Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR 1300 Hobo Outdoor Dining Kit, Nylon Sheath

KA-BAR 1300 Hobo Outdoor Dining Kit, Nylon Sheathrated 4.353 stars out of 5 (17 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
KA-BAR 1300 Hobo Outdoor Dining Kit, Nylon Sheath

 

Price: $18.95

Save $6.43 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR 1300 Hobo Outdoor Dining Kit, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Holly
Rochester, IL
Mar 03, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Perfect for my dorm room and also camping
I received one awhile back and the other two were on back order, which was fine for me because I use it every day living in the dorms at school. When I informed them I only received one in the mail, they did not hesitate to correct it and send me the other two, which I received this past weekend. Granted the fork part is a little small, I'm not complaining because the price was the best I have seen on the internet.
KA-BAR 1300 Hobo Outdoor Dining Kit, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris D.
San Diego, CA
Aug 08, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: None
Good hobo tool
This tool works pretty well. The utensils all separate so that they can be used together. The knife locks in place and is exceptionally sharp. The fork is a little small, but it still works well enough. The spoon is a little shallower than a regular tablespoon, but it is larger than a lot of hobo tool spoons I've seen. Overall, great tool. I bring one camping and leave another at work.
KA-BAR 1300 Hobo Outdoor Dining Kit, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Geo.
Long Island, New York
Oct 29, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Handy to have...in the car, in your travels!
This is a very useful implement to carry around, in your car when you're driving, or in your knapsack when your traveling around. I've used this hobo knife in hotel rooms, esp. after going to a grocery store or supermarket and returning to the room, only to realize I don't have any silverware/plasticware with which to cut and consume a wide variety of stuff purchased for a quick breakfast or dinner. I had to replace it when I forgot I had left it in my knapsack and it was seized by airport security. When I pleaded that it was only an eating utensil, the heartless agent said, "Yes, monsieur, but it is a knife, too!" Word to the wise...Send it through in your checked baggage.
KA-BAR 1300 Hobo Outdoor Dining Kit, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael
CALGARY
Feb 28, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
KABAR 1300
Eating when I go in British Columbia, mountains trip. I did see you on the Internet.
KA-BAR 1300 Hobo Outdoor Dining Kit, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Phil Sechrist
Houston, Tx
Jul 30, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Perfect for any hobo or couch surfer
what more could a homeless person ask for?
KA-BAR 1300 Hobo Outdoor Dining Kit, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Howard T
De Kalb, TX
Mar 12, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath, Lock Ease of Use
Cons: None
KA-BAR Hobo And Sheath
The KA-BAR Hobo and sheath is a good buy. The sheath will fit a very wide belt having a full length strap on its the back. The sheath is of synthetic material and closes with hook and loop. It is light weight, covers the knife well with a nice fit, and seems secure. Over all the three utensils, which seperate by a push length-wise, are good. The spoon is ample and ambidextrous, unlike the Case HOBO. The knife is just fine, and the blade locks when opened. The fork is pretty much a little food stabber since it is small, straight, and flat. It does not have the downward curve like the spoon.. The bottle cap opener is in/on the fork handle. After quite a bit of online studying, I bought this one and the Case HOBO too. Among those available that I am aware of, AND if you plan to carry and use the Hobo; this would be my choice. Between it and the pretty Case I would choose the KA-BAR, and here is why. This one is much less expensive and comes with a good functional sheath. This Hobo is smaller and lighter, so carrying is more practical. The utensils are just as good and the spoon is a lot better than on the case. To sum it up, I would say that the KA-BAR is a user and the Case is a collector.
KA-BAR 1300 Hobo Outdoor Dining Kit, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marty
Indiana
Oct 17, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: None
KA-BAR 1300 Hobo outdoor dining kit
Working construction outside I usually take lunch from home. Hobo is very convenient,well made from stainless steel,easy to clean, nice sheath always in my truck
KA-BAR 1300 Hobo Outdoor Dining Kit, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ryan
Orange, Ca
Mar 22, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Sheath, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Excellent
This is a great set. Each utensil can be separated for individual use. I bought this military purposes and have tested it on various foods such as ravioli, steak, and chowder. The knife has a very sharp edge on it, strong enough to cut through the toughest meats. The spoon is small but can handle chowder like a pro, and the fork is perfectly designed to pierce through steak without slippage. This perfect for military, or just your general outdoor use. It's sheath could be a tad bit bigger but is still a nice nylon sheath. Still, this a great buy!!
KA-BAR 1300 Hobo Outdoor Dining Kit, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mk
Chicago
Apr 05, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great - Tough Utensil - Good sharp knife-!!!-Great For The Pocket!!
Bought this for my Son In Law who works as a foreman in a factory-uses this in his lunch break and fits right in as a part of his "steel lunch box and hard hat routine. This is a utility knife, plain simple and sharp! Cutting open food boxes great as a camping tool for the outdoors man or rough and tumble hard hat types. Tough knife for a tough job with extreme toughness of stainless steel!! Knife is sharp which is a big plus! Not for the MEEK! A step well beyond "sporks and plastic knives!!" Great to have in my hunting trips and fishing expeditions!
KA-BAR 1300 Hobo Outdoor Dining Kit, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Manny
Escondido, CA
May 30, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Sheath, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Material, Handle Feel, None
Chow time
I grew tired of eating with plastic utensils at work (I keep losing all the silverware I take) and I decided I needed a compact set of utensils I could keep in my lunch cooler. This fits the bill quite nicely. I use the spoon the most and I find that it's adequate for fruit salads, cottage cheese, and such. The knife is nice and sharp and beats the plastics I'd been using to slice my apples. As for the fork, I haven't used it yet, but it does seem a bit strange with three tines and no curvature. One thing about holding the spoon, my finger tends to dig into the underside slot where the spoon folds into. If you get it, you'll know what I'm talking about. It's a great product by KA-BAR and I recommend it.
KA-BAR 1300 Hobo Outdoor Dining Kit, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ken H
California
Aug 02, 2011
Pros: Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Nice quality.
This tool has ka bar quality, I Suspect I'll have many years of service from this tool.
KA-BAR 1300 Hobo Outdoor Dining Kit, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Charles D.
NE Indiana
Jun 25, 2012
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
I like it
spoon could have a little mor draft to it
KA-BAR 1300 Hobo Outdoor Dining Kit, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Techsong
Canada
Feb 10, 2010
Pros: Sheath, Overall Quality
Cons: None
good piece
this is good for frequent traveller.
KA-BAR 1300 Hobo Outdoor Dining Kit, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tim P
Toronto, ON
Jul 01, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Lock Type, Sheath, Blade Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Weight
there when you need it....if it's on you.
I'm a university student and i am distant-commuter. this comes in handy as i don't have to go thru trouble of utensils and save 5cents on plastic forks each time. it has strong lock for the knife so if you need it, it's sturdy enough for some medium duty. came very sharp. the fork was very stiff and i still find it a little resistance to take it out everytime (also no curve on fork). there's a hole to accomodate for curve of the spoon and that's a little annoying but not killer. it can be taken down to 3 separate utensils and is secured by friction and magnet when combined. it is a little bigger and A LOT heavier (than it seems - it's pure stainless steel) than a swiss army knife. pouch comes with a belt loop and made of good nylon with velcro for closing.
KA-BAR 1300 Hobo Outdoor Dining Kit, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joep
Bay city, mi
Aug 08, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None
Great set
It's nice and big. Easy to handle
KA-BAR 1300 Hobo Outdoor Dining Kit, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Richard L.
Floral Park, NY
Nov 18, 2013
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Sheath, Blade Material
Cons: None
Hobo Knife
I bought the two hobo eating knives for grandchildren who are into scouting. The quality of the knives is good and the stainless steel will prevent rust which is essential for an outdoor knife. They are a little pricey because cheaper versions cost as little a six dollars but they should stand up well.
KA-BAR 1300 Hobo Outdoor Dining Kit, Nylon Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Robert
State College, PA
Sep 08, 2012
Pros: Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Sheath, Handle Feel, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Food Grade Quality Unspecified
Kabar has perhaps the best eating utensil design overall. The utensils spoon is the best on the market for a single piece design. The knife itself should not be designed after a folding knife or be as sharp out of the box since it is a utensil for eating. The fork itself could use one more tine and the knife could be re-manufactured to update the fork while still allowing the utensil to remain compact. Most important, Kabar must specify that the knife is of food grade quality and suitable for eating.