SHOP ALL HOLIDAY SALES! Details

KnifeCenter strives to provide individuals with disabilities access to its products and services, including through an accessible website. If you have questions, comments, or encounter any difficulty in using this site, please e-mail info@knifecenter.com or call - (800) 338-6799

Skip to main content

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to our Cookie Policy.

SHOP ALL HOLIDAY SALES! Details

Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR 5603 The Adventure Parangatang Machete 14-1/8" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown GFN Handles

KA-BAR 5603 The Adventure Parangatang Machete 14-1/8" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown GFN Handles4.462 (13 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
KA-BAR 5603 The Adventure Parangatang Machete 14-1/8 inch Carbon Steel Blade, Brown GFN Handles

 

Price: $73.95

Save $24.99 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR 5603 The Adventure Parangatang Machete 14-1/8" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown GFN Handles
5 out of 5
Tom L
Huntington Beach, Ca
May 19, 2016
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Best deal on Knifecenter
There is no better large chopper available especially for the deal Knifecenter has going. Much heavier duty than I expected and it came scary sharp. Sheath is very basic but this blade is worthy of a custom kydex sheath.
KA-BAR 5603 The Adventure Parangatang Machete 14-1/8" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown GFN Handles
5 out of 5
Williaminnashville
Nashville, TN
Oct 13, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
A serious knife...
I was a bit dubious, as I've had some experiences with similar knife profiles of reputable branding; with less than satisfactory results. And as I took hold of the handle, upon its arrival; noticed a pronounced palm swell that didn't quite feel right...blade heavy to the point where it felt as though it wants to roll forward in the hand. This first impression was quickly assuaged, as this blade heavy feel is clearly designed into the execution of the cut. It lends itself to perform like a much larger, full sized machete. 1" green saps taken in one stroke, with no deformation in blade integrity (despite arriving in near razor sharp condition). The edge stayed keen for the remainder of the tree limbing. The knife cleaned easily with its textured k-coat (type) finish; and a half dozen passes on a 'V' sharpener and was in like new condition. Tough to come up with any significant cons, however; maybe the handle material could lend itself to a tackier purchase...but that is seriously nit-picking. This is a fine piece of Made In the USA kit.
KA-BAR 5603 The Adventure Parangatang Machete 14-1/8" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown GFN Handles
5 out of 5
Ldef
NorthWoods
Apr 09, 2015
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
tougher than tuff!!!
I've been chopping down everything from small shrubs to small trees with this ka-bar! Spring clean up has never been more fun. The blade is a chunk of steel sharpened to almost a razor blade edge. Seriously! BE CAREFUL with this blade! You could easily hack your own leg off with one wrong blow.Owning other Ka-bar I knew this blade was going to be darn good! That's why I bought two right off the bat. My only wish is that they would make a longer version of this exact model. Excellent blade and Excellent Service from Knife Center!!! Thanks! You have gained another loyal customer.
KA-BAR 5603 The Adventure Parangatang Machete 14-1/8" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown GFN Handles
5 out of 5
Antman
Escalon Ca
Mar 16, 2016
Pros: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
great machete, just tennis wrap the handle
This machete a great chopper, especially for its size. I like the shape of the handle, I wrapped mine with a layer of baseball tape then added a leather tennis grip to it and I have no complaints. I highly recommend wrapping the handle if you plan on alot of use. Sheath does suck....
KA-BAR 5603 The Adventure Parangatang Machete 14-1/8" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown GFN Handles
5 out of 5
Tin C
Neck deep in mangroves
Jan 28, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
The steel in question
The steel used in this knife is not 1095, it is 1095 CroVan. It has extra ingredients than plain 1095. It escapes me how that detail is so often missed. 1095 CroVan is the same steel that Cold Steel and Camillus used in the late eighties, which they called "Carbon V", and my Carbon V knives are STILL GOING, after 27 years. If it is tempered properly, at which KaBar is adept, then it is quite tough, with admirable wear resistance. I own several of the small folding knives offered in this steel (there are good reviews on these). They are absolutely incredible for both toughness, and for edge-holding. It batons without apology, and is as tough as a leaf spring. Of course, if you wanted to, virtually all steels can be chipped, and left to rust and ruin. It isn't indestructable, but you would be very hard pressed to do permanent damage KaBar's 1095 CroVan, short of putting it in a dishwasher, or hacking it blade against blade, in which case, you don't need a knife. Thanks, Knife Center, for always having the absolute top of the line available to the discerning cutler.
KA-BAR 5603 The Adventure Parangatang Machete 14-1/8" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown GFN Handles
5 out of 5
B.Wild
Hawaii/Jungles of the Philippines
Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, None
A cut above
First off im very impressed with the 1095 cro-van steel that Kabar uses on the Becker line of knives. Edge retention is outstanding and I was able to get a great polish on the edge using 2000 grit wet sandpaper. I absolutely love this knife, however i must say that the sheath SUCKS BIG TIME!!! I have since made a few kydex sheaths, I say a few because i ended up buying 2 more parangatangs. Yes thats how great of a chopper this Machete is period. I was a little sceptical of the handles geometry at first and had plants on reshaping it by removing the spur, well I'm glad i didn't because I learned that it gave me a tremendous power stroke going from a full grip to a 3 finger grip, kind of like releasing a trigger if you will. So again, the shape and geometry of the handle is great, I'll have to say that the scales suck! They dont suck big time like the sheath, but the plastic scales give this great blade a cheap feel and almost makes it embarrassing to bring it out among my knife culture group. Well with that said I crafted up a few set of wood scales out of leopard wood and the beauty of this machete along with the sheath is now my personal pride. So in conclusion the Parangatang needed a few things addressed, mainly the sheath, however for the price it is a excellent value compared to other knives I've already tested in my search of a Holly Grail woodsman blade such as the Cold Steel sk5 kukri, Ontario kukri (was my favorite), Becker bk21, Tops Armageddon and a bunch of other machete's and large choppers, only knife center knows how much I've spent in search of my Grail woodsman's blade, lol... This is it for me. (for now anyhow, cos I'm always in search, lol)
KA-BAR 5603 The Adventure Parangatang Machete 14-1/8" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown GFN Handles
5 out of 5
Rev D
mint hill, nc
Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
awesome machete
awesome machete. the blade is razor sharp and the balance wonderful. cleared some small trees, hacked up the stumps and the blade is still like it was just sharpened. love the grip of the handle and the heft of the blade.
KA-BAR 5603 The Adventure Parangatang Machete 14-1/8" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown GFN Handles
5 out of 5
Davin
Nunya
Dec 02, 2015
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
True Value
It's one of those purchases that rewards you for doing the research watching reviews, and checking multiple websites for deals before impulsively pulling the trigger. I have three sons and am assembling their "every man must own" kits. I own a few other manufactures more "lofty versions" a ultra expensive Winkler 2 parang, and authentic quality made specimen. This purchase made me realize the short comings of the others, it was humbling. This boogers design is SOO properly executed it makes you wonder why evolution works so slow. I actually love the finish as pineapple, cantaloupe, coconut slide right away from the RAZOR sharp leading edge. If they would've put jimping and quality scales on this, it would've been the most in demand product in class. As we speak I am carving new scales from the most highly figured piece of fiddleback maple you've ever seen. I got mine for $62 on a veterans day sale and couldn't been more satisfied...well the sheath I mean is meh? but I feel I am asking too much. Anybody wanna buy a used Winkler 2 parang?
KA-BAR 5603 The Adventure Parangatang Machete 14-1/8" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown GFN Handles
5 out of 5
Francisco
San Joaquin, CA
May 05, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Nice machete
I recently bought and used this machete. Let me tell you, it cuts really well, has a good weight, the handle is made really well. Only down side for me was the sheath but it does the job.
KA-BAR 5603 The Adventure Parangatang Machete 14-1/8" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown GFN Handles
4 out of 5
Wayne
Elma,Wa
Oct 07, 2015
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material
Great chopper
This blade came very sharp,chopped down several 3&4 inch trees,with no problem,blade still sharp.did not care for handle to well as it is pretty slippery.all in all very good product.also knife center you guys are awesome.
KA-BAR 5603 The Adventure Parangatang Machete 14-1/8" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown GFN Handles
4 out of 5
Woodsman
Washington State
May 22, 2016
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Excellent Bargain
Excellent machete for a great price. The steel is great for both light and heavy work. I use this machete for bush wacking in the Pacific north west and splitting larger firewood into kindling. It can take a razor sharp edge, it comes with one out of the box. The black texture coating on the blade shows no sign of wearing off after a year of work. The only draw back is the handle. It's a pretty good design but is too thin and small for my hands. I am happy they made the handle removable, this allowed me to make my own. I went with a micarta wrap that mimics the Condor golok. The sheath is functional but needs improvement. After all is said, if you can make your own handle and sheath, this machete will be perfect. The actual blade/steel has proven it's worth and is a bargain for the price. 4 stars because of the handle and sheath.
KA-BAR 5603 The Adventure Parangatang Machete 14-1/8" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown GFN Handles
4 out of 5
Dieselwrench
USA
Jan 04, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Weight, Finish
Cons: Handle Material, None
Great blade
Out of the box hair shaving sharp. For a blade this long that is really nice. Sheath is not the greatest but is serviceable. Used the knife to clear out vines growing in a tree with leather gloves on. I found the handle material allows the knife to turn in the hand too easily. I have large hands and have no issues holding onto the handle, but the handle is too slick in stock form. Overall this is a great knife for a good price with the usual great Knife Center service.
KA-BAR 5603 The Adventure Parangatang Machete 14-1/8" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown GFN Handles
1 out of 5
Dave
BC
May 28, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Material
Why 1095??????
Why did Kabar use 1095 for this long hacking blade, look 1095 is a default steel for many companies because it does one thing well, holds an edge! Most people don't know how to sharpen a knife and so 1095 will keep the factory edge forever, but it is a terrible steel if you plan to actual seriously use your knife, as it is not tough. It is very hard and brittle. I just finished restoring my friends 20 year old blackjack halo made of 1095, it was rusted and pitted, had chips all along the edge and the tip was broken. If you use your knife to the max get something a little tougher, D2 A2 1075 anything but 1095, it rusts like crazy and breaks. And for this length blade 1075 or 1050 with a spring temper would be a better option!