Reviews and Ratings for Gerber Impromptu Stainless Steel Tactical Pen, Black - 31-001880

Gerber Impromptu Stainless Steel Tactical Pen, Blackrated 4.875 stars out of 5 (8.0 reviews)
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Gerber Impromptu Stainless Steel Tactical Pen, Black

 

Price: $63.95

Save $13.05 (17%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Gerber Impromptu Stainless Steel Tactical Pen, Black
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ryan
Winona Lake, In
Dec 26, 2018
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Best USA made tac pen

I've carried my impromptu everyday and they have no problem with it at customs in or out of the USA. This pen will shatter glass and will be a effective combat weapon if you only have this heavy duty click pen with you. I feel safe with it even when I can't carry a true weapon. Highly recommended and Gerber service sent me a new clip I broke free of charge. My pen is so pocket worn it's half black and half bare stainless steel.
Gerber Impromptu Stainless Steel Tactical Pen, Black
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan
Cedar Rapids, IA
Feb 04, 2015
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Excellent Pen

Looks awesome. Performs well. Handed it to a woman in one of my college classes and she almost dropped it because of the weight. Cracked me up. Glad I bought it.
Gerber Impromptu Stainless Steel Tactical Pen, Black
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shawn D.
Cape Girardeau, MO
Nov 22, 2013
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Feels like a tank in your hand, writes like a dream.

I will admit I was originally attracted to this pen because it looked like something out of a sci-fi movie, but it has proven really practical for me. It is built like a tank and deploys smoothly via the push button, (no screw on cap, thank goodness). The construction is all stainless steel and it will accept the several different ink cartridges, but comes with the Fisher cartridge which is excellent. You will probably never need the tactical aspect of this pen, but you could just as well be the person writing a review of how this pen saved your life. IMHO it is worth the money, I plan to buy a second one as a back up should I lose this one. Get one!
Gerber Impromptu Stainless Steel Tactical Pen, Black
rated 5 stars out of 5
Raymond Pip
Alexandria, Va
Mar 06, 2014
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great Tactical Pen!!!!

I just received one and what a good design!!! I already changed the refill to a Parker Gel. Most people Have a hard time finding refills, look no further The Parker refills work!! I have been using Tac pens since they came out by far this is Great pen for the buck.
Gerber Impromptu Stainless Steel Tactical Pen, Black
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tammy
WI
Feb 09, 2015
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Best tac pen ever

I bought this pen for my fiance for work, he does private security. He has had many different Tactical pens through out the years and said that this is by far the best tac pen he has ever had. He said it is better then ones he has paid twice as much for. He uses it every day at work and loves it. He said it is the most durable and well built tac pen. He also loves the fact that you can use Fisher Space pen refills in it that was his favorite detail about it.
Gerber Impromptu Stainless Steel Tactical Pen, Black
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike P.
Virginia
Jun 12, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None

Great pen, poor ink cartridge

Headline says it all, the ink cartridge clumps at the point. The pen itself is excellent. Once you change out with a suitable refill.
Gerber Impromptu Stainless Steel Tactical Pen, Black
rated 5 stars out of 5
Craig Y
Australia
Jan 07, 2014
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Solid Pen

So far I've only used it to write with and really hope I don't have to use it "tactically". Quite heavy but then that probably works in it's favour when necessary. The quality of the build and materials for the price puts some luxury pens to shame.
Gerber Impromptu Stainless Steel Tactical Pen, Black
rated 4 stars out of 5
Donald S.
Bakersfield, CA USA
Nov 23, 2017
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Refill Quality

Glad I bought it

Good pen and kubaton. I use the pen at work everyday, I haven't used it as a kubaton yet. The ink that came with the pen lasted for only 2 weeks. Had to buy a refill at Amazon, No. 37-R black, Rite in the rain refill. Writes much more smoothly now. The pen has to be positioned just right in your hand, carbide tip facing upward and and the pocket clip not resting against your skin to be comfortable.When holding the pen upright it is comfortable and writes well. The clicker sometimes gets stuck and the pen doesn't retract, hit the clicker again and the pen retracts. Knfecenter.com had the lowest price.