Reviews and Ratings for DOVO Straight Razor 5/8" Half Hollow Ground Blade, Black Synthetic Handles - 101 581

DOVO Straight Razor 5/8" Half Hollow Ground Blade, Black Synthetic Handlesrated 4.909 stars out of 5 (11 reviews)
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
DOVO Straight Razor 5/8 inch Half Hollow Ground Blade, Black Synthetic Handles

 

Price: $72.95

Save $26.00 (26%) Off Retail

View Product Details
DOVO Straight Razor 5/8" Half Hollow Ground Blade, Black Synthetic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff F.
LA
May 29, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great razor
For an entry level razor it shaves like a pro. Highly recommended!!
DOVO Straight Razor 5/8" Half Hollow Ground Blade, Black Synthetic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Em
California
Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Reliable straight razor
I bought this razor as one of my rotation razors and it's performing well.It was ready to shave out from the box.So far the edge is holding well and it only requires the normal stropping before shaving which can be between 25-30 strokes.
DOVO Straight Razor 5/8" Half Hollow Ground Blade, Black Synthetic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Farrok
Istanbul, Turkey
Mar 12, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Excellent Razor
I have used a straight razor for several years now and I purchased this one as a backup to the full hollow stainless steel one I use. This razor surpassed my expectations and I am very pleased with it. I have a stiff gray beard and also shave my head which is hard on any razor’s edge. My full hollow razor seemed to dull 2/3 way through shaving my face and head. This razor has more weight, stiffness and strength behind the cutting edge and keeps a razor sharp cutting edge throughout the shave easily. The quality of this razor is greatly underestimated. If you have a tough beard the ½ hollow designs will out perform a full hollow design hands down. A full hollow razor will not hold its edge as long. I now use this razor daily and am completely pleased with its quality and function.
DOVO Straight Razor 5/8" Half Hollow Ground Blade, Black Synthetic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Carlos
San diego
Mar 11, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great service
Every thing was great. The only thing that you should do is include a note on whether the blade has been sharpened or not.
DOVO Straight Razor 5/8" Half Hollow Ground Blade, Black Synthetic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ramon Alvarez
Cambridge, Ma
Apr 27, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
First Straight Razor
The razor came covered in a protective layer of mineral oil that is easily removed using rubbing alcohol. The blade came shave ready or at least it was sharp enough that it could cut a strand of hair with little to no energy being used behind it. After using it for almost 3 weeks now it has handled very well though you have to strop it before every use to keep its sharpness. Depending on where you get your information from people will recommend that you sharpen or strop before and after every use. When it comes to the use of your straight razor I recommend that you do your research and decide what is best for your self.
DOVO Straight Razor 5/8" Half Hollow Ground Blade, Black Synthetic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Col. Cody
Alberta, Canada
Dec 29, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
sharp out of the box
Beautiful razor, came sharp out of the box. i did the hanging hair test to prove it to myself. very pleased. i would suggest it for anyone new to shaving because of it reasonable price and high quality.
DOVO Straight Razor 5/8" Half Hollow Ground Blade, Black Synthetic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
MS
Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great razor!
Have had this for over a month so far. Great razor. I didn't ask for a sharpening service so I didn't expect it to be shave ready, but it was very close. Flawless out of the box. A light hone to be sure the bevel was set, a good stropping and it has been good to go. No frills, but absolutely first class quality.
DOVO Straight Razor 5/8" Half Hollow Ground Blade, Black Synthetic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chuck
KC Missouri
Dec 15, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Not shave ready, but a good buy
Great shipping time. I thought it was shave ready, not really, I honed it on a barber stone to get it to work ok.
DOVO Straight Razor 5/8" Half Hollow Ground Blade, Black Synthetic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Customer42
Pasadena, CA
Dec 24, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
This is my first straight razor and I'm very satisfied. It's a good product for the price and it's size and hollowness are in the middle range, making it a good choice for beginners.
DOVO Straight Razor 5/8" Half Hollow Ground Blade, Black Synthetic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan K.
Columbia Heights, MN
Dec 19, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Great starter blade
I was brand new to straight shaving. This is an exellent razor to start with. The blade is really nice quality, the handle is a little cheap but it's a great razor.
DOVO Straight Razor 5/8" Half Hollow Ground Blade, Black Synthetic Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bob
Nashua N.H.
May 17, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
First Straihgt Razor
Shaved o.k. out of box after stropping. Being a knife nut, I touched up the edge on an Arkansas stone, works great now