Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR 3072 Warthog Folder III 3.125" Plain Drop Point Blade, Black G10 Handles

KA-BAR 3072 Warthog Folder III 3.125" Plain Drop Point Blade, Black G10 Handlesrated 4.381 stars out of 5 (21 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
9
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
KA-BAR 3072 Warthog Folder III 3.125 inch Plain Drop Point Blade, Black G10 Handles

 

Price: $15.95

Save $3.75 (19%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR 3072 Warthog Folder III 3.125" Plain Drop Point Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Connor C.
Paola, KS
May 09, 2012
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Wicked!
I love this knife! It came wicked sharp right out of the box and felt like great quality for the price. I used this to cut up some boxes and it held an edge great but i decided to touch it up and after about 5 minutes it was shaving hair with ease. Great knife for the price!
KA-BAR 3072 Warthog Folder III 3.125" Plain Drop Point Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
K.A.M.P.E.R
Boonies!
Oct 18, 2010
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
A brilliant item.
This knife is (overall) an excellent peice of equipment- that can be obtained at a reasonable and superb price. Any person operating on finding a knife with the characteristics of 'Reliable' - 'Simple' - and 'Efficent' will certainly have their attention drawn to this product. It is a fine specimen for Everday-Carry use and will accomplish all tasks that can be thought of- wether it be self defense, labor work, or rough outdoorsman craft. An amazing deal and prospect for a small cutting tool- no downfalls or flaws in the product from my perspective of use. I recommend it highly to all.
KA-BAR 3072 Warthog Folder III 3.125" Plain Drop Point Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Coyote Longrider
Wyoming
Jul 23, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Superb Knife at a Great Price
This knife, while not pretty, is a work horse. I like the geometry of the blade for slicing and the blade is broad which makes for great digging in planted areas or while camping. The 1.4116 steel while not a designer steel is a very workable steel. It has a very fine grain to it and therefore takes and holds a nice edge. The edge is ground very thin and is very sharp. I carry this knife everyday. You can beat the snot outa it and it will keep workin' for you. It has a G-10 handle that is comfortable and reall fills your hand so you can bear down on it. Also opens very easily and can be adjusted.
KA-BAR 3072 Warthog Folder III 3.125" Plain Drop Point Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jenner
louisiana
Mar 18, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
never a better way to spend 20 bucks
this knife has all u need. super strong build, sharp blade, quick deployment, utility and tactility, g-10, enough said. for the money u cant go wrong.
KA-BAR 3072 Warthog Folder III 3.125" Plain Drop Point Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Abe C.
Philadelphia PA
Jan 26, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Bang for your buck! no, your KaBar.
I've carried one of these daily for 3+ years. It's a real solid knife that is easy to maintain and really takes more than average everyday use like a champ. I've used it to start fires, open bottles, and cut a few things too. I highly recommend this knife.
KA-BAR 3072 Warthog Folder III 3.125" Plain Drop Point Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Natural-Outlaw
WI
May 04, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Hard to Beat for the Price
This is an excellent buy for the money. The 1.4116 stainless steel is adequate for everyday use. The edge is ground very thin so as to give a VERY sharp edge. The G-10 handle has some heft to it and really fills one's hand. There is absolutely no play in the blade and handle. The blade shape makes for a great all-around utility knife. I use this around the homestead for opening feed bags, cutting twine etc. or anything else that comes up, and also for getting in corners at times when furniture refinishing. I could also see using this blade for dressing and skinning small game. You would be hard pressed to find a knife that functions so well for such a reasonable price. Oh yeah, I used the other day for cutting burrs outa my Australian Terrier's fur. Worked great.
KA-BAR 3072 Warthog Folder III 3.125" Plain Drop Point Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike K
Mission Viejo, Ca
Apr 16, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
great performance for under $15
i love this knife. i have been collecting knives for about 10 years. i lost a lum benchmade then i recently lost a spyderco sage 2... so i decided to carry a cheap knife for a bit. well i use my knife everyday from light to moderate use. the one thing i love about this knife is the cheap price. if i lose it, no biggie... with that being said these knives are made with 8cr13mov for the blade steel. this is the Chinese version of 420j2 steel. most knife enthusiast stay away from any knife made with 420 blade steel let alone the cheaper Chinese version of a crappy blade steel. i would normally never look twice at a knife like this however ya gotta hope and figure a knife company that has been around for over 100 years has gotta have some standards for quality too be around that long right? i have noticed the knife does not hold an edge as long as aus 8 steel or 440 or some of the other lower end but suitable knife steels but... a couple strokes on a fine diamond hone and its RIDICULOUSLY sharp! so the trade off if fine with me. if your proficient with a hone you should give this knife a shot. the design is pretty decent..kinda clunky but the g10 scales are pretty nice and grip well. the lock up is way solid! its no sebenza but i feel very confident while working with it.if your looking for a edc beater blade that is a VERY solid performer you will love this knife.
KA-BAR 3072 Warthog Folder III 3.125" Plain Drop Point Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Elliott K
Honolulu, Hi
Mar 05, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath, None
Hi Knife Center, I received this knife on 3-6-16, and it was delivered in the mail box via usps. There was damage to the exterior of the box which had a large whole in the front. The Brown packing paper inside was coming out of the box . My wife picked it up from the box as I was not at home at the time. The good thing is that the box containing the knife was not damaged and the knife when opened was good nice small size edc for sure. The blade was sharp and the G10 handles looked with black colored linear. I would advise that some one wanting a small edc dependable, affordable, and strong buy it right away. There would be no regrets for this purchase. Elliott
KA-BAR 3072 Warthog Folder III 3.125" Plain Drop Point Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mean Freddie
Racine, WI
Jul 02, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Excelent knife-Excellent Price
An excellent knife that fills the hand well and takes an excellent edge. I have used it on small game and various chores. The G-10 handle fills the hand well and is durable. I have had many more expensive knives, but this is my EDC and back-up camping knife. Hard to beat the price and you can beat this knife and it will keep goin'.
KA-BAR 3072 Warthog Folder III 3.125" Plain Drop Point Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nicholas G
Fort Benning, Ga
Jul 07, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Excellent knife!
Mine was razor sharp out of the box and held that edge well with nearly everyday use. Sharpens easily and has a great all round feel. Would recommend to anyone and you can't beat the price!
KA-BAR 3072 Warthog Folder III 3.125" Plain Drop Point Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
David Brimmeier
Templeton, Ca.
May 31, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Ka-Bar deal
beautiful...I just didn't expect CHINA on the blade
KA-BAR 3072 Warthog Folder III 3.125" Plain Drop Point Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Matt
Boise
Jan 03, 2016
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
Fantastic knife
I never thought I'd be giving a 4 star rating to a $15 Chinese knife. This knife has become my everyday carry. It opens easier than most assist blades, but when opened the blade is stiff and strong. There is no play or wobble. The steel holds an edge well. I own three now.
KA-BAR 3072 Warthog Folder III 3.125" Plain Drop Point Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Peter L
Singapore, Other
Aug 04, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Blade Material, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Weight, Ease of Opening
What an ugly pretty knife
I bought this as I liked the shape. The warthog name suits it as it does resemble an a10 warthog plane shape with the raised cockpit. Sharp out of the box, this knife is non adjustable tip down carry. I love the shape when folded and the thumb studs are further back. The quality is very good and gimping around the knife doesn't hurt the hands, but the gimping on the blade is not very handy due to the recessed blade in the frame. Nonetheless it feels food in the hand, and grip is excellent. The warthog doesn't snap open, I hope it will in time with use, a quick wrist flick does help. I would prefer a beefier lock since the blade is so far from the handle, but this thing looks beautiful, ugly and menacing at the same time. For the price, you can't go wrong if you need a tool knife that looks a little different.
KA-BAR 3072 Warthog Folder III 3.125" Plain Drop Point Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
David Brimmeier
Templeton, Ca.
May 31, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Ka-Bar deal
beautiful...I just didn't expect CHINA on the blade
KA-BAR 3072 Warthog Folder III 3.125" Plain Drop Point Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Edc 300
1000 Islands, NY
Jan 03, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Ugly & Great
No wiggle in the blade but it's uglier than a sinner at a church alter. It's a solid knife and you CANNOT beat the Knife Center price on this ugly knife.
KA-BAR 3072 Warthog Folder III 3.125" Plain Drop Point Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dr. Jkc
Queens, NY
Apr 18, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Nice, simple, and well made especially for the price.
I am tending to like smaller blades for faster use of the wrist in fighting styles and this one turns on a dime!
KA-BAR 3072 Warthog Folder III 3.125" Plain Drop Point Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bill J.G.
Hawaii
Jan 31, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Handle Material
Excellent Knife Takes a while to get used to
Pretty decent pocket knife I use it for fishing and around the house the thumb stud feels pretty stiff at first but oiling the opening mechanism makes it draw out fast!. The handle doesn't feel that great but not bad. The thing I'm most impressed by is the blade its very sharp,unique shape and quality is awesome for being made in china. so overall I do recommend this knife it will serve well.
KA-BAR 3072 Warthog Folder III 3.125" Plain Drop Point Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Steve B.
Swansea, MA
Dec 03, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
A lot of knife for a little money!
This is a nice little beater knife great for rough work since it is tough and inexpensive. Out of the box I found it needed sharpening and the deployment was slow. Gave it a quick sharpening and a couple of drops of lubricant and she cuts fine and deploys quick and smooth. This is my #1 hard use pocket knife.
KA-BAR 3072 Warthog Folder III 3.125" Plain Drop Point Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Spencer P
Houston,Texas
Feb 13, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
all right knife
I went out in the woods with this knife and it did ok. out of the box not very sharp but after i sharpened it it was better. It isnt my favorite knife but its in my top 10
KA-BAR 3072 Warthog Folder III 3.125" Plain Drop Point Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Eugene L.
Mesa, AZ
Apr 06, 2014
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Weight
Worth the wait for the price
I want to be clear with my 3/5 star rating. This is NOT a bad knife, not even close. I ordered this knife from knife center when it was out of stock and it took a rather long time to come in, but even then I still feel that it was worth the wait. Bear in mind the knife is under $20, so obviously we're not expecting some grand blade, but for what you get it's pretty surprising. It's a bit heavier than one may like, though I've carried ZT's for EDC's so weight wasn't a big thing for me. The blade material and sharpness was a slight issue, but a quick sharpen (I use a worksharp) and it worked just great. I usually force myself to use new pocket knives for a minimum of seven days at my job (warehouse job) to get a real feel for it. It has a solid lock up and I like the handle a lot. It's very smooth to open and I haven't had an issue with the pocket clip. Overall again I always come back to price when it comes to cheaper blades. It's not high quality, but it can be a great cheap EDC, and there's no reason no to throw it into a tool bag.
KA-BAR 3072 Warthog Folder III 3.125" Plain Drop Point Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Kv
Phila. Pa.
Jul 03, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Feel, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, None
KCV
Nice and sharp. Solid lock up. Rough around the edges however.