Reviews and Ratings for Gerber 06 AUTO Folding Knife 3.8" S30V Black Combo Drop Point Blade, Black Aluminum Handles - 30-000377

Gerber 06 AUTO Folding Knife 3.8" S30V Black Combo Drop Point Blade, Black Aluminum Handlesrated 4.696 stars out of 5 (23 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
18
4 star
3
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Gerber 06 AUTO Folding Knife 3.8 inch S30V Black Combo Drop Point Blade, Black Aluminum Handles

 

Price: $169.99

Save $34.01 (17%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Gerber 06 AUTO Folding Knife 3.8" S30V Black Combo Drop Point Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gator
TurtleTown Tn
Feb 22, 2018
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Best EDC knife
This knife is hands down the best on market for the money been looking for this since I lost mine after leaving Marine Corps
Gerber 06 AUTO Folding Knife 3.8" S30V Black Combo Drop Point Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Angel F
Davenport, Fl
Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
One Kick A** EDC knife
I have had this knife now for about 3 years and I carry it on a daily bases without any issues. Gerber hit a Home Run with the design and execution of this knife. The handle feels solid like a Rock and the Blade Locks as if it was a fixed blade. I always carry it in my pocket with the clip and I have had Zero issues. The only Con that I had was the Blade Sharpness: The Knife came very sharp from the factory but after a mix of everyday use I had to re-sharpen the blade and it took a little learning curve to get the right angle to maximize the sharpness of the blade but once that was done a little maintenance sharpening with both ceramic sticks and sharpening steel is all it takes to keep a very sharp edge.
Gerber 06 AUTO Folding Knife 3.8" S30V Black Combo Drop Point Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rick
Texas
Apr 27, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Awesome knife
I had this knife when I was in the Marines and after I got out someone stole it. By far the best knife I have ever owned. Would like to buy another one but not sure if I can as a Veteran/civilian now.
Gerber 06 AUTO Folding Knife 3.8" S30V Black Combo Drop Point Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Adrian M
Tennessee
Sep 02, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Best knife
I received this knife as a gift from my command while on deployment. My whole unit got them, and a friend and I sat around sharpening and honing the blade to a razor's edge. It's a hefty tool, quite capable of holding a very sharp edge. The lock and release button feel stout and secure, not flimsy or cheap in the least. I don't remember a sheath coming with mine. I'd trust my life to this knife and am only sad that I lost it on campus barely a year after leaving active service. Thankfully, I can now purchase and carry this knife legally in my state now and fully plan to get another to use as an EDC. This knife has set the standard for how I judge all other non-fixed bladed knives.
Gerber 06 AUTO Folding Knife 3.8" S30V Black Combo Drop Point Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael S
High Point NC
Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Excellent Service!
The knife is in rotation as an EDC, in that capacity it is perfect - would be so as a dedicated and only EDC too. It is a tough, well thought out and manufactured knife, and the second one I have owned - if I didn't think the first one was outstanding, I would never have ordered the second. Outstanding job Gerber, and outstanding service KnifeCenter!!
Gerber 06 AUTO Folding Knife 3.8" S30V Black Combo Drop Point Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ogi
Iowa
Apr 28, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Best blade I own
I love the blade on this knife. I use it and abuse it but the thing does not show any damage or wear on it's edge after four years! That's four years! I decided to take it apart about a month ago finally to clean the lint that accumulates from my pocket-big mistake....I couldn't put it back together... so I shipped it back to Gerber and they put it back together free of charge and gave me an additional sheath for the knife. I'm not sure if they did-but I swear that they replaced my whole blade as well because the scratches it had on it before were gone and it looked brand new! I never had any trouble opening or closing it just for the record-I had only decided to take it apart because I'm nit picky and that's the kid in me....take it apart, but can't put it back together...
Gerber 06 AUTO Folding Knife 3.8" S30V Black Combo Drop Point Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
David C.
in
Jan 01, 2015
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material
Cons: None
gerber 06
it is a bad ass
Gerber 06 AUTO Folding Knife 3.8" S30V Black Combo Drop Point Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom C
Phila. Pa.
Mar 04, 2018
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Gerber 06 Auto
great product and well made. Service and delivery were excellent.
Gerber 06 AUTO Folding Knife 3.8" S30V Black Combo Drop Point Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Monstersdoexist
Brooksville, Florida
Jun 18, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
I really like this knife.
Gave one to my daughter to carry as she has an active life with two small children. She is very comfortable with it and carries it daily. One thing about the heavy build and weight of this blade is that if some thug runs up on you and you don't have time to deploy the blade, you can beat the stew out of them with the pommel and then decide whether to open the steel and leave your signature. Very tough knife and very military/police quality. I am thinking about ordering another for myself.
Gerber 06 AUTO Folding Knife 3.8" S30V Black Combo Drop Point Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Quentin Buc
USAFA, CO
Feb 12, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Sheath, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Fantastic
I am a cadet at the United Sates Air Force Academy and purchased this knife to use for EDC and tactical training (I use the MOLLE pouch on a plate carrier). After arriving, I realized this knife is a gem. Super beefy feel, amazing lock and blade stability, and the sharpest blade ive ever carried. My close friend, a member of the Iraqi special forces, claims it is one of the best folding knives he's used in his years in the military. Be warned though, do not tinker with this knife, you may very well break it, and thie knife is VERY HEAVY. Mine has the aluminum handle and works great, but it does weigh more than some people would like in their pocket. All in all, I absolutely love it and would recommend it to anyone who needs a knife as sharp as a scalpel and as tough as an A-1 Abrams.
Gerber 06 AUTO Folding Knife 3.8" S30V Black Combo Drop Point Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sebastian
Chicago
Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Amazing Knife, Perfect Tool
This knife has literally saved my life. My father had one In Afghanistan and when he showed it to me years later I loved it so much I went out and got my own. And God am I lucky I did, several months later I got into a very serious car accident in which I needed to cut my seatbelt and break through the window in order to get out of my vehicle which was filling with smoke. Under that situation I was so disoriented that I'm fairly certain I would not have been able to deploy that knife had it not been automatic. And the pomell is what allowed me to break the window.
Gerber 06 AUTO Folding Knife 3.8" S30V Black Combo Drop Point Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jared
Garden Grove, CA
Feb 06, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Still have my issued gerber
I received this in Afghanistan in 2010 and 7 years later it's still my daily carry. I am however looking to replace the blade unit or get it sharpened soon, but the hilt is staying with me I'm fairly certain it will last a lifetime.
Gerber 06 AUTO Folding Knife 3.8" S30V Black Combo Drop Point Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert
Western New York
Nov 09, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
Made in the USA
I'm very happy with this purchase. Knife center had the best price I could find. Arrived five days after the order was placed. It's a heavy sturdy knife that is easy to operate while wearing gloves. Quality product at a fair price!
Gerber 06 AUTO Folding Knife 3.8" S30V Black Combo Drop Point Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gc
Nashville
Dec 30, 2017
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Gerber 06 AUTO Folding Knife 3.8" S30V Black Combo Drop Point Blade, B
service was great item was not in stock at time of order, but had status updates often to on when it would be available.
Gerber 06 AUTO Folding Knife 3.8" S30V Black Combo Drop Point Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott
Utah
Jul 01, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Incredible Knife and Customer Service
Awesome all-purpose knife. I would highly recommend it.
Gerber 06 AUTO Folding Knife 3.8" S30V Black Combo Drop Point Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rich
Alaska
Sep 14, 2012
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Auto
Great knife
Gerber 06 AUTO Folding Knife 3.8" S30V Black Combo Drop Point Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Armysgt
Feb 16, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
AWESOME KNIFE
MILITARY make sure you have your memorandum to carry this knife other wise you may get in trouble with the law. I have it that's why I'm saying it. Hooah
Gerber 06 AUTO Folding Knife 3.8" S30V Black Combo Drop Point Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Raymond S
Wilmington CA
Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Best knife ever
This is quite possibly the best knife I've ever owned. I've used it at work in very harsh conditions and it took everything I threw at it and kept on smiling. It's my everyday carry but it's more than just a knife it's a tool and a d#mn tough one at that
Gerber 06 AUTO Folding Knife 3.8" S30V Black Combo Drop Point Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jim
New Joisey
Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Weight, None
Too big for an EDC, but there's something about it I like nonetheless
Another is a series of 5 minute reviews by Jim, so called because they're only 5 minutes of reading for you (but obviously I put in a heck of a lot more time to create it).

Make: Gerber
Model: 06 Drop Point (Aluminum Handle)
Price Paid: $150

First Thoughts...
Initial Impressions: Huge. Beefy knife, in every sense of the word; handles, blade, deploy button and lock slide switch are large. Made to emulate a 'tactical' knife.
Packaging: Above average. Box is sized quite well to the knife. Silkscreened company logo and name on almost every side, with a serial number tag on the back.
Accessories: Padded nylon pouch with belt loop that snaps closed. Documentation: Double sided sheet that has open/close instructions on one side and warranty information on the other.
Observed Quality: Good. Everything seemed as though it was put together well, with little that I would consider in need of attention.

Blade...
Sharpness: Blade, very good. Serrations, OK. Slicing printer paper was no challenge for the edge of the blade, but the serrations could have used some more work at the factory.
Speed of Deployment: Slow. The blade just kind of meanders out, without any sense of urgency.
Solidity of Lockup: Very good. Downward pressure on the blade resulted in almost no movement whatsoever.
Blade Wobble When Deployed: Acceptable. There was a bit more then I would like for a knife designed as a 'tactical' solution, but it was nowhere near as bad as the tanto version of this knife I bought.

Handle...
Feel: Solid. No flex, no bend, no weakness. The aluminum was not slippery because of the diagonal grooves cut into both sides. Fit my hand very well with no hot spots.
Size: Large. This is a robust knife that won't get lost in your hand even when wearing gloves. An EDC knife it's not, unless you're the type of person who isn't concerned about being obvious.
Impressions: T shaped handle provides a big index finger choil and thumb ramp, so choking up for detail work will never be a problem. The length and width combined was a nice fit for hands the size of mine. Jimping is about perfect, in both feel and location on the handle.

Convenience...
Clip Strength: Very good. Strong and taunt, yet not overly so. It did prove a bit difficult to get over the seam of my jeans pocket, but it might get better with time. You'd be hard pressed to lose it, that's for sure. It's held on by 3 screws so the clip isn't going anywhere.
Carry Options: Tip up, left or right.

Overall...
Value: Good. $150 is a lot for a knife, but this is a lot of knife so consider it a wash.
Buy Again: Possibly. I can't really use it as an EDC, but for some reason I still like it.
Overall Assessment: For the person who wants a big solid knife, Gerber has something for you. A wallflower it's not. The quality could be better, especially when you consider the price, but it's certainly worth a look. Now, if they could just sell a version without the serrations...
Gerber 06 AUTO Folding Knife 3.8" S30V Black Combo Drop Point Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Christopher
Ashburn, Va
Apr 12, 2018
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Solid & Sturdy Heavy Duty Knife
The Gerber 06 is a solid piece of kit. It feels indestructible in your hand. The button is super easy to find and operate. The lock is just as easy to find and use. The 06 is clearly well made and feel like a high quality knife. There is nothing flimsy or cheap about it. Lock-up is positive and blade play is non-existent. If I have any problem with the knife it is the speed it deploys. I just wish it was a little faster, a little snappier. It works but it is a little slow. Even after a god break-in period. I love the 06 and highly recommend it if you need a hard working, reliable duty knife.
Gerber 06 AUTO Folding Knife 3.8" S30V Black Combo Drop Point Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Keith V.
Virginia
Jul 08, 2018
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Gerber 06 Auto
The Gerber 06 Auto is a very good knife that inspires confidence when carried . I consider this knife to be the .45 acp of the every day carry weapon system , that is if I ever had to use it in a defensive or tactical manor the job would get done . Feels very strong in the hand . The only down side I have is that it could open a little quicker .
Gerber 06 AUTO Folding Knife 3.8" S30V Black Combo Drop Point Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Bruce P.
Epsom, NH
Oct 04, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
I hope that mine is an anomolly
If you feel that "how" an auto opens is paramount to it's rating then I am being generous here. New, out of the box my 06 wasn't very impressive, if I let off the button too soon it didn't open all the way, my reaction times are not all that fast. Otherwise it is a big and very rugged knife that seems to be well designed and put together. After having it for a year I decided to have a 'look under the hood' so to speak and against Gerber's warnings I disassembled the knife for a thorough cleaning, hoping to find some manufacturing debris that caused the less than inspiring opening. No such luck, what I have learned is that the frame screw next to the blade pivot can not be tightened fully or the blade does not open at all. Screw pressure on the pivot lock screw itself doesn't appear to have any effect but as that frame screw gets close to tight the drag on the blade increases dramatically. My best guess is that the frame spacer the screw attaches to was machined a few thousandths too short. If I were not concerned with the hodgepodge of laws between here and Oregon (I can legally buy, own and carry it here, not sure that it can be shipped back to me), I would have shipped it back to Gerber from the beginning for service. Having owned and enjoyed many of their knives (bought my first Gerber in '72), I have no doubt that they could and would make it right. In the mean time I am hoping that locktite will hold that screw at just the right tension (less than 1/4 turn from being tight) so that my knife works as designed. Maybe someday I will be ambitious enough to make a small shim for the spacer. I really do hope that my knife is a "one of a kind" problem. YMMV
Gerber 06 AUTO Folding Knife 3.8" S30V Black Combo Drop Point Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Disapointed
USA
Jul 12, 2017
Pros:
Cons:
Replacement for one lost.
Heavyer oil made slow to open at first. Blade much sharper than my first one. My first one came with a sheath which was also lost. WHY DID THIS NOT KNIFE NOT COME WITH A SHEATH???