Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath

KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheathrated 4.725 stars out of 5 (51 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
39
4 star
11
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5 inch Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath

 

Price: $57.95

Save $19.35 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim W.
Port Huron, MI
Apr 25, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
weight and balance feels great
Super sharp out of box. Prefer it over SOG machete for clearing brush and light wood chopping. Holds good edge. Glad I made the purchase!
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mem
Virginia
May 25, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Finish
what a tool!
I own a small farm and have put the Kukri to good use. I have completely destroyed a number of brushy areas of canes and small trees. It fits my hand well and has a great Balance, there IS truly a sweet spot. Cutting 2/3 inch trees? Works like a charm. Beautiful knife/beautiful tool. Cons? A bit of the black finish was missing, but I mean, who cares. Scabbard is a bit awkward but then again who cares. It will smooth out with use.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jay
North Geogia
Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Finish
Solid kukri.
PROS: Swings easy. Can chop up to 4" diameter with no problem. Very well built. CONS: black finish is hard to clean, but finish is very durable. BluJ
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ringer459
Big Bear City California
Jun 24, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
performance characteristics
I purchased this product amongst many others from knife center and wasn't disappointed. The weight is forward when holding the knife, but when in motion, it's almost poetry. The sheath needs improvement, however considering the cost, it's a bargain and a half. The only negative, is the angle it comes sharpened at. When batoning, I experienced a small tandem divet along the edge. It sharpened out, and the performance has been excellent since. Highly recommended to all looking for a really good camp tool.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Beak
Northern California
Sep 13, 2010
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
Lopper
This is a serious blade. It'll dispose of whatever is in your way with serious impact. For clearing brush or home defense the Ka Bar Kukri will take care of it.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eric86
Richmond, VA
Mar 03, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
The only KaBar I care for.
I use this for heavy bush tasks outside of course, like it was intended. I am not really sure though why people keep raggin on the sheath. You don't even have to undo the bottom strap to unsheath the blade. Simply unsnap the first one, and pull the machete out. I like the sheath apparently, good sturdy material with a leather backing. For the price, can't complain. Fine tuning the edge makes all the difference as well. Nuff said.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Hammond, LA
Feb 28, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Awesome
Machete is fantastic ($40 of price), sheath is passable ($2 of price). Be honest though - you are buying the machete, the sheath is just extra as far as I am concerned. The people complaining that the machete is great but the sheath sucks are the same people that would not buy this machete if ka-bar included a nice $25 leather sheath because then the price would be in the $65 range and you would still be getting a $40 machete. So look at it as getting the most bang for your buck.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gio
FL
Mar 14, 2009
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
A great bang for your buck kukri!
This Kukri came razor sharp and was able to slice paper and shave hair with ease. The blade can definitely cut through anything like butter. finish is good for tactical or outdoor use. handle is great even if you are wearing gloves, the rubber is quite sticky. make sure to clean with some oil to prevent it from rusting overall, its a great buy
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dawg
Aug 04, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
The Best
This machete is the best machete I have ever owned. It is razor sharp and durable. I cut straight through a watermelon and the bucket it was on top of. The thing is razor sharp and has a nice weight. Buy this thing if you want a quality machete blade.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mustafa
Istanbul
Oct 26, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Kukri!!!
This is a great kukri for a reasonable price. It is quite sharp and the handle lets you have a good control.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill
Tampa,Florida
Dec 15, 2009
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None
Light weight machette
Blade could be thicker for a chopping tool, (5/16 would be about perfect. Other than that it is an excellent product.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Quinn
Alive
Dec 07, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
The Ka-Bar Kukri really is as good as it seems...I know, right?
I've had mine for at least 5+ years now and it has never let me down. It lives to split wood...I've abuseddd it over and over and over... no rusting; and as it eventually gets dull put a higher 25-30*degree edge on it and it will stay sharp longer than almost any of the more (even much more) expensive brands of big knives i've owned. Sheath is baller. Period. You are seriously a we-tard if you are complaining about the sheath that comes with this thing. Buy 5 of em and be ready for Z day.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marine89
Phenix city AL
Aug 31, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None
KaBar Kukri Machete Knife Fixed 11.5" Blade
This is the best machete i have found. It came quick and ready to work. Didn't have to sharpen it, just unpack and start cutting ... GREAT PRODUCT.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eric
fl
Oct 27, 2011
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Love this knife...
KA-Bar never fails to meet the need. This thing is great. Not really a machete but more of an all around survival knife. The knife is heavy, solid, well made and sharp... real sharp. This thing just feels good in the hand. The only down side is the sheath. It's not the quality that I would have expected with this great knife. Think Im going to be seeking out a Kydex replacement for the cordura one that it came with.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dr. Jkc
Queens, NY
Sep 14, 2009
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Finish, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
Perfect for all knfe fighting arts.
The weight gives me a good workout and this weapon could stop a base ball bat. Also the grip is sure. It's sharp enough but one more fine tuning will do the trick.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ak Climb
alaska
Nov 09, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Great knife
I like to only carry one knife in the woods and the kukri had my calling for quite a while. Its a great knife but the scabbard makes its hard for a quick release. Other than that well done.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark Preston
morgantown WV.
Apr 12, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
holy wow!
I couldn't believe the heft, balance and sharpness of this kukuri. Love the non taditional handle and grind lines. mine came scarry sharp. Sheath is what it is, nothing to write home about. Can't wait to start the fishing season with this beast in my backpack. everyone at work who played with it wishes they had one. Nice job Kabar!
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Greg
Durham, NC
Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
One of the last Great US Made products, no BS
Normally US made products are inferior to Japanese, German, and Swiss made products, but this Kukri is exceptional. I'm 5 10" 220 and in pretty good shape and with a fresh sharpened edge I can easily cut 2'' to 2 1/2" hardwood limbs with one strong chop. Once you grasp the concept that the Kukri has a sweet spot like a baseball bat, you can level everything in front of you. One of my hunting buddies has the more expensive Cold Steel Kukri which are also quality products, but my KA BAR cost 1/3 the price and the KABAR is heavy and cuts much deeper. The handle is also a strong, non fracturing rubber that gives you a great grip and doesn't waste away while you use it. Put in your hand and you immediately feel like Denzel Washington in the Book of Eli and for me in a self defense, Zombie Apocalypse scenario I can say I will be the last man standing. Buy, it, its $50 so if my review is trash its not like you spent $250 on some custom fade trash knife.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Larry
Monticello, NY
Sep 30, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Very NIce!
Well made, arrived very sharp. Scabbard has 2 straps, slowing release from the scabbard, but holding the blade so that it cannot slip out of the scabbard a little and potentially injure someone. Overall, this is a great Kukri, well balanced, comfortable weight, a good buy, considering the cost of a Cold Steel product. Coated blade prevents rust, so low maintenance. Scabbard is synthetic, which is very unlikely to absorb water from the and damage the blade, like a leather scabbard could.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alex
Maryland
Aug 20, 2008
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
A Great Chopper
This may be my favorite Ka Bar product. It is a Taiwanese import, but the quality exceeds that of many of the domestically produced knives. It is much thicker and more rigid than the name "Machete" would suggest. It is closer to one of the premium Cold Steel Kukri's (such as the LTC Kukri) than to a thin, sheet-metal machete. It is big and hefty, and capable of completing heavy chops with very little force. Simply let your arm drop and it cuts. Ive taken out 2" saplings with this thing in one blow. The finish on the blade is a rough, durable epoxy coating. The blade steel itself is a high carbon (1085 methinks). The edge has a different quality than that of their 1095 steel combat knives, I would actually say I prefer it in many ways. It takes an edge more easily in my experience, and holds it nearly as well. The handle is as beefy and rugged as you could ask for. The sheath is Cordura and split leather and protects the blade and user well. There is really nothing bad to say about this knife.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark D
Shreveport, LA
Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material
I tourtured this thing
This blade has been great. I've been using it for over 10 years now and it has never let me down. Still looks and cuts great. I would recommend this item to a friend.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
D-Man
Outdoors, CO
Aug 31, 2010
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
WHAT AN AWESOME KUKRI
THIS KNIFE IS SICK!!! I got this knife because I was reading about the ghurkhas and thought if they could do all of the stuff that they did, what could I do with it. Now Im an outdoorsman and its just purfect. I have use it to clear brush, chop wood, and trim tree branches and the weight gives you tons of power. It's also great if you want self defence against wild animals or other things. The only con is the sheath. It works just fine but the leather is pretty cheap and mine has already cracked but if I were you I would get a sheath from a leather woker. The finnish will also scratch if u chop enough wood but it's kind of a badge of honor. So if u want a good knife... this is the one you need to get!!!
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim
TN
Jul 03, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Wow!!! This thing gets the job done.
Wow!!! This thing gets the job done. Great quality ... nothing at all to complain about. Thick blade and sharp factory edge ... cuts right through most branches with one swing. Speaking of swing ... the swing weight is great. Good size to carry on belt and having used longer blade I feel this one does a better job due to the heavier blade (it weighs as much or more than the longer ones). Spend the extra money a get this machete. I also bought a Cold Steel Kukri and it's blade got severely gouged on the first day of use (hits a bottle by accident). Tim
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jackb
Savannah,Ga.
Nov 18, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great Product
I use this KA-BAR Kukri for clearing vines and saplings. Razor sharp right outta the box will shave your arm hair. Thick blade. Will not bend. Great balance. Nice sheath. Cannot complain. First KA-BAR product for me. I will definitely purchase other KA-BAR products since buying this one.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Awc Ops
Weatherford, Ok
Nov 10, 2009
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Finish
I was very pleased. The Kabar wears its name proudly. This thing came razor sharp and ready to go. The black finished chipped just a bit when it impacted hard steel but hey, thats the way it goes. The weight is there but well balanced. This is a hacker slasher. Utilitarian at its core. Cant beat it for the price. If i had one survival blade and didnt have a few hundred to spend Id look seriously at the Kabar machete line.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Doc17
Grand Junction, CO
Jun 03, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Materials, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
This will not fail you
I have had this knife (its not a machete because it is under 18") since agust and it hasn't failed me yet. I have used for clearing brush, getting ride of saplings, and to size down firewood. As my friends machetes took 2-3 wacks to get a 2" sapling out, this did it in 1. The worst thing about it is the sheath and it really isn't that bad, it could just use some fixing up. Also the coating on it will get scarred but it makes it look alot cooler because you now have battle wounds. So in my oppinion, this is a great knife and you will be lucky to own 1, or 2, or 5.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Thetoddfox
Central California
Dec 21, 2010
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Kukri Bulldozer
Having to track oil pipelines throughout the terrain I go into....this blade clears the way like a perpetual bulldozer. I love everything about it ,however, in some environments leather just isn't good when wet. Perhaps a kydex sheath would be better...Luckily I know how to make them.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jerry Reic
Girdwood, Alaska
Dec 16, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Impressive looking, comfortable in hand
I particularly like the "parrot beak" at the end of the handle that provides comfort and adds to the chopping power of the knife.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Roscoe
Olympia, WA
Jan 05, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
More Than a Machete
Ka-Bar isn't known for brush-clearing or agricultural tools; their fame is in fighting knives. This "machete" is 11.5" long and features a hollow-ground drop point, a top that's swaged 6" back from the point and a shaving-sharp 20-degree edge (most good utility knives have 30-degree edges). For brush-clearing you're better off with a 26" $15.95 Home Depot sheet metal machete, but this happens to be perhaps the most wicked combat knives I've ever encountered--more effective than a long Bowie due to the curved blade that slices rather than hacks, the heavy back of the blade can non-lethally disable or disarm an opponent and the top-swaged front provides excellent piercing ability. They may call it a machete but I don't think that's what the designers at Ka-Bar actually had in mind. The outstanding 1085 carbon steel makes that scary-sharp blade easy to maintain and the weight, balance and handle are perfect--for a machete or a fighter.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stephen
Jax Fl.
Oct 09, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great Product
Exactly what I was looking for in a machete.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
James S.
Normal, Il
Sep 01, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
GREAT BLADE
This thing ROCKS. Great machete, in fact I use it as a machete and a hachet. I plan to use it in combo with the KA-BAR Large Heavy Bowie. Cutting wood with the machete and spliting it with the Bowie.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
North West One
Midland, WA
Feb 02, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
The best for the money
I have a blackberry problem. I chop, they grow back. I have used everything under the sun to cut these things and this one beats them all hands down. Cleared a 6'X15' path in minutes. It is on the heavy side, but after use your muscles will get used to it. No chips on blade after cutting 1 1/2" saplings and berry vines. A little wear on black coating but that gives it character, a couple of passes with diamond hone and razor sharp again. I'm buying two more. Also makes good zombie defense tool.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aliza
TX.
Feb 15, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
KA-BAR Kukri
It was out of the box sharp and very nice looking. I have not used it yet but i could tell its a very good chopper.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dutchydownunder
Australia
Dec 21, 2012
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Weight
My third KaBar
I also own the BK2 and the Heavy Duty Warthog (my fav blade) and thought this time around I want something bigger, well this thing sure is! Although I would have loved for the blade to have been 1/4'' thick, a bit more weight would have made this blade perfect. Again the sheath is nothing special but not bad either, it does what its made to do, carry the blade! It would have been better if it was a bit faster to remove the blade from the sheath. It was sharp out of the box, and again I just love that handle, it was made to fit my hands, it makes light work out of timber and would take out a family of zombies in a blink of an eye! My next KaBar product will be the heavy Bowie, I even emailed KaBar to see if they would do a Tomahawk with that great handle, something new for 2013, come on KaBar it would sell like hotcakes! And Knifecenter you need to do something about your shipping cost to Australia, I can get most knives via Ebay for a way better price!
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jack
Waltham ma
Nov 08, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Without a doubt
This Machete all around is absolutely perfect design, much more versatile than my US 18" machete except maybe for brush clearing, hook design allows you to get a solid swing add a lanyard for more, I even had to chop threw a heavy-duty bicycle chain lock I blasted threw it no problem!, I would highly recommend it!
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hawkeye
Austin, Tx
Jul 28, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Amazing workhorse for such a bargain cost.
I'm usually very critical and cynical of my weaponry/tools, but I can't really complain about a single thing when it comes to this Ka-Bar. I know what I need from my tools and while I've made modifications, the factory features of this blade are incredibly well-rounded. I wrapped the handle with some bamboo cording and heavy-duty leather lace at the handle depressions to increase the grip, not a slight against the factory grip I just know what I'll need for the special circumstances I personally find myself in which will likely not be shared by the average customer. I took off the beak at the bottom of the handle and made it more of a stub, as well I made some curves at the back of the collar at the top of the handle to use for various thumb positions. I've taken this thing out into the bush and I've given it a lot of abuse with throwing and I'm impressed with the edge retention, even after planting it inside some pine and oak it is still shaving sharp and cuts through 1" branches with ease. Unlike others I don't have any issue with the weight, but that may come from my martial arts background which has found me using considerably heavier blades. I think the only thing I'd change is taking off that Taiwan stamp, maybe I'm just used to seeing USA on a Ka-Bar or I feel it embarrassingly invites me to explain that in spite of being a Taiwan produced blade it's quality is impeccable.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Akin
Istanbul
Aug 27, 2009
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great Kukri great price!!
Excellent Ka-bar quality for reasonable price. When you handle you feel how though the product is.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Flm7672
Malaysia
Nov 16, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
The Great Chopper
Another great Kabar product line...design for choping job. Easy to swing and great impact to the woods.. pick-up today..the handle material is sticky so its doesnt matter even in wet situation...
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Madcarpenter
Mountains of Colorado
May 10, 2011
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Awesome Product
This is exactly the knife I was looking for. It came with a wickedly sharp edge on it and a nice powder coat finish. I can't say that the sheath is anything to write home about but it is utilitarian. I'm very happy with my overall purchase.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brandon
BC/Alberta/Ontario
Jul 10, 2009
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Great camping and field tool
This Kukri is fantastic, it is far superior as a tool then the Gurkha Kukri's I have used in the passed. It is ideal for camping and field-craft, I used it for clearing brush, shaving wood, making kindling, and as a hammer and blade while putting up my hoochies/tents. Good heavy feel to it, excellent hand-grip, and well-balanced for strong swings. The only negative I have is the sheath, it is limited in where you can wear it, and does not have the option of a hook/clasp for easy removal once it's on your belt.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mdny
Silver Spring, MD
Jun 21, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Good value
Solid camp and yard machete; convenient size and good ergonomics. Sheathm while nothing to write home about, is actually not bad - very functional - for use with the otherwise awkward to sheath kukri blade shape.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ringer459
Big Bear City
Jun 22, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Blade Sharpness
Ka-Mbar kukriknives mahete
Use for outdoor/wilderness tool. Good product / value for the price point. Functions very well when in motion. Would highly recommend without reservation.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mike.
San Anselmo, CA
Apr 06, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Comfortable handful of "edge".
Only light use so far, so can't comment on longevity. Blade seems very able; looks like it will take some abuse. Handle very comfortable; fits hand well and easy to hang on to. Surprisingly good finish quality for the price. Sheath unremarkable. Would recommend purchase to a friend.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Camper
Whitehorse, Yukon
Aug 13, 2009
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Great Camp knife
A good tool for clearing a camp site, cutting a trail through dense foliage, making kindling, and related campsite chores. Tends to be a bit on the heavy side, which is an advantage for some activities, like making kindling, but could be tiring to use after awhile.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Guillermo
Argentina
May 12, 2010
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Better than Cold Steel cheapest model
Thicker, heavy and better balanced than C. Steel common Kruki (Not the San Mai) Excelent finish Excelent sharp (Razor sharp) Good Grip, may woulbe better Kraton on it instead of PVC. Only drawback the sheath...slow to take of the Kruki, better a Kidex or Polimer sheat. The best option over the low cost Cold steel model and under the spencive Carbon or S. Mai model.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Customer X
Online
Jul 20, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Sharp
Nice size. I wish it was a little longer. The most important it is sharp so I don't have to send it out. A knife or cutting instrument should always come sharp without the need to have to have it sharpened. It is just part of the package.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Sebor Leporq
Switzerland
Oct 16, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Unbeatable for the price
Very huge blade and a nice handle. The sheath is the only thing I don't like. Cheap and inconvenient.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joey
Houston
Aug 09, 2017
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Beast of a Blade
Use for about anything you can think of. Sheath...like most KA-BARs... is pretty weak. Therefore a 4, not a 5....knife alone is a 5.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Scout671
Guam
Aug 17, 2009
Pros: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Me Likey...
For those of you looking for a slightly more robust, yet affordable, version of a kukri this is your tool. I own kabar and coldsteel kukris and without a doubt, this is the one I take with me when the pack needs to be light. Sure it costs a bit more but IMHO, this thing can get things done quite quickly. Also, because it is more robust, it also lends itself to more utilitarian tasks: digging, light prying...hey, I know there are those of you who say "make a digging stick," but it's just nice to know it can go that extra mile...just in case. Either way, check it out and you'll see what I mean, Kabar in every sense. Catch ya later!
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
David
WV
Nov 13, 2019
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Excellent for some tasks, not the best general bush knife
This tool fits my hand excellently. Great balance, but it comes up short in one critical task: cutting through brush. The belly is too far towards the rear, versus up front belly that you get with true machete designs. Swinging this kukri is more like swinging an axe. The better tool for this is the Kabar Cutlass, which I don't see on Knife Center's inventory. This kukri is best for static camp use in my world. It splits kindling better than any tool I've used for the purpose. Lay the rear rise of the belly on the edge of the kindling stick and baton the tip of the kukri. The blade shims straight down and through better than anything. This kukri is also an excellent digger, which should be considered when choosing a general bush tool. More axe-like than knife-like. A cleaver. Materials are excellent for the price. Very comfortable handle. Sheath is the usual nominal thing, nothing to fault Kabar for over any other company.
KA-BAR 1249 Kukri Machete 11.5" Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Bob
Mid America
Jun 21, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Ka-Bar Kukri Machete = one great knife
In my opinion, the Ka-Bar Kukri Machete is second only to the Cold Steel Gurka Kukri. Good steel,perfect weight and balance,very comfortable grip, reasonable sheath. For this price, this is a great buy from a great company. I already have a few and just ordered another from Knife Center (another great company).