Reviews and Ratings for Morakniv Mora of Sweden Classic 2 Utility Fixed 4.25" Carbon Steel Blade, Red Wood Handle - M-1-0002

Morakniv Mora of Sweden Classic 2 Utility Fixed 4.25" Carbon Steel Blade, Red Wood Handlerated 4.588 stars out of 5 (17 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Classic 2 Utility Fixed 4.25 inch Carbon Steel Blade, Red Wood Handle

 

Price: $15.95

Save $7.04 (31%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Classic 2 Utility Fixed 4.25" Carbon Steel Blade, Red Wood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Maxx K.
Ohio
Oct 29, 2011
Pros: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Awesome knife
i got this knife to be a good all around utility knife. It has performed above and beyond that...its razor sharp(so be carefull) and keeps its edge fantastically. the sheath is terrible if you plan on wearing this on your belt but works good as a neck sheath. P.S. the tip is super wicked so be carful when touching it
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Classic 2 Utility Fixed 4.25" Carbon Steel Blade, Red Wood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
M
az
Dec 21, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Great all around knife
This is a knife everyone should own. The combination of weight, handle material, and razor sharp carbon steel all make this a great all around do anything knife. Great for bushcraft or garden variety daily tasks, what you get for the price is amazing. Easily the sharpest knife I own. Only complaint is the sheath, which gets the job done, be nice though to see a leather sheath. Buy this knife, you wont regret the decision.
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Classic 2 Utility Fixed 4.25" Carbon Steel Blade, Red Wood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Maxx K.
Ohio
Jan 15, 2012
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
good beginner bushcrafter
this knife has a super sharp factory edge...and keeps it extemely well. the handle is comfortable but slick when wet, i solved this by sanding the red off and applying a couple coats of poly...which is extremely helpful and makes it water proof. this is an ideal choice for a beginner bushcrafter as it is cheap and durable.
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Classic 2 Utility Fixed 4.25" Carbon Steel Blade, Red Wood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aaron H.
Boise, Idaho
Sep 03, 2011
Pros: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Everything I didn't know I always wanted in a knife.
How can I describe the Mora #2... Unexpected, understated, elegant, inexpensive, superb. It turned everything I thought I knew about what made a great knife and turned it on it's ear. It made me turn a critical eye on all of the less effective knives I spent so much more money on before I found it. The scandi grind and carbon steel make it so easy to sharpen that anyone can do it. The blade profile and simplistic handle make it perfect for nearly every cutting chore and grip style needed. It's tougher than nails and light as a feather. It cuts, deeply every single time I need it to. Nuff said. Couple of other points about it: •3/4 tang •UHB-20C steel (the Swedish equivalent of 1095) which Rockwell tests out at 58-59. •A red stained birch handle w/nickel steel bolster (seal this w/ a bit of epoxy or superglue for better weather resistance). •An unfinished back spine (grind or file this as flat as possible for use w/ fire steel). •Sheath/scabbard of simple thermoplastic w/ drain holes and tension fit. This sheath looks extremely cheap but has turned out to be very tough and light. I made a nice wet-fit leather sheath for it to wear around my neck-but the extra weight it added to the package was too much for backpacking so I ended up scrapping it and going back to spec. Hope this helps. Thanks for your time.
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Classic 2 Utility Fixed 4.25" Carbon Steel Blade, Red Wood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike W.
Hondo, Texas
Apr 17, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Classic Utility Red Wood Handle 4" Carbon Stee
Pros :Handy, personal, light weight bush knife. good steel, sharp out of the box. hilt fits the hand and is comfortable. Cons : While the hard plastic sheath is reasonably tough and durable the hanger and its attachment most certainly is not. I'll be making a replacement sheath.
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Classic 2 Utility Fixed 4.25" Carbon Steel Blade, Red Wood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Moose
North Carolina (NC)
Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Awesome little knife
I have nothing but good things to say about this knife. It fills the gap in my other knives.
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Classic 2 Utility Fixed 4.25" Carbon Steel Blade, Red Wood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Yarramie
New Zealand
Sep 08, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None
Sharp! Sharp! Sharp!
Lives up to all the good reviews. My first scandi grind and am well impressed. It came sharp and has stayed sharp through a few carving sessions. Love the old world handle, fits well. Not an impressive sheath but it works fine. I will be making a leather sheath for it in the future but more out of interest than necessity. Great value for dollar
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Classic 2 Utility Fixed 4.25" Carbon Steel Blade, Red Wood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
California Hunter
Ridgecrest, CA
Feb 13, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Nice inexpensive small game hunting/fishing knife
I've got one of these in a presstoff type sheath, which I wear in the top front shirt pocket of my hunting blouse. Super knife, that I wear like a ball point pen! Works great on sooty grouse, rainbow trout, California quail, & etc., IME. It is also extremely lightweight, and stays strangely sharp. It is not a cheap knife, it is an inexpensive knife--huge difference. The acid test is: if I lost it, I'd immediately buy another. I should have bought half a dozen extras, when I saw them for $5/each on a store counter. To keep this or any knife sharp, it is a fine idea to acquire a Spyderco Tri-Angle sharpener.
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Classic 2 Utility Fixed 4.25" Carbon Steel Blade, Red Wood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe
lincoln nebraska
Mar 06, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
great
im going to be useing it for camping this summer. ive always heard how great these knives are. i was not disappointed. its very sharp. and sturdy solid
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Classic 2 Utility Fixed 4.25" Carbon Steel Blade, Red Wood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dallas
South Florida
Dec 22, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
The best blade
This is a utility blade at it's best.
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Classic 2 Utility Fixed 4.25" Carbon Steel Blade, Red Wood Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jhr
Sweden
Oct 20, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
stalwart knife
29 years ago, when I was doing my National service in the Swedish Artillery, I purchased one of these at an outlet store. It's been used for almost anything from scaling electrical wires to splitting firewood, even for cooking while camping (not for cooking at home though, I own other knives). It's still with me, a little stained but not rusty, and in a SHTF situation it would be one of two or three knives i would pack. The plastic sheath to mine, keeps a lot of water, so pretty early on I drilled a hole through the tip of the sheath to let the worst of the moist out while doing outdoorsy stuff.
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Classic 2 Utility Fixed 4.25" Carbon Steel Blade, Red Wood Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tim P.
Toronto, ON
Jan 12, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Materials, None
Cons: Finish, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
for classic show
I would rate around 3.8. I was excited to buy this along with mora companion. being a fan of dual survival, i bought this but 3 things disappointed me. one, the handle is slick. I knew this from youtube reviews but i wasn't expecting this slickness. try grabbing a polished dry wood when your hand is also dry...my big disappointment was the sheath retention. it wont affect performance, but it's plain ugly. however, initial sharpness, blade shape, material, and weight is great. i live in urban area so i wont be using this knife until summer hits but it's a decent collectable item. research on youtube to make sure if you want this though...i see limited use in my daily life.
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Classic 2 Utility Fixed 4.25" Carbon Steel Blade, Red Wood Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
J
NY
Apr 09, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Weight, Finish
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Razor sharp!!!!!!
What can you say....Sharp. Sharp. Sharp. Great little knife for kids to learn with ( although I would get them the one with the finger guard) and big boys to carve with. For the price it's tough to beat this knife.
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Classic 2 Utility Fixed 4.25" Carbon Steel Blade, Red Wood Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Del L
Livermore, CA
Jan 02, 2013
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material
Morakniv Mora Classic Utility performs well for the low cost
I'm not a bushcraft survivalist at all and only use knives for general camping, fishing, and hunting purposes. These Mora knives, for the cost, are a pretty good deal because the steel seems to be of good quality and they aren't heavy. For field dressing game I would likely rely on other blades, but to clean fresh caught trout and handle basic camp and camp kitchen chores, these would be fine. I've heard about the concerns concerning slippery handles but anyone can remedy that by their own method. The only reason I gave these a 4 rating is that, in the long fun, I really favor full tang blades, they just seem sturdier to me, but a true expert could do well with the Mora classic I am sure. I would like to see a real leather pouch type sheath with the product at sold, but I will make my own and be quite satisfied. I bought two so I could give one to a friend as a gift.
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Classic 2 Utility Fixed 4.25" Carbon Steel Blade, Red Wood Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Micah
Texas
Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Morakniv
Great little skinning knife. Cheap enough to keep one at the house, one in the pack, one in the truck...Sheath kind of sucks but is easily replaced by a custom leather one. Scandi grind is easy to sharpen and keep sharp. I own a half dozen of these knives and will buy more.
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Classic 2 Utility Fixed 4.25" Carbon Steel Blade, Red Wood Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
John
Idaho
Jun 17, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Watch your fingers!
When I opened the package, the blade was so shiny that I thought Knive Center screwed up and sent me a stainless blade. Upon further inspection, I saw the stamp indicating that it is, in fact, carbon steel. Of course I had to test the sharpness. Flicks hairs off my arm easily. I also test sharpness by shaving calluses off my feet (not recommended). Also easy. The Scandinavian grind is done flawlessly. Before this, the Buck 110 folder was the sharpest factory knife I've ever had. Not anymore. While the blade may be thin, it is very rigid. It may not be full tang, but who cares? I use a knife for cutting. If you want to chop, that's what axes and machetes are for. Only complaint is the same as everyone else's. The sheath sucks. There is no retention, not even friction fit. The belt loop or lanyard hole (can't figure out what it is) is so flimsy that it feels like packing material. If I was going to use the sheath, I would just carry it in my pocket. Guess I'll make a Kydex one.
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Classic 2 Utility Fixed 4.25" Carbon Steel Blade, Red Wood Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Marcos
Brazil
Aug 08, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Finish, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Mora sharpnesss
Nice sharpness and quality of carbon steel