Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 97AM18 Latin Machete 18" Blade, Polypropylene Handle

Cold Steel 97AM18 Latin Machete 18" Blade, Polypropylene Handlerated 3.900 stars out of 5 (10 reviews)
3.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
3
3 star
4
2 star
0
1 star
0
Cold Steel 97AM18 Latin Machete 18 inch Blade, Polypropylene Handle

 

Price: $16.95

Save $9.04 (35%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 97AM18 Latin Machete 18" Blade, Polypropylene Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jacob Black
Galesburg, MI
Jul 17, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Solid Craftsmanship
I own three Cold Steel machetes and I love them all! This 18" Latin machete is no exception. High quality carbon steel makes short work of anything smaller than me. If you are looking for an affordable, compact brush clearing tool, look no further.
Cold Steel 97AM18 Latin Machete 18" Blade, Polypropylene Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vic
Kalix
Aug 12, 2009
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Chop
This is the best basic machete i know of. Quite perfect in every regard except the factory edge.
Cold Steel 97AM18 Latin Machete 18" Blade, Polypropylene Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pa
maryland
May 15, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
clear the way
Perfect for this time of year to clear the winter away for around the garage and around the porch. Good price and there is a sheath to fit it, sold separately. Also at a reasonable price.
Cold Steel 97AM18 Latin Machete 18" Blade, Polypropylene Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tatankaohitika
Virginia Beach
Aug 18, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Gets the job done.........
Im a self-bow maker and this knife is perfect for chopping wood from the belly of a bow or thick stave, and for scraping and removing wood overall. It's a bit flimsy blade, and the handle looks weak, but it is strong and gets the job done............
Cold Steel 97AM18 Latin Machete 18" Blade, Polypropylene Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Anonymous
Shady Side, MD
Oct 15, 2010
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
good machete
Excellent buy for the money. this machete is strong and flexible, plus it has the anti rust coating which is an real advantage. Wish the handle was made of rubber though, would offer a better grip, but its fine. Although you will have to sharpen this thing yourself if you ever intend to use it.
Cold Steel 97AM18 Latin Machete 18" Blade, Polypropylene Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bill P
Mandeville,La
Sep 12, 2011
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
USE FOR HOME DEFENSE
Cold Steel 97AM18 Latin Machete 18" Blade, Polypropylene Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Joev
Texas
Aug 26, 2009
Pros: Materials, Blade Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
decent/typical machete
Good basic machete. It's about what one should expect for any machete at its price. Handle seems pretty cheap. The factory blade sharpness is pretty poor, nothing like Cold Steel portrays in their video (chopping wood then shaving arm hair). Works for chopping parts of my neighbor's cactus that keeps growing over the fence into my yard.
Cold Steel 97AM18 Latin Machete 18" Blade, Polypropylene Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Sp2 Alex
bucharest
May 09, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Finish
good overall tool
Very tiring handle and not to comfortable. Shape of the handle is to round allover and turns the blade in the hand making it slip out. I added paracord wrap to limit bruising from the texture, and a lanyard, but still the round shape makes it impossible to have a good firm grip. I`ll might have to grind and make a thinner shape to the handle in the future. Blade comes relatively sharp,except for the belly and tip. Needs sharpening but it`s fast and easy to do so. Works on wrist size wood too,for chopping. With a good edge on, the shock in the handle is limited. An overall good machete and not to big for backpacking. Perfect size and weight. I would give a 5 star but the handle issues pull out 2 stars off. I highly recommend, but with care for handle modifications.
Cold Steel 97AM18 Latin Machete 18" Blade, Polypropylene Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Nome
Louisiana
Dec 16, 2009
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, None
Cons: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality
Cold Steel Latin Machete
Bought as an inexpensive tool to clear brush and small trees and branches. Quality seems OK. About right for the price point. Edge needs reprofiling and sharpening. Handle appears well made.
Cold Steel 97AM18 Latin Machete 18" Blade, Polypropylene Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Sean
Kentucky
Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Blade Material
worth it's price, but no more
Let's start with the good. It wasn't completely dull on arrival, has a nice size and weight, and flexes without breaking or staying bent. The handle isn't too bad either. Now, on to the downside. The steel is ridiculously soft. The edge rolled from a swing into the cardboard box used to ship it, though that may be partly due to the edge being ground somewhat unusually thin on mine. I bought this with the intent to experiment with modifying it, so soft steel just makes that easier.The cold steel machetes in the $20-30 range seem vastly superior in quality to this line. In this <$20 price range, I found the marbles machete I purchased in the same order to be much more satisfactory. That's just my experience, and yours may vary. If you plan to really use this machete, I would advise taking a steel with you to straighten the edge periodically.