Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR ESEE BK14 Becker Eskabar Knife 3.25" 1095 Cro-Van Carbon Steel Blade

KA-BAR ESEE BK14 Becker Eskabar Knife 3.25" 1095 Cro-Van Carbon Steel Bladerated 4.346 stars out of 5 (26 reviews)
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
4
3 star
3
2 star
1
1 star
1
KA-BAR ESEE BK14 Becker Eskabar Knife 3.25 inch 1095 Cro-Van Carbon Steel Blade

 

Price: $49.95

Save $16.23 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR ESEE BK14 Becker Eskabar Knife 3-1/4" 1095 Cro-Van Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Santos
Central California
Sep 30, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
best all around knife
I own the Becker necker and the eskabar, both great quality knives. I've always liked the iszula handles so I bought the eskabar with the g-10 handles. What a difference those make I own more expensive knives that don't perform like the these two. Plus made in the U.S.A can't be beat. Also knife center great to deal with only place I get my knives.
KA-BAR ESEE BK14 Becker Eskabar Knife 3-1/4" 1095 Cro-Van Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Acidburn
The Oasis
Nov 06, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Fit the spacer
I fit the micarta handle spacer, worked out very nicely, i used a belt sander, you could do it by hand but it will take some fiddling. If you dont mind doing the fillting this is a very nice knife in many ways, you do need the micarta scales or the G10, not enough to hold on to otherwise. Consider the D2 blade and fix it up the same, what a great value. Stay sharp, Acid
KA-BAR ESEE BK14 Becker Eskabar Knife 3-1/4" 1095 Cro-Van Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Haze240
Coquitlam, B.C
Mar 15, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Perfect hiking companion
What a great knife, from a couple of great designers. Blade was sharp out of the box, definitely requires a paracord wrap to be comfortable for extended use. I've used this to pry fatwood and dry tinder from stumps, tip showed no damage at all. I've used it with a firesteel and to baton branches. Edge holds up great, and the coating is still perfect. I will be buying more of these for the glove box and B.o.b.
KA-BAR ESEE BK14 Becker Eskabar Knife 3-1/4" 1095 Cro-Van Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
A Knife
San Francisco
Nov 01, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Finish
Cons: None
My new favorite
Razor sharp out of the box, great balance,shape,design & w/ the micarta handles (designed for the izula) it's super comfortable in the hand. Sheath is perfect w/ lots of carry options. I like the blade better than the izula for half price. Eskabar is a great knife, I strongly recommend this tool to anyone considering it.
KA-BAR ESEE BK14 Becker Eskabar Knife 3-1/4" 1095 Cro-Van Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Palerider
Rocky Mountains
Nov 23, 2012
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Material
Cons: None
EDC of choice
Love this knife enough that bought a second in case I lose it. Not a fan of coated blades so I stripped it and put a patina on it. Used it with a paracord wrap on the handle for a long time, but eventually got the scales for it and really like the ergonomics. Carry it around town, on the farm, and to work. 1095 CroVan is great steel. Strong, easy to sharpen, and holds an edge. Flat grind drop point design is tough, yet very slicey. Great for bushcraft and utility chores. Excellent value for the money.
KA-BAR ESEE BK14 Becker Eskabar Knife 3-1/4" 1095 Cro-Van Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Veteran 1/12Th Cav
Muldrow, Ok
Aug 26, 2019
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
One and only
This is the only neck knife I own, the sheath works!
KA-BAR ESEE BK14 Becker Eskabar Knife 3-1/4" 1095 Cro-Van Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brandon
South Carolina
Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Kadar/ ESEE Eskabar
This knife is excellent! I was using a folder as my edc, but wanted to switch to a fixed blade. I looked at the ESEE Izula, Izula 2, and the becker necker bk11. I finally found this one, and it is perfect. I did buy the handle slabs for it, because I have large hands, but I am very pleased with every inch of this blade. I am proud to own it, and you will not regret buying one.
KA-BAR ESEE BK14 Becker Eskabar Knife 3-1/4" 1095 Cro-Van Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Leonard P
Louisville, Ky
Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
EDC all day everyday
I own the Eskabar, the D'Eskabar, and now 2 Eskabar's with the serrated combo edge. I carry one or two of them daily. The BK14 has a powder coat finish. The D2 version has no finish and the BK14SG has a slick flat black finish.The BK14 doesn't rattle in the sheath. The other two models do. Retention levels vary from sheath to sheath but the coating seems to have some affect on retention. All of them came to me razor sharp. The available coatings seem to be on par with the Ka-Bar Neck Knife, which I took into the ocean without any resulting rust. Great value for anyone wanting a EDC knife. Buy the scales if you have bigger hands.
KA-BAR ESEE BK14 Becker Eskabar Knife 3-1/4" 1095 Cro-Van Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael
Coppell, Tx
Sep 06, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Great knife - poor sheath - get the handles
Bought for everyday carrying. So far this knife has been excellent. Arrived sharp and factory new. Nice people at KC make ordering easy, love having a knowledge person to talk with about knife details prior to ordering. Sheath - do not like the hard plastic sheath it came with, made a leather one myself that has been working well, plenty of leather options on ebay and online for this Becker line of knives. I choose to purchase the 2 pack of handles for this knife. Glad I did, simple, work well and fit well in my hands. Becker BK line is a good value for me own 2 so far, planning a third.
KA-BAR ESEE BK14 Becker Eskabar Knife 3-1/4" 1095 Cro-Van Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
C Lashka
Austin TX
Feb 10, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Awesome edc
Love this knife. Razor sharp out of the box. Sheath has good retention. I paracord wrapped the handle and wear it horizontally in the small of my back or just carry it in my pocket. I wish the handle and blade were each about 1/4" longer but it's still great. I've cut meat on the grill and whittled stick with it. Stays sharp. Good knife.
KA-BAR ESEE BK14 Becker Eskabar Knife 3-1/4" 1095 Cro-Van Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steven H
Sierra Vista, AZ
Mar 14, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Amazing
This knife has become my EDC. I use it on everything.
KA-BAR ESEE BK14 Becker Eskabar Knife 3-1/4" 1095 Cro-Van Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ben S
Vermont
Dec 27, 2012
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Excellent knife!
This is a fantastice little work horse that can handle a ton of tasks that you can throw at it. And for the price, it is a fantastic EDC. It has a variety of sheath options from aftermarket fols as well. Excellent buy.
KA-BAR ESEE BK14 Becker Eskabar Knife 3-1/4" 1095 Cro-Van Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charles R
Normal, Il
May 25, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Super-carry blade.
I did a fair amount of research on this knife before my purchase. The press out there on it was mostly good, aside from the sheath issues with the first run of them, and I decided to go with it. I truly couldn't be happier with this blade however. It's light, tough, and handy as can be. It hasn't left my neck, except for swimming and showering, since I came home to find my box-o'-knives sitting on the front porch. I work outdoors nearly every day of my work-week and my Eskabar comes right along with me. It's nice to know I've got a blade close at hand that can handle trimming brush and any cutting task I throw at it, all in a package with negligible weight and won't catch and hold me by the belt as I hop in and out of vehicles and on and off of machinery. This is my first Ka-Bar and I'm rather pleased with the quality, at least on the BK&T front, and as always Knifecenter is prompt and user-friendly.
KA-BAR ESEE BK14 Becker Eskabar Knife 3-1/4" 1095 Cro-Van Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cristiano N
Pernambuco, Brazil
Aug 14, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Good knife
Great base to a small personal emergency kit. Wrapped rubber ranger bands around the sheath, and put inside it a small compass, an LED flashlight, sail needles, bankline, chlorine pills. Weighs almos nothing around the neck, so can be used even during sleeping hours. Just love it!
KA-BAR ESEE BK14 Becker Eskabar Knife 3-1/4" 1095 Cro-Van Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris G.
Del Rio, Texas
Sep 16, 2012
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Great knife
Nice little knife that I fixed horizontally on my belt for EDC. It's sharp right outta the box and a good strong little size. My only complaint is that it does not have convex edge vi knew this buying the knife but that is my only complaint. I'd buy another if I lost it but the retention on the sheath is great. I would recommend this knife.
KA-BAR ESEE BK14 Becker Eskabar Knife 3-1/4" 1095 Cro-Van Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
A Knife
San Francisco
Oct 29, 2010
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Great!
Shave worthy out of the box. The weight is just right,not to heavy,not to light I liked Blade better than the IZULA for half the price also I got the micarta handles designed for the IZULA & with slight modification fit perfect adding comfort without adding bulk or weight. The sheath is perfect,tight fit reasonable draw. Its a "Goldilocks" of neckers its just right in all categories. It's small but not to small you could build a shelter with it & dress any game from mice to moose. A beautiful tool to add to any collection. The sheath allows many carry options with a little 550
KA-BAR ESEE BK14 Becker Eskabar Knife 3-1/4" 1095 Cro-Van Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bryan
Mississippi
Jan 01, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great Knife
Purchased to attached to shoulder staps of a back pack. Better than expected. Knife is light, and exceptionally sharp out of the box. Great steel, very strong. Only negative I can find which is VERY ticky is that I wish the scabbard had a saftey strap. I have installed this knife inverted and would like a tad more safety.
KA-BAR ESEE BK14 Becker Eskabar Knife 3-1/4" 1095 Cro-Van Carbon Steel Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mike
Jacksonville, NC
Dec 08, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Best of both.
I was looking hard at the Becker Necker. I also liked the Izula. When I found out they joined forces I was all over it!! This has the blade I wanted with the Izula handle. Everything about this knife is awesome. The only reason I give it 4 out of 5 is the belt clip must be purchased seperate, they should include it. Small complaint I know, but there is no 4.5!
KA-BAR ESEE BK14 Becker Eskabar Knife 3-1/4" 1095 Cro-Van Carbon Steel Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Longknife
Buffalo N.Y.
Feb 28, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Good knife, great price
KA-BAR ESEE BK14 Becker Eskabar Knife 3-1/4" 1095 Cro-Van Carbon Steel Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Nikita
Moscow, Russia
Apr 22, 2012
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Materials, Handle Material
Love this guy
small but handy. some wood cutting with it
KA-BAR ESEE BK14 Becker Eskabar Knife 3-1/4" 1095 Cro-Van Carbon Steel Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Nigel
Denver, Co
Jun 04, 2011
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Solid
Could be sharper out of box, but not a big deal - I can sharpen it up. The black finish is really nice. Sheath is pretty good. Overall great knife for the price.
KA-BAR ESEE BK14 Becker Eskabar Knife 3-1/4" 1095 Cro-Van Carbon Steel Blade
rated 3 stars out of 5
Mason K
cuyahogafalls ohio 44221
Feb 28, 2013
Pros: Finish, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Material, Materials
ok knife
I think its just a cheap coppy of the izula
KA-BAR ESEE BK14 Becker Eskabar Knife 3-1/4" 1095 Cro-Van Carbon Steel Blade
rated 3 stars out of 5
Swedish Knife Connoisseur
Sweden
Dec 13, 2012
Pros: Finish, Handle Material, Materials, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Good knife but could be better quality
This review is for the Eskabar plus the handles. I recommend everyone who buys the Eskabar to buy the handles. In many ways this is the perfect edc survival knife. Strong, lightweight, good materials, comfortable to use, edc-able, decent length of the blade etc. So why does it not get five stars from me? First: the sheath is bulky and heavy and it is quite easy to dull the blade when drawing the knife out of the sheath. Second: the knife arrived dull and with an uneven bevel and I have to rebevel it. I guess I was just unlucky to get a bad apple.
KA-BAR ESEE BK14 Becker Eskabar Knife 3-1/4" 1095 Cro-Van Carbon Steel Blade
rated 3 stars out of 5
D
PA
Nov 22, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Finish
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, None
Not as good as expected.
I expected this knife to be as near to perfect as the other three I own -- the ESEE Izula in 1095, the Kabar Becker Necker in both 1095 Cro-Van and Carbon San-Mai --considering it combined what to me were the best elements: 1) slightly longer blade of the Becker Necker, and (2) the more comfortable handle of the Izula. The initial problem, and the first for me for a Kabar or ESEE knife, was the blade sharpness. The blade was dull. Additionally, about a third of the edge was still covered in the black blade coating. Also, the blade rattles often and loudly in the sheath. Finally, maybe it is because of the dullness of the blade, but the steel of the blade just does not "feel" right. I base this on having owned many knives in the past and when I run my thumb over the blade it is just a little off as if the hardness was inconsistent. I think that someone missed this knife in the Quality Control Department. It was not up to the level of the three other models that I mentioned earlier which arrived razor sharp. I guess it was the luck of the draw, the other two reviewers received realy good knives.
KA-BAR ESEE BK14 Becker Eskabar Knife 3-1/4" 1095 Cro-Van Carbon Steel Blade
rated 2 stars out of 5
Acidburn
The Oasis
Nov 03, 2015
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None
Great knife, optional scales do not fit, missed the true value mark
Potentially the greatest value in it s class, bar none, the fact that the optional ESSEE micarta scales do not fit, not even close craters the review completely. sad but true. They did not deisign the sheath to allow for the Izula 2 scales, only the little dinky standard partial Izula scales, and they do not fit as stated. I dont blame ESSEE for not allowing the bigger Izula 2 scales as would make sense, it would easily over take the value of the Izula 2 with scales, which trumps this colaborative nife as is. Rhyms with abortive, also which makes senss in this case. Best, Acid
KA-BAR ESEE BK14 Becker Eskabar Knife 3-1/4" 1095 Cro-Van Carbon Steel Blade
rated 1 stars out of 5
Mikec
Lafayette, LA
Nov 17, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: None
Was totally and completely unimpressed, No way it could live up to my expectations Didn't like overall size and handle was really awkward. Total disappointment with Eskabar.