Reviews and Ratings for GATCO Ultimate Diamond Knife Sharpening System - 10006

GATCO Ultimate Diamond Knife Sharpening Systemrated 4.130 stars out of 5 (23 reviews)
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
8
3 star
3
2 star
2
1 star
0
GATCO Ultimate Diamond Knife Sharpening System

 

Price: $68.95

Save $36.30 (34%) Off Retail

View Product Details
GATCO Ultimate Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ag
Perth Australia
Jul 16, 2013
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Excellent Product
Easy to use
GATCO Ultimate Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Spotted Quoll
Tasmania, Australia
Apr 10, 2018
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
The sharpest knives in the drawer
Some of the people around here are real hard on knives - but the worst of their sins are forgiven by application of the Gatco sharpening system. It easily and accurately restores damaged edges to original factory - or better than original - sharpness. Really well thought out, designed, and produced: its the best tool for the job, nothin' else comes close.
GATCO Ultimate Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rich D.
Pittsburg, Ca
Oct 05, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
This kit is the real deal!
This kit is the real deal! It will give both your plain and serrated edge knives a scalpel edge! This kit contains the new ultimate finishing hone which takes sharpening to a new level. You don't have to strop your blade as long anymore!
GATCO Ultimate Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Serec
Monticello, AR
Jun 14, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great product, good price
GATCO Ultimate Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tristan
europe
Mar 10, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
great quality, skills required but what a boy likes...
GATCO Ultimate Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gabriel
Minneapolis
Jan 29, 2013
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Excelent purchase
I've bought this sharpener to maintain all the stainles steel knifes of my home, that are very difficult to keep them sharp. With this tool is very easy, fast and the results are outstanding. I recommend this tool!
GATCO Ultimate Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
H.S.
Birmingham, AL
Jun 23, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Awesome System
I read several reviews about trouble with filet knives and other shallow blades. The kit includes two longer replacement screws for jobs like this where you need to pinch the blade closer to the tip of the clamp. The guide rods being integrated into the stone makes it a lot less trouble to get started than the lansky systems.
GATCO Ultimate Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Twinstick
Western NY State
Nov 18, 2010
Pros: Durability, Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: Overall Quality, None
This is the one !
I own just about every sharpening devise known to man. This is the one I use the most. If you want a precise edge then look no further. The ceramic stone puts a mirror edge on the blade. My knives have never been sharper. Many are "cut on contact" sharp now. My wife says her pre-prison Martha Stewart set of knives are now scary sharp. Use the oil as it will help the diamond stones last longer. If I could only have one sharpening system, this would be it.
GATCO Ultimate Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Pittsburgh
Jul 27, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
GATCO Ultimate Diamond Knife Sharpening System
I was finally able to sharpen my knives correctly. It is great having a nice edge on them at last.
GATCO Ultimate Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lloyd
Virginia
Jul 07, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Best Sharpening System Ever
So easy to use and does a great job if you follow the directions.
GATCO Ultimate Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 4 stars out of 5
El Pistolero
Deep East Texas
Sep 08, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Very good system!
First, I want to thank KnifeCenter for speedy delivery, good prices, and excellent customer service. The GATCO makes many sharpening chores very easy and gives an excellent edge. Only one or two blades of mine seem to want a touch on my Ouchita microtome stone as a follow-up. That said, the clamping mechanism has a couple of short-comings. Not show-stoppers, by any means, but a few cuss-words here and there: (1) The "recess" at the tip of the clamp is not cut square and will not securely hold a blade. (2) Blades that are exceptionally short from cutting edge to the top will allow the stones to cut the clamp itself, except at the largest angles. I may be able to do better with each of those issues as I gain experience using the clamp.
GATCO Ultimate Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 4 stars out of 5
Donald B
Bloomington, Il
Mar 12, 2012
Pros: Durability, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Use, None
overall worth the money, would buy it again
Bought this product to change the angle to 15 (according to gatco) degrees on a benchmade osborne kulgera with s30v steel. Got it sharp enough to slice newspaper with the grain, but not against the grain. Hangs up sometimes while slicing, but not too bad. Difficult to sharpen using the 15 degree holes and impossible with the 7 degree holes. Plastic box not as good as my previous gatco kit. Lid is warped and very hard to open.
GATCO Ultimate Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 4 stars out of 5
Matthias
Switzerland
Dec 20, 2017
Pros: Durability, Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: Overall Quality, None
Files are excellent, clamp and case are not
I give an overall rating of 4 because the most important parts, the files, are excellent, The clamp is useless for very small knifes and also for standard size Swiss army knifes. In addition the two smallest angle settings (11 & 15 deg) cannot be used because you will file the clamp instead of the blade (except for extremely large blades). The case quality is poor, the inner parts break easily and the opening mechanism works only with a lot of force. Not enough experience to rate the honing oil.
GATCO Ultimate Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 4 stars out of 5
Guy Down The Road
down the road duh
Apr 23, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
good product
not good for small knives. works wonderfully as long as your knife isn't a toothpick.
GATCO Ultimate Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 4 stars out of 5
Nicholas
Erie, Pa
Oct 12, 2018
Pros: Effectiveness, None
Cons: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Works well but some aspects of design weren't thought out.
FIrst off, every knife and broadhead I've been able to sharpen has turned out quite sharp so it is really effective. However: 1. The Guide rods aren't long enough to be able to use the full length of the stones. The guide rods slip out of the slot with about 1/5 of the stone rendered unusable while maintaining the angle. 2. Mirroring some previous reviews, for smaller blades, narrower blades, or if you're trying to use the smaller angles, you end up filing the clamp and not even touching the blade. This problem has been experienced with the SOG Micro Tanto, a Keychain Victorinox, Full size Ranger Victorinox, Martini filet knives. The guide rods and the clamp need redesinged. Otherwise, works great and I like the honing oil.
GATCO Ultimate Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 4 stars out of 5
Hans
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Jun 11, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Great product.
The ultimatne finishing hone makes the knives really sharp. I also ordered the Easy Grip Pedestal Mount. This makes the sharpening easier.
GATCO Ultimate Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 4 stars out of 5
Knitetrain
Rochester, NY
Dec 28, 2009
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Reshape dull blades
I used this to reshape a damasis blade. It worked fine. Just pay attention to clamping the blade to the stand. Take your time in doing this to hold it tight. To make any blade real sharp, It times some time to do it right. Use enough oil, Pay attention to stroke directions, ect. I just wish the kit came with one more stone. One thats very course. Other then that, great product
GATCO Ultimate Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bronislav
Brooklyn, NY
Mar 17, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, None
Cons: Durability
Diamond hones are great, however the clamp isn't so good, doesn't work at low angles. Triangular hone is waste - doesn't last even for one knife (the edge gets rounded shape).
GATCO Ultimate Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 3 stars out of 5
Paul
Louisville, MS
Dec 26, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, None
Cons: Overall Quality
Good Hones, Bad Clamp
Great system, good hone design (better than Lansky), but after 1 week of use, the tightening screw stripped out the threads in the clamp. There is a warning against overtightening, but one has to be able to tighten adequately to use safely. Upon inspection, threads were made shallow. I re-threaded the clamp to hold a 1/4
GATCO Ultimate Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 3 stars out of 5
Backwoods Trails
Southern California
Aug 20, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Idea, Needs Some Adjustments
This is a quality product based on a great idea of using a clamp to maintain the correct angle during sharpening. The only concern is that at angles lower than 22 degrees (using a 3'" fixed blade hunting knife) the abrasive stone hits the clamp rather than the edge of the blade. The 22 degree angle is fine for most hunting knives, however, I am not able to put a lower angle on most blades due to the interference of the clamp. Large width chef's knives would work fine with the lower angle due to the width of the blade.
GATCO Ultimate Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 3 stars out of 5
Rrh
usa
Feb 07, 2018
Pros: None
Cons: None
ok at best
its ok at best not real impressed
GATCO Ultimate Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 2 stars out of 5
Jjp
Albuquerque New Mexico
Oct 01, 2009
Pros: Effectiveness, None
Cons: Overall Quality
Not so much
The blade clamp is pretty, but so poorly cast it will not clamp to a blade. The stones are nice but I needed to get the clamp from my old Lansky kit out to find out how I felt about the stones.
GATCO Ultimate Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 2 stars out of 5
Madrookie
Cape Town, South Africa
Feb 01, 2010
Pros: Durability, None
Cons: Effectiveness, Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Useless for low angle knives
Honing stone broken on receipt. Cannot use 11 degree angle Guide rods on stones bent - not straight Bad quality finish