Reviews and Ratings for Gerber 31-001683 Bear Grylls Paracord Fixed 3.25" Plain Blade, Plastic Sheath

Gerber 31-001683 Bear Grylls Paracord Fixed 3.25" Plain Blade, Plastic Sheathrated 4.167 stars out of 5 (12 reviews)
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Gerber 31-001683 Bear Grylls Paracord Fixed 3.25 inch Plain Blade, Plastic Sheath

 

Price: $19.95

Save $28.17 (59%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Gerber 31-001683 Bear Grylls Paracord Fixed 3.25" Plain Blade, Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
William P.
Virginia Beach, Va
Jul 09, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Great knife and corresponding sheath with multi carry options. Nice solid heft, and fits in the hand well.
Gerber 31-001683 Bear Grylls Paracord Fixed 3.25" Plain Blade, Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matthew P
Martinsville, IN
Jan 03, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Great little piece of camping gear

I love the bevel of the blade. It is thick enough for kindling splitting chores, and ground in such a way that you can cut and peel veggies or fruit. Just an all around useful blade design. Great little sheath - either for strapping onto the outside of gear or putting sideways on your belt for handy access.
Gerber 31-001683 Bear Grylls Paracord Fixed 3.25" Plain Blade, Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rodolfo
Apr 08, 2013
Pros: Weight, Finish, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Exellent knife

Gerber 31-001683 Bear Grylls Paracord Fixed 3.25" Plain Blade, Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Johannes F
Germay
Jan 12, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Excellent Knife with Multi-functional sheath

This knife is awesome! Pretty sharp and very good quality. Excellent for carving etc. I can only recommend this knife for everybody. You can replace the paracord and attach it to a branch to make a speer. The sheath is strong and it allows to carry the knife many different ways! 5 out of 5 stars for this awesome knife!
Gerber 31-001683 Bear Grylls Paracord Fixed 3.25" Plain Blade, Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ben A
Australia
Dec 27, 2012
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None

Great outdoors knife

This knife is awesome :) Firstly the paracord wrapped handle is supprisingly comftable and offers a solid grip. The sheath is well built and is customisable to fit most belts and can be used as a boot knife. There is just the right amount of retention in the shealth to keep the knife falling out but isnt a struggle to pull it out when you need it. The blade comes very sharp and is great for camping and hunting and i've even taking it out fishing. The only downside i can find about this knife is the gimping could be a little more aggressive as it does not provide much traction.
Gerber 31-001683 Bear Grylls Paracord Fixed 3.25" Plain Blade, Plastic Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Guy
Toulouse, France
Mar 05, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Handle Material, None

Cracking blade

I found I could not order this item from the Bear Grylls range by Gerber in Europe, so ordered from the Knife Centre. Delivery was fairly swift and efficient to France (via Fedex), and the item was well packaged. I One of the main reasons for purchase was not only the knife but also the sheath. It is extremely versatile, and the clip can be mounted in all orientations, allowing multiple carry possibilities. Alternatively clip can be removed if sheath is to be used as neck knife. Anyway knife clicks into position securely. The knife itself is a nice thickness, and blade was sharp on receipt. I like the finger grip and jimping on the rear, and expect to test it in the field soon. Personally I will swap out the paracord for some black 550 paracord, and it's a shame that handles are not available as an option, but the paracord gives a tactical look and an acceptable grip.
Gerber 31-001683 Bear Grylls Paracord Fixed 3.25" Plain Blade, Plastic Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Not Bg Enthusiast
Northern europe
May 21, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, Finish, None

Good for the money

Excellent knife after you change the paracord for less tacky and sand of the orange BG sings. Also had to fix the sheath and the blade with fine sandpaper to get them operate smoothly. Carries easy on the belt due to the slim width of the handle and the sheath. Keeps edge nicely and sharpens easily.
Gerber 31-001683 Bear Grylls Paracord Fixed 3.25" Plain Blade, Plastic Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
John L
Berlicum (Netherlands),
Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Finish, Blade Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

Bear Grylls Paracord Fixed 3.25"

Great back-up knife. Versatile sheath, low profile and weight. Liked the first one so much, bought a second one.
Gerber 31-001683 Bear Grylls Paracord Fixed 3.25" Plain Blade, Plastic Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tim
Cincinnati, Ohio
Aug 13, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Material, None

pretty good

For a cheap knife this holds up pretty good do not throw the tip bends if you do but all in all good knife
Gerber 31-001683 Bear Grylls Paracord Fixed 3.25" Plain Blade, Plastic Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Lozza
New Zealand
Apr 09, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, None

Good knife, dump the cheap paracord.

Take the cheap paracord off and replace it, its horrible. It didn't turn up sharp at all, yet a minute on the stone it comes up nice. Seems to hold it's edge well, feels good in the hand. Love the choil gives a great feel of control. Nice low profile for packing in a bag or belt carry. Sheath seems a little bulky for the knife yet it works well for the knife. It had way to much tension on it yet pushing and pulling the knife in and out rapidly sorted that and the hold on the knife is spot on. Overall it's a good knife. Great price for what you get.
Gerber 31-001683 Bear Grylls Paracord Fixed 3.25" Plain Blade, Plastic Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dino
Hellas
Jul 22, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

super outdoor backup knife

Its a nice handy outdoor knife. I say it's a must have back up knife
Gerber 31-001683 Bear Grylls Paracord Fixed 3.25" Plain Blade, Plastic Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Dennis
Ontario
Nov 23, 2019
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

Dull knife

I just received this knife yesterday and I was very excited to open it. When I opened I checjed out the edge expecting it to be sharpe and ready to use. Unfortunately the blade looks like it wasnt sharpened ever so now need to spend time putting and edge on this knife.