Reviews and Ratings for Gerber Big Rock Camp Knife Fixed 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles, Nylon Sheath - 22-01588

Gerber Big Rock Camp Knife Fixed 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles, Nylon Sheathrated 4.714 stars out of 5 (14 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Gerber Big Rock Camp Knife Fixed 4.5 inch Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles, Nylon Sheath

 

Price: $23.95

Save $24.35 (50%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Gerber Big Rock Camp Knife Fixed 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ernie F
Taylor Ridge. IL.
Dec 09, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Super
Gerber Big Rock Camp Knife Fixed 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dylan
Ann Arbor, MI
Jan 02, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
One great knife!
This knife was a gift for my friend, so I can't necessarily talk about how it performs in the field. I can say that the construction seems strong and durable, the weight seems nicely balanced, and the blade looks like it will work well in a number of conditions.
Gerber Big Rock Camp Knife Fixed 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dallas
Northern Virginia
Mar 22, 2010
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
A Great Find
For the price this is an extremely impressive knife. It arrived super sharp and ready to go. It's big enough to do just about any job camping or hiking you can think off. Yet small enough to handle easily. There is nothing fancy about this knife it is an inexpensive practical field knife. My only complaint is the sheath. It is your standard 1980's nylon sheath with a plastic insert. It gets the job done, but with todays Kydex sheaths out there the blade deserves a better sheath.
Gerber Big Rock Camp Knife Fixed 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Duke Silverado
East Texas
Jan 21, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Excellent knife
I use the knife to gut deer and it is very good at going through ribs with the serrations. 440 steel like everything else has to be sharpened after caping out a deer
Gerber Big Rock Camp Knife Fixed 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Frank R.
Lutherville, MD
Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Gerber Big Rock Camp Knife 4.5" Serrated Edge Blade with Sheath
I carry it on my side. Easy to access and use. Like the way it feels
Gerber Big Rock Camp Knife Fixed 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tc
Alexandria VA
Oct 27, 2009
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Value
I use this as an all purpose medium sized fixed blade. It's great for camping from carving a tent stake to carving dinner. The sheath is a dated design but certainly adequate. It's not the flashiest or fanciest knife out there. It is a good working knife that unlike more expensive knives you won't be afraid to use hard.
Gerber Big Rock Camp Knife Fixed 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ernie F
Taylor Ridge. IL.
Dec 09, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great
Gerber Big Rock Camp Knife Fixed 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Drifts1
SoCal
Dec 11, 2010
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
The Big Rock Rocks!
To my surprise I give this a 5 rating! Let me explain that when I rate items I factor in cost & value. I bought 2 of these as X-mas gifts for my boys thinking they would be "ok" camping/hiking knives. To my surprise: weight, grip, fit & finish are fantastic! I even love the sheath. While it may be nylon and belt carry only, oppossed to leather or kydex with 20 different carrying options, the knife fits perfectly & securely with a good insert and button strap. The sheath size matches the knife and isnt overly big or clumsy like the sheath that came with my Ranger Afghan. I will be getting myself one soon.
Gerber Big Rock Camp Knife Fixed 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tc
Alexandria VA
Oct 27, 2009
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Value
I use this as an all purpose medium sized fixed blade. It's great for camping from carving a tent stake to carving dinner. The sheath is a dated design but certainly adequate. It's not the flashiest or fanciest knife out there. It is a good working knife that unlike more expensive knives you won't be afraid to use hard.
Gerber Big Rock Camp Knife Fixed 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
T
Colorado
Mar 14, 2020
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Affordable Knife
I have used this knife for 10 + years for camping/backpacking in Colorado and Utah. It has been used for just about everything under the sun. It is lightweight, comfortable and carries well. This is a great example of how you don't have to spend a small fortune to get a good, reliable knife.
Gerber Big Rock Camp Knife Fixed 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jimmyjames
Raleighwood
Jun 26, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Just Buy It
Full tang knife with fairly ergo grip. Bought it on sight. This is going in the Bug Out Bag. Just needs a better sheath or would have given 5 star rating. Just an great deal on a completely serviceable knife.
Gerber Big Rock Camp Knife Fixed 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Scout671
Guam
Oct 24, 2009
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Material
Nice price, nice knife
Awesome product. This knife balances well. Blade profile is nice...high ground for great slicing ability and they did not bevel the top of the point as is done on other drop point knives, thinning out the point. The grip is awesome! It has thinner handle scales than other hunting knives, but they are still comfortable and maintain their grip even when wet. Only con, and I say this sparingly, is I wish they had an AUS8 or AUS10 version of this knife. 440A is great for saltwater, but AUS8/10 would do that too and make it tougher as well. Sheath would benefit from an upgrade. Just my humble opinion. Anyways, pick up one for yourself, hell, get three...they're great knives!
Gerber Big Rock Camp Knife Fixed 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
T0n3r
US
May 25, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
good light camper
This knife was a cheap buy for my camp bag. For small chores or utility use around the camp or job-site. As with most Gerber knives the serrations are specified for a left-handed user, great for me but not for an individual who is not ambidextrous. the handle material is a nice hard rubberized style material. the edge was keenly sharp out of box, but did need to be sharpened after a week of use. The edge and serrations are also prone to denting, a i found once i baton-ed a branch in 2 pieces. The sheath is a nylon outer-layer with a cheap plastic insert to keep its shape. Overall a good camp knife for those who need a quick use knife, i must stress though, not a heavy duty style knife.
Gerber Big Rock Camp Knife Fixed 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Hammergun
Adirondak Park
Jan 29, 2011
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Great All-Around Blade
Did very well at cleaning / butchering several deer. Did great at fire prep. Good handle, although slim. Not a fan of the sheath.