Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades

KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Bladesrated 4.868 stars out of 5 (38 reviews)
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
33
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7 inch Blades

 

Price: $14.95

Save $2.73 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ron
Chesapeake, Va.
Apr 09, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Good replacement sheath
The sheath is a great replacement for a worn out leather original sheath. This K-Bar was my original one from my time in the Marine Corps back in the early '90's. Needless to say, the original sheath was worn out. The knife fits perfectly and is secure with the hilt lock. The sheath looks to be made well, and for the price you can't beat it.
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
David Gray
New York
Feb 15, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
Heavy duty hold my kabar vary well and with the holes i have multiple carry options
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hoboduck
NJ
Mar 23, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
Very nice
Very good sheath, fits nicely, very sturdy.
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Donald C
Evans City, Pa
Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
KA-BAR Replacement Kydex Sheath
The sheath’s design enables putting knife into the sheath regardless of which direction the blade is facing. KA-BAR’s have variations in handle diameter. The retaining handle strap can be on the small side for some models. However, they stretch to fit on most models. In addition, some older knives have thin leather handles that make the strap fit loosely. The sheath is well made strong and fits my two vintage KA-BAR CAMULAS combat knives. The sheaths secondary holding design retains the knife tightly and takes an ample pull to release it from the sheath.
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brian
Marine corps
May 13, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
Awesome
Awesome case - the most secure while still being easy to draw case I have ever found.
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dr.Jkc
Queens, NY
Dec 28, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Good riddance to that antiquated leather sheath! Now I can actually carry it. The sheath is straight allowing for a forward or reverse draw whether worn on the left or right side.
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ed B.
Miami, Fl
May 09, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Like a glove
I didn't like the sheath in which I kept my KaBar, so I got this one. It fit perfectly and precisely. I particularly like the thumb pressure method of releasing the knife from the sheath, as it is both positive and safe - and fast. Excellent value.
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff
Cincinnati, OH
Oct 04, 2010
Pros: None
Cons: None
strong and well made
fit my case USMC tight and very strong sheath
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gus
Florida
Sep 09, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Carry Position
Cons: None
Great product
Utilize it for work on a regular basis. I am a K9 handler and the need of a knife going thru wooded area with pepper bushes in Florida is useful, but having a knife this size without losing it has been a challenge. With this shealth it allows me to carry this tool worry free. Thanks
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Grizd
Sanger, CA.
Oct 07, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
KA-BAR Replacement Sheath (Kydex)
My KABAR knife was korean war issue from Camillus. I ordered the kydex sheath to replace the worn leather issue sheath. It fits perfectly. The retaining strap needed a bit of stretching out to snap close. Should become easier to close with use. Excellent value for the price.
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Royce R
Llano, Texas
Oct 27, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
KA-BAR 1216 Kydex Sheath
I recently purchased the KA-BAR full size fighting knife and decided to also purchase the Kydex sheath to go with it. While the leather sheath serves it purpose I find that the Kydex sheath provides for much better knife retention and security while still allowing for easy removal. Due to the design, the Kydex sheath also allows for a variety of carry options.
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hck
Hardyville,, Va
Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
Kydex Sheath
Great sheath. Wore out the original leather and replaced it with this Kydex model. This one should last forever.
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Regalturbo1987
Mount Airy, MD
Oct 04, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
Durable sheath with multiple tiedown options
A great replacement for the original leather sheath. The Kydex is durable and offers multiple attachment points (leg tie down for use when carrying on your belt, pack tie down, etc.) to fit your carry needs. The positive lock also holds holds your blade in place offering peace of mind that was not present when using the original sheath.
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim O.
San Antonio , Texas
Nov 26, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Great product
Everything is great new look fits a kbar that is over twenty five years old . Love the way the knife locks into place.
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wr M
Arizona
Jul 04, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
Order with confidence
Well-made product (manufactured by KA-BAR, not aftermarket), and costs less than it probably should. I wanted this sheath because of its ability to retain the knife by the tang (it snaps into place well with my standard issue KA-BAR) and because I could attach it to various pieces of gear by using the grommets. I would definitely recommend this product to others that may be interested in this type of sheath.
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Al D.
Leesville, La
Feb 28, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
Just what the doctor ordered
I still have my Camillus fighting knife that I was issued in the Army. The sheath was a little past prime so I started to look for a replacement. This fit the bill perfectly since the Camillus and KA-BAR are the same dimensions. It was quite an upgrade. I like all of the attaching points. Lots of possiblities. This knife is carried in my EDC bag. To those who say the retaining strap is to tight and won't close, try holding the strap in some boiling water for a few minutes and then strectch and snap it around the handle. Let cool. Shipping was fast and fair. Thanks Knife center!
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Henrik From Sweden
Stockholm, Sweden
Feb 18, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
Great, durable sheath
durable, lightweight, overall satisfied!
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vince W
pollock pines, ca
May 29, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
ka-bar replacement sheah
this is a great product. i use it on my wilderness weekends and it is definitely up to the challenge. it's rugged construction takes whatever i can give it, water, mud, climbing, and crawling. it's a great addition to my kit.
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chuck
Louisiana
Nov 03, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Way better than the standard leather sheath.
Vast improvement over the standard leather sheath the knife comes with. Would be a good deal at twice the price. Hassle free checkout and very quick delivery.
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Miker
Coats Nc
Mar 07, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
Fits perfect
Fit my kabar perfectly and gives it a nice new home!! Way better than the old leather sheath it came with
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Top
Prosperity, SC
Apr 04, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
Super Value
I brought this sheath to replace have old leather sheath. I carry my Ka-Bar every time I go to the woods. This sheath locks the knife in the sheath plus there is a handle snap. The double lock security is a great plus.
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gordon Stirton
United Kingdom
Dec 04, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
1216 sheath
Fitted perfectly, just as advertised, thank you!
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael Tincher
Virginia
Jun 25, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
Much Better than the leather Sheath that came with the Knife. This model allows for a variety of attachment options and the rugedness speaks for itself.
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Canebill
Miami
Aug 07, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
Great sheath
Great sheath, prfect fit for my 7" inch Viet Nam era John Ex knife.
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ken M
Bluffton, SC
Aug 02, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
Great product, great price
Bought for my ontario SP1 marine combat. Fits perfectly, very secure and no rattles.
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rej
north york, ontario
Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
Kydex sheath for Ka-bar
I needed a replacement for the leather sheath that came with my ka-bar, and this fit it perfectly. Good product. Cheers
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim
Fremont, CA
Nov 04, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
Best blade protection.
I've had bad experiences with leather sheaths promoting rust on the blades of knives I own, so I was happy to find this great replacement sheath . There is no better protection for the blade.
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan B.
Etna,Nh
Sep 01, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
Great sheath wayt better than the leather sheath.
The only thing I could say is the strap on the back of the knife around its hilt. Well that button is a little tight and you just gotta angle it on there. Its supposed to be tight.
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert
Illinois
Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
Great product
Very happy with this purchase overall.
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mitch S.
Kentucky
Feb 11, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
Works great
I got this sheath because I hang my k-bar upside down on my web gear. I needed a secure lock up for the knife and the sheath provides it. There are also four slots on the edge of the sheath that work well with Velcro straps for tie downs.
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Quentin
Arborg, MB Canada
Mar 09, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
Great move for a replacement sheath!
I am using this sheath as a right hand draw. I did a few modifications on it to perfect it more! First I removed the snap strap that is meant to secure the handle, I was not able to close it on my Ka-Bar, so off it went! The knife clips into the sheath very securely, I was able to violently shake the sheath upside down and remove the knife, but how often are you in that position realistically?! I threaded a length of 550 para-cord into the bottom 4 holes of the sheath for a leg strap, securing that around you're leg makes it quite effortless to remove the knife while wearing it as it wont come with the knife when pulled on. Over all I love this sheath allot! I think it was 100% worth the $13! Sure the leather sheath looks good and all, but if you try this one once, you wont go back easy! Enjoy!
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave G
Simi Valley, ca
Aug 07, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Nice
Well made item, able to wrap approximately 15' of para-cord around sheath. Kydex works better for me than original leather.
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nitestik
Colorado
May 07, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
k-bar kydex knife sheath
USMC Kabar fighting knives have a long and storied history. The knife itself actually could be improved, as well as the sheath. Especially the leather sheaths coming with these American made knives are actually made in Mexico and are a bit flimsy compared to earlier leather versions when both the knife and the sheath were made in USA. I finally got fed up with my flimsy leather sheath and bought this replacement. It is safer than the factory sheath because the blade is sheathed in kydex increasing the containment of the blade, reducing the likelihood of the blade puncturing the sheath. Kydex is impervious to salt water, mold, etc. and stays rigid under all conditions. The multiple tie down points are a big plus for attaching to web gear, etc. Simply a better "mouse trap" when compared to leather.
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 4 stars out of 5
Hogbreath
Middlesex, UK.
Jun 12, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
KA-BAR replacement Sheath (Kydex)
Great sheath, just one disappointment the strap used to fix around the knife handle was very difficult to attach as it is too small. Why does a company like KA-BAR allow it's name on this product with such a basic fault?
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 4 stars out of 5
John Doe
Washington
Dec 28, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
Fast shipping
Bought this separate from the knife. Good value for the price. Great locking/release function.
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 4 stars out of 5
Pn
TX
Oct 02, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Carry Position, None
Cons: Durability
Replacement KaBar sheath
I bought this sheath as a replacement for the leather one I wore out over 20 years of HARD use. The sheath itself is great and I expect it to be durable. However, the retaining strap tore off the first week of use. This isn’t a problem for me as I wasn’t planning on using it anyway, and instead rely on the locking feature of this sheath, but it is something to be aware of.
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 4 stars out of 5
George E.
Colorado
May 10, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Product looks great but didn't work for my needs
Product descriptions didn't provide me with the necessary information to fit a different knife for this sheath. Other than the fit the sheath itself is everything I imagined. The delivery of the product was as promised. I feel the cost was very reasonable and will shop the Knife Center again. Thank you for your service and products.
KA-BAR 1216 Replacement Kydex Sheath, Fits Most KA-BAR 7" Blades
rated 4 stars out of 5
Craig 710
ward cove ak.
Oct 18, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Carry Position
Cons: None
this sheath fits my old navy ka-bar very well and looks to be a good quality product I'll see how it holds up through the alaska trapping season