Reviews and Ratings for Gerber 31-002184 Instant Assisted 3.33" Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles

Gerber 31-002184 Instant Assisted 3.33" Black Combo Blade, G10 Handlesrated 4.308 stars out of 5 (13 reviews)
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
1
Gerber 31-002184 Instant Assisted 3.33 inch Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles

 

Price: $45.95

Save $10.05 (18%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Gerber 31-002184 Instant Assisted 3.33" Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Frankie
western australia fremantle
Dec 22, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
quick and shark
fishing cutting thick fishing line and mending nets and in my pocket when tuna fishing long lining as safety in case get tangeled in hooks when settin gear cheers frank
Gerber 31-002184 Instant Assisted 3.33" Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Dec 20, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Blade Material, Pocket Clip
Awesome
Awesome knife
Gerber 31-002184 Instant Assisted 3.33" Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan
San Diego, CA
Sep 12, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Awesome Knife
I took this camping recently and it worked great. It's very sharp easy to use. The only negative is that the pocket clip is at the top instead of the bottom of the knife.
Gerber 31-002184 Instant Assisted 3.33" Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jon
Lexington, KY
Nov 13, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
great knife.....except.....
it is a great edc knife except (i dont know if its just mine or what), when the blade is closed the very tip is slightly pertruding then again it could just be because the AO mechanism which includes a leaf spring is new and it is still extremely stiff; maybe it will go away after the spring is broken in a little bit
Gerber 31-002184 Instant Assisted 3.33" Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dharwood
Mars HIll, NC
Apr 03, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Perect Hunting and Everyday use Knife
This is the second of this knife that I have owned. Lost the other in the woods. Easy, quick open... stays sharp, perfect size. It is lightweight but still heavy enough to cut the toughest of branches when I am in the tree stand. I had the previous one for years and it never got loose. Perfect job by Gerber.
Gerber 31-002184 Instant Assisted 3.33" Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rob R.
Clearwater, FL
Oct 03, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Excellent Quality and GREAT Price!!
Gerber doesn't disappoint for a mid-level knife. Would recommend this to anyone looking for a great utility knife. Could have a better edge from the factory, but that is easily fixed. Holds an edge very well.
Gerber 31-002184 Instant Assisted 3.33" Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Allison Long
Kansas
Dec 27, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
My boyfriend uses this knife for Army purposes. He loves the finish on the knife.
Gerber 31-002184 Instant Assisted 3.33" Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kermit, 'Doc' E
San Antonio, Texas
Jan 13, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Top Shelf assisted opening all-purpose knife
No Sheath, but it does not need it with the pocket clip. A little stiff to open at first, but a slight backing off on the star key center blade fastener took care of this with no problem. The weight is comfortable, and it holds an edge well. If you slick it up a few strokes on a razor strop after sharpening, hair falls everywhere. A very, very good multi-purpose knife I will be happy with for years, of that I am certain. The handle fits the hand well, and the black finish is more than durable. The locking mechanism is a breeze to release, and I'm very satisfied with it overall. I've been using Gerber knives for over twenty years, and they're as good for steak as they are for an assailant. Another fine Gerber product! 'Doc' E, 2013
Gerber 31-002184 Instant Assisted 3.33" Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
David
Here & There
Aug 18, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Another winner !
Another Gerber that got it right . Light weight , well built easy to use good for EDC .
Gerber 31-002184 Instant Assisted 3.33" Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Cody Ob
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Aug 31, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Weight, Ease of Opening
Gerber Instant Assist
This is durable knife. It's fairly heavy but has a fantastic deep carry pocket clip which is very useful. The thumb stud is initially difficult to open, like many of the Gerber assisted knives, but it locks up tight and the button to disengage the lock is very convenient. The G-10 handle has an awesome feel and grips nicely. The knife also came very sharp. Great knife, I would recommend it.
Gerber 31-002184 Instant Assisted 3.33" Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Dave
Mid-Atlantic
Nov 17, 2013
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Weight, None
Cons: Lock Type, Ease of Opening
Be Careful after a few years use !
I have had my Instant for 2-3 years now . Twice the other day it opened in my pocket . No Blood no foul. I contacted Gerber and they want me to return the defective knife to them . They will replace it with a newer design , no charge . Just an FYI for anyone interested
Gerber 31-002184 Instant Assisted 3.33" Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Ron K
Florida
Mar 04, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, None
General use and fishing. Good quality blade and overall, but very difficult to open with one hand. Still need to use 2 hands to open which defeats the purpose of the assisted open. Was told to give it time. Tried to slightly loosen the screw on the side but it would. It budge. I am hoping this will improve with continued use. Also, the pocket clip is too tight, so it is hard to use.
Gerber 31-002184 Instant Assisted 3.33" Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Ron
Unalaska Alaska
Dec 20, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Type
Far from instant, more like it never quite gets there
I was looking for a good pocket all purpose work knife, I have a cheap one and wish I could up load the comparison video I took. The cheap one snaps open with slight finger pressure. This instant takes two hands to open and then only goes part way. I offered it to my son and he tossed it back with a laugh. It's nicely made, looks good and is comfortable to hold, the looking button is convenient and makes closing one handed a snap but I would rather it open one handed with a snap.