I own a gov. issue e-tool.I purchased this as a alternative that I could punish and not worry about losing or breaking. I am impressed with its materials and construction. The only thing I thought could be improved, is the screws on the side protrude a little. They have to be filed down.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jr
San Diego, CA
Mar 21, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality
Cons: None
Feels good, but it makes you not want to use it as a shovel. It is VERY sharp! Don't think it would be easy to dig a hole with this, but if you want to throw it or slice someone with this then you are in business.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Alex
Dec 26, 2008
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
This shovel worked really great for me
This shovel worked really great for me, I recently did a large project of digging under a gate and cutting a large root out from under it, the shovel worked great, it would chop through the roots in the ground, shovel excellently, well balanced. It just flat out works, the wood was strong, and the metal was good. edge stayed sharp even against rocks. definitely worth the money.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Twid
Sweden
Jan 26, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great
I have one in each car i drive, and one in the hallway. They are not illegal in Sweden and you do not look so nasty with it. I guess the grip can be better but for the price you can easily get som griptape to.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Heather
Melbourne FL
Feb 01, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Worth the money
I bought this to train the kids on all the uses for a entrenching tool. The shovel was sharpened as well as it should for the price. The handle is very nice and past the quality expected for the price. Coldsteel should have 2 skus for the item one with the sheath one without, because the sheath is needed for my application and is back ordered at this time. I have already started to show them the defense applications of this shovel and have used it as a machete already. So in closing this is defiantly worth the money.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
John B
Aurora, IL
Nov 27, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Special Forces Shovel
Good balance and steel quality.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brian Patt
galesburg il
Jan 07, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, None
Cons: Design
Good little shovel
handy, sharp right out of box, little smaller than I would have liked but I would buy again
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
M
az
Jan 08, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, None
Cons: Materials Quality
Great shovel head, poor handle quality
This shovel would get a 5 but after only slight usage, the handle broke! The break occurred at the junction between the handle and neck of the shovel. The solution to this problem was solved when I carved a handle from a scrap tree branch using the awesome Mora No.2 knife. The shovel itself is extremely tough. The 1055 carbon steel is easy to sharpen (takes a fine edge) and can take a beating, For the money its a good buy, good car/truck tool.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Curt
Illinois
Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Good shovel. Compact and easy to carry in backpack without a lot of extra weight. Works well as an axe and easy to sharpen with a file.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Desertrat9
Cottonwood, AZ
Feb 10, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
Not fully tested....
I havent had the chance to take out in the field. I did use it in the yard to remove some bushes and brush and to dig out a rotted galvanized fence pole. I am short and still had to get on my knees to use effectively. It worked very well. It is going in my Bronco for out in the desert treks and camping chores.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
James
NV
Oct 01, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Design
Cons: None
Very good camping shovel
Use this shovel around camp on multi-day trips; very handy and durable. I have never thrown mine nor do I intend to but works great for camp making. Came with sharp edges that help dig and make kindling.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Bob
ontario
May 17, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials Quality, Design
Cons: None
This shovel is really cool and all but it wasn't used in the Spetsnaz. It was used in the Green Berets. The Spetsnaz had a ballistic knife. Next time actually research about your items.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
John M
Vancouver, BC
Oct 23, 2010
Pros: Design, None
Cons: Overall Quality
Look at this shovel...
The design of this shovel is based Russian SPETSNAZ shovel. I can tell it's a bit too big. It looks like a mass production and it is made in Taiwan. I bought 2. Anyways, this shovel is tough enough for survival. It can be a deadly throwing weapon.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Thomas
IE
Jun 09, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
Need some work to do
3stars for few things handle was out of the box with some marks like was used or hit somewhere.where metal start was very sharp wood so dremel help me out.and under metal where wood finish need dremel as well because when you going to dig willbe more harder but not big deal jus need to take off wood some off.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Shane
Kildare, Rep of Ireland
Oct 26, 2011
Pros: Design, None
Cons: Materials Quality
Poor handle
Only after a few throws the handle broke. Aside from that, I stuck those few throws pretty easily and it came out of the box nice and sharp. I'll replace the handle but I'm still a little disappointed. Given Cold Steel's current love affair with Polypropylene I don't see why they insist of using sub-standard wood.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Frustrated Person
Maryland, United States
Oct 25, 2009
Pros:
Cons:
I'm sorry but...
I don't own this but I just had to write a review regarding "Bob" from Ontario. Deadliest Warrior is a television show and does not in any way govern what Spetsnaz uses to dig holes. Russian forces really did use a shovel almost exactly like this one. You can buy the original but it's just as good if not better to buy the Cold Steel one. The US Green Berets do not have a monopoly on entrenching tools and Spetsnaz do not exclusively use ballistic knives.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Santi.-
Spain.-
Jun 23, 2008
Pros: Design, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Materials Quality
What's Up With The Handle?.-
Prior to buy this shovel, I had watched the Solid Proof DVD. I enjoyed it whole, and something that amazed me was to see Anthony DeLongis throwing shovels like this against a chunk of soft wood. If I had any questions about the versatility of the shovel, I discarded it immediately. What I found right out of the box was a sturdy piece... at first glance . I sharpened its edges where it had to be, and put it to test. Big deal, folks. But I mean big STINKING deal. Only ten to fifteen hacks and a throw to a piece of wood (not a hard one, and I wasn't playing berserker) were enough to crack the handle. What material did CS guys use for the DVD then? Nonetheless, the head resisted the "ordeal". But it doesn't suffice my needs. I don't imagine taking such deceitful product to work. I'm in the military, and failures like that are much, much more than unpleasing. They can be most hazardous.
Cold Steel 92SF Special Forces Shovel, 19.6875" Overall, No Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Tony
Vancouver B.C.
Feb 11, 2010
Pros: Design, None
Cons: Overall Quality
OK for the price
When I unpacked this shovel it was sharpened asymmetrically and the shovel was screwed to a handle in an awkward way. A small portion was slightly rusted and the inner part was dented. Not a nice sight for someone who expects only a perfection from Cold Steel. Since it will be used for an emergency digging only I didn't complain about it. Oiled it heavily and stored it in my SUV...