Reviews and Ratings for Kellam Knives Finnish Ranger Puukko M95 Fixed Blade Knife 5.94" Teflon Coated Blade, Black Rubber Handle, Leather Sheath - JPM95

Kellam Knives Finnish Ranger Puukko M95 Fixed Blade Knife 5.94" Teflon Coated Blade, Black Rubber Handle, Leather Sheathrated 4.462 stars out of 5 (13 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
0
Kellam Knives Finnish Ranger Puukko M95 Fixed Blade Knife 5.94 inch Teflon Coated Blade, Black Rubber Handle, Leather Sheath

 

Price: $144.95

Save $24.55 (14%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kellam Knives Finnish Ranger Puukko M95 Fixed Blade Knife 5.94" Teflon Coated Blade, Black Rubber Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rsc
Alabama
Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None
Fantastic
This is, quite simply, a fantastic knife. It fits the hand well, and is surprisingly nimble for a long blade. It is easy to sharpen and holds an edge really well. It does a good job making feather sticks, can do a decent job skinning, and is just rugged. The sheath is stout and should last. It holds the knife securely. I like the dangler. The blade is fairly thick, but the flat grind helps to give a good, very sharp edge. The spine is beveled, so I filed a section to 90 degrees to better strike a ferro rod. It can handle light chopping, but it's not as adept as a heavier knife. If I had to be afield with only one knife, this would cover all the bases. It is money well spent.
Kellam Knives Finnish Ranger Puukko M95 Fixed Blade Knife 5.94" Teflon Coated Blade, Black Rubber Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kenneth
Prairie Hill, TX
Dec 30, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Nice knife
Excellent all around knife. Next purchase will be the shorter bladed version.
Kellam Knives Finnish Ranger Puukko M95 Fixed Blade Knife 5.94" Teflon Coated Blade, Black Rubber Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stephen P
Florida
Dec 20, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Finish, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
I've owned one of these knives for years and it's been a constant companion on my trips. The finish has held up great and the knife keeps an edge. Excellent sheath and the diamond sharpener is a nice thing to have. Makes a great camp knife. Oh, my wife used it to process 25 chickens.
Kellam Knives Finnish Ranger Puukko M95 Fixed Blade Knife 5.94" Teflon Coated Blade, Black Rubber Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wild Badger
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 02, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Finish, None
Awesome knife
This is a great knife. It is in a league all its own. The edge was good when it arrived, but not shaving sharp, all it required was a few strokes on the strop, voila, shaving sharp. Grip is just great, overall look is nice, but not beautiful, but it is a workhorse of a knife, and it just outperforms anything in its category that you wish to compare it to. It is avery light weight knife, which would trick you into thinking it would not be good at chopping, but this thing chops outside the proportion of its weight and size. Totally awesome is what I would use to describe this knife, plus the coating is very, very abrasion resistant, in the realm of ESEE's coating and Busse's.
Kellam Knives Finnish Ranger Puukko M95 Fixed Blade Knife 5.94" Teflon Coated Blade, Black Rubber Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Armygreen
Wisconsin
Dec 12, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Strong knife, a bit costly though
Ordered based upon the fact that I have other Kellam knives, which offer high quality, well made and finished and tough as nails. Have already used it in the whitetail woods, great for clearing small brush to open firing lanes. Fits the hand well, no slippage. Blade is thick enough so that breakage is not a problem, so far, and with reasonable use. Long enough to do most jobs. Sheath is well built, and might just outlast the knife itself, albeit a bit bulky. Compares well against the Cold Steel SRK San Mai - which is just a bit heavier due to its' thicker blade. While I don't carry it as my primary CCW, it should prove itself well if a personal threat closes in, it is long enough to penetrate frontal into the spine.
Kellam Knives Finnish Ranger Puukko M95 Fixed Blade Knife 5.94" Teflon Coated Blade, Black Rubber Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mj
GA
Mar 28, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Outstanding military knife
This is an excellent combat/field knife. Fit & finish are top notch.Hand forged blade & grind are of very high quality.Finns have perfected what was an already proven combat knife with this version of the Puukko. Highly recommended.
Kellam Knives Finnish Ranger Puukko M95 Fixed Blade Knife 5.94" Teflon Coated Blade, Black Rubber Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stefanwolf88
Bulgaria, Sofia
Jan 19, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Workhorse
That's mine all around knife for hunting and hiking tasks - here in Bulgaria cost just 110$ - differential nonthreatening is excellent - real workhorse
Kellam Knives Finnish Ranger Puukko M95 Fixed Blade Knife 5.94" Teflon Coated Blade, Black Rubber Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim
New England
May 10, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight
A Good Combat Knife
The very first thing that I think I should be pointing out is that this is a combat puukko (aka knife) or heavy duty tool. If you are looking for something to use for finer work, buy a more traditionally sized puukko (about 3 to 4 inches). Then again, if you were looking for something for finer work, why buy a 6 inch fixed blade to begin with?? When I first received the puukko, it came paper-cutting sharp with no imperfections to the edge, which only had about a millimeter exposed whereas the rest is covered in a Teflon coating to protect against rust and the elements (after all, it was designed to be used in the cold wilds of Finland). Based on what mine was like and what others have said on other sites, it sounds like the fellow from the first review got a "lemon" as far as edge quality goes. Something else I find to be different from review #1 is that the top of the handle isn't *that* slippery where if I feel like choking up on the blade I don't my hand sliding all over. The rubber also gives the handle a large presence of structural integrity in which I don't have to worry about the handle coming apart and could probably be used to hammer someone on the head if need be. The blade is listed as carbon steel, but there's no specifics as to what type. Hopefully at least 1060, but something like 1095 or 5160 would be preferable. I can take reassurance that generally Finnish puukkos have a good rep for being among the best made knives in the world, and that the knife sees a fair amount of use in the Finnish armed forces. The only con I can think of is due to the full rubber handle, it's a bit heavy in the hand for a knife.
Kellam Knives Finnish Ranger Puukko M95 Fixed Blade Knife 5.94" Teflon Coated Blade, Black Rubber Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ian Iams
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Feb 28, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Simply Amazing
I bought the product as a surprise birthday gift for my brother. He is a marine currently stationed in North Carolina and loves the knife. The knife is amazing and I appreciate how quickly you filled my order and got it out for delivery. I plan on purchasing some more products from you in the future. Thank you again for everything
Kellam Knives Finnish Ranger Puukko M95 Fixed Blade Knife 5.94" Teflon Coated Blade, Black Rubber Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mr. M
Mar 16, 2009
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material, Finish
Cons: None
This is a Knife.
I would have given five stars... but how did the price get that high? Anyways, this is a tool to be appreciated by any military or other person who actually hikes to their camp site, possibly in the middle of nowhere. Possibly stays in the middle of nowhere longer than a night or two as well. You can feel which way you are holding it even with gloves on, and keeps working in rain, snow, mud and grime... got a few t-shirts myself. Sheath might look a little unorthodox, but it works. I hope knifecenter would offer the full plastic sheath version too, I like the way it handles duct taping to equipment and suspenders and such better. Call it cosmetic but that's my preference. Not really a whittling knife as it is a little heavy and this combined with the blade length makes it cumbersome for finer detail work, unless you are used to such exercises and enjoy the challenge. Pretty much anything else I put mine through over the years of making camp and hiking the subarctic, fishing, hunting and the occasional thinning the skin on my heels while watching tv, no problems. I have many other knives for specific and dedicated purposes, but this is my trusted all-around workhorse. Minor detail here: I keep my sharpening angle pretty close to 20 degrees. Works for me for my use. If you ever carried a heavier and wider bowie or other type of wide blade and found it hanging on your belt more than actually using it after few initial tries, you need to try this one. Wider blade is not always better. No fancy serrations or sawteeth on this one either, but as mentioned, this is a tool, not a showpiece. If you prefer to carry a full size knife on duty or on the hunt within easy reach for when you need it, you want to consider this knife.
Kellam Knives Finnish Ranger Puukko M95 Fixed Blade Knife 5.94" Teflon Coated Blade, Black Rubber Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Shane
Alabama
Jan 02, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great knife
This is a really great knife/sheath combo. The only reason I don't give it five stars is that there isn't a square place on the spine to strike a ferro rod. Other than that, it is great. I usually do not use knives with blades this long. However, I am fully aware of my situation before I enter it. This knife shines as a survival knife. It holds a great edge, it can chop (it's not the greatest), and it can do fine carving tasks. This knife can do may things, and do them better than "ok." It's plain and doesn't look as "super cool" as other knives, but it will make feather sticks, tent stakes, skin and gut game, and whatever else you need. If you want a knife that works well, has a very good sheath, and is easy to maintain in the field, this is it. It won't win beauty contests, but it will help keep you alive.
Kellam Knives Finnish Ranger Puukko M95 Fixed Blade Knife 5.94" Teflon Coated Blade, Black Rubber Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Kodiak Pa
Kodiak Alaska
Jan 09, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material
OK Knife. Pricey. Better Knives Out There.
I wanted a genralized field knife and liked the way this knife looked and read some decent reviews on the knife forums. I like the teflon finsh, which is well done. The spine of the knife is surprisingly thick stock so it should be durable. Sheath is a bit different but it works and is well done. The bevel when I got it was atrocious. I spent a good half hour on the Sharpmaker fixing the bevel which was uneven and had a lot of tooling marks on it then some 10 minutes stropping it. I don't like the handle too much. very slick on top. Better on the bottom where the rubber grip has some traction indentions. It's an OK knife imported by Kellum. Not worth the price. There are better knives out there for $150. No box. Comes with a sheath instruction page and some hyped up page on extolling the value of puukkos. Steel type unknown.
Kellam Knives Finnish Ranger Puukko M95 Fixed Blade Knife 5.94" Teflon Coated Blade, Black Rubber Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Dave B
zurich Switzerland
Jun 06, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, None
Cons: Blade Material, Overall Quality
Prkko M95
Chopping some small (and relatively soft) branches damaged the edge pretty badly. Very disappointing...