Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR 1213 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath

KA-BAR 1213 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheathrated 4.444 stars out of 5 (18 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
1
KA-BAR 1213 Full Size Fighting Knife 7 inch Black Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath

 

Price: $79.95

Save $28.33 (26%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR 1213 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Darrell J.
wagoner, oklahoma
Jan 10, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
knife
will use the product for hunting and camping
KA-BAR 1213 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim R.
St. Charles
Jul 25, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great knife
I do backpacking and this is my main camping knife. It came sharp, and well constructed. The sheath is fantastic and holds the knife tight even upside down and in rough usage.
KA-BAR 1213 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stan
FL
Apr 09, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Ka-Bar
Excellent product. Highly recommended.
KA-BAR 1213 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Flm7672
Sabah, MALAYSIA
Oct 10, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
BEST ULTILITY KNIFE
This knife is best for all basic job it the wild. I will never go to the wild without this knife. Great knife. The blade is 1095 hold the edge very well. Easy to resharpened. Razor sharp out the box.
KA-BAR 1213 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sgt. Boyscout
Brookings, SD
Oct 19, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Quite sufficient. Buy one and don't regret it.
When I read a review I often wonder, what makes the person in question an authority on the subject? Well to give some background, I am an Eagle Scout who joined the Army a month after I turned 17. And that was about 8 years ago now. So I have experience with survival training as well as combat training. I bought one of these as a 15 year old boy scout and that single knife survived many survival trips as well as a deployment to Afghanistan four years later. I wont go on record as saying that it is bar none the best combat knife on the planet. I have peers who swear by their ESEE brand knives and next to one this is not as much of a tank. However marketed as a "Fighting Knife" it is in my opinion "Quite Sufficient". I can buy three of these for close to the price of one ESEE-5. (the current fad it seems in my platoon) Not saying don't buy ESEE, they are awsome well built knives, but an Sgt/E-5 has better things to spend money on. If I'm past using my carbine and sidearm, I will be quite motivated and very pissed off, and this knife will do the job, light but sturdy, and able to take a razor edge, it will kill somebody with little effort, if that is your need. For you survival types it is quite useful. Yes you can baton with it, but why need to? Buy a Gerber brand hatchet, that is what they are for, splitting wood and building shelter, save your edge for your bunny stew or whatever. Would I recommend it to you? Oh yes, very much so. Would I get one tattooed on my leg? Already did. My 25th Birthday is coming up, gonna buy another one, not that there is anything wrong with the one I already have, between the two I'll probably be good for life. $75.55 Shipped? Do it.
KA-BAR 1213 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andrew
Wisconsin
Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Finish, Sheath/Scabbard
Outstanding
I used this knife for clearing brush and splitting wood. It kept its edge after much use. However, some to the black finish is coming off from splitting wood. The sheath that it comes with is alright but I upgraded to a better one. I would recommend this knife to anyone looking for a quality knife.
KA-BAR 1213 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Frank H.
Orlando, Fl
Apr 18, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great Knife
I take the knife camping, only once so far. It is sturdy and well made and not so costly that I am afraid to use it. I got it with the Kydex sheath which I believe to be more durable and less maintenance than leather.
KA-BAR 1213 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jesus
Pitt, PA
Jul 21, 2010
Pros: Materials, Finish, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Handle Material
exactly what I wanted
I've always wanted a KA-BAR and when it finally came it was even better than I imagined. Blade was sharp and strong. Took it out in the woods and it did everything with little effort. Only problem is the shape of the handle doesn't fit perfectly in my hand, but nothing that wouldn't let me ever leave it at home!
KA-BAR 1213 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill J
Afghanistan
Aug 02, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
SSGT USMC
Ive used this knife all over the sandbox from self defense to yard work when on leave I love this knife very much and will keep it for the rest of my life.
KA-BAR 1213 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Filraen1000
Spain
Jan 05, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
black ka-bar full size
Excellent knife. Heavy knife and good quality for the prize.
KA-BAR 1213 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris P
Dunedin, New Zealand
Feb 23, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Finish
Exceptional knife for this price.
This knife surpasses every knife I have ever had the opportunity to abuse for the price. I have used this for stabbing, prying, chopping, batoning, etc, and everytime I just love to use this knife. It is amazingly sturdy for how light weight it is and is balanced just before the hand guard where my finger sits. The coating on the blade, as i expected, starts to peel with use but that is understandable considering what it is. The edge isn't very sharp (which I don't have a problem with because most knives I buy don't) or flat but I don't particularly find that a problem because it only takes a little while to get a polished sharp edge on it, in the process getting rid of the slightly vertical wave. I have very large hands which when holding the handle spread from pommel to the hand guard (very usable though) and is still incredibly comfortable to hold. the biggest surprise to me was the fact that the steel doesn't rust nearly as fast as the regular 1095 steel on my Ontario 12" machete and that is without oil (which solved my machete problems). Perfect length and width blade and very pleasing product, should market knives like this down in New Zealand.
KA-BAR 1213 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
New Jersey
May 18, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Better than expected
Solid well thought out upgrade of an iconic time tested design. I like not having to worry about grip rot on both handle and sheath thanks to the new materials used. Glad to see the snap upper handle strap, because contrary to what some reviews say, it does serve an important purpose of keeping the handle from hanging out too far and snagging in brush and vines. Just thrilled after decades of admiring this design to finally have an example. Thanks knifecenter!
KA-BAR 1213 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul B
Glastonbury, Ct
Jul 29, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Outstanding history of Quality
I have received my KA-BAR knife in perfect condition. I have not had the chance to use it at this time, however, I,m sure it is everything that every one boasts about. If its the #1 knife for the Marines, it's good enough for me.
KA-BAR 1213 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Scott
Anaheim, CA
Oct 21, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great Knife
Arrived SHARP! Great quality for an inexpensive knife. Great value. Bought after watching review by Nutnfancy on YouTube.
KA-BAR 1213 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
John M
Vancouver, BC
Oct 23, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Affordable
Based on the traditional USMC design. I bought this for my friend and he likes it.
KA-BAR 1213 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Mike
Gig harbor WA
Dec 20, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Finish, Blade Sharpness
Nice knife, classic design
Bought this for my son as a gift. It's an update on a classic design with a few minor changes. Tang stamp is USA not usmc but I doubt my son will mind. Great sheath. Blade grind is so so meaning the bevel is not straight and true with the spine. Also it has an edge that will cut but I certainly wouldn't call it sharp. Expected better from kabar.
KA-BAR 1213 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Camper Guy
Norway
Feb 07, 2018
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Finish
A non straight blade
Aesthetically speaking, this knife I received February 2017 is no good as the blade obviously looks bent. On close inspection, the start and mid section of the blade had a subtle but large bend to it, and at the tip, the last third of the blade is visibly bent one way. I am no knife expert so I am not sure what to think of this. Using a good straight metal ruler, the tip of the blade seem to be bent a millimeter off center from what I can tell, and then the first part of the blade has a large bend of half a millimeter. I found it odd that the paper cover for the knife obviously has a subtle bending line straight across ca 2cm off the tip/front end. As if the blade perhaps was bent after the manufacturing process perhaps, but again, I am no expert on this subject matter. The paper cover is labeled '1228' (perhaps a parts number), the blade '1211'. The visible piece of the tang at the end sticks out about 1/3 of a millimeter, making me wonder if this was supposed to be flush with the but end or not. The knife handle is colored black and has a nice grip feel to it imo. Not soft, but indents slightly with a press of my finger nail. The sheath is colored black, and has a subtle texture to it. This review is based on my very first impression of this knife having received the knife today, and this review is not based on any experience from using the knife in any way.
KA-BAR 1213 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Charlie S.
Missouri
Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Finish
FRAGILE
I bought this knife for camping duty, general use, processing wood for fires, that sort of thing. In all fairness, I chose the wrong knife. From the reviews, I thought this was a tough well made knife. The edge was sharp enough to cut, but not very well executed. I was expecting better. It isn't a smooth cutter/carver out of the box. I need to put a good edge on it, but I don't know if this knife is worth the work. While batoning some firewood at night, the next morning I noticed the handle was badly bent where it met the blade. The tang just couldn't handle the task. The coating on the blade came right off. It's really a poor coating. This is a very fragile knife. Batoning voids Kabar's warranty. I easily bent the tang back straight again. It really didn't take much force to straighten it. That scares me. This knife now needs to be disassembled, the blade stripped, and then it needs the edge to be profiled and sharpened. I'm not sure the knife is worth the work. Like I said, I picked the wrong knife for the task at hand.