Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR 3050 MULE Heavy-Duty Folder 3.875" Plain Clip Point Blade, Black Zytel Handles

KA-BAR 3050 MULE Heavy-Duty Folder 3.875" Plain Clip Point Blade, Black Zytel Handlesrated 4.800 stars out of 5 (20 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
KA-BAR 3050 MULE Heavy-Duty Folder 3.875 inch Plain Clip Point Blade, Black Zytel Handles

 

Price: $48.95

Save $15.91 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR 3050 MULE Heavy-Duty Folder 3.875" Plain Clip Point Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John Rodriguez
bronx NY
May 10, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
work knife isn't good enough for a mule
I have 4 mules all in diffrent handles and blade types and these knifes are the real deal. I have put such a work load on these knifes and they just keep giving. I have cut, sliced, split, chopped, stabbed, and pryed with these work horses, and never has 1 failed on me. I went as far as hammering one into a tree and stood on it to hang my bag and it still works like new. Your a fool if you don't take one of these where ever you go!!!
KA-BAR 3050 MULE Heavy-Duty Folder 3.875" Plain Clip Point Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brian W
PA
Oct 17, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Awesome!
This knife rocks! Razor sharp and hefty enough to handle any task. It is a heavy knife but nothing unmanageable. Only downside is the clip which is extremely tight but it can be easily bent into a better shape. Get one!
KA-BAR 3050 MULE Heavy-Duty Folder 3.875" Plain Clip Point Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom
Europe
Jun 26, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Excellent heavy-duty folder
This is basically a large, fairly heavy backlock folder with a very ergonomic handle and a literally razor-sharp 4" blade. The blade can handle just about any task. Very strong (thick spine) but still a wicked cutter thanks to the hollow grind profile. Torx screws allow quick disassembly. One-handed opening is easy and fully ambidextrous. Maybe a little overkill for urban EDC but very handy for anyone who needs a solid, reliable folder. Also perfect for outdoor tasks/survival. Good workmanship, everything is made to tight tolerances and the lock is very secure. Much better than one would expect from a $45 product and really puts to shame many a lot more expensive knives out there. Comes with a versatile sheath but I prefer to carry this knife clipped to my pocket. While big and relatively heavy for a folder it will still fit inside a pocket pretty nicely. The only (minor) downside is that the clip is a bit too tight, but this can be fixed very easily. This knife has now pretty much replaced the Spyderco Endura 4 w/ Wave (my EDC for the last 3 years) on outdoor trips and travels. Which speaks for itself - I don't think you will find a better outdoor/heavy duty folder in any price range.
KA-BAR 3050 MULE Heavy-Duty Folder 3.875" Plain Clip Point Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Greg
East coast N Fl
Feb 11, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath, None
This is really a mule
I use this as a work knife meaning I abuse it totally. Everything a knife was not meant to do +everything it was. It is big, heavy and tough. This isn't an EDC this is a work knife. It's as tough as a fixed blade but more compact. The handle is comfortable, lock back secure and AUS8 blade steel holds an edge and is easy to sharpen. I wouldn't consider this a tactical knife so why the black blade. It just scratches off and looks like hell. A nice brushed satin would keep the bllade looking better under abuse. I prefer a drop point but they have chosen not to offer that. Not sure about the sheath sometimes l use it most times it it clipped I my pocket. Oh well still a great knife.
KA-BAR 3050 MULE Heavy-Duty Folder 3.875" Plain Clip Point Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dennis
El Paso
Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great knife
Great knife. Stays pretty sharp and tough as nails.
KA-BAR 3050 MULE Heavy-Duty Folder 3.875" Plain Clip Point Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alien Mask
Phoenix, AZ
Feb 19, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Monster folder
This is one big folder. The handle is just huge. It's great looking and well worth the price. Take care with this blade or you'll be called stumpy in no time.
KA-BAR 3050 MULE Heavy-Duty Folder 3.875" Plain Clip Point Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kp
Africa
Sep 07, 2019
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Man Size Folder
Been carrying one of these attached to the shoulder strap of a work bag for around fifteen years now. Tough as nails, extremely useful and just a great piece of equipment. The heft is comfortable and the weight suits me. Those under 6' and 200lbs may find it an awkward carry and would probably find the G10 Mule more usable, but for me this is exactly right. I've just had another one delivered at home and looking forward to getting back from the desert to start using it.
KA-BAR 3050 MULE Heavy-Duty Folder 3.875" Plain Clip Point Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
D.Wade
villa rica,Ga
Sep 05, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Sheath, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Weight, None
The kabar mule was everything I expected the service was great at affordable price.
KA-BAR 3050 MULE Heavy-Duty Folder 3.875" Plain Clip Point Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Spt
Indiana
Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
KA-BAR 3050 MULE Heavy-Duty Folder
This knife has a good feel and is well balanced. Blade is sharp and has stayed sharp since purchase. It has a substantial heft while not being overly heavy. I use this knife for just about anything you could think of a use for and the pocket clip makes it very handy to keep with me at all times. Doubt I'll use the sheath but it also appears well made. The ambidextrous thumb knobs make it easy to open one handed with either hand. All in all this knife lives up to the KaBar name and will get lots of use.
KA-BAR 3050 MULE Heavy-Duty Folder 3.875" Plain Clip Point Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eric
Oslo, Minnesota
Aug 06, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: None
Absolute best
Finally, a folder that does not compromise or make any concessions to the "it's too heavy" whiners. This is the very best folding knive available, and I would GLADLY put it up against a Strider, SOG, Cold Steel, etc. in any head-to-head test you can think of. This knife will outperform it's competitors costing even 10X as much money. Heavy duty all steel construction, massive pivot pin and lockback, full back spacer and a razor sharp blade. For 45 bucks, you can't ask for anything more. Buy this knife!!
KA-BAR 3050 MULE Heavy-Duty Folder 3.875" Plain Clip Point Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tristan
europe
Mar 10, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
great tuff tool, sharp as a b******
KA-BAR 3050 MULE Heavy-Duty Folder 3.875" Plain Clip Point Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lloyd B
Edmond, Oklahoma
Aug 07, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Great Knife for a Great Price
I purchased this knife for my oldest son who is in the USMC and deployed. When it came in for me to ship to him (Knife Center ships to APO but I had a unique situation to deal with) I was so impressed with it I ordered two more, one for me and one for my youngest son, who is also a Marine. All three of us are very happy. The knife has a great heft and balance when you hold it. It is sturdy, but easy to open with one hand and comes with a nice heavy duty nylon sheath. We are all three very happy with our knives and have no suggestions for improvement or change.
KA-BAR 3050 MULE Heavy-Duty Folder 3.875" Plain Clip Point Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Johnny Vega
Feb 17, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
what a knife
its heavy strong and cuts like a chain saw,not to mention a top quality sheath
KA-BAR 3050 MULE Heavy-Duty Folder 3.875" Plain Clip Point Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rick
Lacoochee Florida
Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Sheath, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Weight, None
Ka-Bar quality
I was a little worried about this knife being made in Taiwan. However this knife is a Ka-Bar. It holds its edge and is a very strong blade and I am very happy with it
KA-BAR 3050 MULE Heavy-Duty Folder 3.875" Plain Clip Point Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lou
ny,NY
Mar 22, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
BY FAR THE BEST FOLDER EVER MADE
I have beaten this knife past hell and back and it is the strongest folder that has ever been placed in my pocket. It holds up to beatings from splitting wood and chopping saplings, and still is razor sharp from the factory. My Mule barely even has any of the black coating on the blade. I love this knife!
KA-BAR 3050 MULE Heavy-Duty Folder 3.875" Plain Clip Point Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Johnny Vega
back from iraq
Sep 17, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
update...
ok i had my mule for almost a year now and after abuse recived everyday the lock failed and the back spacer fell out, but to be honest i beat this knife to hell and back... hammered it and used it as a throwing knife and every thing it shouldnt be used for, but any way testing my luck i mailed it back to ka-bar and guess what... they overnighted me another one so ho-raaa to ka-bar
KA-BAR 3050 MULE Heavy-Duty Folder 3.875" Plain Clip Point Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jon P
Tennessee
Dec 04, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Sheath, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
GREAT ITEM!
Being a former Marine I know my knives, the KA- BAR has always been there for me, great for defense, and great as a tool, I recommend this product highly.
KA-BAR 3050 MULE Heavy-Duty Folder 3.875" Plain Clip Point Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Justin
Florida
Dec 06, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: Blade Material, None
Great knife
Good sturdy knife. I have owned it for a couple of months now and it has performed well with daily tasks. The only complaint is the edge on the knife. It came razor sharp out of the box but I started noticing chips in the edge after about a month. If you don't mind some touch up sharpening every couple weeks it is an excellent knife for the price.
KA-BAR 3050 MULE Heavy-Duty Folder 3.875" Plain Clip Point Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mark S.
Ohio
Feb 13, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: None
Great knife!
I believe this is a great knife for the money and there are not a lot of knives in this catagory, especially for the money. This is not an EDC knife. It is a large and heavy knife. If you've asked yourself, "what is a good folding knife that will feel like a fixed blade or be a good back work-knife if my fixed blade breaks when in the field, this is that knife! It is very comfortable to hold and has a great handle in general. It has a pocket clip, but also a great sheath. For the money and right purpose, this is a great work knife. This knife is named appropriately as "mule"... it is a good work knife.
KA-BAR 3050 MULE Heavy-Duty Folder 3.875" Plain Clip Point Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jay
TN
Jan 08, 2019
Pros: Sheath, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Weight
Loved by the Mulitary
This is huge. Maybe the included sheath should have been a clue. I like big knives, but I would strap on a fixed blade before I pocketed this one. The knife itself is well-made and I believe as strong as any of Cold Steel's folders. If you want this megagiganticous folder, eat your Wheaties, go to the gym, and order one.