Reviews and Ratings for Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Combat Folder 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles - 05780

Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Combat Folder 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handlesrated 4.158 stars out of 5 (19 reviews)
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
8
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
1
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Combat Folder 4.5 inch Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles

 

Price: $110.95

Save $23.05 (17%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Combat Folder 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gehrhard
East of the Mississippippi
Dec 17, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
Requisite Novelty
This isn't a EDC laborer's knife (unless military/law-enforcement) but it is a brilliant design for what it is and I FINALLY got a couple of fine ones to keep. The agile but solid blades were straight as an arrow w/the handle (though the points weren't pin sharp) and the reinforced liner lock is a gem! When you have a good example of this special knife, it is a thing of beauty, comfort, and joy. Great price point too!
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Combat Folder 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Balogh Lajos
Budapest
Jul 08, 2008
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Hungary
With a good catch, the pocket clip a little bit strange but it is possible to get used to it.strong,massive and sharp.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Combat Folder 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ron From Long Beach
Long
Feb 27, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Great balance, easy open & close
I ordered this Applegate to replace one I bought 20 years ago and subsequently lost in Iraq or Kuwait. Not much has changed. Although the sheath looks the same, the older one could be carried horizontally on a belt, which I preferred. The handle has a great feel and the blade is sharp, but difficult to sharpen. At least the old one was. The new one may be different, I haven't used it enough to tell.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Combat Folder 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dexter Ewing
nc
Sep 10, 2008
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath, None
GERBER APPLEGATE COMBAT FOLDER
The legendary Applegate Fairbairn is one of the most popular fixed blade fighters on the market currently. That knife evolved from the Fairbairn Sykes fixed blade, which had been extremely popular since World War II. That particular design had a few flaws in it, namely the round thin handle and tapered blade that was prone to breakage. Eager to improve the Fairbairn Sykes, Colonel Rex Applegate and W.E. Fairbairn joined forces. The fruits of their labors was the fixed blade Applegate. True in form to its fixed blade sibling, the Gerber Applegate duplicates the key features that made the fixed blade popular, in a more portable folding version. Colonel Applegate was assisted by custom knifemakers Bill Harsey and Butch Vallotton in perfecting the folder. In a market already saturated with a barrage of one hander liner locks, the Applegate is a standout due to a number of unique features. One thing that strikes you when the knife is held in the hand is the weight. The Zytel handles conceal a double stainless steel liner construction. This lends a very solid feel and strength of the handle, unlike many of the lightweight Zytel folders. Speaking of the handles, there are a series of grooves cut into the surface. Those grooves, working in harmony with the slight texture of the handle, provide the user with a comfortable non-slip grip. The main feature of the handle that immediately catches your eye are the two recesses near the pivot area. Upon grasping the knife, your thumb and index finger naturally fall into these recesses. A major concern for all liner locks is accidental unlocking due to inadvertent pressure on the exposed liner. The Applegate's release is contoured to fit alongside one of these aforementioned recesses. Gerber totally eliminates any unwanted unlocking this way. When open, the lockup is very secure. This folder feels like a fixed blade! The blade shape is a classic spear point, in a partially serrated format. There is an unsharpened false edge on the blade, which can be easily sharpened if the user desires. thanks to the combination of blade size and handle weight, the Applegate makes for an effective light duty chopping tool. As usual, the recognizable signatures of Colonel Applegate and W.E. Fairbairn adorn the blade. The Applegate's blade is deployed via two thumb studs, allowing for effortless ambidextrous operation. Due to the size of the closed knife, the preferable way to tote it would be in a sheath. The Cordura sheath that accompanies the Applegate features a one handed snap release, permitting simple and effortless withdraw. Although the sheath can be worn in either a horizontal or vertical position, threading your belt through the tight loops, especially for the horizontal position, can be a bit of a chore. The narrower your belt is, the easier it is. Gerber says that they are aware of this problem and will correct it for future production runs. In closing, Gerber's Applegate has spent two years in development, and the results prove that the long wait was well worth it. This knife has established Gerber as a heavyweight contender in the military/combat folding knife market. The Applegate follows the recent trend of custom designed liner locks, and had already been well received by the toughest knife critics of all -- the consumer.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Combat Folder 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul
Toronto, Canada
Mar 20, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Strong knife
I have many knives. I basically carry this knife for self defense. Fortunately I have never had to use it for that purpose. I have many Gerber knives & have found that the steel they use is easy to sharpen, & holds a good edge. This knife in particular flicks out quickly, locks up positively, and has great grips, that fit all hands, don't slip & feel really secure in your hand. My model came with a nice sheath that could be mounted either vertically or horizontally on your belt. I have worn it both ways, but find that horizontally in the middle of your back is both very effective & nicely hidden from most searches. Being 220 lbs, I can also carry a neck knife that is hidden between my chest muscles, even in a T-shirt. Love the knife
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Combat Folder 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael Ketner
Pittsburgh PA
Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: None
solid & reliable
consistent with Gerber high standards of quality and consistency.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Combat Folder 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ron From Long Beach
Long Beach, NY
Feb 27, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Great balance, easy open & close
I ordered this Applegate to replace one I bought 20 years ago and subsequently lost in Iraq or Kuwait. Not much has changed. Although the sheath looks the same, the older one could be carried horizontally on a belt, which I preferred. The handle has a great feel and the blade is sharp, but difficult to sharpen. At least the old one was. The new one may be different, I haven't used it enough to tell.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Combat Folder 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rab
London, UK
Nov 23, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material
Best folding combat?
I owned an older version of this knife for many years but mislaid it when a sac failed on me. I had replaced it with other alternatives but somehow the feel and balance was always just off. The handle on this piece feels a bit different but that could be a bedding in thing. That said, using it is like coming home. I don't have to think, I can just react and know that the extra 1/10th can make all the difference. I know there are theoretically better blades out there (I own a few) but this just works for me. I'd slightly prefer the old style handle material - Zytel - but I may learn to love the GFN over time.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Combat Folder 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Lt. Baritmonne
la Tour, VD
Aug 18, 2010
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Sheath, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Lock Type, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Material
dangerous
be careful, this knife will bite when your not looking. large and hefty, you even have the option to sharpen the false edge on the other side; making this knife a partially serrated (from one side) folding dagger. the Gerber mystery steel is atrocious, but it doesn't matter because the intended use for this knife is mainly thrust cut or stabbing like uses, its because of this observation that I can only recommend this knife for military personnel.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Combat Folder 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Michael J
Goose Creek, Sc
Mar 08, 2018
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Material, None
Carried Several For Years In The Military And L/E
I have a limited release model and several of the basic models. First thing we did in one of my units was sharpen the top edge to make a true folding dagger. If only Gerber would put some more carbon in the steel, you could get a REALLY razor edge. I've carried them deeply concealed clipped inside the BDUs and ready clipped inside a pocket. They have come in handy, and instinctively become a combat knife in crisis. My only other gripe-you best use something like Loc-Tite Gel to top the grip panel screws! THEY WILL WORK THEIR WAY OUT AND BE LOST! Why Gerber has failed to fix this is beyond me! I even have a #0045 of 1500 that is missing a panel screw. Try tightening them in harder on your own and find you now have a permanent fixed blade! The screws are soft, so when you try lossening them, they tend to strip. So, I go with the superglue. Back to the positive, you have a very fast folding dagger, capable of slashing, stabbing and handling like a fixed Applegate-Fairbairn in a flash. I see them as a combat knife and carry other knives as my utility use. I carry the Gerber and the lesser known Kel Tec folder as my utility most often. The Kel Tec is basically a folding version of the mil issue pilot's knife.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Combat Folder 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
M.F
Sweden
May 11, 2012
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Blade Material
Good Knife
I like the knife overall, but the blade was bent on my knife. Other than that, its a good knife.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Combat Folder 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Arminius
NorthEast
Jan 08, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: Overall Quality, None
Everyone Has To Own One
This is a novelty knife but for its class it is such a wonderful design I had to own one. Decent steel, straight classical outline, large size, nice opener, fully hidden blade in the good grip, locking liner-lock... I rated it a 4 only because I had to send mine back -- it opened past being straight (by only a few degrees, but...) The replacement will undoubtedly be a 5!
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Combat Folder 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joakim L
Sweden
May 24, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: Sheath, None
A discreet combat knife
A discreet combat knife you can have in your pocket
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Combat Folder 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ken
NY
Mar 04, 2014
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use
Excellent Gerber knife
I always liked the design of this knife but I would stress that Gerber has two knife lines. Gerber USA and the rest are made by Gerber International. I try hard to by US made products, especially defensive tools. The one drawback although very minor is the safety lock on this knife. Once set into place, it's hard to retract the blade safety.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Combat Folder 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Pfe
Santa CRuz, cA
Nov 23, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Interesting Knife
A little big, good if you need to do some serious stabbing, otherwise just a collector's piece
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Combat Folder 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
A Tired, Old Wolf
Back an dbeyond
Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: None
The real deal, folding-style!
This is my third F-A knife. The other two like this one were great! This a pure weapon with one primary function. Good one handed operation after lubrication. Good locking mechanism in the extend position with a thumb lock. Fairly sharp and holds a decent edge but again primarily a penetrator.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Combat Folder 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Dragan67
Rockford, IL
Jan 20, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Weight, Sheath, Handle Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening
Almost nice for $100
I ordered this knife previously in the green-handled version and made a gift of it. In overall terms I would have to say the difference between the gift knife and the one I'm reviewing were damn near night and day. The gift version, bought more than 2 years ago, had a blade that sat straight in it's slot when folded, the one I bought for myself lists off with a definite trend toward the left as you look at it with the point toward you. While the serrations have been treated to a bit of stonework and seem serviceable enough the actual blade edge is quite dull. The knife I gave away was well prepped in terms of sharpness right out of the box. The list could well go on from here, but I am unsure of my space limitations in this dialog. I guess I don't have to be so rough on it, really. I mean, these flaws aren't as bad as the ones I reviewed on the Chinese made Boker Chad los Banos Direkt, but I guess that when I consider that the Applegate combat folders bear the Gerber name and are supposedly made in the United States, I just really want to savage the loss of production quality and pride of workmanship that was still in evidence so recently. I'll suffice to shake my fist at the Gerber Management team and shout, "Shame on you!" They should be embarrassed and contrite, but I doubt if such emotions are within their repertoire of possibility. Lemons from lemonade - I suppose I could make a project out of rehabilitating this sorry specimen. It's quite possibly the only way I'll ever have a decent knife from the deal.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Combat Folder 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Gehrhard
East of the Missississippippi
Feb 25, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, None
3-Strikes & Out!
I wanted this interesting, almost novelty, knife for its coolness factor. The first blade opened past straight, the second was very hard to open and didn't lock open (misfit liner-lock to the point where the secondary thumb lock couldn't close), while the third... opened past straight (hmmm...) and is going back. I'll still buy one someday on site.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Combat Folder 4.5" Bead Blast Combo Blade, GFN Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Jay
Dallas
Mar 23, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality
Total crap

Bought a green one and love it. This black one opens past center. totally crooked. attempted to get it replaced and was sent another crooked one that is also bent. Knifecenter will not return my money. these two are obviously factory seconds and are sent out hoping you won't have the time or the balls to return them. By the looks of these boxes, these two have been sent to and returned by several people.

Knifecenter note: We do not sell seconds. A full refund as well as return shipping is available for any defective product we sell. When a defective item is returned to us, we return it to the manufacturer and we do not reship it. The KnifeCenter has been in business since 1995 and we offer the best customer service in the industry.