Reviews and Ratings for Fox 478 Folding Karambit Flipper 3.2" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles - 01FX478

Fox 478 Folding Karambit Flipper 3.2" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Aluminum Handlesrated 4.846 stars out of 5 (13 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Fox 478 Folding Karambit Flipper 3.2 inch Bead Blast Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles

 

Price: $127.46

Save $42.49 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Fox 478 Folding Karambit Flipper 3.2" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joshua
Portland, Or
Dec 02, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Fantastic!

If you want a VERY high quality folding Karambit at a great price then look no further. The fit and finish is great, has the patented Emerson wave and came very sharp. Took me about 5 minutes of practicing to get used to the wave to use is effectively so it would open every time. Very easy to use. Its now part of my EDC.
Fox 478 Folding Karambit Flipper 3.2" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Willy F
Miami, FL
Oct 31, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Karambichin'

It serves as an excellent self defense tool especially if you have some experience with personal self-defense techniques. Lightweight, strong and quick on the draw. Great for making mundane everyday chores extreme! Opening an envelope? Cutting the tag off a new shirt? Taking 3 karambits at once and pretending you're Wolverine? It does it all.
Fox 478 Folding Karambit Flipper 3.2" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Timothy Kl
Waukesha, WI
Jul 14, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Nearly Perfect Knife

I beat the heck out of this knife for the first few days and i think it is the best multi-purpose knife I have used in quite a while. From tearing down boxes to tearing down bad guys this knife will do the trick. The steel is excellent and holds an edge very well. Very little play at the hinge. The patented wave deployment hook works beautifully (had to work it a bit out of the box). My only complaint about the knife at all is that there is a micro-thin rubberized coating on the handles that will wear over time and does not enhance the grip. If you need a defensive knife, a good working outdoors knife, or just want to play around with the Karambit style, drop the extra dough and get a tool that will stand the test of time. Definitely worth the price.
Fox 478 Folding Karambit Flipper 3.2" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Trent
Louisiana
Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

You get more than what you pay for...

This is my first Fox knife, and is actually my first karambit. The aluminum handles are actually a bit darker than shown in the promo pictures. But that's no issue for me since the knife still looks totally awesome! The blade came EXTREMELY sharp right out of the box. The build quality and the quality of the materials used, in my opinion, surpasses what you pay for this knife. I carry this knife with a wallet and keys in my pocket and it is a big room taker. However, if you have deep pockets, then this knife shouldn't cause any issues. Side note: my keys have been rubbed and mashed against the handles and so far still NO SCRATCHES appear! The handles hold up really well! Lastly, the Emerson wave feature is really nice. The ring on the karambit allows you to grasp the knife very easily, hence allowing you to draw it faster. Keep in mind though, just like a handgun, you will need to practice your draw. There's little quirks in the draw and every pocket is different. As for the size of this karambit, my hands are super skinny and non-beefy, but not super large. This karambit is a bit big, however, my hand still fits on it fine. Bottom line: if you've got the money for this knife, BUY IT! 10/10
Fox 478 Folding Karambit Flipper 3.2" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert
Lynchburg va
Dec 26, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Very nice

The pictures dont do this knife justice, it is very well made and very easy to use. I have read that the emerson wave feature can take some getting used to but I had no trouble at all and was very impressed. The aluminum grip is far darker than it appears to be in the pictures, and it definitely looks and feels awesome. Definitely recommend this knife. I will definitely be buying more from Fox and Knife Center.
Fox 478 Folding Karambit Flipper 3.2" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jared
Salt Lake City
Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip

Fox rocks!.

Overall quality and design is excellent. This knife is extremely sharp, in both fashion and quite literally. As for that my only complaint is that I would highly recommend the training model to accompany this fine peice of cutlery.
Fox 478 Folding Karambit Flipper 3.2" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
R. Vasquz
San Antonio, TX
Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Outstanding Knife !!!

Unbelievable knife for the money. Have had this blade for 4 years and not one complaint. Holds an edge and impresses every one that has seen it. Was initially concerned with the blade locking liner mechanism but it has never failed even in extreme conditions. Adjustable pocket clip allows the style of knife hold you prefer. Would highly recommend the edged weapon for close quarter defense and EDC. KUDOS to Fox Knives.
Fox 478 Folding Karambit Flipper 3.2" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ron
Colorado
Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

Nice K-bit

First "Fox" I've owned and I am really pleased. Very good quality, detailing, balance, and it's fairly light to carry. Lockup is outstanding on this knife, blade is centered with no play, liner lock is recessed far enough that I feel confident that I wouldn't disengage it during use but can still be easily accessed when you're looking for it. It's been laid down on at 50mph on my Harley, been through hell and back on several climbing trips and even spent a night in the creek after my son knocked it off my tackle box and it's taken it all in stride. No hardware issues at all and cosmetically it's done incredibly well.
Fox 478 Folding Karambit Flipper 3.2" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Daniel
Norfolk VA
Nov 05, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Fox 478 Folding Karambit Flipper 3.2" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gary T
South Padre Island Tx
May 07, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness

Karambit

A very good high quality knife. It is not good for much except as a self defense knife. I would suggest being very careful if you spin it around on the ring as it is very easy to bury the knife point into your forearm. This could sever tendons or even and artery. If this happens you should get a couple of stitches as it takes quite a few days to heal. If you are not laughing by now, you should be. I personally did not think it was very funny at the time.
Fox 478 Folding Karambit Flipper 3.2" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
J
L
May 11, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Lock Type, None

Love this knife!

I love this knife! It has supplanted my Microtech as my favorite everyday carry knife. The wave feature is easy to use, but requires a bit of practice to master. Once you have that down though this thing comes out of your pocket with the knife open and ready to use. I can't think of a better self defense blade. Plus it's great fun to twirl when you're bored, just be careful! The only con is the liner lock, while it locks securely there is a bit of play. I would rather have a beefy framelock. These are small complaints and wouldn't give me pause if I was reaching for it in a self defense scenario.
Fox 478 Folding Karambit Flipper 3.2" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Warkeeper
unidentified
May 15, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

solid, useful

I would rate it a 5, but I haven't had the occasion to use it as designed so it's possible there are flaws I have not yet identified. That said, it is constructed very well, strong and durable and is tightly put together. I would prefer the knife was serrated because it would be better suited for the intended purpose, but that's a preference. In all likelihood, the lack of serration is not an impediment. It's not easily flipped open, but that marks the quality of the initial construction and will change as the blade ages. The pocket clip is able to be removed and switched to the opposite side of the knife - a feature that many knives don't have and one that is important if you intend to use it as a primary weapon (right pocket) or a secondary (for left-hand use).
Fox 478 Folding Karambit Flipper 3.2" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rob
New York
Jun 11, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Great Design

The design is great, geometry of blade and handle is traditional Kali and comfortable. My knife had a few issues, when deployed the blade is canted, tip to the right. This made indexing blade edge difficult in pull cuts. The grind on the top false edge is uneven, pulling the point off center line towards its primary edge. For the price it is for me the best edc folding karambit, flaws and all.