Reviews and Ratings for Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle

Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handlerated 4.459 stars out of 5 (37 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
23
4 star
8
3 star
6
2 star
0
1 star
0
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875 inch Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle

 

Price: $99.95

Save $21.05 (17%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jerry O
hull swamp n.c.
Dec 13, 2011
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
i love this knife so good that i,m gona buy a more.
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tenthmountainbaby
Upstate NY
May 24, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Just Awesome!
I've had this knife since Moses was a baby. It's been a faithful companion to me in Somalia, Bosnia, and several trips down in South America. Like someone else said down below, you can't trust your sidearm not to jam, but you can always trust the Mark II to do its job. Today's soldier is an urban fighter, and the chances are much greater that hand-to-hand combat will be a reality. The Mark II is the ultimate knife fighter as it has been designed on a thousand-year-old concept. If you want a pretty knife to show all the ladies, this this isn't the one to pull out. If you want to live another day on the battlefield, this is exactly the one you want to pull out.
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rich Little
FL
Jun 22, 2008
Pros: None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Great Dagger But I find it hard to use one as a HIDE OUT. Like hidden in the waist band! Like SOG Very Nice Pentagon Great knife But sold it because I couldnt carry it HUGE SHEATH I hope GERBER will make a good sheath for IWB CARRY Maybe the OLD FASHION Leather with Metal Clip like most all daggers come with The gerber GUARDIAN has a GOOD Sheath I like Geber quality and there Fixed blades have always done me right
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Santi.-
Spain
Jun 16, 2008
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
"You're too near" Blade.-
When posted at UNPROFOR in Bosnia Herzegovina (1993), one of these never left my belt. It always was a way to increase my possibilities to reach a new day on duty, and I must admit that this dagger made me feel more confident about it. The results? Well, I'm alive to tell. Sturdy, low-profiled, frightening, effective. These are words that fit here. These are terms to describe the MKII. Probably the best version of Sykes/Fairbairn's pattern. A loyal companion for a paratrooper/commando/legionnaire. And a must for a serious knife collector.
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
John S
Cambridge MA.
Jun 25, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
A good solid built knife
A good solid built knife, realize though that the serrated portion of the blade, closest to the hilt doesn't appear to be the same on both sides ( as you examine the blade from it's width, on both sides, I actually like it ). There's a single angle to each tooth of the serrated edge. I'd imagine Gerber chose to do that to make it easier to maintain performance, making it easier to re - sharpen them with a simple ceramic sharpening rod, or a circular shaped diamond hone. It also appears to NOT be a full tang blade. It's fastened to, and up inside the aluminum handle, but I actually owned another piece they've made, utilizing the same tech, and the last thing you'd have to worry about is any rattling, or loosening from wear and tear over time. Good steel. The edged portion of the blade, flowing up it's length to form a tip, is sharp enough to shave the hair off your arm. So, good angles for the cutting edge. I usually use a Wusthof kithen steel to add a little bit of bite to the edge of my knives out of the box. That wasn't necessary with this issue of the Mark II. :).
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jessi
MA
Apr 06, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Do not trash a Military design for Not being concealable
If you are looking for concealment of a large military knife. You need to step outside the box it came in. Because it was designed for people who do not need to hide how dangerous they are. Try some of the custom sheath makers.
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan D
Landers, Ca
Apr 26, 2012
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
A true American Warrior
I received my first one right after graduating from my AIT Infantry School (11B) in 1970. This knife is NOT a survival/utility blade, it was designed for one purpose and that is to silently dispatch an enemy (or when out of ammo). The first models did not have serrations but people in charge thought it was too much of killing knife so they added serrations so it could be sold in PX's etc and be seen as a woodsman knife LOL! If you are a collector this is one blade that will compliment your military display, mine is next to my favorite, the Ka-Bar. Wish I still had that first Mark II, thank God I was able to buy a new model (Californians you may have to shop around since several vendors will not ship it here).
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gps
west melbourne fl
Apr 20, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
SENTIMENTALY ATTACHED
I was in viet nam in 1967-1968&1969 with the MARINE CORPS.The mark 11 never left my side unless it was in my hand.The original was a little different but todays design is very close.This knife has one purpose,not to clean fish not to chop wood or to open cans.One purpose,yes it is a nasty one but that is what the MARK 11 was designed for.This is not a covert knife it is a big knife to be proudly carried at your side.If you need a great covert knife,the gerber fast 4.8 combat ,I own 2 of them,is perfect.After returning from the nam I spent some time as a bladed weapon instructor for the marines and the MARK11 is the blade that I used and recomended that my students should carry. As I stated in my review of the combat 4.8 I greatly respect and appreciate that part of the gerber design dept.that dedicates itself to the art of making war with knives. As long as we still have to send our sons and daughters into harms way I hape gerber will remain to provide them with the kind of blades they can cary with confidence.I also greatly appreciate the graet prices that the knifecenter makes these knives available for and the great service that they provide.
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Carl L Moore
NW Indiana
Oct 03, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Purpose-built
Much like the earlier MK II (s) this newer version is Purpose-built to do exactly what it was intended for...a very nasty, but necessary combat job.It is a bit big to use in some covert roles, for that I prefer the Boker of Applegate design.
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jackbdead
Savannah Ga
Nov 04, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Super blade
This blade stays hidden in my truck. The point is ridiculously sharp right outta the box. As soon as I pulled it out of the box,I held up a sheet of paper with one hand and gently pushed the Mark II straight through it with ease like a hot knife through butter. There is nothing about this blade that I do not like. The handle is sweet. The balance is sweet. Material,weight,quality,finish-all very nice. And the sheath that comes with the Mark II is equally nice. You cannot go wrong with this purchase.
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
David W
Nelson, Bc
Apr 23, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, None
Cons: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard
good knife bad sheath
I have a number of mkii a 1980, 1991 commandii and this version. This one is not bad. Handle is exactly the same. Steel is this 420hc, jury is not out on the steel, probably not as good as 440c like the old ones, but no evidence other than composition to go by (.6% carbon versus 1% in 440, chromium about the same) serration arn't as bad as some have said, grind is ok point sharpness great. The real weakness is not the knife but the totally crappy chinese sheath, looks cheep, feels cheep and is cheep, my snap fell off immediatly, Gerber really fumbled on this sheath, it cheepens the whole knife.
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charles Mot
Darmstadt, Germany
Sep 30, 2013
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Gerber Mark II 6.875" Double Serrated Blade with Nylon Sheath
Excellent product. Only one suggestion: Design a clip/snap typesheath for it like the one you have for your "Bear Grylls" Ultimate Survival Knife or some other type of sheath that allows for a quicker knife draw. This is a fighting knife and as such one must be able to get the knife into action as quickly as possible. Having to undue two snaps and keep them out of the way is a hindrance to the knife draw, lengthens the time of the knife draw, and negates getting the knife into action as quickly as possible. Otherwise an excellent product. Extremely satisfied. Sincerely,
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mack B
Chicago area
Jul 05, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Best fighting knife ever made
If you are serious about knife fighting, this is the one to buy. During my 24 years in the Army, mostly in Special Operations, I trained in the Filipino "STAR" knife fighting system and this knife is a perfect match for that style. Easy to gravity feed, flat blade strikes, and of course the tip on the handle is perfect for striking. Solid spine, sharp tip, and the full guard prevents your hand from slipping forward.
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
David
Here and There
Oct 21, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
They do not get much better
If I am going into harms way this is on the short list to go with.Fantastic at what it does best.
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sheldon R
Salem Oregon
May 01, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
An old, reliable friend
I bought mine in 1972 when I joined the Air Force (Security Forces). Carried it for 8 years active duty, 12 years National Guard. The original leather sheath was worn out within 3 years. The second lasted 4 more. Finally got a kydex sheath from Blade-Tec. Both knife and sheath are good as new after more than 40 years of military service. This is NOT a utility knive. It is a weapon. Treat it with respect and it will not let you down.
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Simon R.
Shrewsbury, Great Britain
Jan 20, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Excellent
The knife was bought for my son who is a Paratrooper in the British Army and has recently returned from a 7 month tour in Afghanistan Helmand Province. I bought him the knife for future operations/tours. We were both very pleased with the service Knife center provided and with the knife itself.
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan
Kingston, ON, Canada
Dec 21, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
a Legendary blade
A fantastic, made in the USA, blade. Small and sturdy in the hand, this blade is made for "fixing problems" in a combat scenario. Wouldn't recommend it for daily tasks such as opening boxes or cutting vegetables. This knife is as much a collector's piece as it is a combat tool.
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Evan P.
Sep 16, 2009
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
very good fully functional tactical knife!
the balance is perfect so its amazingly comfortable to handle. the whole knife is built really well so take care of it and it will last you a lifetime. blade edges need sharpening out of the box but the point is crazy sharp.
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Harold Peaner
california
Oct 14, 2009
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Awesome knife
This is a wonderful recreation of the classic mark II that was the second best selling combat knife (only behind Ka-Bar). The knife exceeded my expectations by a long shot. Great collector knife or a functional knife (if you can get away with having a knife this vicious looking at your side XD. The factory edge could be better but other than that, i found nothing wrong with this steel gem.
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kaiji T
New York
Nov 08, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Nice weight
Razor sharp but most of all, easy to use and the weight is just right.
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charley
Hayward, CA
Oct 19, 2009
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Still the baddest!
This knife has been around for forty years. It is still one of the baddest knives in the combat knife area. Mine arrived with a very nicely made, versatile sheath and the black finish-the baddest version I've seen of this knife. I've wanted one for decades and decided to treat myself for my birthday. I was not disappointed! It could have been sharper out of the box, but it really isn't a "utility" knife. Point is very sharp.
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Blade
Davis, CA
Mar 03, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Ancient
What fascinates me about this knife is that it is a close reproduction of a combat design that has worked from Roman times to the Vietnam War. The double-edged, wasp-waisted blade has a sinister beauty and is stunningly sharp. It feels elegant in the hand and slid effortlessly into a pineapple. Looks, edge, design, and finish are first-rate. Even the serrations grip the hand like they are eager to cut.
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom
Sarasota, Fl
Dec 10, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Gerber Mark II
It's a collectors item, now I just need the Mark I.
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
David
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 02, 2011
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard
Classic knife
The weight, feel, and design of this knife is excellent. The blade angle is a little steep and I am worried that it won't be easy to resharpen. But this knife is not for cutting rope/etc. This will see daily field use with my job in the desert. Also the sheath is poor. I have already bought a kydex sheath for it.
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dun
Colorado
Jun 07, 2018
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Good blade...
Very good for what it is, a slim but very sharp dagger purposed for fighting (killing) and light general use. Well-made but somewhat grip-heavy... used one back in the day for a time, I think these are a re-production of those VN-era knives by Gerber. The originals came with the flat of the blade ever so slightly tilted offset to allow the blade to snug up to the thigh for more secure carrying, I dunno if these are so designed. The handle, IMO, is a bit heavier than I care for compared to the blade (balance), but that's my own preference as I recall. As a dagger it can't be beat, (it's not my only dagger) and the serrations make it's cutting ability all the better. I also have a MKI, a short dagger with NO serrations. It to is a good blade, one I sometimes use for EDC. It came from my late brother years ago and IDK where he got it. Gerber uses good steel which takes and holds an edge, and I have yet to meet a Gerb that doesnt function as advertised, and I own a couple.
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
John Z
PA
Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
good throwing knife, hit the mark right out of the box
good weight for throwing
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Clay
Salt Lake City, Utah
Sep 30, 2019
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Material, None
Gerber Mark II
Best fight knife around. Still have one of the last Spring Tool Steel Mark II knives made during the Vietnam War. The only thing that would make this knife 5 stars - is to make it true to its first original.
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Stephen
Hercules California
Apr 02, 2010
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Perfect FIGHTING knife, but different than original versions
I love the Mark 2. I have had one for ten years. Now I have more than one. This is the perfect fighting knife. It is not a general purpose knife and should not be used for prying etc. I use mine for demonstrating Martial arts. When comparing this new one I notice the same balance and feel. However, the blade is slightly narrower, the serration is exaggerated and more like a saw (the picture is not an accurate depiction of the serration), the tip is more sharply pointed and the logo and serial numbers are printed not etched into the metal. I actually prefer my older one for looks and design of the blade. For its purpose it will still work fine. These differences in the blade are the only reason I didn’t give it 5 stars. Hopefully, Gerber will go back to more of its original design. Then I will buy yet another one.
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Marv B.
pittsburgh, pa
Sep 18, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Material, Finish, Blade Sharpness
not like the original
on the original version the serrations came to sharp points and the blade edge was not beveled it was two distinct very sharp wedges. I bought this to replace the original one I gave my son when he went to afghanistan. also the original black version had the letter T after the serial number indicating it was made of tool steel. still a good knife even if they cut corners.
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Charles
winnipeg, Manitoba
Jun 29, 2013
Pros: Materials, Finish, Blade Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Gerber mark II
I bought this with collecting in mind, I always wanted one. A friend of mine had one about 20 years ago and it left a neat impression with me. I can't really compare it to my EDC knifes or my bush knifes as this knife is a single purpose knife! I can't hack stuff with it as I'm sure the blade wouldn't hold up. It's a nice little conversation piece in regarding the history of this interesting knife. It's definitely an intimidating knife to be on the wrong end of.
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Carter
KY
Jul 20, 2008
Pros: Finish, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Materials, Blade Material
Looking forward to this knife
Glad Gerber is reissuing the beloved Mark II. I really wish it wasn't in 420HC though. I'll pick a few up.
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
David
Nelson, Bc
Apr 19, 2016
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Good Knife Crappy Sheath
This knife is actually pretty good, I have some older ones one from 1980 and one from the early 90's and I would prefer to have it still made from 440C like the oldies, or even better from S30V like the 2011 limited edition Command II, that is a great knife. But for the value the knife is ok and will serve its intended function as a stabbing combat knife. Even the old ones were not great in the slashing department and this one follows suit. That makes the serrations a valuable addition. Although the knife is good, the sheath really sucks, it is made in China and like almost everything from China it should go right out of the box and straight to the landfill. It is made or lightweight cordura not the heavy duty stuff used on Gerber sheaths in the 80's and 90's. The button on mine fell off almost immediately, The design is ok if it was built like a spec ops sheath but its not. It is nice having the Molle compatibility, but overall the sheath is a big fail. Luckily you can get a leather replacement on eBay. Buy it for the knife and find a new sheath!
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Justin C.
Oakland, CA
May 04, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Materials
Great Design, Cheap Steel and Sheath
The shape and design of this knife is great, however the steel feels quite cheap, and the sheath is a big let-down.
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
2Rcha
CFB Petawawa,ON
Feb 21, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Prefer the V-42
I'm not impressed with this knife at all, I had one for a few yrs, and it basically fell apart the first time I ever really needed it, The blade snapped in half at the hilt after falling from a footbridge onto a boulder in a dry stream bed while on Deployment in Afghanistan, roughly about 4 feet. Now,, my V-42,,(w/ an Aussie accent, Say "Now, That's a Knife"), Is a knife fighter's dream, The blade will punch through anything, It also has the rep to go with it. The 1st SSF knew what they were doing when they decided on the V-42 over any other fighting knife available, even the Sykes Fairbairn,Ka-Bar,etc.The handle needs some stippling, or something that'll add some grip to the handle, when your hand(s) wet it'll pop out of your hand like your squeezing a banana out of its skin. I had to wrap the handle in some Camo cloth adhesive wrap.
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jr
Gatineau, Canad
Dec 10, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Finish
Cons: Blade Material, None
Not quite what I expected
A copy of the original MKII, the quality of the blade material, its sharpness and its shape are simply not like the original
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Andy C
Dallas, TX
Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Materials
Sadly, not as well-made as they used to be
I got my first Mk II in 1984, given to me by my dad just before boot camp - stainless blade, black leather sheath, etc. A beautiful knife that was eventually stolen. I replaced it here in late 2014 via Amazon and wasn't impressed. The made-in-China sheath is... ok... but I wouldn't want to take it to Iraq (where I carried a Cold Steel SRK in '04-'05). The big deal, however, is that the blade was inserted askew into the handle. Not the rare "bent blade" from the 60s or whenever to make the handle hug the hip - no, this was a very visible skewness and was present in the original and both replacements I received from Amazon. It took a few emails to Gerber, along with photo evidence of the issue, before the Gerber guys hand-selected a knife where the blade was in line with the handle. I'm happy with it now, but it took a month to get resolved - so check your own knives by peering down their long axis and turn the knife over and over to see if the tip moves like a bent pool-cue. I just finished making a decent Kydex sheath for it today, so I'm finally happy.
Gerber 22-01874 Mark II Fixed 6.875" Double Serrated Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jraptor59
Texas
Sep 22, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Material, Materials, Blade Sharpness
Collectors only
The Gerber was a legendary knife in Nam and other wars. Unfortunately, it wasn't this model. Those serrations are more likely to get snagged/snared in clothing either entering or trying to withdraw. I would recommend buying a original one though I bet they are expensive. Not a knife, like the old one, to bet your life on.