Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath

KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheathrated 4.815 stars out of 5 (81 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
67
4 star
13
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7 inch Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath

 

Price: $84.95

Save $28.49 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
John D
Canada
May 08, 2018
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Awesome blade poor sheath
Perfect blade couldn’t ask for anything better to get the job done, however the sheath is cheap leather and I can tell that it’ll be a problem in the future
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nelson R
Iturama - Mg, Brasil.
Aug 08, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
A legend
A legend in the field of combat knives. Perfect reproduction that no comments. The sheath can be improved to better fit the knife.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
Lizton, Indiana
Apr 23, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Excellent Item!
Great quality item at a fair price!
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ryan
Georgia
Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Tough an rugged!
I am a out doors man that needs a knife to hold up to whatever the task. As a third generation miliyary brat I Thankyou k-bar for the product ant also to the many sellers that work with ebay. The savings is a blessing and k-bar still backing the factory warranty you cant go wrong now all my needs are meet i own 2 k-bar usmc utility , 2 ek model 45 and one ek model 44. Love them all where ever i go theres one at hand thanks again. Looking foward to years of service with companys like these. Sincerly Ryan browning
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert
Rochester, NY
Nov 16, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
I like it better than the kraton version
The leather handle is a bit longer, a bit lighter in weight, and also slimmer than the kraton handle. It feels better in my hand.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Veronica
Arkansas
May 31, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Amazing knive
Best knife I've ever bought. Got it as a gift for my husband as he get ready to get out of the MC after 8 years. As he was holding it & looking at it, my 2 years old grab the blade & cut her thumb. Luckily, she's ok after our ER visit. This is sharp. I wanted to rub it in his face when I said "watch out for the kids, they might grab it..." But he felt horrible already. He's extremely happy with this ka-bar. Shipping was fast too.. Ill definitely shop with you guys again.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vono
IL
Jul 27, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Good
Buy this
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ben
Covington, Ky.
Aug 29, 2009
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Excellent, like original issue.
Used as a gift for retired U.S. Marine. I couldn't consider anything but the original.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael
UK
Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Ka-Bar
I've wanted one of these classic KA-BAR knives for a while now, and this lived up to my expectations. The knife has seriously good build quality, the blade arrived perfectly sharp, all the fittings and pieces fit together perfectly, no little burrs, seams or other manufacturing mistakes anywhere on the whole thing. The sheath it came with is real leather, it's well made, but the surface tends to scratch up a bit when you put the knife away, standard leather care products should fix that though. I ordered this from the UK because it was difficult to find this style of knife for a similar price, and it was cheaper even after postage and packaging. It arrived in a couple of days. The only problem I had was an issue with the carrier company (federal express) having to pay some of the VAT, which meant I got invoiced for the VAT plus a fee from FedEx (which was more than the VAT itself) which ended up adding about £18 to the price of the knife for me. Still a better option than what I found domestically, but a bit of a pain in the neck.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Noah Mc.
Loveland, CO
Jun 19, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Legendary Excellence
this knife is outstanding!!! i would trust this knife with my life. a must have for any and every knife collector.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ook
NEPA
Jan 09, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Absolutely Beautiful!!
My son-in-law just got out of the marines and I wanted to give him something special... I heard him talk about how the Marines trained him with a K-Bar but never issued them a knife...which is crazy and another story all together... Anyway I got him this knife for Christmas and I was blown away but the quality...
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Linda
Louisville
May 19, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
My husband loves it!
I got my husband this knife as a gift that he been wanting for a long time, and when it got home he was beyond excited. It's pretty cute how excited he was. Just the look upon his face. This knife is totally reliable! He use this knife for everything to be honest.. I've always thought it's going to end up being full but I was wrong. Still very sharp! I recommend this knife for those men's who are into weapons and collection! You GOT to get one!
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
I F
MD
Jun 05, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Just as awesome as the one I had in the Corps
Just as awesome as the one I had in the Corps
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pa Woodsman
Central Pennsylvania Mountains
Jan 01, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
OUTSTANDING KA-BAR
I purchased this knife for use when hiking in our local State Forest. It is a most excellent companion for the woods. Today's KA-BAR is very well made. It is a most faithful copy of the famous WW2 knife. The knife came from the factory quite sharp, I did not have to do any touch-up with a stone.Being retired I spend several days each week in the woods and, the KA-BAR is with me every time.The leather handle is so well designed and, comfortable to use. The knife itself was well thought out by those who designed it.The leather sheath is well made. I replaced mine with another made by KA-BAR that has a plain front. Being that I was not in the USMC, I wouldn't feel right wearing a sheath honoring a most esteemed branch of our armed forces that I did not serve. The plain non-embossed brown sheath is the proper answer for me. I highly recommend this knife for use in the woods.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gjf
Orange Park, FL
Jul 18, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Very NICE
This knife is a fine piece of craftsmanship. This was bought as a graduation gift and I believe the recipient will enjoy it for years to come!
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
Michigan
Jul 22, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Awesome knife
I use this knife for basically everything. It is my BABY! I've dug holes with it, cut down numerous trees with varying thicknesses! I use it while hunting and is great for maintaining tree blinds for bow. Great weight for going at it on a tree for walking sticks while treading in the swamp. Even though this blade is long it does the trick for the finer points of bushcraft. I use it for constructing shelters, making spears, to drilling holes into boards for bowdrill sets! Simply put, this blade is AMAZING!
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Adventuregearreviews
Australia
Apr 19, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Sturdy beast
The Ka-Bar fighting utility knife, has withstood the test of time (originally made in 1942 for the US Marines and is to this day still used widely) and the test of many heavy users since. It’s renowned for its indestructability and that I can personally attest to. On my survival trips, I found pushing this full-tang beauty to be a pleasure. Fashioning a shelter out of 10cm thick logs of wood without a saw provided to be a physical challenge, but was no match for the full tang, and 7 inches of pure muscle the Ka-Bar engaged with. STRENGTHS Incredibly durable and maintained its edge. Sharp right out of the box (I could shave my arm hair with it) It feels quite light in my hand- it didn’t tire my hand, wrist or arm when using and/or holding in. Did I mention it is virtually indestructible, and should make up an essential component of any camping kit. WEAKNESSES I did find that the handle was initially quite comfortable, but eventually produced sore hands and blisters. Admittedly, this is probably attributable to the mismatch of jobs it was performing- ask a small car engine to do a trucks job, and it’s not likely to respond very well. I also found that the stock leather sheath, whilst it looks pretty cool, could be designed a little better. Its main drawback, as I discovered, was that when secured to a belt, it had a large degree of movement and also made it difficult to remove single-handedly. To negate this, I stitched a clip buckle (like those found on a backpack) to the sheath which was then wrapped around my upper leg. Though, this is more a feature of larger knives anyway. THE BOTTOM LINE A solid knife which is sure to endure whatever you through its way. At only 60 USD and 90AUD, it’s likely to be the last knife you’ll ever buy- or at least need to buy.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris B Kilgren
Redding, CA
Jan 10, 2014
Pros:
Cons:
I bought this one to replace another one that had been stolen out of my toolbox some time ago. This new one appears to be every bit as high quality as the one it replaced, a WW2 issue I believe. It's amazing just how many uses you can find for a stout bladed Bowie style knife.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Winston
Bahama, NC
Aug 03, 2017
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Absolute quality
I bought this knife on several friends recommendations. I received it today; 2 days after ordering. It is higher quality than the Buck and Gerber that I have used for many years. Although I have no intentions of abusing it or "fighting" with it, I am sure it will get a lot of use.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Craig
ca
Jun 08, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Finish, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
classic
a very good knife
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Country Boy
chipua alaska
May 12, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
mygrand pa has one and to show me how tough these things are took the blade and started hitting the stairs on his semi with it, after that he proceded to shave the hair of his arm with it. i just orderd mine!!!
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Peter D.
Spokane Washington
Aug 08, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Hand
BEST KNIFE I HAVE EVER OWNED. I love that it came hair cutting sharp and how there isn't a loose end anywhere. The leather sheath is great, it is a very well made strong sheath. I use the knife for bush craft and well for protection if needed. that's what in my opinion makes it great. It will do anything you need to do. VERY STRONG KNIFE. The handle is great and feels good in the hand. The black coating helps from rust which is a big plus. All in all a very good knife and worth the money. I tested many things about the knife in a bush craft style. Works great in every way. I can see buying again from this company.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Surviver Man
salem or
Dec 16, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
the best
this is one of the best knives ive ever used and it stays sharp for a long time so thats great. out of my collection if i had to pick one this would be it. buy it you WILL NOT BE DISAPIONTED
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zy Y.
Singapore, Other
Dec 04, 2014
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Living up to it's history...
Usage: Practically everything with it.. light wood work, camping, unboxing stuff, etc... Satisfactory: Very High!!! A bit pricey, but once you own it.. you don't really need other fixed blade. Great weight (Heavy) that helps in cut, handle material resin is non-slip, nice finish on blade a razor sharp out of box. I like leather sheath, but a secured scabbard would be preferred. I truly feel this bowie knife lives up to it's claim as a dependent.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dylan S.
Mass. USA
Dec 30, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Beautiful Knife
I just got this knife a few days ago and i love it. Personally, i like the leather sheath and handle. They may not be as durable as the black handled kabar with the plastic sheath, but it looks and feels a lot nicer. Out of the box, it could shave the hair off my arm. The finish on this blade is beautiful, and non-reflective. Belt loop is more than suitable in size, it could fit a 2in belt easily. The snap can be disengaged with one hand by flicking your thumb across it, and its placed perfectly so the knife does not slide out a bit while upside down. The leather is sheath is fitted perfectly to the knife, i can hold it upside down with the snap un-done and the knife stays. No nicks or scratches on the blade anywhere and the leather is perfect on the handle and the sheath. My only complaint is tiny, you can see in the picture, right behind the guard is another piece of black metal separating the handle from the guard, well that creates a ridge that should be transitioned smoothly into the guard, but it is not. So, upon withdrawal from the sheath, 2 tiny scratches are made on the belt loop part of the sheath, but this is covered up by the knife when it is in the sheath. This is really only a tiny issue that does not affect at all the performance of the sheath or the knife. I love this knife. If I could only have one knife in a survival situation, it would be this one, for you can see in the other reviews what abuse this knife can take.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Knife Dude
Texas
Mar 08, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Excellent knife!
this knife is amazing. the finish on it is just like it was in WW2. the sharpness is amazing. you can use it for anything! when i die, i want this knife to be at my side.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vincenzo
Belgium; Europe
Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
A must have classic.
A real classic that simply can not miss in any serious collection. Skip the version with serrations, go for this one, the vanilla Marine Corps knife for so many years. When you buy this knife, even in its modern version, you are not simply buying a piece of workmanship which you can trust, you are buying a little piece of history and hopefully, contribute with your little part to the never ending continuation of this legend. Everything in this knife is beyond criticism, being such a pure and simple design and having been battle tested so many times. The sheat is the only thing that could be better: I like it and I think it's more than decent... but at the same time I can not help feeling that this blade deserves more. The knife itself is not expensive but if I can I will not think twice about getting a higher quality leather sheath for it, even if the sheath is going to cost more than the knife: legends are getting harder and harder to come by, this one deserves all your respect.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Knife Dude
Texas
Mar 08, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Excellent knife!
this knife is amazing. the finish on it is just like it was in WW2. the sharpness is amazing. you can use it for anything! when i die, i want this knife to be at my side.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
James
Washington
Jul 08, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great Knife
It Can Be Used For Any Task, With This Knife You Will Probably Never Need Another Fixed Survival Knife Again!
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jellydill
Tucson
Oct 26, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: None
Excellent, but!
I am extremely thrilled to own this knife. The history, the quality, the reputation, the build, all top notch. Made in America. But, I feel obligated to point out one issue, which is not a deal breaker for me, but needs to be pointed out: The sheath is made in Mexico. In all sincerity, this makes me question KA-BAR. I do not expect this sheath to have the life I would like to see in a sheath. One made in the USA. This was obviously a cost cutting measure. But in all sincerity, I would spend the extra bucks for one made in the USA. To me, this fact cheapens the entire enchilada. I hope KA-BAR rethinks this policy of having the sheath made in Mexico.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
I'm Not Giving You My Name
The Nederlandse
Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Ka bar 1217 plain blade
Great knife I love it my dad gave it to me wen I was 11years old know I'm 43 and I still carry it on my belt I love it but if you buy it buy some anti rust oil to it my have a amazing black coting on it but you should still keep it oiled BUY THE KNIFE
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin W
Live Oak, TX
Sep 25, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
USMC fighting knife
This knife is awesome and has a great history to go with it. I enjoy the overall weight and looks absolutely awesome. While I won't use it on a normal basis it will get SOME use and will be handed down within the family. I do wish it was a bit sharper.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kyle
Buffalo, New York
Apr 22, 2018
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Durable & Classic Multipurpose Knife
I bought this as a self-defense weapon when urban exploring as well as for some field utility use, as a 7" fixed blade knife it's actually very light weight and durable, easy to swing and stab or perform some other knife fighting moves, razor-sharp edge right out of the box and the 1095 Cro-Van steel blade is very easy to sharpen and maintain. Some people said this knife is overrated but I don't see any reasons to say it's overrated or criticize it for its original purpose, this KA-BAR knife has proved itself over and over again with its toughness and reliability, no collections should be without it.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Peter Davis
SD
Dec 29, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Finish, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Excellent knife and sheath. Superbly finished and very finely made.
Excellent knife and sheath. Superbly finished and very finely made.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob The Booey
Connecticut
Jul 11, 2019
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Materials
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Classic
A true classic from Marines in South Pacific, but mediocre sheath
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eli
Alamogordo. N M
Jan 08, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Kbar knife
Quality sharp blade ,arrived in perfect condition. Excellent leather sheath.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Blade
Davis, CA
Mar 03, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
terrific
Wonderful historical memento and practical knife for a fantastic price. This Bowie style knife evokes the Pacific War when held in the hand. You can imagine holding it in a pitch-dark foxhole somewhere in the Pacific. The knife has the perfect weight and shape for any task imaginable and its leather washer handle and matte-finish blade have a utilitarian beauty. The edge is astoundingly sharp. For $50, this is a fantastic deal.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bobcat
Canton, MI
Nov 11, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great quality.
This was a gift for my son, who has already put it to use in the field. Solid construction, as you'd expect from Ka-Bar. Solid functionality - purpose-built. You won't go wrong with this tool, or its shorter sibling. Excellent, sharp blade right out of the box!
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jake
Texas
Dec 09, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
New favorite
I received this Kabar already having high expectations. The knife came to be every thing i expected and more! The blade came with a razor edge, the weight is perfect, you know the blade is ment to be put to the test! I love this knife and worth every cent i paid for it.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vono360
IL
Jul 27, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
KA-BAR review
I use this product for basically anything. I like the strength of the blade as i chipped a strong piece of metal with my blade unscathed. Fantastic knife from a fantastic company, I see why the marines like it.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Frank
Ireland.
Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
This is the Knife for me.
I'm about to purchase the KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife plain Blade within the next two weeks. It looks beautiful.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe M.
Cresskill, NJ
Apr 03, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
KA-BAR Full size USMC fighting knife
This knife is a work of art! Best combat/survival knife. Great collection piece,USMC heritage.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charlotte J.
New Zealand
May 09, 2014
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None
O m g
This knife is wicked. Came sharp as, literally the only knife you will ever need in your life, this knife is disgustingly nice, mother of god. The pressed leather handle is a little meh though. Feels like it flakes a bit.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tanel K.
Estonia
Sep 12, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
solid knife
Good knife for anything you need to cut
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Toppsy
the rockys
Sep 22, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
KA BAR the best knife there is i also have a buck and a kershaw there
KA-BAR is the best knife even better than my buck and kershaw
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Singh
Massachusetts
May 31, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
USMC KA-BAR
This is one of the best knives that I have ever had, im in the U.S. Army National Guard so this is quite a versital knife, i use it on the base or during field training exercises. Now the reason I got the USMC engraved KA-BAR is because that is the first branch of the military to use it and plus my brother whos is a active duty Marine would have given me s*&t for it not have the USMC logo on it, anyways the sharpness is great and a nice length with a very smooth finish on the blade. I shall use this for many many many year to come, and i recommend this to anyone who is looking for a great everyday utility knife.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Anon
Anon
Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Beautiful knife
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert
Rochester, NY
Nov 16, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
I like it better than the kraton version
The leather handle is a bit longer, a bit lighter in weight, and also slimmer than the kraton handle. It feels better in my hand.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Big Bob
Sacramento
Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Materials, Finish, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Much Knife
This things great, a sharpened piece of metal attached to a wood handle. -Nuff Said.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim
Eastern Missouri
Jan 27, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Historical Bargain
Great knife with a lot of history. Feels good in the hand. The smell of leather and steel when you open the box is priceless. Very nice edge to it. Everyone should have one. Timely shipping from knifecenter.com
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Giannino S.
Adelaide, Other
Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Buy this now. You will never need another knife ever again.
Out of the box was so sharp it would cut newspaper under its own weight. The balance feels great, handle is grippable when wet too so thats a plus. Leather sheath is nice and well made and most of all if you ever need to re sharpen the blade, it takes minimal effort on a good diamond coarse/fine stone. I dont know if its just me but the metal didn't seem to be soft enough to grind properly on my medium arkansas stone which ususally does the trick for my other combat knives. I think of that as a plus cos damn it holds its edge under use. Overall an absolute must buy, should be the 1st and only knife anyone will ever need.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Skip
Boston, MA
Jul 23, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
USMC KA-BAR
This is exactly what I had expected and read about. My son will be joining the Marines this fall and I wanted to present him with a part of Marine Corps history. The old is sometimes still the best.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
James C
Seagrove NC
Jan 08, 2015
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
sheat made in mexico
Knife very good sheath made in Mexico not very desirable for rough work made of thin leather knife is execellent no cons
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lisa
nashville, tn
Dec 28, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
ka-bar knife
i got this for my husband for christmas. i was just the one he wanted. so the review is based on what he told me. he liked everything about it. i liked the price, he had been looking at these around town, and by ordering though you i saved over $40.00. he is a collecting items like this one. he said the overall quality looked better than the ones he was looking at. i don't think there was anything he didn't like about it.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
TN
Jun 29, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None
Awesome!
As a former Marine who carried a Ka-Bar I recently got one as a graduation gift for my sister's son. He Loved it! Great price and quality.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff
Tallahassee
Sep 03, 2010
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
The Leatherneck's Friend
This is a legendary knife that is still made to exacting specifications. The fit and finish are superb, especially considering the price. The steel is excellent and sharpens beautifully. Even if you never use this knife, you will probably be impressed by its utilitarian beauty. Holding it inspires confidence, and a deep appreciation of its potential use as a tool for survival. The ONLY drawback, is the sheath seems a bit flimsy compared to how hefty this knife is. However, sheaths can be replaced.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Anonymous
Aug 03, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Martin M
United Kingdom of Great Britian
Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
First Class piece of kit.
This was a gift for a friend of mine.He is an ex Royal Marine Commando,wounded in the Falklands war of 1982.He saved up for a Ka-bar but had it stolen.So I have replaced it,it made him cry.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dali Grip
Baltimore, Md.
Oct 18, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
best of it's kind
I have had four Ka-bars, and I will never be without one. four you may ask? The first one lasted me three years, and among other things I used it to cut lead bars. Lead is not an easy thing to cut (nor would I recommend it, but in my line...)The best way that I have found is to drive a knife through it with a hammer, and not many knives hold up to this kind of punishment, but I have faith that I would be using the same Ka-Bar to this day, except that some smart aleck decided to help. Simultaneous hammer blows, one at either end of the blade, were too much. one other was inexplicably at the bottom of my work bag when I was late for a flight, two were stolen. I have used them for fine work, cutting paper forms for casting shadows (I work in the movies), and for skinning salmon, and for the roughest of carpentry (try hacking a notch in a two by four with any other knife) and even for breaking out old masonry. It will wedge up a door when you are setting hinges, or wedge one opened when you need a sure exit. I have used it for gardening and as a step when I could not reach high enough on a tree to cut off my target limb (just drove it into the trunk and stood on it). I have opened oysters with it, and butchered a sheep and cleaned ossified guano out of a gutter (not on the same day). It takes an edge like few others, and it is a no frills, no nonsense, awesome piece of cutting machine.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
David
Mid Atlantic
Dec 22, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
They don't get much better .
This is one of the best heavy use utility knives you can buy . The edge is excellent , if you dull it the edge re-sharpens easily . The leather handle is not uncomfortable and gives you a good gripping surface to work with . All in all an excellent choice for camping , yard work survival or any other use you can think of . The knife will not disappoint you.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ka-Bar Dug
silver city, New Mexico
Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
my usmc ka-bar
There is no such animal as an all-around, multi-use knife, but if I had to choose only one that comes closest it would be my usmc ka-bar. I use it for virtually everything from back packing chores to cutting bread, salami, and turkey breast. Once, when the battery pooped out on my electric razor I did a reasonably good job shaving with it (with shaving cream of course). After 30 years of almost daily use both the knife and sheath are still going like gang busters with not one problem. If you had to buy just one knife, guess the one I'd recommend... Duh!
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hans L L
Sweden
Jan 17, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Classic knife
This is a classic knife with a great history.Its a tool,its a friend fore life.This knife just speak for its self.What more too say!
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff
The swampy hell of Florida
May 08, 2018
Pros: None
Cons: None
A classic...
This is a classic knife. It is a benchmark legendary blade,with an illustrious history, and a huge following. Does it deserve all of the accolades? The short answer is: Yep. If you need details then here you go. This knife is an excellent compromise to serve as a utility knife and a combat knife. Most military folks will tell you they use their knives far more often as tools than weapons. This will do just fine in a rough life and death encounter as well. Unlike many more sexy designs on the market, this one has a well proven track record. Just ask the Marines... KA-BAR's current production knives look good, feel good, hell they even smell good with that classic stacked leather hilt. Fit and finish are excellent and I love the steel they use. It takes a great edge. I don't think you can go wrong with this one. If you need something more "modern", this is available with a synthetic hilt and sheath. It works fine, but it doesn't smell right...
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Erik
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 21, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
What you expect
This blade is exactly what you xpect a Ka-bar to be. It is well balanced and comfortable to grip. The only thing I can say is bad about it, though this is with almost all seven inch blades, is it cannot be concealed easily.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom Wilson
Westcliffe, Co
Nov 04, 2009
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Skinning
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Knife Dude
Texas
Mar 08, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Excellent knife!
this knife is amazing. the finish on it is just like it was in WW2. the sharpness is amazing. you can use it for anything! when i die, i want this knife to be at my side.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike L
Wisconsin, US
Aug 03, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
The Ka-Bar will last a lifetime
I love it! I've been using mine as a tool and hiking/camping knife for 25 years, and it's still going strong. I'll have to write it into my will, because I think it's going to outlast me!
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Michael
Chicago
Oct 06, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
great knife
Fantastic blade for hunting and self defense along with many other uses, also USA made. Quality blade and handle. Came razor sharp out of the box and is a must have for any knife collector. If the world ends, this is definitely one of the knives you want at your side. Only negative is the sheath, it doesn't do the knife any justice, however, luckily I had a cheap Chinese K-bar remake that was of poor quality with a great sheath,so I did a swap. Recommend having your own sheath made. But the knife itself, A+.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
John Mitchell
Vancouver, BC
Oct 23, 2010
Pros: Finish, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Proud of USMC
The leather ver. is cheaper than the Kydex ver.. It's a great deal. The leather sheath is high quality.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kingnat Chan
China
Nov 25, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Material, Finish, None
It's a good fixed knife
This is a very good knife, the handle on the suppression of leather rings make people feel very solid. The leather sheath is also well equipped with the only flaw is that if inserted too deep, you may damage the sheath
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Slim
michigan
Feb 15, 2011
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
stout knife
The knife is what it is. It has the heaft needed and is made of a quality steel built to last. The knife I received however has some workmanship issues. Must have come off the line on a Saturday morning. The blade is not ground perfect. The lines are off side to side and the blade wasn't ground that sharp. It did sharpen up nice though and the knifes lines being off is not that big of a deal. I'm sure it will still do what it was made for. Not a display piece but a good working knife.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Max92
Paris, Ile-De-France
Jul 08, 2019
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Materials
Cons: None
Excellent knife
A classic not for nothing. it's super light for the size, came razor sharp and pointy and with excellent finish, solid construction. Sheath is ok, leather seems fine despite what people are saying. It's not the best at bushcraft but can be used to do it as well even if it's not it's prime use so I consider it a plus for that matter. only con maybe is the handle is a bit big and has not the best ergonomy but i still can firmly hold it so it's why it's not perfect 5/5.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Scott S
Southern Cali
Sep 13, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
very very good... 9.5 out of 10
I use this knife mainly for out door use, and every day outside stuff, ive used it to baton through logs, hack through weeds, and all that good stuff. This knife is very good quality, it really is famous for a reason, good weight, good steel, good fit and finish, good handle, and just awesome quality overall. The ONLY thing that kept me from giving this a 5/5 was the blade sharpness, it could pass the paper test, but it was nothing like my kershaw volt, or my case trapper. overall this is an AWESOME knife. looks good. feels good. performs even better.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Gerard
NT, Australia
Nov 15, 2013
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Weight
Great knife
This KA-BAR knife does exactly what I need, whether it be out in the field, in use with outdoors tasks or attached to my webbing. Simple and nothing complicated or overly fancy. It just works for me. Excellent pig sticker for those keen on hunting pest animals. The balance is a little off for my liking, and the blade needed some sharpening, but after a bit of effort it now cleanly shaves the hair off my arm. It also has the classic look of your traditional military blade, which was a nice selling point for me. For the price I would highly recommend it, even if just to add to ones modest home knife collection. You just can't go wrong.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kazonic
Seattle, WA
Nov 26, 2009
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
KA-BAR Knives
Great knife
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Toronto Guy
Toronto, On
Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, None
Cons: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Nice blade, but horribly angled
Sweet blade, enjoyed everything about it except the blade. It was nice and really sharp. but was leaning around 10 degrees to the right, which I can live with, but found annoying to get used to.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Amber
Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Almost perfect
It's a beautiful knife, my boyfriend wants to be a marine officer just like his dad and they collect knifes together. I also love and admire the marine core and can't wait to be the wife of a marine. This knife really honors the marines but the sheath was MADE IN MEXICO. Huge turn off. Other than that, it's perfect.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Luc
Québec
Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Good fighting/survival knife
This knife do everything I need to do. It´s a good knife for a survival kit. The blade is really sharpen out of the box.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Akotz61
NY
Jul 06, 2009
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Good user knife in the woods.
Great feel in the hand and proven materials for wilderness use. A good amount of heft really improves it's hacking ability on small to medium size wood processing tasks. It batons fairly well although the grind was not designed for such a task. The leather sheath has very limited attachment options the belt loop is huge so it slides around on your belt and there are no lashing points along the length of it. The stacked leather handles will soak up lots of water if you do not treat them with a protective substance but they look amazing and really give the handle a great rustic feel to it so having to treat the leather is a small price to pay. Overall great blade but the sheath is annoying so go with the kydex.
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mark S.
Ohio
Feb 13, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: None
Great knife! Classic!
This is a awesome knife for the price! It is a decent work knife, camp knife, survival knife, etc. for the money. It is also a good fighting knife for those in the military and really is made somewhat for stabbing. For the price, you can abuse the heck out of this knife and not feel too bad if it breaks etc. Ka-Bar is also good when it comes to warranty and backing up their product. If you don't have one, buy it! This is a Classic!
KA-BAR 1217 Full Size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Mann
chile
Dec 28, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
good
It's a good knife, haven't tested it much but it's a firm and steady knife, It feels really good in the hand. It didn't came sharp and I had some tough time sharpening I hope this sharpening last and fulfill my needs...