Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 97KMIGS Royal Kukri Machete 14" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath

Cold Steel 97KMIGS Royal Kukri Machete 14" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheathrated 4.417 stars out of 5 (12 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
0
Cold Steel 97KMIGS Royal Kukri Machete 14 inch Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath

 

Price: $25.95

Save $18.04 (41%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 97KMIGS Royal Kukri Machete 14" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul
NY
Jul 23, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Solid Blade.
Very nice blade. The sheath is pretty crummy but the blade more than makes up for it. I wasn't expecting something so sharp from cold steel.
Cold Steel 97KMIGS Royal Kukri Machete 14" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan
Michigan
Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
As Adcertised.
Solid, balanced and at a great price. Just what you expect from cold steel. It might not be razor sharp but it can be easily sharpened to whatever sharpness you need. Shipping was quick and product was as described.
Cold Steel 97KMIGS Royal Kukri Machete 14" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Casca
Texas
Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Best Kukri I ever owned.
I just received my Cold Steel Royal Kukri Machete today. As a pup I learned to carry a Kukri on my web gear in the field. Over the years I have lost or worn out 5 or 6 of the originals, the problem was it took hours to put a razor edge on them. My new Cold Steel Royal Kukri is not the case. It mounts easily on my web gear and only takes a few minutes to make it sharp enough to shave with. Another plus is the blade is lighter in weight yet stronger than the traditional thick / heavy blade. The Royal Kukri is perfect for use in any jungle on the planet or silently getting past guerilla sentries. Use your imagination and you will find a good use for this fantastic blade.
Cold Steel 97KMIGS Royal Kukri Machete 14" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rick
Florida
Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great!
What a great machete. The forward weight when chopping or hacking brush really takes the strain off my wrist and arm. Holds an edge well enough, and can hack through wood better than most.
Cold Steel 97KMIGS Royal Kukri Machete 14" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ronald
Philippines
Jun 28, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Finish
Best clearing tool
A bit heavy for a machete, but lighter than a kukri. Needs a bit of deburring, but not much more. Cuts down light vegetation like a scythe, chopped through tree limbs with ease. Forward balance helped a lot with chopping action, reduced impact stress by letting you use a light grip instead, while the wide grip flare at the end ensured that it stayed secure in your hand. Wrapping the grip or wearing gloves will enhance the experience and reduce hot spots during extended use. If you have an overgrown backyard, this is the tool you need!
Cold Steel 97KMIGS Royal Kukri Machete 14" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rclo
Lutherville, MD
Dec 18, 2013
Pros: Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Impressive blade begs to chop through something
I plan to use the Royal Kukri just like the Kukri Machete, which I also got - to clear brush along wooded trails. The heavy blade and excellent balance make it appear perfect for chopping through fallen saplings and small tree branches. It wouldn't be much use in tall grass, etc., where a longer, slashing blade would be more effective. The blade came roughly-sharpened and will need a smooth-stoning to get a keen edge. The sheath fits nicely. Overall, I rated this "5" because of the weight/balance of the blade and the reasonable price.
Cold Steel 97KMIGS Royal Kukri Machete 14" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kirk
Scottville KY
Jan 23, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Same great blade! Same crap sheath!
Any blade for combat or survival needs to be ready to draw with one hand on a split seconds notice!! Better a cheaper blade you can get out and use once. Than a better blade they find on your rotting corpse because you could not get it out in time. I have told cold steel about this before they do not listen
Cold Steel 97KMIGS Royal Kukri Machete 14" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott
Tennessee
Aug 12, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great Machete
Great machete for clearing brush...and killing the occasional copperhead or timber rattler you might encounter. Cuts very well and the sharp point works well for sticking the snakes' heads to the ground before they can bite you. Sheath isn't the greatest, but isn't bad either. Does what you need it to.
Cold Steel 97KMIGS Royal Kukri Machete 14" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bigw
Maryland
Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, None
Cons: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard
Takes some work - but can be made great
Here is the bad news - the sheath is pretty cheap and it comes from the factory with one of the roughest edges I've ever seen. It looked like the factory edge was put on with like a 20 grit belt sander. I realize this is a tool and not a knife, but I had to get a small grinder out to clean up the edge before I even started sharpening it. Once I had the deep grooves out of the edge, it still took some time on the stones to get a nice edge on it. But eventually it took a very nice edge. So expect to put in some time on the front-end with this. But if you are willing to do a little work you can make this into an absolute beast of a tool. I bought it mainly for limbing downed trees and for hiking/camping firewood prep. Now that it is properly sharp, it is amazing at both of those tasks. It goes through smaller limbs with almost no power behind the swing and chops larger pieces of wood almost as well as a small axe even though it weighs far less. It bites deep and the design lets you put a lot of power behind your stroke. It also will hold its edge a good while - the quality of the steel is excellent for something in this price range. The handle is nothing special, but it is all day comfortable. I would not buy this to use like a traditional machete on tall grass etc. I tried it and although it worked ok, it is not really what you want for that kind of work. The blade is too short and too heavy. What this thing is ideal for is processing wood without weighing you down excessively. Given how little it cost and what it can ultimately be made into - it is a good value.
Cold Steel 97KMIGS Royal Kukri Machete 14" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jonas
Sundsvall Sweden
Nov 26, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Great machete bad sheath.
Robust machete with good balance, paper cutting sharp. Two cons though, it takes forever to take the blade out of the sheath (Its three straps that needs to be unbuttoned) and on my machete the corrosion finish is missing on some spots.
Cold Steel 97KMIGS Royal Kukri Machete 14" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Matochi
Southern Oregon Mountains
Feb 06, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Blade Sharpness
Royal Kukri
It's one of those products where you get what you pay for. The large size makes for good chopping and the handle is comfortable and grippy. It's even got some weight to it even tho it's a thinner blade than the more traditional Kukri. Mine came so uneven on the back of the blade that it's actually sharp. The grind on the blade is way uneven. After some blade work and working out some minor detail flaws its definitely a decent chopping tool. I think it was worth the twenty something $ I paid for it. At this price I don't think twice about beating the crap out of it while camping or hiking.
Cold Steel 97KMIGS Royal Kukri Machete 14" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
David
Oxnard
Mar 26, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Royal Kukri
Got this as a possible chopper and to see if I liked the Kukri since I am partial to my condor bush craft parang. This was a horrible first try for a kukri or they just suck not sure. Haven't used it on light brush, just light branches and a few medium ones for chopping to test it out. handle was surprisingly comfortable till I hit something and had all the shock hit my hand. It chopped but poorly, I have knives that would do a better job of this. Used straight out of the box and even after sharpening on my belt sander. The most annoying parts is the chime it gives off after every hit. The plus, it was cheap. The shorter one probably would have been better for chopping but also wanted some length to clear brush either way not using this one for either.