Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR 1271 Fighter Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather / Cordura Sheath

KA-BAR 1271 Fighter Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather / Cordura Sheathrated 4.467 stars out of 5 (15 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
2
KA-BAR 1271 Fighter Knife 8 inch Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather / Cordura Sheath

 

Price: $79.95

Save $28.33 (26%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR 1271 Fighter Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather / Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Phoenix
Holland
Jul 17, 2013
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Josh K
As an operator I agree with Josh. It is a fighting knife/utility with some possibilities for light/medium general chores. Chopping trees? Possible but not built and designed for. Batoning? Possible, but not designed for. It is like using a Formula 1 car for driving off road rallies. If you need to defend yourself in CQB and be a survivalist, take a fighting knife and companion survival knife with you.......
KA-BAR 1271 Fighter Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather / Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bryan W.
ohio
Aug 21, 2013
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
1271 kabar
I have split wood and all the survival tasks with this knife soon I will buy another this buy far he best knife ive owned
KA-BAR 1271 Fighter Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather / Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
James
Western Australia
Nov 01, 2011
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Very good knife (Do not listen to Josh k.)
First of all i want to say PLEASE DO NOT LISTEN TO JOSH, "This knife has a rat tail tang which means the blade is welded onto a thin, rectangular piece of metal running through the center of the handle making it easier to break at the welding point" This statement is complete bs. First of all the tang is not a rat tail tang. A rat tail tang is a round piece of thin metal. The Ka Bar tang is a BIG THICK STRONG TANG. Second of all, it is not welded on (i have no idea where this guy gets his info from). I have a USMC kabar that uses the same construction as this knife. I have had it for 4 years now and i have used it for chopping wood. It has never failed me. There is a reason why the military uses ka bar knives ever since ww2.
KA-BAR 1271 Fighter Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather / Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nicolas D
Montreal, Qc
Nov 28, 2012
Pros: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
great knife
this knife are a very great combat knife, super camp knife but not a real survival knife... ( blade are to thin in the handle..) if you want survival knife buy a survival knife.. (bk2/bk7// Condor Hudson's Bay Knife// fallkniven a1// ect..) ''KA-BAR 1271 Fighter Knife 8" Combo Blade'' ''fighter knife'' ... fighter...knife... and it will be super camp knife..
KA-BAR 1271 Fighter Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather / Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt I
Euharlee, GA
Apr 21, 2016
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None
This knife is a "Combat/Fighter" blade. It has a rather thin blade to slash and stab an oncoming threat. If you are wanting to chop firewood look elsewhere. It was a thin rat-tail tang to keep weight down. Most knives if this type have a thin tang. Even expensive combat Randal Made Knives have rat tails. Wanna chop? Get an axe. Wanna survival knife? Try a thick Esee or Becker. Want slice, slash, stab and cause bodily damage? Then this is your blade. Yes it can be used for utility tasks like cutting rope, hammering a tent stake, whittling, notching. But beating the thin spine for wood? Ridiculous.
KA-BAR 1271 Fighter Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather / Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Luis
Sep 21, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: None
i would like to say
In the discription it clearly states that it is a all perpus knife
KA-BAR 1271 Fighter Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather / Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
canada
Jul 31, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
no welds at all,,
i dont know who thinks that ka-bars have any kind of welds on them,,they are wrong if you watch the video ka-bar has of their factory operations youll see the blade and the tang ARE A SINGLE PIECE the guard is press fitted on during the handle fitting process and pinned on butt cap which is all done under extreme force my frnds dad was a marine in vietnam and his ka-bar was made the same way they are made today except his scabbard is aluminum with a built in sharpener its a knife made for the army navy marines cant get any better then that ,,only warning i give is do not try n baton with it
KA-BAR 1271 Fighter Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather / Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Josh K.
NH
Nov 16, 2010
Pros: Finish, Handle Material, Materials, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Intended purpose is FIGHTING not chopping
I have no idea why people would even think about chopping wood with this, even if it is a softwood like pine. This knife is strictly meant to kill. This knife has a rat tail tang which means the blade is welded onto a thin, rectangular piece of metal running through the center of the handle making it easier to break at the welding point. The tang makes it lighter, and more balanced, this knife will be good for self defence. If I'm going hiking/camping, I'm not bringing this knife, if some one breaks into my house and I need to use a knife, I will use my kabar "FIGHTER" knife and use it for it's intended purpose
KA-BAR 1271 Fighter Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather / Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
David
Iowa
Dec 08, 2014
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Ka-Bar 1271 Fighter Review
Great knife. Quality is evident in the construction, great grip, fit and finish and it came very sharp. Blade thickness is just right.I wish the sheath used a strap to secure the knife over the quillion or hand guard instead of the 2 straps that secure the grip. Overall a very good knife for the money.
KA-BAR 1271 Fighter Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather / Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Happycamper
Kent, Wa
Nov 19, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
KaBar tang
Alot of people seem to get confused by the tac welds holding the hilt on, and think that the tang is welded on, everyone thought the SOG fusion fixation bowie had a welded tang, but its just the hilt being tac welded in place, Yes this knife is called a "fighter" but it is still a utility knife. If you look at true fighting knives like the AF commando knife or bayonets, they are double edged daggers, the bowie is a popular design because it is an all purpose knife and has enough wieght to make it an effectice slashing weapon true fighting knives are light fast and used for penetration, but arent very good for much else, So you would either carry 2 knives a dagger and a swiss army type knife or use an all purpose design like the KaBar
KA-BAR 1271 Fighter Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather / Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Knife Collector
NY
Feb 24, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
chopping
If you want to chop wood, buy an axe. If you buy a knife, treat it as a knife.
KA-BAR 1271 Fighter Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather / Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
J. Joshua K
Tokyo, Japan
Oct 06, 2016
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
My Best Partner @ Krav Maga.
Just fell in love with this knife ever since I saw it on KA-BAR's website. She is wickedly sharp out of the box and mean in shape as a real combat knife is supposed to be. It is designed exclusively for military/tactical use. Few people own 1271 FIGHTER and very few people know that it has a slightly wider tang than the regular USMC Combat Knife and is thus a little bit more robust in construction. Along with a Cold Steel Leatherneck training knife, I brandish this battle-proven blade whenever I practice Krav Maga alone. HARDCORE KNIVES. HARDCORE LIVES.
KA-BAR 1271 Fighter Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather / Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aaron C
Oregon
Sep 27, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Yeah!
This knife is going to be awesome for killing zombies!!!!!
KA-BAR 1271 Fighter Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather / Cordura Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Frank Castle
ON
Jan 23, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
My Ka Bar is dead...
I thought this was a great knife, until it broke! The blade snapped off right at the guard and cut my thumb decently, as it is a sharp knife. So now I'm left with three pieces of a nice knife, and out $$$. I wasn't evening punishing this thing, I was using about 1/10 of my strength chopping a piece of pine... I can't imagine what people do when something like this happens in a life or death situation... I was at home so it really wasn't a big deal other than I don't have a "knife" anymore, just a sheath and three paperweights...(blade, guard and handle) Has anyone had experience with Ka Bar about returns/replacements?...
KA-BAR 1271 Fighter Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather / Cordura Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Smith
IL
Oct 17, 2018
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Material, Handle Material, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish, None
Cons: Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Finish
3
3