Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath

Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheathrated 4.272 stars out of 5 (81 reviews)
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
37
4 star
35
3 star
4
2 star
4
1 star
1
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13 inch Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath

 

Price: $18.95

Save $11.04 (37%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike L
ozark, mo
Jun 07, 2010
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
wounderful
just the right weight, strong, sharp, perfect survival tool.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill R
Clearwater, FL
Aug 29, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great value for money, will do lots of work
Very very tough, I don't think you can break it except if you want to be completely ridiculous and really work at it. Fine chopper. I also carry it in the car as in extreme necessity it would be a highly effective self defense item -- the kukri shape gives amazing snap cuts, and of course it's quite a chopper -- and it's conveniently sized and I don't think law enforcement would be worked up about it being in my car. Minus: the sticker was really hard to get off. The black coating isn't durable. That's fine because I wanted the bare blade anyway. Doesn't arrive highly sharp but that is okay for the price. This isn't a Busse but it's also not even 10% the price yet will in virtually any situation do the same work, just not hold the edge as much but still very adequately.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Greenman
Illinois
May 15, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Excellent Value & Design
This kukri is light and fast in the hand with excellent balance. Will need an edge to do some good chopping; handle has more than sufficient grip. Excellent value for less than $20.00 with included sheath. You can't ask for more. I prefer this kukri to the ka-bar kukri I also have. It just seems to fly through the air; probably due to it being thinner on the spine. Don't be fooled though, this kukri can take monster abuse!
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mfr
Delaware
Aug 09, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
Well worth it
This is a yard use machete, put a sharper edge on it to handle the small things. The weight is perfect and balance is on point. Can't ask for a better machete for the price.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
William G
Homeland, Ca
Apr 13, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Finish, Blade Sharpness
Utility edge!
For those of you who have purchased C.S. products before, I'm sure you were expecting this to be razor sharp. It wasn't designed to be. Simply use a mill bastard file to give it a little better edge and it will serve you well. Keep a utility edge on it to help keep it from chipping. An excellent all around choice in my opinion.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zachary G
Jacksonville, Fl
Dec 12, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
just what i wanted
For protection, the shape and the nonslip handles. NOT SHARP ENOUGH
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rob K.
Currently So. Calif
Jul 30, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Materials, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great Bushcraft
This is a true diamond in the rough. If you are capable of working off the rough, you will have an awsome blade for the price. I also replaced the sheath with a CONDOR leather one which required a little re-profile of the blade to fit. I have many machetes from living in the jungles of this world since 1970. This is my new favorite. While no tool fits all purposes, this one comes close
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jose E.W.P
nutley,nj
Sep 08, 2010
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard
awsome power
this a field tool without peers. i used it to clear my 100 x 100 backyard which i've neglected,sad to say,but wtih the cold steel kukri machete i did it in less than an hour(had lots of fun doing it).it chopped,slashed,cut through everything there with no problem.evenly balanced,bits deep into what ever you're hacking through.did not come very sharp but did not matter it did the job better than hoped for.sheath could b better in my opinion,but overall great product. hope cold steel keeps making them and knifecenter keeps selling them. marriage made in heaven
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim C
Keizer, Oregon
Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Awesome blade
This knife is amazing. Will chop anything you swing it at and stay sharp. I Carry It strapped To My rucksack and barely notice it's there. The handle is comfortable and grips nicely. I highly recommend the cold steel kukri and it's a bargain at the low price.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Josh J
Alaska
Dec 06, 2012
Pros: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Handle Material
Awesome Value Machete
I got this blade as a gift years ago, it has done everything from heavy clearing and limbing. I even made a survival spear with it once just to see how it did. To smaller more precise cuts all quite well and ergonomically. In the right hands you can cut anything but metal with this and it will keep on chugging. The original edge is ugly but sharp enough, it sharpens plenty easy. I don't care for the handle and highly recommend putting and using a short lanyard! Sheath is ok remember this is a budget knife if you want top shelf you gotta pay for it!
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Big Steve
Louisiana
Jan 04, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
Good Kukri
Gave these kukris to my sons and son-in-law for Christmas. They all love them. The use them for enerything from cutting brush for blinds to dressing game. Great weight and design for easy chopping and slashing and stomping around the swamp. Perfect size to strap to a backpack, wear on your hip, or just leave in the boat. Very satisfied.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jj
Yuma Arizona YPG
Mar 31, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Materials, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Finish, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
AWSOME KNIFE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I cut down alot of trees i liked that it stayed sharp and preformed very well for the task.But the handle was a little bit slippery
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nwguy
northern Michigan
Sep 05, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
MORE value than you could expect for the $$$$
MY first one of these was purchased from Cold Steel as a BLEM at least... well I forget but quite a while ago. I took it out of the box and noticed nothing wrong but hey, who was I to argue? Since it was a bush tool the first thing I did was wrap paracord around te handle until it got to what I wanted for fit. Sharpened it up with little problem even though it came sharp but them everything needs help some time. Since then it has been to Canada for moose and caribou hunting and general camping at least a dozen times. It took an edge that you could shave with and it withstood every thing I ever threw at it including quartering caribou joints. Fast forward to a couple years ago and I got another one. Obviously produced by someone different for CS. Fought my way into the packaging and pulled it free. A little different feel, the blade is just a touch longer and the grip a little smaller. It also isn't as sharp out of the box as most CS products, still for $20 I do not expect a razor blade, besides in our present days of stupid people getting to sue for everything I am just glad that is has any edge.. but is was still fairly sharp. Time to get out the sharpening stones and get to work. After making it sharp enough to split a fat atom and doing the grip wrap, building the grip with paracord until it fit my mitt, I head out to the woods I live in for some remedial trail clearing. The only surprise would be if there was a surprise. It took all the beating I gave it and kept right on going. When it got down to only diamond cutting sharpness I hit it with the sticks and kept whittling my way through the brush. The balance was changed in the new manufacture with the weight feel out to the tip a little more, this helps with the cutting. My only gripe if one was the grip is coming out fit for munchkin size hands I understand some guy in marketing says "Well it has to fit everyone." But they also have to look at their potential customer base and figure that the little people are NOT the ones who will be buying the majority of this product. One could complain about the sheath but come on... it comes with a $20 knife and free at that. If it offends you or does not function the way you like you can always find some leathersmith who will build you a custom sheath for double the price of the knife. ANYWAY, once again CS has provided more bang for the buck. The "new" one now rides 24/7 in the ARGO exposed to all the crap that goes with being on a vehicle that has no limits to the trouble it can get you into. AND, if I lose it, it jumps out from where I have it jammed into a nook of the ARGO, it is no great $$$ loss. I'll just get another one. The "old" one still sits in my camping gear pile. The 2 other new new ones are still in the wrap but will be coming out so I can sharpen them up and give to my boys as part of their Christmas booty, along with the CS Bushman "Bowie" knives I have for them. BTW, this knife make an interesting thrower. Very slow rotation speed but lots of edge to bite and if you do it right it buries so deep into the pine that it become work to get it out. Even if you didn't get the perfect throw in, I would hate to be on the receiving end when it gets there. This is a great blade for the price. I bought 4 of them.. then again I also wound up with 8 YES that is EIGHT Bushman knives of both blade styles and they are in various piles and bags and vehicles, so I think those are a pretty good buy also.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joseph W
Norfolk, VA
Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great Cutter
This will make short work of any over grown vines and even bamboo. Feels good in the hand, and perfect weight.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
American Chopper
Kansas City, MO
Mar 15, 2011
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
great machete at a great price
You can't beat the price on this machete, you just can't. It has great steel that keeps a good edge. I've used it for several years now and it has taken quite a beating. The size is excellent for going camping, nice and compact. The sheath is alright, not the best quality but is protects the blade and the rest of your gear. The handle is a nice shape, but the aggressive checkering will tear up your hand without gloves, believe me, I've got tons of blisters from this thing. All in all, you can't beat the quality for the price.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Justin
NC
Jun 07, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Great Machete
This machete is a great work tool. I use mine for cutting back brush, vines, limbs, and small trees. The blade shape, handle, and size are perfect. My only gripe is that this particular machete came with a butter knife edge and took some work to bring to a decent edge, unlike the cs kukri magnum I already have which came with a decent utility edge. Overall, great machete for the price, even considering the sub-par edge from the factory.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jacques Vallee
Pontoise, Val-d'Oise
Apr 06, 2010
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Forever Trustworthy
Go ahead and type "Cold Steel Kukri Machete Destruction test" into your favorite search engine and see what kind of videos the query yields. Anyone reading this review probably already knows that the machete needs to be sharpened and the sheath leaves a bit to be desired...this is still a 5 star blade when considering the price. The handle is a bit too skinny and unforgiving, but a sloppy wrap of electrical tape over a piece of cloth does well to silence any comfort complaints. This machete will live longer than you. Buy it.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe
Indiana
Aug 05, 2011
Pros: Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Materials
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Great Kukri
This is a great Kukri! I just got it today and it was worth the wait. I use this to clear brush and it works fantastic.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Leighton Smith
Nevada
May 16, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
Kukri machete 13"
This is an excellent compact machete. The shape makes it effective in spite of it's short length. For the price it seems very well made with a comfortable grip. The edge was a bit rough, but that was easy to clean up. Great knife to have around camp. Nice weight to use and not so expensive that you will feel bad if your buddy chops into a rock.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hr/Sl
magna utah
Dec 11, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
more machete for your money!
Great kukri style machete. The kukri blade is designed to cut deep and this blade will do just that. The 1055 carbon steel blade is strong and sharp but does require some touch up sharpening on the edge. Some people complain about the sheath that it is to thin and the blade cuts through it. I have had no problems with the sheath so far it is better built then i thought. It has hard plastic lining on the inside that helps reinforce it. I would recommend this machete to anyone who wants a great survival tool. I would trust this machete in any survival situation. Great job cold steel!
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan
Salem Oregon
Sep 06, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Excellent bushcraft tool
I live in Oregon and the vegetation is mixed hardwood and evergreens. The material is tough to cut, normally requiring a hatchet. A hatchet is too heavy to carry. The Cold Steel Kukri does the work of a hatchet. Machette blade steel is too soft. The edge will roll under cutting hardwood. The Kukri is made of hardened knife steel and will not roll under. It has plenty of weight to do the work. Am excellent all-purpose tool and a real bargain at this price. Handle is no-slip, although you should attach a thong for safety. A hole is drilled through the handle for that purpose. Adequate sheath. The blade comes plenty sharp. The blade finish resists rust. I use it in the woods, clearing trail and around the property chopping blackberry and noxious weeds and brush.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Anthony F
tullahoma,tn.
Mar 26, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
awsone tool
i use this product on my fishing backpack for clearing brush,saplings what ever is in my way for fishing the river were i live. capming too. came little sharp out of box but i could tell it is desighned to be sharpened by owner. i put it on a electric grinder and finished up with file. man is that kukri sharp. 1055 carbon steel is the bomb. i have fully functional katana swards with that kind of steel. you can cut down anything you want to spend the time to cut. it is an awsome tool,wepon,ect. would recomend it to any one needed one. zombies look out!
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
C-Dub
Maryville, Tennessee
Sep 01, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Finish, Blade Sharpness
Incredible Deal
Having read the reviews before I purchased this machete, I knew from the getgo that it would have a poor edge. Unsurprisingly, the edge was quite dull, and I had to sharpen it before the Kukri became very useful. After sharpening though, the blade preformed very well, hacking through everything from brush to small tree limbs. I have even used the machete as a hatchet to chop down small trees. The blade itself and the tip in particular are also very sturdy. Since the machete was only $16 I kind of set out to test its limits and generally abuse it, and I have used the machete quite frequently as an oversized throwing knife. The tip has held up incredibly well considering the weight of the blade, in fact, the only problem is that the black finish wears off after repeated throwing. There have been a lot of complaints about the sheath, and I too believe it to be lacking. I'm actually somewhat fond of the design, but the plastic guards on the tip are useless. If there was one solid guard instead of two plates sewn together it would be a lot more effective. As it is now, the machete will sometimes slice through the tip of the sheath. Trust me, unnoticed, this can turn quite ugly. Overall though, I am extremely satisfied with my purchase. For $16 you absolutely CANNOT buy a better machete. It is easily worth twice as much, and I would readily buy it again.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
Jul 02, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
Great for backwoods work
After sharpening it, I use it for clearing thicker brush, and lighter chopping tasks. I tested an actual Kukri from Nepal (which is a beast ~2lbs) a Condor Knife and Tool Thai Enep Knife(CN41412HC), and a small hatchet at chopping a 4x4 in my backyard. As expected the Kukri, and hatchet could really make the wood chips fly. What surprised me was what happened when I tried this machete as well. It only took an additional ~10-20% chopping time. This is amazing considering it is almost half the weight of the hatchet or Kurki. You do need to do some sharpening as mine came with a chunk of the blade covered by the black coating, leaving the edge actually blunt. Good Points: For the size a great chopper. Works well on bushes anything were a little extra heft helps, light enough to use for hours on end. Bad Points: Mine came without an actual edge in places (see comment above). The shape is for chopping, if you are going to clear lightweight brush go with a longer latin machete. I got the sheath and am not sure if it was worth it. Just use cardboard and duct tape and you will be okay.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael L
Kungsbacka, Other
Oct 22, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Excellent but not that sharp
Not that Sharp out of the box, but it's understandable given it's a cheap machete with great quality and cutting Power. I've sharpened mine with the Accusharpener (that is also a realy great Product) to a fine edge. Now it cutts Wood like a champ, better than most axes i've had and it's not even made for that sort of work. I would've liked to know that it was not that Sharp Before i ordered it. But hey! it's a rly good Machete, rly cheap for the quality so i got no complaints rly.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kjartan
Sweden
Mar 19, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Finish, Blade Sharpness
OMG!
Love this blade! Did some reprofiling on it since the factory edge was really bad. Now it chops everything in its path. Brutal blade! This might be the best value cutting tol out there. Good handle and ok sheath. Buy two while you´re at it.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Micky M.
GB
Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ringer459
Big Bear City, California
Jun 24, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Materials, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish
The toughest steel, a good edge, thick enough steel to easily baton and therefore split wood, but the handle leaves something to be desired. The steel is tougher on this than the K-bar Kukri, and while both do the job, the K-Bars' distal taper works better when the blade is swung in combination with the handle. The "trick" is the balance in motion which K-Bar offers versus Cold Steels' product. I own both, and like both, but confidence comes from K-Bar and not so with Cold Steels' shape / handle combination. Cold steel has chosen a handle, which demands because of its' slim circumference, that you use a glove which grips well. When this is done, a greater level of confidence is attained. The grinding which has been done to Cold Steels' basic Kukri is atrocious to say the very least. Two hours to fix it, cursing all the way. And by the way, after grinding, the "craftsman" then sent the little darling to be friction coated. What a mess. When I received K-Bars kukri, sharp, clean and ready to rock and roll was it. This isn't to say that Cold Steel does not have a good product, they do! It works very - very well. But be prepared to fix the intolerable. If you are willing to do so, it's a great product and I'm proud to own it - by and by the way. As for the sheath.... Phooey!!!
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dylan S.
MA, USA
Jun 02, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
Does what it is supposed to do
Bought this machete to clear some thick brush growing too far up my yard. Comes with no edge (thats why its so cheap), so I used my rudimentary sharpening skills to give it an "edge" (Im really not good at sharpening in the least). Took it out back and it worked like a charm. The key is not the edge, its the shape. The shape of the blade allows it to chop well with the least bit of an edge on it. Cut through saplings in single strokes. Dont need to worry about the abuse either because its so cheap. Great tool. Handle is very grippy with a great contour, and works even better with gloves.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Swon8it
renton
Apr 06, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
very good
very good
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Knife Beater
TX
May 22, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Great bang for the buck
I beat the hell out of this thing. It works great on small trees, brush, campfire wood, etc. With a little practice it swings and cuts quite well. As I have oversize mitts, I cord wrapped and sealed the handle to fit me. The edge was dull as bought but I put a convex profile on it that goes thru anything organic. The sheath sux and cut thru almost immediately. A friend made a leather one for me. I enjoy bringing cheap tools up to expensive tool capabilities!
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Swd
Desert Southwest
Sep 26, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Cold Steel Kukri 13" Machete Oh Yeah!
I have a few Cold Steel machetes. But this one is one of my favorites. The design of the Kukri is awesome for devasting slashes and chops. I feel the design would actually aid one in increasing the power delivered to any strike with horrific damage. The carbon steel it is made from will attain an impressive edge but not too thin of an edge since then the steel may chip on strikes to hard surfaces. The steel also will require some attention to protect it from rust, just a little break-free type lubricant/cleaner and preservative and this machete will last for a very long time. The sheath is only to store it and will not offer any retention other than the two snaps to hold the machete in place. But the sheath is light enough to safely practice with this machete if you desire. The handle is good and offers adequate grip enhancement and a lanyard hole. Other Cold Steel machetes that have been discontiued fetch prices twice as much online once they are discontinued. For the price you can't go wrong.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mountainman Turley
west virginia
Aug 01, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
hasnt anyone heard of grinder
Bushcraft take and 60 grit softpad for a hand grinder 5 minutes it's Sharp as a razor goodness people
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gerasimchik V
Sain-Peterburg, Russia
Jul 16, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
A good machete, after sharpening, you can repeat all the tests Lynn Thompson. :)
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Best Blade
AGANA, GUM
Sep 07, 2009
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Material
Cons: None
GOOD DEAL FOR UNDER $20
This kukri may have many complaints about its sharpness, but you got to look in the bright side, how many knife and machete that is being sold by many other manufacturer that is more expensive than this kukris that is also not sharp. For under $20 I'm happy to sharpen this kukris to a razors edge. You got to remember machetes are not to be razor sharp any ways, because you use it to chop all kinds of things from grass to heavy wood. So what is the big complaint and crying all about on previous reviews. Other thing is about the handle, yes it maybe a little rough on some peoples hand, but if some people can't handle a little bit of blister hand or finger, then I don't think they should be doing any kind of work with a machete. They should just stay indoor and put lotion on their hand all day.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alberto Monllor
184 Hickory street Kearny n.j. 07032
Apr 21, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
The knife is excellent
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Superdudu
Florence; Italy
Feb 09, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
Awesome
The cold steel kukri machete is incredible cut wood like butter . it arrived with non very sharpened edge but with a little of work now it's perfect!
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ryan
East Texas
Feb 20, 2011
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Finish
Performance exceeds price
You will not find a better performer for the price. Are there better products on the market? Yes. Are they as affordable? Nope. I knocked it a star for the handle. It gets uncomfortable after prolonged use. I recommend using gloves or para wrap the handle like i did. 10 minutes with a small angle grinder gives it a better edge. I hike my 400 acres regularly with this on my hip. Hasn't let me down yet.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Larry M
Grand Junction, r
Nov 29, 2012
Pros: Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
I will use the machete for my fishing trips here in Colorado. It will be excellent for cutting small pieces of wood for the campfire, clearing a camping/fishing spot, etc. The knife was not very sharp, at least to my standards, so I will have to sharpen it. The grip is simple but very effective, and should last a long time. The size and balance is great for the outdoors.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Daryl F.
California
Mar 21, 2011
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
great machete, needs sharpening though
Overall great machete, nice weight, solid grip, just wish it came with a sharper edge, or at least a cleaner one. Had to scrape some of the black finish off around the edges, looked like the blade was dented at first glance.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Marcelo
Natal, Brazil
Nov 18, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Finish, None
Cons: Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Material
awesome for the price
this is a decent camp, defense, multi purpose blade. but for me needs gloves to work it, the handle can hurt in a long working day, the sheath can drop it out, but in a $17,00 i think inexpensive for the great quality that it has.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Drumngun
Baton Rouge, La
Feb 02, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Great Grip and Durable
I use this machete for brush clearing when doing landscaping as well as chopping up small pieces of wood for camp fires. The rubbery grip handle is very ergonomical. It has a nice hefty weight which makes it a great chopper and also has killer looks. The baked on finish is very durable as well. The only con I have with the knife is that I received it with a large burr along the entire edge, likely due to the fact that it is sharpened on some machine by hand. But Cold steel sharpened it for free and threw in some free promo items. Overall a very worthy machete for the price and likely the best you can buy for a workhorse type machete.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bushcraftreef
you tub
Dec 15, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Impressive
Right sized. Great heft and feel. Handle could use hockey stick tape, or use gloves, good and secure regardless. The weight forward design really kicks in debranching small, felled trees. I cleaned the edge up with a hard Arkansas stone (also from KnifeCenter). Razor edge not required and 1055 steel wouldn't hold it anyway. FYI the handle is small diameter but does not detract.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jon B
ringgold ga
Apr 10, 2011
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard
Good machete....terrible sheath
I've had this kukri for a little over 4 months now.I love the way it chops.It didnt come with a very sharp edge.I took a file reprofiled the edge to my likings like I have done most machetes I have.Other than that it is fine tool for chopping.When I need to use a machete this is the one I go to most to get the job done.As far as the sheath goes its total junk.Its already falling apart at the seams.I had to add more rivets to it to keep blade from falling out the bottom of the sheath.No big deal as I plan on making a good leather sheath when time allows me to.If it werent for the sheath I would have given it 5 stars.The handle gets a bit slippery when your hand starts sweating but that doesnt bother me none.I almost always wear gloves when I'm useing it anyways.I would recommend this to anyone looking for a good chopper at a great price.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
E.V.
Finland
Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
Budget beater
The blade doesn't come sharp at all and is in fact covered by the anti-rust coating, so prepare your sharpening tool to get the most of this blade. The low price means you can flail and abuse the machete around to your heart's content without concerns. The edge gets tiny little nicks over the time with heavy duty chopping, but that's fine. The handle is grippy and ergonomic, but abrasive enough to give you blisters when chopping, so using gloves is recommended. The sheath is not particularly amazing but it works for all intents and purposes, again especially for the price. The CS kukri machetes are notorious for having hard-to-remove stickers on them, but I could do it when I was careful enough. Overall a great tool for bushcrafting or whatever needs light to medium duty chopping. The light weight and long reach with devastating choppiness also contribute to make this a very nasty weapon that won't break on you in a life or death situation.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Andrew
NC
Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Finish, Blade Sharpness
Great machete for homeowner
I bought this as a garden tool, not for whacking around in the jungle. So far it appears to be built very well. No issues at all chopping poison ivy vines, thinning low branches on trees, digging up pesky weeds, etc... I suspect that this will last me many years and at it's current price I recommend it as a "must have" item for any do it yourself type or home owner with some land. After the weather cools a bit, this will find its way into my fall campsites.The sheath is what I would expect to come with a machete at this price. Nothing fancy, but it works and should last many years.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Doublej
Ga
Sep 08, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
tough
Exactly what I expected.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Austin Texes
Yuma Arizona YPG
Mar 31, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Materials, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Finish, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I used this product to chop town trees and the were fairley large trees it preformed very well i like the curves in the blade alot the only thing i didnt like about it was that while i was using this kukri it rubbed mt hand raw but other than that it was a really good knife i plan on getting the gurkha kukri in a couple of weeks
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jon
Virginia
May 12, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Excellent Chopper. Formitable as I cut high grass and weeds in the city. Looking forward to sharpening. The curved blade and size send a message to all bystanders....not just a weed cutter.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jack
Pennsylvania
Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Finish, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
mostly great
I use this item to control bamboo. I had to sharpen the blade to my liking. The cutting edge was too blunt for the tough bamboo.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Blade
Columbus, OH
Jul 31, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Solid blades
I've used Cold Steel machetes for quite a few years. I have the Light Machete which they no longer manufacture and the Heavy Machete which is still available. I bought two of these Kukri Machetes for brush clearing and other experiments in simultaneous two-handed use. Being familiar with these blades the sheaths didn't disappoint me, they're very light and you have to be careful with them but this is a very inexpensive knife. I do agree with the earlier reviewer who said that the handles are a little rough and they are a problem for heavy longterm use. They do need to be smoothed out or you need gloves or hands of iron. The earlier machete handles were much smoother and this current checkered and ribbed design would be far more appropriate for a softer material such as the Kraton rubber used on other Cold Steel knives. With the hard plastic used on these handles the design is really inappropriate. The blades definitely do need to be sharpened up out of the box but that's not an unreasonable chore for a new knife. Bottom line, this is a respectable tool for someone who does a lot of serious chopping at a really unbeatable price from one of the most trustworthy knife makers in America. A really no-lose purchase in my opinion.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kaipo
Honolulu, Hi
Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Blade Sharpness
Good stuff
I have another Cold Steel machete that came much sharper out of the box. (Tactical wakizashi.) This one was quite dull! Took some time to bring a good edge out. I use this for trail clearing. Great balance, good cutting. And yes, good balance for throwing. Very grippy handle. By nature of the shape of the blade/scabbard design, this is not a quick draw machete. You have to undo two snaps to draw it.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Frank Castle
ON
Jan 23, 2009
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard
This knife scares small children...;)
Hey! a kukri for under $20 that isn't garbage!?! This machete is pretty cool, and for those who like the kukri-styled blade, is an easy way to get one without spending a lot of hard earned green. I found the cutting edge on mine to be sub-par, it was kinda squarish, didn't really cut things, it was more of a "the weight of the knife forced the item being cut to snap/break" type thing, but some work on a sharpening stone fixed that problem. Now after sharpening, this is a scary tool, this weight-forward blade style shears through cardboard & plywood like the proverbial hot knife through butter. The handle raised some hot spots on my hand after a bit of hard use, some minor contouring of the handle with a dremel fixed that issue. The sheath design is a bit flawed, when the knife is drawn out of it, the snaps that hold the knife can potentially be cut (mine have). Again, for $20 bucks, you can't go wrong with one of these!
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jayco
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 11, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Great machete for the price.
Keep in mind that I haven't used too many machetes before, so this review will kind of be an every-man's type thing. The most important thing is that the price is unbeatable for a machete like this. That said: The blade isn't that sharp from the factory. The edge is honed, but it isn't "sharp" (if I drew it across my hand gently, it wouldn't cut. Also the handle has a really terrible texture. After using it for ten minutes, my palm was pretty raw. But it's nothing some grip tape couldn't fix. Overall, it is a really decent machete. No bells or whistles on the knife or the sheath, but it performs well.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ruiner
FL
May 03, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Materials
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, None
Happy Customer
The Cold Steel Gurka Kukri machetes are freakin awesome, at least they better be for 400 bucks right? My Zombie Apocalypse knife anyway whether I've ever held the real deal or not. I have held the red headed step child of that beast, and it is this knife. I wasn't so sure at first because the finish looked like one of my wifes 1st graders had applied it, but the weight is good and the handle is alright, so I took it over to my brother in laws house where we precoded to use it as a throwing knife for two days (and I actually did use it to clear a better path to the creek in the backyard.) It's not sharp, it's not pretty, but it works and is fun. The edge is fixable and the finish doesn't matter as much when it's smattered in mud and plant goo; and that's how I kept it for two days. Afterwards I ran it under the sink and wiped it off good with a paper towel and it was fine except for where the finish was coming off ever so slightly on the last inch of the tip where it had been thrown into and pulled out of a palm tree so many times. This knife for 17 dollars is awesome. Before you get your grand daddy Kurkri this is a fun way to have a good time with a similar blade, besides, who would want to really throw this knife if it was nice, this knife is just not made for that, its a chopper, but it's still fun to try.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Wesley Benoit
Abingdon , Md
Aug 04, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Materials, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
Kukri Machete first looks
Ok just got My Kukri Machete right out of the Box. At first glance it was an awesome machete, bit bigger than I expected, which just means more bragging rights. On the other hand on closer examination I found a few things that might shed some light on expectations. out of the box the edge was like looking at a nightmare. the edge was ground over it had a burr at the top and other such horrors, that come when you have a factory producer and they miss a few on the final clean up. I on the other hand am an aspiring knifemaker and I see these imperfections as a challenge to work on a sweet big knife. So in overall I give this a four out of five because of the quality of the edge, but I have bought from CS before and I WILL buy from CS again because I enjoy their products and look forward to more challenges, so for the money and if you got some skills with a bench grinder go ahead and buy it.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Leadsled
Dade City, FL
Aug 08, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Materials, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Blade Sharpness
Fantastic chopper
I waited until I had used this machete in the field before reviewing it, and it is a performer. The handle material has been improved, I have a Cold Steel Magnum Kukri that required an hour of sanding to removed the cheese grater checkering. This one's handle is much smoother and just feels better. The blade is great but certainly requires some work removing the baked on finish on the edge, a little work with a fine file and some time with a honing steel. I wish Cold Steel would find a cheap Kydex solution for their machete sheaths, they are awful.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Scout671
Guam
Nov 12, 2009
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Good for the price, not without its flaws...
THIS THING IS AWESOME!!! In one swipe I cleared half an acre of jungle without even breaking a sweat. Trees literally uprooted themselves and fled in horror before my mighty blade! Those that could not flee in time, lost there limbs on my backswing! Now that we got THAT outta the way...in my humble opinion, this thing is worth exactly what you paid. It is not your full blown kukri, merely a machete in the kukri form. That being said, machetes are low priced, cheap cutting tools meant for light to medium-duty cutting tasks and brush clearing. And this product does exactly as advertised. CONS: The biggest flaw is the blade edge, it was ground steep and high (a little under half an inch) which made the edge the most awkward of all the machetes in my arsenal. It took a lot of shaping and honing to finally get it to a satisfying, usable edge. The sheath is also very cheap. Better than nothing I suppose, but close to nothing as well. For those who have trouble with the handle, I just wrapped mine in some baseball bat griptape and that solved the problem. All in all, good for the price, but exactly what you paid for.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Larry M
Grand Junction, r
Nov 29, 2012
Pros: Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
I will use the machete for my fishing trips here in Colorado. It will be excellent for cutting small pieces of wood for the campfire, clearing a camping/fishing spot, etc. The knife was not very sharp, at least to my standards, so I will have to sharpen it. The grip is simple but very effective, and should last a long time. The size and balance is great for the outdoors.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Benjamin Etxaburu
Spain
Dec 28, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard
a functional flat kukri
a functional, economical flat kukri. worth the money. true kukris are thick and not parallel sided, while this is cut from a thin plank, but for the price is ok. sheath is not rigid at all and does not release blade, needing two hands. sharpness is NOT to the high level of other cold steel economical blades like War Head. for the price, being sharp would get a 5 point.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
James T.
Guam
Mar 16, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish
Alright!!
I'm gonna use this as a backpack machete with my gear. It's the perfect size. Just needed to touch up the blade when I got it. Now its sssshhhaaaarrrrppp! The scabbard looks like its the only thing that won't last.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jeff 11
Blfd WV
Nov 23, 2009
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Works great !
Brush cutting
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rancher Paul
kettle moraine forest, wi, usa
Aug 21, 2010
Pros: None
Cons: None
Add weight
I hate the handle but I will re-wrap it so it feels like the Baraong they sell. I was thinking of spending the money on an expensive one, but the expensive ones are much heavier. Like 22 oz. I live among box elder trees that split and fall everytime there is a breeze. Anyway, I have a stihl chainsaw, Gilmore bowsaw with the danish tiger teeth blade, the cs kukri and the barong. I liquid welded 4 washers on either side of the kukriwith jb weld. This brought the weight up to 22oz and the results were devestating. It will power through 5 inch diameter trees or limbs at a wonderful pace. When I get tired i switch to the barong which i love for its versatility and weight 17 oz. But the extra weight on the kukri has turned it into a stud. Screw axes.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chris K
South Florida
Mar 28, 2012
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Nice light sheath
Fits my 13" Nepalase Chitlange perfectly- Allot lighter than the heavy wooden sheath that comes with the Nepalase Kukris. Let's me take one of my favorite knives with me more often now. Good quality, materials and construction for the money!!!!
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Charles W.
liberty, ms.
May 18, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
bad edge
I use it to cut bushes. After out if the box sharpening it works great. Good handle and weight. All in all a good machete.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Alex
Catskill, NY
Nov 25, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Great value for the money
I give this a Good rating. It's constructed of mid-grade materials & is acceptable in every way with no defects. I paid about $15 and consider it an excellent value for the money. It's not the ultimate or most expensive machete available, but is totally sufficient & I am satisfied with it and the accompanying sheath.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Johnnyglass
Western NC
Sep 29, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Finish, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Survival Multi tool
When i bought my kukuri machete the first thing i had to do was sharpen it, giving the fact that i paid 16 bucks for it i wasn't too mad about this and besides i like to sharpern knives. After about 2 hours of filing and honing the edge was shaving sharp and the there is also now a "clipped" point to it(45 degrees) on the opposing edge as well as zero stamping marks around the edge, also i attached a 550 cord lanyard for a little more grip confidence cause even as rough as the handle is it doesn't provide an adequate purchase when your hands are sweaty from chopping down trees, also i refinished the blade(ultra flat tan) to prevent the high carbon steel from rusting. Anyways this blade does work. i can easily chop down trees(7" in diameter), makes small brush seem like grass and with the proper technique it makes a great scythe to cut tall grass. I also love the balance of the blade makes chopping very easy as long as you have a consistent 60 degree chopping angle and use the meaty part of the blade. Also makes a good thrower(not so much with the lanyard though). The only thing i don't like about the blade it the sheaths rigidity not so good for fast draws but thats easily remedied with a after market leather sheath. Awesome bang for the buck.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Co_Fisherman
Southwest, CO
Feb 04, 2011
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Great Tool
If you keep in mind that this is a machete in the form of a kukri, you will be well satisfied. It has good balance and I found the grip to be quite acceptable. I wear gloves whenever I use this tool and the texture on the grip almost requires it. The blade was not real sharp and the point of the blade was slightly bent but these issues were quickly resolved with pass on the belt sander. This product is well worth the price.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Walter
Philippines
Aug 07, 2012
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Finish, Blade Sharpness
I ordered 2 of these. Bought these to be used as "beaters". I have one in SK-5 and it's one tough cookie. Both were dull and had to be sharpened. One was in good shape but the other was a "lemon" I suppose. I would understand if it was dull, but the "lemon" one was really nasty and so messed up. Lots of chipped portions on the blade. CS ought to check their Q.C. Since I'm going to sharpen both of them to my standards, I'll probably spend a lot more time with the "lemon". Overall, good length, good weight, good steel and economical. The sheath looks alright too. We get what we pay for.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Gabe
Maine
Apr 21, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Blade Sharpness
a lot of knife for the $$$
It comes with almost no edge at all on the blade and the finishing on things like the spine are poor, but the reason no time is put into the edge is because the sheath is so bad that if it were sharp you would cut the stitching and the whole sheath would fall apart. I plan on making a Kydex one for it for about the cost of the knife. after that i am sure it will make a great bush knife beater.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Walter
Philippines
Aug 17, 2012
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish
Works better now!
After some time scraping the coating and sharpening the blade, it's been awesome. Great kukri now!
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Akai
Canada
Sep 05, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Tough as nails!
Haven't gotten the chance to use it yet, but its construction is very solid. Got a bit of weight to it, as a kukri should. The sheath is good for the price. The edge unfortunately came unevenly ground like all of my Cold Steel machetes so far. I was able to sharpen it right up without much difficulty using a Lansky Puck. Glad I bought it.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Holden Carr
Texas
Jun 23, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish
Kukri machete
The Kukri machete is overall a great chopper but the finish and factory edge it came with needs improvement. for the price though, you would be hard pressed to find a better beater blade!
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Larryk
Burr Ridge, Illinois
Feb 23, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
"If I had a hammer"
This is not a knife, but rather some kind of flat-hammer best used for things like pounding in tent stakes. If it was a knife it would have at least a little sharpness, but this is the dullest piece of steel that I have ever pulled out of a box. Even at this price point it should still have some kind of edge. Sharpening is not easy as the blade is not straight (by design). I have many CS products, and they should be embarassed about the sharpness of this one. Maybe they should put this one on their video where they are cutting ropes. They would be sweating bullets and cutting nothing. Also, these kinds of tools cry out for a plastic sheath, which should at the least be offered as an option. All that said, the stupid thing is worth the low price.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jesus C.
Jeruselem
Jul 19, 2012
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
Cold Steel Kukri Machete
Thing makes cutting small saplings a breeze, however had to really sharpen it up. Factory edge was pretty weak and only sharp on a small region of the blade. Great weight and curvature however!
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Edc-G
MI
Dec 16, 2009
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Thin, but not bad
When buying something on the cheap side from Cold Steel, you cant expect much from them. If you dont expect much, their stuff isn't terrible though. The blade of this thing came much thinner than I expected. This is not a kukri. It is a machete that vaguely has the appearance of a kukri... fortunately I also wanted a short camping machete, so I'm happy... I just am still in need of a kukri. The blade is also beyond dull. Since something this thin is a bad choice for chopping wood, it would be nice to at least see it sharp enough for clearing brush and other uses. The nylon sheath, I expected to be lousy, but was surprised to see just how lousy it really was!! If you buy this thing, I hope you don't intend to carry it. Within about a day the blade was already cutting through the sheath. I had to buy a decent leather/wood sheath and cut the blade down to fit it.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Sunnysam
turkey
May 19, 2009
Pros: Handle Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Nice shea(i)t !!!
Sheath ripped in first use during my trekking. what a shame ! Handle is perfect, that s for sure. Factory sharpness is not good but it is not a big problem anyway. Material quality ??? well we will see that later.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Adam
New York
Jul 09, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Finish, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Materials
Eh Kinda disappointed
I can honestly say this is the 1st Cold Steel product (of many, many I have owned) that disappoints me. Granted, one can only be so disappointed with a price point hacking tool, but I would have like to see better overall fit and finish. With most of my Cold Steel purchases, the price is right and because of that low price, I can play or alter with the tool to suit my needs. And if I over-alter it, and its scrap... no big deal, it was cheap. On the other hand, like my Rifleman Hawk... I made a number of small adjustments, and its perfect. Same with many of their knives. Small bucks, big fun. Anyway... The blade thickness and shape is fine, but there is not even enough edge to lodge into reinforced cardboard. The very tip is heavily nicked, and has these little pieces of plastic peeling from it. The handle is bottom of the barrel, and could use material that doesn't feel like you are grabbing a cheese grater. The sheath is very low end, and it took me a few minutes to get it off the blade. Had I known it wasn't sharp whatsoever, I probably would have gotten it off quicker and thrown caution to the wind. All in all, I will be messing with and grinding and finding suitable material to wrap the handle with. If it becomes a lost cause, I will be trying out another brand of low prices Kukris.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Chopper70
Nov 09, 2009
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Finish
Disapointing
After sharpening this machete with a convex edge, I took it out for its first outing. After cutting just a couple branches from some standing dead wood box elder trees, the blade twisted. The belly was approximately 5° off from the spine of the blade. In addition, the handle chipped on the third or fourth hit. My opinion (not expert, by any means) would be the blade is too hard, and does not have the spring required for use as a machete. I have no gripe against Cold Steel in general, but I would recommend the Bolo Machete over this one, by a long shot.
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Jacques Vallee
Pontoise, Val-d'Oise
Jun 02, 2010
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Forever trustworthy??? (addendum)
this is an update to my previous review of this machete. i was originally very impressed with the machete (despite the drawbacks i had mentioned) considering price. upon gathering more experience with the blade i have a moral obligation to correct myself. the only thing i like about this machete (besides that price) is the weight. this will never be razor sharp. perhaps you can fool yourself after some extensive work, but the edge retention is somewhere on par with a wallmart machete. this machete has an asymmetric grind and the recurve makes it impossible to reach on a stone (though the actual curved chopping part of the blade can be stone sharpened with only moderate difficulty) the handle just cracked on me and inspired me to sound off here. the sheath has been surprisingly durable, but still leaves much to be desired this is a dedicated chopper that will never have anything beyond a fairly dull "utility edge" probably for the best anyhow, as im done dragging large blades into the bush anyhow
Cold Steel 97KMS Kukri Machete 13" Blade, Polypropylene Handle, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Underwood
Annandale, VA
Apr 04, 2011
Pros:
Cons:
DON'T BUT THIS CRAP
This thing came out of the bag dull. So dull I couldn't even cut my finger. I was trying to figure out the point of getting it. It looks killerish, but I think I could only hurt a fly with it, but using it as a bat. I took it to a knife store, and they told me it was crap. It was not worth butting an edge on it. DON'T BUY IT