Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR 1280 Combat Kukri Fixed 8.5" Blade, Black Kraton G Handle, Polyester Sheath

KA-BAR 1280 Combat Kukri Fixed 8.5" Blade, Black Kraton G Handle, Polyester Sheathrated 4.909 stars out of 5 (11 reviews)
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
KA-BAR 1280 Combat Kukri Fixed 8.5 inch Blade, Black Kraton G Handle, Polyester Sheath

 

Price: $79.95

Save $28.29 (26%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR 1280 Combat Kukri Fixed 8.5" Blade, Black Kraton G Handle, Polyester Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joshua
Colorado, USA
Sep 04, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
How can one go wrong with Ka-bar
Great hand feel. Overall quality made In USA. Haven't had an opportunity to put it to use but I love the way it feels in hand
KA-BAR 1280 Combat Kukri Fixed 8.5" Blade, Black Kraton G Handle, Polyester Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Greg
connecticut
Jun 13, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
great knife
Ka-bar has another winner. good balance, decent edge out of the box, as soon as this knife is in your hand the sheer heft of it lets you know it means business, great for hacking and general purpose camping survival knife. the sheath is top notch as well, i was pleasantly surprised with the quality.
KA-BAR 1280 Combat Kukri Fixed 8.5" Blade, Black Kraton G Handle, Polyester Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Edgeworship
Bismarck, ND
May 22, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
OMGWTFBBQM8. Where has this knife been all my life?
I shall begin by saying I love this knife. It has a fantastic feel for a weight forward design like the kukri. It feels awesome in hand and can take hours of hacking away at evil zombies "or hedges" surrounding your yard. Other than looking wicked cool its very functional. The sheath is surpasses its rival in the fact that it can be carried on either side due to an awesome pivoting snap system. KA-BAR didn't hold back with the materials they used either. The steel holds a fantastic edge and the nonslip handle is one of the best I have used. This is a NEED TO OWN knife. It also came out of the box razor sharp and sharpened right up after a couple of days of hard hacking and chopping.
KA-BAR 1280 Combat Kukri Fixed 8.5" Blade, Black Kraton G Handle, Polyester Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
James
Covington Va.
Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great knife
Works great as a large bushcraft knife. The guard will come loose with chopping but doesn't seem to be a danger to the user.
KA-BAR 1280 Combat Kukri Fixed 8.5" Blade, Black Kraton G Handle, Polyester Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jon
Zephyrhills,FL.
Jun 26, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
quality as usual
both knife and sheath are top notch, feels great in hand. will make an excellent utility for camping.
KA-BAR 1280 Combat Kukri Fixed 8.5" Blade, Black Kraton G Handle, Polyester Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wc
NM
Jan 18, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
KA-BAR does it again
The only reason I bought this is because I have always wanted a Kukri but never wanted to pay double the price for a foreign product. I was stoked when I found this one and I am very pleased with it. I haven't decided what I am going to use it for yet, probably just through it in the hiking pack. I like the design of the sheath it comes with; but the little tag on it does say Made in China. But the knife itself is great and I am glad I got it. KA-BAR doesn't disappoint!
KA-BAR 1280 Combat Kukri Fixed 8.5" Blade, Black Kraton G Handle, Polyester Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Grant.E
UNITED KINGDOM
Feb 15, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
COMBAT KUKRI
I SHALL NOT BE USING FOR COMBAT BUT I CAN SEE WHY THIS WOULD BE GOOD FOR IT. OBVIOUSLY TYPICAL KABAR 1095CRO VAN WHICH IS GOOD ENOUGH, KRATON HANDLES WHICH ARE WELL COMFY, SHEATH IS OK ,LEFT OR RIGHT HANDED,AND BLADE CAME SHARP, 2MINS ON THE LEATHER AND RAZOR. FOR THE TRUE KUKRI FEEL AND USAGE EVENTUALLY ILL GET THE SAN MAI iii ,THIS ISNT MADE FOR THAT SORT OF PUNISHMENT,IT HASNT GOT THE SIZE OR WEIGHT BEHIND IT.SAYING THAT THE SMALLER ,LIGHTER PACKAGE MAKES IT VERY SWIFT AND AGILE. GREAT PACKAGE,GREAT PRICE,THANX KNIFECENTRE SHALL BE USING AGAIN.
KA-BAR 1280 Combat Kukri Fixed 8.5" Blade, Black Kraton G Handle, Polyester Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chin C
Camp Casey, South Korea
Apr 30, 2012
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Great kukri
If only I can have such badass blade when I was in Iraq in the early year....well, for the second kukri from Ka Bar, made for combat, but I have no double on its ability in the wild, I personally tactical kyder hard sheath with extra button secure, the size is just about right, its got the cutting power, light weight, plus the hand guard like the other Ka Bars, for a small body type like myself, this kukri still can mount to my chest on my vest or on my shoulder with easy access, this kukri fits my tactical need. The sheath is ok, I'm plan to order another combat kukri, but the sheath will be custom kyder, for I like to keep my blade clean, include the sheath, with tactical kyder sheath, I can unscrew it, and whip the inside clean. But I can't do that with the current standard sheath or some leather sheath. overall, for a tactical kukri, this combat kukri will not disappoint those who intend to use it in the tactical field.
KA-BAR 1280 Combat Kukri Fixed 8.5" Blade, Black Kraton G Handle, Polyester Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nick
Australia
May 23, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
About time
It's about time Ka Bar made a combat kukri. Excellent knife, like all Ka Bar's. The knife has a nice weight and a great handle.
KA-BAR 1280 Combat Kukri Fixed 8.5" Blade, Black Kraton G Handle, Polyester Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
Siskiyou mountains
Jul 30, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
I work in woodlands a lot doing lots of brush clearing. I have searched for a reasonable carry knife that performs like a machete but is not as big. Think I've finally found it. Plenty sharp out of the box, well balanced, not in the way when I'm bending forward or squatting.
KA-BAR 1280 Combat Kukri Fixed 8.5" Blade, Black Kraton G Handle, Polyester Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
J L
Va
Apr 07, 2016
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Material, Materials
Cons: None
Kukri Light
This is a light, small kukri that is easy to carry. This is not a wood processing chopper. More a general purpose knife. Fit & finish is very good. Sheath is very nice. Unclear what small knife should go in the sheath on the front.