Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR 1214 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath

KA-BAR 1214 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheathrated 4.765 stars out of 5 (17 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
KA-BAR 1214 Full Size Fighting Knife 7 inch Black Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath

 

Price: $79.95

Save $28.33 (26%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR 1214 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brian B
Chicago, IL
Mar 31, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Perfect Utility Knife

This knife is outstanding. It can easily perform any job that I need it to. Its great for cutting rope/cords, hammering, clearing branches and tall grass, opening cans/containers, and its a very eye appealing knife. The handle made of Kraton fits my hand perfectly and is slip resistant. The weight if the knife is perfectly balanced at the handgaurd, and the total weight is .65 lbs. The knife is decently thick, at the spine it is about .165 in, which doesnt sound like much, but it as actualy pretty thick. With this being said, the knife is very sturdy, and is full tang. The blade holds its edge very well. I keep a 20 degree tip on it so that it is sharp but not fragile. The HRC rating of this knife is 56-58. I personally would recommend this knife over any other brand, this is also my favorite knife from KA-BAR. There is a reason military and LE use this knife. The same reason i have 2 of them. Its the one of the best out there.
KA-BAR 1214 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
New york
Apr 23, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Great knife

Used this knife a few times since I bought it first impression out of the box was the already sharp edge and the weight of the knife it's self very good outdoors knife for hiking,camping,and survival overall a 5 out of 5
KA-BAR 1214 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Freedom1911
My Bunker
May 27, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Weight, None

Good Combat Knife

Just got the K-bar and so far I like it. It is a little heavy for quick maneuvering and direction changes. But for an overall combat knife that will take what you throw at it, I like it. It was decently sharp out of the box. I liked the sheath and how it holds the knife without rattling in the Kydex like some others. I bought another one for my bug out bag.
KA-BAR 1214 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alex
California
Jan 08, 2017
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Material
Cons: None

Incredibley constructed knife!

The person I bought this knife for uses it for throwing (mainly) and absolutely loves it. It is well balanced and very strong.
KA-BAR 1214 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chelsea
Bay Area
Feb 06, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

A+

This thing is completely badass.
KA-BAR 1214 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
The Kid
texas
Sep 20, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Its a great knife

Its a survival weapon and true to its history .... Its stealthy and light yet durable and exactly as I expected .. thanks for the prompt service your great... Roy
KA-BAR 1214 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rudy Guenther
Aylmer ON Can
May 06, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness

Survival Ka-bar Knife

The weight of the knife i find is very good, the handle fit and grip is good even in wet condintions. Can't say much negative stuff about the knife, but I was a little disappointed with the sheath. It the strap part on the top makes it a little flimsy while ur moving.
KA-BAR 1214 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Otto
The white north.
Mar 17, 2015
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Weight, None

Excllence made in the U.S. of A.!

Heavy duty work and dive knives. I'm happy I bought two of these. One as a spare if I lose one in the ocean. Well made, sharp and strong.
KA-BAR 1214 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Owl
USA
Apr 28, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

To Hell & Back

I have one I've continue to use for over 15 years. It's stood up to everything and continues to do so. I trust my life on it. This knife is the real deal.
KA-BAR 1214 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Carl
Fort Benning, GA
Sep 03, 2011
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard

Born in made in the great U.S.A

I'm enlisted Army infantry and if I'm buying a knife, it is going to have to be worth every penny. The KA-BAR fighting knife delivers. The knife design having a prominent history in the Marine Core, I figured the size and blade would be useful in my line of work. The size is perfect for my big hands. The kraton handle is amazing and is very well-balanced. The blade had to be sharpened to my razor-sharp liking and I really do wish the sheath had a molle attachement. All in all, I plan to put this knife through extensive use in my next tour to the theater.
KA-BAR 1214 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Spantax
Ex.
Mar 01, 2012
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great knife

Great product! Is lighter than I thought. Good quality materials.
KA-BAR 1214 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve T
Woodbridge, Va
Oct 28, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Improving on a legend

The partial serration of the blade and the black polymere grip have taken a legendary fighting knife and moved it to the next level. The combination of quality and price make this knife a great buy.
KA-BAR 1214 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Will Little
Tahoe
Feb 18, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Material
Cons: None

what I expected

outdoors
KA-BAR 1214 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hck
Hardyville,, Va
Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

KA-BAR 1214

I have the original KABAR that I've had since 54 when I was in the Navy and you just don't wear them out. I purchased this one as a gift for a friend that liked mine but wanted one with a serrated blade.
KA-BAR 1214 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jp
Northern CA
Oct 08, 2012
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness

Good knife

So far it definitely lives up to other knives I've owned. It wasn't as sharp as I expected out of the box, but easy fix. As far as anniversary presents go, my wife and this knife are perfect.
KA-BAR 1214 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jhb
central florida
Aug 24, 2010
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Finish

the best knife at this price, imho!

the ka-bar is everything you want it to be. now i want to be fair and overly pronounce it's greatness. quailty is lacking a bit the handle fit to the blade on my version is a bit odd...but nothing so much that affects it's use. blade steel is top notch for this type of knife, imho. it is what it is....the basic quailty is there, but iof your looking for top notch finishing and exotic steels look elsewhere. the design is good, but it is what it is, it's nothing super. works well, but it's a use knife. i put mine throuhg vine cutting, weed chopping, batoned a root system, hacked down small palm trees. it's done them all well and the blade didn't bend over, or go dull. still works great. i sharpened it as i got it as the factory edge is okay for a knife this big, but nothing super sharp. the plastic sheath is pretty good and works well. it's nothing super, but it's decent quality for what it is, and it functions as i wanted it to. all in all a great camping or backyard knife or i guess fighting knife if you had to, but i haven't had to and don't plan on it. this one gets 4 stars as for the price it's a great knife and the materials are good, but the finishing could be better, without that it can't get a 5 star rating from me.
KA-BAR 1214 Full Size Fighting Knife 7" Black Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Philip.K
Sweden
Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Finish

Kabar's lost quality

First of all the kabar knives are no longer as the true kabar knives used to be .this knife is for tactical use only...the paint easily comes of ,the handle is very good and the kydex sheath is amazing.it dulls easily you need a sharpener too(no lansky).mine came very fast to sweden (only four days with dhl express) but i had to pay one more knife to shipping and customs.The ricasso on the sharp side of the blade was not straight and that makes the knife totally wrong in the eye..knifecenter and kabar company have a great customer service and im very pleased about it .I could return the knife to kabar with my expenses and theyre gonna sent me a new one and refund my money.i felt secure to be honest knowing that my problem has a solution but already i had spent money on shipping and customs..The truth is that if i had bought it from sweden it would be the same ammount of money totally at the end and i could have seen what im purcasing..