Reviews and Ratings for Emerson CQC-7BW Folding Knife 3.3" Stonewash Plain Tanto Blade with Wave, G10 Handles - C7BW-SF

Emerson CQC-7BW Folding Knife 3.3" Stonewash Plain Tanto Blade with Wave, G10 Handlesrated 4.625 stars out of 5 (8 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Emerson CQC-7BW Folding Knife 3.3 inch Stonewash Plain Tanto Blade with Wave, G10 Handles

 

Price: $185.36

Save $20.59 (10%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Emerson CQC-7BW Folding Knife 3.3" Stonewash Plain Tanto Blade with Wave, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stone
N.j
Apr 05, 2020
Pros:
Cons:

Under rated

This knife has been a desire for a while. Like many l ve built a small collection. A coupe zt s. Benchmades. Almars. And even my ddr dominator. I love them all. But being a blue collar guy i need a heavy duty tough go to knife for my trade and some time edc. One that could stand up no matter what . This one has filled the need and more. Think of it as a tool. Not a safe queen. Not the most refined but rugged and strong. The one i want when i dont know what to expect. The build and materials used plus warranty make it a bargain for the price. Dan 2020
Emerson CQC-7BW Folding Knife 3.3" Stonewash Plain Tanto Blade with Wave, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Payton
Springfield, MO
Jul 21, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

A amazing knife

I have had this a little over three weeks and it's is amazing. This is the first Emerson knife I have had and I am hooked. I wasn't sure about the tanto when I was looking at buying it but I have to say I love it now. I have it in my pocket every single day. With it in my pocket it gives me confidence because I know it would save my life if I needed it to. It is a amazing knife. Thank you knifecenter and Mr. Emerson
Emerson CQC-7BW Folding Knife 3.3" Stonewash Plain Tanto Blade with Wave, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul
Netherlands
May 17, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Excellent knife! Worth every penny!

The chisel grind took me some getting used to, but the benefits are obvious (more material in crosssection, easier sharpening) and I love the overall feel and excellent fit 'n finish.
Emerson CQC-7BW Folding Knife 3.3" Stonewash Plain Tanto Blade with Wave, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
David V
Woodstock, Ga
Jun 23, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

MY SECOND EMERSON, JUST AS GOOD AS THE FIRST !

The first Emerson I bought was a Super CQC7. Decided to try it's "little" brother. Couldn't be more pleased. Build quality is excellent on this one, just like the last one. Blade is a little stiff at first, but even in the short amount of time I've had it, it is getting noticeably smoother. I've heard they are all like this. I would rather have it be a bit tight at first than be too loose. I know you can loosen the pivot, but i expect that just like on my Super, it will wear in a bit and be perfect. Blade is shaving sharp and easy to resharpen with the chisel grind. Like the two tone blade finish. Handles give a super grip. Wave feature makes it open fast out of the pocket. Jimping on the back of the blade gives decent thumb rest, but maybe they could relieve the handles a bit just behind the blade on the top to make the jimping there more effective. Unlocks smoothly, no sticking. I've read some reviews where people complained of poor build quality, but haven't seen that yet. Plan on buying more Emerson knives, so if I see any of that, I will let you know. Thanks to Knife Center for another great knife and their excellent service.
Emerson CQC-7BW Folding Knife 3.3" Stonewash Plain Tanto Blade with Wave, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ag
Sydney
Jul 29, 2011
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Handle Material
Cons: Overall Quality, None

Worth it

I was apprehensive at buying another Emerson knife after the mini cqc 8 I got turned out to be a bit unrefined. The cqc 7 is a good looking knife which feels great in the hand. It locks up well but is a bit stiff. Only drawback is that the blade doesn't click firmly into the closed position like some other knives.
Emerson CQC-7BW Folding Knife 3.3" Stonewash Plain Tanto Blade with Wave, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ll
CS, PA
Jul 22, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Absolutley ROCK, BOLDER Solid folder

The knife is just awesome. The first thing I notice right out of the box is how solid and stout this thing is. You have to handle one to know. It's absolutely a tank. I don't say that for most of my knives. I open it up, the lock up is solid as well. The action is super crisp. I mean crisp. Crisp like a fresh bag of potato chips. Smooth like a baby's butt. The sound it makes when it locks up is so crisp as well. The blade is dated 2010 and it is in Stonwash finish which is absolutely bea-bea-utiful. If you see one in stock- you won't, GET ONE!~
Emerson CQC-7BW Folding Knife 3.3" Stonewash Plain Tanto Blade with Wave, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cstef
Muskegon, MI
Jun 01, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type

Strong, sturdy, and sharp knife

I use this knife for EDC, it is the best knife i have ever used. Comes razor sharp, and the wave feature is pretty snazzy once you learn how to use it.
Emerson CQC-7BW Folding Knife 3.3" Stonewash Plain Tanto Blade with Wave, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tony
San Francisco, CA
Dec 31, 2009
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, None

Emerson Quality

Build quality on this knife is great. Everything feels solid and will probably last a lifetime. I normally don't like tanto blades, but I think this knife has changed my mind. The chisel grind on the blade results in a very sharp edge very close to a razor. The only problem I had is that the liner lock is very stiff and takes a while to break in. After a couple 100 openings, it becomes much smoother.
Emerson CQC-7BW Folding Knife 3.3" Stonewash Plain Tanto Blade with Wave, G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Joe V
Houston TX
Nov 09, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Overall Quality, None

Decent knife, given above average hype

I picked up one of these on a whim, and as I was curious about the wave feature, like supporting USA made products, and honestly, bought into the hype surrounding Emerson. It is a neat knife, and the wave concept is novel, but the knife itself is poorly constructed for the price. There seems to be no pride in craftsmanship, such as is found on less expensive USA made offereings from Spyderco, Benchmade, and Kershaw that I have obtained recently. The liners are jimped for traction, but the scale to liner fit was so bad, that these areas were rendered useless. The blade was horrible centered, and the ammt of blade play at an acceptable level of tension was disappointing. There are other issues with the knife's construction, but I digress. Neat knife concept, not thought out very well, and executed poorly.