Reviews and Ratings for Gerber Freeman Guide Folding Knife 3.6" Bead Blast Plain Blade, TacHide Handles, Nylon Sheath - 31-000591

Gerber Freeman Guide Folding Knife 3.6" Bead Blast Plain Blade, TacHide Handles, Nylon Sheathrated 3.700 stars out of 5 (10 reviews)
3.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
2
Gerber Freeman Guide Folding Knife 3.6 inch Bead Blast Plain Blade, TacHide Handles, Nylon Sheath

 

Price: $29.95

Save $6.05 (17%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Gerber Freeman Guide Folding Knife 3.6" Bead Blast Plain Blade, TacHide Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matyou.Bob
'merika
Jan 17, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Hefty Hefty Hefty. good size blade. has a lot of weight. weighs a good half an oz more than my Cold Steel pocket bushman which has a 4.5 in blade. handle has a good feel to it. comes razor sharp right out of the box. cant wait to skin something with it. sheath is good quality a little tight fit. easy to open and close with one hand.
Gerber Freeman Guide Folding Knife 3.6" Bead Blast Plain Blade, TacHide Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Maurice
Winnipeg
Jun 16, 2018
Pros: Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Material, None
Pretty decent knife!!
I got this a few days ago and it's very sharp and easy to open. It doesn't have a clip but it comes with a fairly decent sheath. I normally buy fixed, full tang knives but seeing as this was on sale, I couldn't resist, so I bought it and for the price I paid, it's worth it. It's a simple knife and I love the grip on the handle and the jimping along the finger cutouts. I know this knife is made in China, but the blade is the same as 440 steel. I see a lot of people complain about the steel but you know what?? most of our junk steel gets shipped over to China, they make knives and multi-tools, and we get it back when we buy them anyway. Hell, the knife in your pocket is probably made from melted down steel from the World Trade Center and you don't even know it!! It's our steel anyway!! But I digress, I like this knife and the only complaint I have is that it could've been made a little bit longer, instead of the 3.6 they should've made it 4 and a half or 5-inch blade. It is a nice knife, but they could've made it with a lot stronger steel since the people don't like it and really aren't that familiar with 5cr15mov which is China's version of 440HC
Gerber Freeman Guide Folding Knife 3.6" Bead Blast Plain Blade, TacHide Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alex K
Portland, ME
Sep 26, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Sheath, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Solid knife
I am a big fan of Gerber blades and this one does not disappoint. Blade is razor sharp and overall construction is excellent. The handle shape and material affords a good grip. If you are looking for a lightweight pocket knife this 'aint it, but it's perfect as a sturdy, reliable field knife carried in the well-built belt sheath.
Gerber Freeman Guide Folding Knife 3.6" Bead Blast Plain Blade, TacHide Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lg
Oklahoma
Jul 21, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Gerber Freeman Guide Folding Knife 3.6" Plain Blade
Overall good knife. Bought for wife. She uses it around the farm. To wide for everyday pocket carry. Very sharp, easy to open and close. She likes the rubber type grip.
Gerber Freeman Guide Folding Knife 3.6" Bead Blast Plain Blade, TacHide Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dergausov V
Cherkasy, Ae
Jul 25, 2013
Pros: Sheath, Blade Sharpness, Lock Type
Cons: None
Good!
Very good knife!
Gerber Freeman Guide Folding Knife 3.6" Bead Blast Plain Blade, TacHide Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Geo.
LI NY
Feb 19, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Sheath
GOOD DEAL
NYLON SHEATH IS A LITTLE CHEESEY, ONE OF THE STRAPS STARTED TO COME APART AS I WAS WEAVING A MOLLE STRAP THROUGH IT. I WILL FIX IT . KNIFE IS WELL MADE AND HEFTY JUST AS YOU WOULD EXPECT FROM GERBER.
Gerber Freeman Guide Folding Knife 3.6" Bead Blast Plain Blade, TacHide Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Todd
Pennsylvania
Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, None
Good knife for the price
Was sharp but could be sharper, very stiff, the handle is very slip resistant, the liner lock is a *** to release. The belt sheath is well constructed. I got this for very basic everyday use (opening boxes, cutting twine, etc) and it is doing well at that.
Gerber Freeman Guide Folding Knife 3.6" Bead Blast Plain Blade, TacHide Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Anton
Sweden
Apr 13, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material
Cons: Handle Feel, None
ok knife, not more.
It gets the job done, but not more. Comes sharp, not razor, but ok. Easy to open with one hand, fairly easy to close with some practice. The edge on my knife was not symmetrical, kinda irritating. Good grip, but gets uncomfortable after a while of carving. No rattle of the blade out of the box, but after half a year of use, and some bending whit the blade (perhaps you can´t expect to be able to do so with a folding knife?) the blade rattle a bit, but not too bad. The sheath? Don´t know, fits good in the pocket. A good knife for the price, but it has it´s cons.
Gerber Freeman Guide Folding Knife 3.6" Bead Blast Plain Blade, TacHide Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Jim L.
Sacramento, CA
Sep 15, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Pocket Clip
Crap
Piece of crap. This knife hardly holds an edge, hard to open, horrid carrying case. There is nothing to like about this knife. Just as I have come to expect from Gerber.
Gerber Freeman Guide Folding Knife 3.6" Bead Blast Plain Blade, TacHide Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Cleft Marks In Twain
Texas
Mar 02, 2018
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Sheath, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Not the Gerber I knew in Boyscouts circa mid-90’s
Even the Gerber website doesn’t list the blade steel this is made out of...but it says 5Cr15MoV on the package. That’s a pretty crap Chinese grade of steel (even for Chinese steels) and not a good place to start from. The fit and finish on my copy look like a poorly-made Pakistani knock-off. The grinding in the finger grooves looks like someone slipped a few times while machining it out — by hand— with a hand file. It’s so badly jagged that it can honestly be called shrapnel-like. It’s REALLY difficult to open one-handed, and there is already deep gouging —right out of the package, mind you— from the spring-loaded pin that locks into a detent at the base of the blade, just forward from the bolster/hilt. My copy is impossible to close one-handed. It even feels a bit dangerous to close two-handed because both the liner lock and the blade swivel are so super-tight and grittier than a desert dust storm. The edges of the handle are nearly as sharp as the blade itself. I can’t see using this with any amount of force for very long—or I’ll cut my palm as much as I’ll cut the work I’m using this on. Why on earth don’t they bevel or chamfer the edges of the handle if they’re not going to make the rubberized grips wraparound (like the gator) —or AT LEAST make the rubber come to edges of the handle frame? Seems like they want to punish the user for buying the budget version of their knife lineup. Well, Gerber, consider me punished. Lesson learned. I thought I knew ye well, but alas, ye hath produceth crap and alienateth an early-years loyalist. Never again will I buy another Gerber. I’ll just buy a Chinese brand 9Cr18MoV for comparable price, better fitment, smoother action, better corrosion resistance, and decent usability. But it is heavy. So maybe I can just throw it at an assailant in a self-defense scenario. Or something. I guess. I’m really grapsping at thin air to find an upside.