Reviews and Ratings for Emerson CQC7-BW Folding Knife 3.3" Black Plain Tanto Blade with Wave, G10 Handles - C7BW-BT

Emerson CQC7-BW Folding Knife 3.3" Black Plain Tanto Blade with Wave, G10 Handlesrated 4.750 stars out of 5 (8 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Emerson CQC7-BW Folding Knife 3.3 inch Black Plain Tanto Blade with Wave, G10 Handles

 

Price: $190.76

Save $21.19 (10%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Emerson CQC7-BW Folding Knife 3.3" Black Plain Tanto Blade with Wave, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Xandar
California
Aug 14, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
Emerson CQC7 Wave Tanto
This knife is well made piece of cutlery,fairly-priced and it operates without a hitch. The service was swift: product was delivered as promised. Thanks
Emerson CQC7-BW Folding Knife 3.3" Black Plain Tanto Blade with Wave, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nattyboh
East coast
Oct 06, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Cant got wrong with Emerson.
I use this as an EDC at my job. When I first received the knife, it was crazy sharp. That edge lasted around 2-3 days. But thats normal as for an EDC the hairshaving ultra sharp edge doesnt last long anyway. None the less the edge that came after the super sharp one is still stupid sharp and cuts with ease. Be careful if you're going to use this knife for precise cuts as the chisel grind cuts will tend to drift towards the chisel end and not cut straight. Its not a problem for me, but could be for most. the wave feature takes some getting used to, but once you get the hang of it, the wave is great. Its going to be the fastest knife you'll ever have.
Emerson CQC7-BW Folding Knife 3.3" Black Plain Tanto Blade with Wave, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chad
alabama
Jul 01, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
great knife unmatched quality love the wave feature
Emerson CQC7-BW Folding Knife 3.3" Black Plain Tanto Blade with Wave, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Emerson User
USA
Jan 29, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Excellent value!
I purchased this knife to fulfill two key roles, EDC and emergency personal defense. As an EDC knife, the CQC-7 fits comfortably into a jeans pocket. I barely know it's there. With dress slacks though, it is a bit clunky. However, the good clip placement and handle design allows it to be buried fairly deep into the pocket. The G10 scales offer excellent grip but will start to erode the fabric of your pants if removed and pocketed often. As a emergency personal defense blade, it is menacing. The BT coated blade may appear smaller than it really is, but the all black knife has a very "Darth Vader" look to it that really ties into the whole tactical theme that's popular these days. The tanto blade is razor sharp, its chisel grind making it easy to touch up and keep sharp. Lock-up is nice and tight, no blade movement at all. Some folks bag on the liner lock, preferring a frame lock for strength. But I have no complaints with the titanium liner lock this model has. I hope to never have to use it in this role, but it's comforting to know it's there and ready. 1 minor quibble...I wish the jimping on the back of the blade near the wave was a bit sharper to offer a better bite. Overall I am very happy with this piece and am confident it will serve me well for years to come.
Emerson CQC7-BW Folding Knife 3.3" Black Plain Tanto Blade with Wave, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
T. C
Alameda, Ca
May 10, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
THE COBAT FOLDER
This is the 2nd version of this knife (the first was a benchmade w/out the wave feature). And this is my 4th Emerson knife. So there was only one surprise when I received it, the blade screw was rescessed into the handle! This was the only problem that I had with Emerson knives because once you started to carry them, the finish to the screw head would wear off. Next to the older knives, it seems the grip handles don't match up as well, but the newer knife is smoother to the touch. Other than the wave feature compress to the other Emersons, this is a 9.7 out of 10 with the older knives. Still one of the best carrying tactical folders out there. Sharp, locks up well, quaility material. What more can you ask for?
Emerson CQC7-BW Folding Knife 3.3" Black Plain Tanto Blade with Wave, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Reuben
new york
Jun 24, 2013
Pros: Weight, Blade Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None
CQC!
All around awesome knife!!
Emerson CQC7-BW Folding Knife 3.3" Black Plain Tanto Blade with Wave, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jt
Ky
Jan 28, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great Knife!
I have wanted an Emerson ever since I read David Morrell's, "The Protector". The CQC 7 is everything I though it would be. It is very solid, came extra sharp, and the wave feature is unbelievable. The only complaint I have is that the blade is a little tight when new just because it has not been broken in yet. I highly recommend this knife!
Emerson CQC7-BW Folding Knife 3.3" Black Plain Tanto Blade with Wave, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Michael H.
Japan
May 23, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Emerson CQC7B Folding Knife 3.3" Black Plain Tanto Blade with Wave
This is the first Emerson knife that I have had the pleasure of owning, but it certainly lives up to the praise I have read on-line and my resulting expectations! Although at first the blade seemed tight and it was difficult to open, I immediately knew that I was feeling the precision movement of parts well crafted, and spent a couple of days just opening and closing the knife to "break it in." As I expected, the blade movement now feels like silk, and the blade springs out smoothly, and unbelievably fast. The sharpness of the blade, the materials, and the craftsmanship are all first-rate, and I would recommend this knife to anyone in search of a great, reasonably priced all-purpose/survival/combat knife. The one disappointing point is the clip. It is fastened so that the knife can be easily carried in (and drawn from) the right pocket of one's pants. There are no holes, however, on the reverse side which results in very limited options for carrying. I'm sure it would not be difficult during the production process to provide three holes in the opposite side so that the user can decide on his own which is more suitable to his or her needs. In my case, carrying the knife in my right pants pocket is not convenient, and I carry it in my right rear pocket. This means that I cannot make use of the wave function, which is indeed annoying. Furthermore, deciding which side you want the clip is something which can only really be decided after handling the knife and trying different ways of carrying it. The clip should be interchangeable - I'm sure that very few users have the tools to drill their own holes. I consider this point to be a serious issue with this knife, as different situations require different methods of carry, and if you can't carry your knife with you it won't be of any help. With the exception of the clip, however, I consider this knife to be basically perfect for what it's designed for. On the other hand, the clip issue would cause me to hesitate before purchasing another.