Reviews and Ratings for Liam Hoffman Blacksmithing Custom Belt Carry Bearded Camp Axe, 12" Overall, Leather Sheath

Liam Hoffman Blacksmithing Custom Belt Carry Bearded Camp Axe, 12" Overall, Leather Sheathrated 4.889 stars out of 5 (9 reviews)
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Liam Hoffman Blacksmithing Custom Belt Carry Bearded Camp Axe, 12 inch Overall, Leather Sheath

 

Price: $259.95

View Product Details
Liam Hoffman Blacksmithing Custom Belt Carry Bearded Camp Axe, 12" Overall, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
I'm Your Huckleberry
NC
Mar 28, 2018
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Worth the wait
I have waited for a while to get this axe and it was worth it. Razor sharp. Holds an edge incredibly. I was carving would and chopping right away. Belt sheath is great too. I was a little disappointed it came scratched, but it was on the inside where your belt would be, and I am just going to get it messed up anyway. Very happy with my purchase.
Liam Hoffman Blacksmithing Custom Belt Carry Bearded Camp Axe, 12" Overall, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Daniel M
Spain
Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Construction
Cons: None
Good product
Liam Hoffman Blacksmithing Custom Belt Carry Bearded Camp Axe, 12" Overall, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Larry P
Edgerton kansas
Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Hoffman axes are the finest axes!
If your looking for an axe with perfect balance and overall perfection you need this Axe.Razor sharp and keeps an edge!
Liam Hoffman Blacksmithing Custom Belt Carry Bearded Camp Axe, 12" Overall, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lance A
texas
Mar 05, 2017
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
another amazing piece by Liam!
Small but packs a punch and beautifully crafted.
Liam Hoffman Blacksmithing Custom Belt Carry Bearded Camp Axe, 12" Overall, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jc
Atlanta
Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
The Liam Hoffman Belt Axe is the Perfect Outdoor Companion
When I first purchased this axe I wondered how it would compare with my very capable GB Wildlife Hatchet. I was amazed at the product from the moment I opened the box. The details including, but no limited to a walnut wedge, perfectly executed chamfered lanyard hole, dressing both ends of the perfectly straight grained handle with a smooth bevel, the dressing of the poll and the amazing quality of the sheath jump right out at you. The cutting edge out of the box was also as sharp as any 3/32 knife I've ever purchased. Once I got home I did a 2 hour side by side comparison with the GB with astonishing results. When striking with either the edge or poll side of the axe, the contoured handle always puts the head angle in a perfect "handshake" position upon impact giving maximum control and accuracy and zero vibration. While the edge geometry is a little larger than the GB I found the LH to be a much better slicer as well. Partly in part to the perfectly executed grind and secondly to the attention paid to sharpening the tool. I then hammered multiple stakes I made from wood and even larger steel anchor spikes and the poll drove them home like using a 1.5 lb hammer. After finishing, I ran the poll end over a strop and the satin finish came right back. the edge cold still shave arm hair after testing. The GB website says DO NOT strike your poll on metal, not an issue with the LH products. Overall, I love this axe and plan to have many more in the future. This is a product that you 150% get what you paid for and then some. I also like the fact that Liam controls every aspect of the build and each axe and knife of his is 100% American.
Liam Hoffman Blacksmithing Custom Belt Carry Bearded Camp Axe, 12" Overall, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Larry
Kansas
Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Hoffman hand forged axe
Super thought out design.Well balanced.Razor sharp.Very versatile.
Liam Hoffman Blacksmithing Custom Belt Carry Bearded Camp Axe, 12" Overall, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Axeloup
Great Falls, Va
Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Pefect Spoon Carver
I just received mine today. It is precisely aligned and symmetric, sharpened perfectly, and simply magnificent. Makes my GB, Wetterlings and Council velvicuts look amateur. Carved a birch spoon blank in ten minutes as soon as I held it. I am so stunned on the quality I am thinking about selling all my axes to simplify to the magic of Liam's tools. I have never written a review before. The price of admission is worth it. Dang I wish I'd found his forge site a long time ago!
Liam Hoffman Blacksmithing Custom Belt Carry Bearded Camp Axe, 12" Overall, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Phil
So. California
Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Liam Hoffman Bearded Axe (hatchet)
This hatchet (axe) is far superior to others I have purchased and used over the years. The fit, finish, and grain direction of the handle is spot on. The as forged finish on the sides of the head contrasts nicely with the polished section leading up to the edge. The edge came extremely sharp. No touch-up required to get it ready to work. The leather cover with belt loop is very well designed. The size and weight of this axe is just right for belt carry rather than needing to put in in a pack. This is no a cheap axe. I consider it a good value for a handmade tool by a skilled American craftsman.
Liam Hoffman Blacksmithing Custom Belt Carry Bearded Camp Axe, 12" Overall, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bawanajim54
ny
Feb 08, 2018
Pros: Head Material, Weight, Balance
Cons: Handle Material, Head Material, None
very good forging
I know that Mr. Hoffman is a very busy person. I waited a very long time to receive my Bearded Axe. I was a little disappointed with the finish. Its looks rushed (with the top showing splintering at the wedge) although a work axe and this is nitpicking it would have been better if a little more attention was paid to these details considering the wait. I have quite a considerable collection of small Axe's/Tomahawks from people such as American Kami and Karesuando even Fox and the fit are spot on.considering the price difference I expected a little more