Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR 1236 Bowie Knife 6-15/16" Blade, Stacked Leather Handles, Leather Sheath

KA-BAR 1236 Bowie Knife 6-15/16" Blade, Stacked Leather Handles, Leather Sheathrated 4.385 stars out of 5 (13 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
6
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
KA-BAR 1236 Bowie Knife 6-15/16 inch Blade, Stacked Leather Handles, Leather Sheath

 

Price: $66.95

Save $22.51 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR 1236 Bowie Knife 6-15/16" Blade, Stacked Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
T. Andrew
Eastern Virginia
Dec 06, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Time Tested
I have had so much fun with this Bowie knife. I bought it when it came out in 2007 and it has accompanied me on many wilderness camping and expedition trips. Most recently it went with me to Maine on the Allagash River for a weeklong paddle and it was a great camp knife and fish cleaner. I carried it every night. It has also served me well in the Pennsylvania, West Virginia, and Virginia wildernesses. The feel of this knife is the best part. It is a large knife with the lightness and precision you’d expect from a smaller knife. The sheath will probably need breaking in upon receiving it so I recommend putting some neatsfoot oil on it so that the knife’s hilt rests flush with the leather when it is in the sheath. The blade has been sharpened only several times and those were quick tune ups so it definitely keeps its keenness. I would be mindful of the point of the blade however because it is quite fine, do not jam it into logs, throw, or drop it. But the point is great for detailed work such as skinning and cleaning deer. This bowie knife did that very well during the hunting season. I foresee a lifetime of enjoyment from this excellent KA-BAR product and I know you won’t regret buying one yourself. My father bought himself one and I just bought another Model 1236 plus the similar Marine Hunter (1235) for my two best mates this Christmas. Happy Trails and make sure you bring a KA-BAR.
KA-BAR 1236 Bowie Knife 6-15/16" Blade, Stacked Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steven Youngblood
Linden,Tn.
Mar 09, 2010
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Weight
Ka-bar
I like the knife very well. I carried a Ka-bar knife for many years in the military. Good quality knife. Very nice looking. A little light weight. but nice. Razor sharp.
KA-BAR 1236 Bowie Knife 6-15/16" Blade, Stacked Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rip
Harrisonburg, VA.
Jul 21, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
really nice knife
I bought one of these knives in the mid 1970's and really liked it. It accompanied me on many hunting trips. Somehow, over the years it got misplaced or lost for I was unable to find it anywhere on my property. When I saw this knife on the internet, I ordered one. There is nothing about this knife that I don't like.If you are thinking about buying this knife,do it. You won't be disappointed.
KA-BAR 1236 Bowie Knife 6-15/16" Blade, Stacked Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dallas
Northern Virginia
Nov 23, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Finish, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
A lot of knife for the money
Overall this is a great knife. The blade is very sharp and highly polished. The leather handle is comfortable in the hand. The sheath is leather. The only down side is that the leather is very soft and the knife is very loose in the sheath. The knife is almost to big for most practial uses however it makes a great display or presentation piece.
KA-BAR 1236 Bowie Knife 6-15/16" Blade, Stacked Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Al
Mexico
Oct 02, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Just great
An excelent piece of gear for hunting or outdoor. I just love the blade and seems so nice thats can be a perfect gift.
KA-BAR 1236 Bowie Knife 6-15/16" Blade, Stacked Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nick
Sweetwater, TX
Apr 13, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great knife
I just purchased this knife for the more substantial uses around the ranch that i didn't want to use my kershaw for. This knife is great and withstands nicely to all the trials ive put it through doing everyday work around the ranch. Out of the box it is pretty sharp but it could use a few runs across the sharpener. This knife also looks great, after i recieved it in the mail i immediately got online and ordered another on for my dad for fathers day. This knife is a great one for the collection, and it works well too. Great form, great function, great price for a quality knife of this size.
KA-BAR 1236 Bowie Knife 6-15/16" Blade, Stacked Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tracker
Illinois
Dec 28, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Finish
Cons: Overall Quality, None
Knife Center Provides Truth in Advertising
This is a pretty decent knife. Not sure about long term durability. I got one from Kennesaw Cutlery after seeing their catalog describing the leather handle Kabars as "made in U.S.A." - couldn't pass up a U.S. made Bowie for $44 or so, right? After receiving it, I called them and asked why they claim that the knives are made in U.S.A. The service rep said that I could return it if I'm not happy with it, but that she doesn't write the catalog comments. Check one of their catalogs - they continue the "Made in U.S.A." claim on these knives. Thank you, Knife Center, for not engaging in such unethical marketing!
KA-BAR 1236 Bowie Knife 6-15/16" Blade, Stacked Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joseph L.
Saugerties, Ny
Dec 02, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
The knife is very well made, keeps a great edge.
I used the knife for deer season, it kept its edge butchering several deer. I was disappointed that it was not made here.
KA-BAR 1236 Bowie Knife 6-15/16" Blade, Stacked Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Hoover F
Cashton, WI 54619
Feb 05, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Finish
KA-BAR 1236
It is a beautiful knife. Very sharp from the factory. Come with the KA-BAR warranty.
KA-BAR 1236 Bowie Knife 6-15/16" Blade, Stacked Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Weston Brazas
Kapoho, Hawaii
Apr 16, 2011
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Good product and fast shipping.
Very nice, well made knife. I was not happy to see "Made in Taiwan" stamped on the blade but, not a big issue. Sheath is on the chinzy side. I use this knive daily on the ranch and it is with me at all times while working with my horses in case I have to cut a lead quickly in an emergency.
KA-BAR 1236 Bowie Knife 6-15/16" Blade, Stacked Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Trigger
Bermuda
Sep 18, 2009
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
KA-BAR
This is a beautiful piece by Ka-Bar. It is very light and has a very slim profile which makes it very fast in the hand. For camping, hiking or a collector piece, as it is extremely beautiful, this knife would be right at home. Whilst I have not tested it it does fell a little too light and therefore may not stand up to the rigors of hardcore use. But Ka-Bar has been around a long time and has proven itself the world over time after time so who am I to comment for sure............:-) Truly a beautiful knife.
KA-BAR 1236 Bowie Knife 6-15/16" Blade, Stacked Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Big Hec
Miami, Fl
Oct 31, 2011
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Very nice for the price
Very well made knife, big fan of KaBar since I used them in the military. Beautifully polished blade. Well balanced
KA-BAR 1236 Bowie Knife 6-15/16" Blade, Stacked Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Satokad
South Dakota
Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Weight
Ka-Bar Bowie 1236
Maybe I'm missing something here, but I wasn't overly impressed by this particular knife. It was very sharp right out of the box, and I like the sheath. However, it seems light for what it is. My biggest disappointment was that there is a gap between the different segments of the handle that I have not been able to close. Not very wide, but enough to trap skin and blood during a gutting, or assorted other particles. Really expected better from a company such as Ka-Bar.