Reviews and Ratings for Gerber Bear Grylls Survival Hatchet 9.46" Overall, Nylon Sheath - 31-002070

Gerber Bear Grylls Survival Hatchet 9.46" Overall, Nylon Sheathrated 4.375 stars out of 5 (8.0 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Gerber Bear Grylls Survival Hatchet 9.46 inch Overall, Nylon Sheath

 

Price: $44.95

Save $9.05 (17%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Gerber Bear Grylls Survival Hatchet 9.46" Overall, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Peter
Akron, Oh
Oct 14, 2018
Pros: Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: Head Material, None

Way Better Than a Knife

It is a Chopper Not A Splitter. Due to hatchet design (weight at end) you get much more leverage than a knife to chop. I even used it to hammer in my tent stakes. Criticism on the quality of the metal ignore how affordable it is. If it wears out, just buy a new one.
Gerber Bear Grylls Survival Hatchet 9.46" Overall, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom V
Blaine Minnesota
Apr 23, 2013
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
I use the hatchet on my conoe trips to the BWCA. It's light weight, small size and works great for cutting small peices of wood for camp fires. I would recommend this product to anyone.
Gerber Bear Grylls Survival Hatchet 9.46" Overall, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul Y
Missoula Montana
Apr 16, 2013
Pros: Head Material, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: Balance, None
just recived my gerber survival hatchet, and immediatelly took it out for a weekend survival camp test. it performed flawlessly. right out of the box it was razor sharp, i shaved a large patch of hair off my arm with one pass. Compared to my regular hatchet it seemed light in weight and I was affraid it wouldn't penetrate wood as well, but I was plesantly surprised at how well it cut wood. from 2" branches to 8" logs it never missed a beat. I think it works so well because of its slim blade design and extreemly sharp edge. I had to use a wood batton to help split some 8" logs but it went through like butter. because of its thoughtful design with finger grooves in the handle it works great as a cooking prep knife. I used it to clean and cut up a turkey and a rabbit. I'm giving it two thumbs up and an atta-boy.
Gerber Bear Grylls Survival Hatchet 9.46" Overall, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
Northeast U.S.
Apr 23, 2013
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None

Perfect size and weight for hiking, camping, backbacking

The beauty of this hatchet is in both its compact size/weight and its functionality. I love having this in my backpack because it adds very little extra burden to carry, yet offers me a very versatile tool when I'm in the sticks. It's well built and is a perfect compliment to a good bushcraft/hiking/hunting knife. Highly recommend.
Gerber Bear Grylls Survival Hatchet 9.46" Overall, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Andrew
Alabama
Dec 09, 2013
Pros: Balance, Construction, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Handle Material, None

Impressive

I haven't gotten to test this out much yet, but I am excited to. Bought it for backpacking and camping. It is very lightweight which is perfect. Very light and very sharp. Only cons to me so far are the handle material (it's not bad, but nothing special) and the cover for the head. I like it but it takes some effort to put on. For the money, this is a great hatchet.
Gerber Bear Grylls Survival Hatchet 9.46" Overall, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dustin
Wisconsin
Jan 19, 2014
Pros: Balance, Handle Material, Construction, Head Material
Cons: Weight, None

Nice little hatchet

I received this hatchet as a gift for Christmas. My son and I like to fish and hunt together and we always like a new knife, hatchet or machete. The first thing I noticed after opening and inspecting it is how sharp it is out of the packaging. This thing is razor sharp. It has an edge like a good knife more than a hatchet. I believe it is sharp enough to skin an animal or fillet a fish with it. The handle has a nice grip and there are finger grooves high on the handle. This works great if you need to choke up on it. I chopped some wood, easily created thin wood shavings and made a fire in the back yard with it the hatchet works well. The hatchet is very thin. This makes it hard to split wood or use as a hammer. It is not impossible but it takes a little more work. Pros: nice grip, razor sharp, nice sheath, holds an edge well. Cons: To thin and lightweight for splitting wood or using as a hammer.
Gerber Bear Grylls Survival Hatchet 9.46" Overall, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Gearskeptic
SLC, UT
Feb 01, 2014
Pros: Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: Balance, None

Light, versatile tool

Nice versatile little pack hatchet. Really it's more like a nice sharp Alaskan Ulu attached to an axe handle...as other reviewers have said, it could be a skinner if you favor that kind of blade shape for the task. The grip could be a bit rounder in cross section - it tends to concentrate force rather than distribute it - but with a tool this small you shouldn't be whaling on things anyway. Use a baton to assist in that case, or use a more purpose-built axe instead of a pack hatchet. Time will tell about durability - but initial impressions are overall pretty good.
Gerber Bear Grylls Survival Hatchet 9.46" Overall, Nylon Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
C4
Sville NY
Feb 11, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, None
Cons: Head Material, Construction

Good idea bad steel

Bought this to use or field dressin deer this year. Worked like butter to go thru ribs pelvis take of necessary limbs. However chipped after the first deer is now a jagged edge. Still goes thru but i see it breaking soon. Bear grylls parang machete much more durable