JUST ANNOUNCED: NEW 2020 BENCHMADE Details

KnifeCenter strives to provide individuals with disabilities access to its products and services, including through an accessible website. If you have questions, comments, or encounter any difficulty in using this site, please e-mail info@knifecenter.com or call - (800) 338-6799

Skip to main content

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to our Cookie Policy.

JUST ANNOUNCED: NEW 2020 BENCHMADE Details

Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16" Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles

KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16" Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles4.714 (28 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
8
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16 inch Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles

 

Price: $39.95

Save $15.29 (28%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16" Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
Dog
Gettysburg,Pa.
Mar 27, 2011
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Knife. Does just what is expected to do. Very useful.
Works very well for its intended usage.
KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16" Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
Timmy O
New York
Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Another great blade from Ka- bar
Excellent backup knife. love the look and the feel of it .nice handle and the knife locks securely in the kydex sheath that feels comfortable on any of my belts the fast shipping as always from knifecenter
KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16" Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
Don
State College PA
Apr 15, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
I like it.
Defensive carry, backup, low risk scenarios. The knife is completely solid. Razor sharp out of the box. Sheath is pretty good. Fits well forward of the hip on either side, very easy to access. No complaints. I have the large TDI as well as this one. This one is much easier to carry forward of the hip, however the large TDI definitely has its place. I use each of them depending on where I'm going.
KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16" Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
Tyler Se
San Diego
Mar 26, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Great self defense knife. Would buy again and recommend to others. Tyler
KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16" Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
Rjk Jr
Illinois
Aug 05, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Always prepared
I stumbled on this just browsing K Bar to see what I could buy that I don't need. I am not law enforcement or military but thought this would be a great addition to an EDC. Hides away great under a shirt or light jacket, deployment is quick and easy. the detent on the sheath is just right, not to lose or tight. The belt clip is well made, stays put. Quality is excellent, very sharp as it comes. Get one you won' regret it. Always prepared.
KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16" Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
Tracker
San Jose, CA
Mar 30, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
KA-BAR TDI Knife
The ability to wear it exposed and mounted on one's liner belt is a definite plus. The curved feature makes it comfortable to wear virtually unnoticed all shift. Overall, this is a very well thought-out design. The blade could be a little sharper, but it is still going to do what you need it to do. I strongly recommend this to any LEO or anyone working in that type of field.
KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16" Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
Denny M
Henderson,NC
Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Awesome knife
A great knife. Very Sharp and the finish on the knife is good. Easy to carry and can be concealed very easy.
KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16" Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
Brian
Ireland
Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Weight, Finish
Cons: None
A++ Knife arrived promptly in mint condition good handel
A++ Knife arrived promptly in mint condition good handel
KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16" Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
Kevin
Houston, Delaware
Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great everyday knife
Small last ditch knife to be carried everyday, everywhere. Well made, sharp and well worth the money.
KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16" Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
John C
Detroit, Michigan
Feb 21, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great for self protection. It can be easily placed on my duty belt for easy access.
KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16" Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
Drew E
Vidor, TX
Mar 21, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Perfect
My KA-BAR is exactly what I have been looking for. Thank you so much and the next time I buy a knife it will be from "KnifeCenter.com"
KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16" Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
Pad
PNW
Jul 29, 2019
Pros: None
Cons: None
Surprisingly rad.
Carried it for a long time in NC as my main EDC, held up to a lot of abuse and I still have it. Don't carry it anymore because Seattle thinks fixed blades are more dangerous than the gun I carry... Great price, ok steel, does knife stuff well.
KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16" Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
American Chopper
Kansas City, MO
Mar 16, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great Self Defense Knife
I've carried this knife for several years now, as my self defense tool. Thank God, I haven't had to use it yet. The knife rides very comfortably in the upward position. At times, I forget that it's even there. Over the years, the retention of the sheath as gotten kinda loose, but that's ok, it just makes the knife easier to grab. It feels great in the hand, the handle is very comfortable and the blade i very sharp. I would trust my life to this thing.
KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16" Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
Deanna
Canton, Ohio
Apr 07, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
I really love this knife. It is comfortable enough to wear all day. Excellent design- perfect for self defense. I am very happy with this purchase!
KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16" Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
Josemar S
Londrina, Other
Jan 03, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Finish
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, None
Nice
Really nice..
KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16" Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
Eric
Louisville
Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Another tool for defense
As an officer I have carried one for years on my class B duty belt. Finally after several years I have purchased another for my class A. It is an added level of peace of mind to coming home after my shift. Compact,durable, light weight and concealable on my inner belt. No one knows I have it unless I need it! I have used it several times in emergency situations and not had fumble for my pocket knife. It keeps it's edge!
KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16" Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
Scott M. T
Brunswick, Oh
May 16, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great for Law Enforcement
Low profile, fits great with a duty belt on, easy and quick to remove from sheath. A fellow officer recommended it, overall a great knife!
KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16" Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
Bj
AZ
Jun 10, 2008
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
I purchased this knife to be a stealthy self defense backup to my sidearm.
I purchased this knife to be a stealthy self defense backup to my sidearm. Although I have never had to use it, the blade is sharp and the design has a positive retention feel to it. If you carry a sidearm, I highly recommend this knife (along with some training) as a backup.
KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16" Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
Gotjujitsu
Angier,NC
Sep 02, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
great knife
Great knife for personal protection ,the handle fits great in your hand, the sheath and belt clip hold the knife tight to your belt for quick and easy access. The overall quality of this knife is grade A,thanks KA-BAR,and thanks Knife Center for your fast delivery and great customer service !
KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16" Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
Logan
Las Vegas
Jan 02, 2013
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
perfect edc
Sharp out of the box. Is comfortable and can go unnoticed if worn under a t-shirt. Perfect for an edc fixed blade. Definitely not for rough use though, designed for slicing.
KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16" Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles
4 out of 5
Brock
Wisconsin
Sep 24, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great Backup Knife
Great backup knife to wear on your weak side. Blade was super sharp right out of the package, and the knife and sheath were both made of quality materials. This knife conceals well under a tshirt and can be worn comfortably all day. I'm glad I bought it.
KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16" Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles
4 out of 5
Ricky
Alma, GA
Aug 26, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
Good Product
I purchased this knife for my son who is a police officer. He wanted to use it as a weapon retention knife and carry it on his duty belt. The knife was not very sharp when I received it but it was easy to sharpen. It took a great edge. The blade's black powdercoat was somewhat fragile. Overall, this is a good product.
KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16" Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles
4 out of 5
Name Withheld
NEVADA
Jul 24, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
I am in law enforcement, I wear this behind my magazine pouches.of course I haven't had to use it, but I can see it as a good option for weapon retention, it deploys easily but stays locked in place with no fear of it falling out, it's very comfortable on the belt and does not dig into my stomach even when sitting. blade needs to be sharper though, it's ok for shipping, but when you get it, you will want it razor sharp. this is not a stabbing weapon as the blade is too short to reach vitals, it's a slasher so you want the edge SHARP!
KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16" Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles
4 out of 5
Anthony K.
MI
Nov 10, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Good value, great knife.
I was impressed with the quality of the blade and handle, for the price. I was interested to see that the design of the sheath is such that is actually separates intentionally when the knife is inserted or removed, which makes me wonder how snugly it will continue to hold the knife over time. I am not in law enforcement, but I like this knife for EDC and actually intend to try it out on a deer next week.
KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16" Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles
4 out of 5
James P
Aus
Nov 15, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Finish, None
Great little knife
Bought it for fun to see what an American-style self-defense knife would feel like. I'm pleasantly surprised by the sheath and how it rides snug against the body, and it can be worn and accessed from multiple positions. The shape of the knife is very comfortable, but the factory edge needed some touching up. If you wear this for its intended purpose I'd suppose you want it as sharp as possible.
KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16" Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles
4 out of 5
Double Deuce
Illinois
Mar 24, 2010
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
great backup to a backup
Its a great knife, came razor sharp out of the box! great concealability. i keep mine just above my left leg both on and off duty as I am right-handed for shooting. love the angle between the blade and the handle, makes all the movements and strikes much more natural. The sheath is sturdy and so far, durable. love the interchangeable belt attachments, just be careful to put all the pieces back in the correct order. Only drawback is I wish the holster had a greater grip on the knife requiring more lbs of pull to get the knife out from the holster...I sometimes worry the knife would fall out during a physical struggle during work.
KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16" Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles
4 out of 5
Josesandos
des moines iowa
Jul 19, 2010
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Finish, Materials, Sheath/Scabbard
Its exactly what i wanted. With my frame of body though it does rub a little harsh at times, but i will be carrying this knife and others like it for sometime.
KA-BAR 1480 TDI Law Enforcement Knife 2-5/16" Black Plain Blade, Zytel Handles
4 out of 5
Barry
Louisiana
Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Nice knife for the price
Use as edc in sling pack. Very sharp out the box