Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR 1250 USMC Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath

KA-BAR 1250 USMC Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheathrated 5.0 stars out of 5 (8 reviews)
5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
KA-BAR 1250 USMC Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4 inch Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath

 

Price: $84.95

Save $28.49 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR 1250 USMC Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andrew
Everett, WA
Mar 21, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Perfect

As always, KA-BAR delivers outstanding craftsmanship and high quality for the price. Just as good as several more expensive knives. Very pleased with this knife. Excellent leather quality as well.
KA-BAR 1250 USMC Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sam Of Finland
Western Canada
May 05, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Finish

Top quality materials & workmanship

The first thing that struck me when I opened the box was the aroma of saddle leather from the sheath; it has a wonderful rubbed oil look and feel. The knife has a surprisingly solid, heavy feel in the hand for it`s size. Blade is about 5/32, almost 3/16" thick. Point of balance is just back of the crossguard. Not so intimidating to wear on the belt at work or out and about as the full size model. One negative: the sharp edges on the metal washer just back of the crossguard immediately scratched up the sheath when I slid the knife in for the first time.
KA-BAR 1250 USMC Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brucek2k3
Ft. Worth, Texas
Apr 02, 2010
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Excellent utility knife

The "short" is a great sized knife to carry on a day pack or in the car. It is not as cumbersome as the regular size but is large and strong enough for most jobs. Excellent quality at a great price.
KA-BAR 1250 USMC Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Huargos
Spain
Jan 25, 2011
Pros: Materials, Finish, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None

Kabar

What to say about Kabar...! Great knife, good quality, in one word "fantastic". Just take into account that the handle is a little small.
KA-BAR 1250 USMC Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
Louisa, VA
Oct 18, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

Doesn't get any better!!

I was surprised when I opened up the box, perfect fit to handle, good finish, great sheath. Hard to find anything negative to say about it, nothing works like a leather handle & sheath! I bought the Cold Steel SRK at the same time, great knife too, nothing like the classics!! It just feels better in your hand, better balance. Only complaint is it wasn't as sharp as I'd like...but a little work on a stone and it's plenty sharp! This one is the perfect size with great balance and strong blade.....so good I'm thinking about buying the same knife in the combo blade!!
KA-BAR 1250 USMC Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ryan
northwest washington
Jan 20, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

awesome: a true Ka-Bar

this knife is awesome. it comes very sharp right out of the box. has a great feel in your hand. i have heard some say the handle is too small but i have very large hands and it does not bother me. the handle gets a little different color after getting wet but it adds to the personality of the knife. i just used mine to fill skin a rabbit and prep it for eating. it did wonderfully. i would recommend this knife to anyone. comes with very nice leather sheath as well
KA-BAR 1250 USMC Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Retired Logistician
Cleveland, OH
Aug 31, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Pleasantly surprised

This is one bad little girl - straight blade, sharp, and very well finished. When you need a utility knife but the full size Ka-Bar is a whisker too much, this one fits the bill.
KA-BAR 1250 USMC Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steven Barrac
St Leonards-On-Sea, Other
Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Short KA-BAR

I really like the short version of this knife. The knife is made with the standard of workmanship you would expect from this company. It comes shaving sharp and well packed and presented in a well designed box with the US Marine Core Logo. I really like the short version of this knife as it, for me, is a handier size and weight for most routine work around a camp site. I have not had it long enough to extensively field test it but am sure that it will meet my needs and doubt it will be subjected to the same rigorous working envirement it meets when carried by the Marines.