Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw 1074 Camp 18 Fixed 18" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles

Kershaw 1074 Camp 18 Fixed 18" Blade, Sure-Grip Handlesrated 4.000 stars out of 5 (17 reviews)
4 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
7
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
2
Kershaw 1074 Camp 18 Fixed 18 inch Blade, Sure-Grip Handles

 

Price: $56.95

Save $32.29 (36%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw 1074 Camp 18 Fixed 18" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott
Jamestown, RI
Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Amazing knife/machete. I have no idea how Kershaw sells this knife at this price point. I used it to clear 1/2 acre of overgrown land and after a few minutes I wasn't even reaching for my axe anymore. It cut through heavy 2" vines and I even chopped down a small tree with it. It is a lot heavier than a typical machete, more like an 18" Ka-Bar. I highly recommend this knife for heavy use.
Kershaw 1074 Camp 18 Fixed 18" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marc M.
Cleveland, OH, USA
Aug 02, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Amazing Value!
I collect knives and have at least a dozen Kershaws of various kinds. When I saw the Camp 18 I was immediately attracted to the design - somewhere between a latin machete and a short cutlass. I did some research and found that reviewers loved it, so I ordered one. It lives up to the reviews. Fit and finish are perfect, except for a rattle in the otherwise excellent sheath. The sheath is readily adaptable for left, right, cross draw, high, and low carry. I've never seen such a nice edge on a big knife at this price point. It's not only very sharp right out of the box, the grind is perfectly centered and it's even polished! It looks better than the edge of my new ESEE Junglas. I bought the Camp 18 for clearing brush in my backyard and my daughter's, but it's so pretty that I hesitate to beat it up, although other reviewers have described it to be a workhorse that gets the job done and retains that lovely edge. I've got big, ugly machetes that will get the job done. This beauty will likely join my small collection of blades that are too perfect to risk scratching up. I'm thinking about ordering another one to be a beater. The rattle in the sheath was easily cured by cutting a foam earplug in half, sticking it on the tip of the blade, and sheathing it.
Kershaw 1074 Camp 18 Fixed 18" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
David
Lake Stevens, WA
Sep 22, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Finish
Cons: None
A new favorite
Just used the Camp 18 to clear some overgrowth bordering my yard. When I first received it, I thought it might be a bit heavy for easy use, but the forward weight, plus the fact that it arrived wickedly sharp, made powering through alder and maple saplings, along with some cedar branches up to about an inch in diameter a breeze. And don't forget the ever present PNW blackberry vines. Raining light and steady in Western Washington today, but with the grip design and material, it was very sure and stable in the hand. It appears very well made, so I have high hopes for durability and a long use life. Doubt I'll be using it to prepare meals around camp, but I guess I'll have a good defense tool as well if the zombies, aliens, or whatever invade the Pacific Northwest. I guess my only complaint is that it made brush-whacking easy enough that I cut down way more stuff than I really wanted to pick up. Price was very reasonable.
Kershaw 1074 Camp 18 Fixed 18" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert C
Kitchener, On
Sep 05, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: None
short gladius
good for heavy brush and zombies, use lanyard on the front hole and you can really swing it hard. I use both holes for a long lanyard that winds around fingers goes under palm and hook my thumb over it. I dont even have to grip it hard and it stays secure.
Kershaw 1074 Camp 18 Fixed 18" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brett R
Jacksonbille, FL
Dec 02, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Machete?
I purchased the 1074 18 inch essentially out of curiosity, having already obtained the Kershaw Camp 14", which I would also highly recommend. The 1074 18" appears to be very well-made in all regards. The blade arrived quite sharp, and so far has maintained its cutting edge very well. As advertised, this is a heavy blade, and not meant to be used to clear light brush like a machete though it can be used as such for small areas. However, unlike a machete, you can cut your own way through pretty much anything that stands in your way, thick tree vines, fallen limbs, etc. The texture of the grip decreases slippage, and the curved design of the handle seems to focus the power of the blade at the point of impact. Eventually, you will be looking for your gloves. Overall, I would've rated the Camp 18 as a 4.5, only because it lacks the overall utility of the Camp 14. The sheath is functional and durable but does rattle a bit. So far, I have had no problem sneaking up on vines and downed tree limbs. In summary, I use the Camp 18 more, and my chainsaw less.
Kershaw 1074 Camp 18 Fixed 18" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marc M
Cleveland, Oh
Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
I'm very impressed with the Camp 18
I bought a Cold Steel Magnum Kukri machete to clear some brush. I was disappointed in the quality. It wasn't sharp, the grind was off-center, and it didn't sharpen very well. I heard good things about the Camp 18 and I've had good experiences with Kershaw products, so I bought one. At this price point, it's pretty amazing. The edge is not only sharp, it's polished! I cleared brush for an hour and found that it holds that edge well though hard use. It had no nicks and the powder coat held up well. The grind is perfectly centered. The handle is very comfortable and grippy. The hard plastic sheath is well made and set up for a range of carry methods. I see only two minor negatives. The blade rattles in the sheath, which is easily corrected by sticking a foam ear plug in the bottom. I'm left handed and wanted to rearrange the sheath for cross draw from the right side. I couldn't remove the screws holding the retention strap without stripping the heads (soft metal screws). I'll have to drill out the screws and replace them with better hardware. The Kershaw Camp 18 is an incredible value.
Kershaw 1074 Camp 18 Fixed 18" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
Fullerton, Ca
Aug 01, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Purchase, super satisfied
awesome blade, the minute I pulled it out of the package I was satisfied. Took it with me camping to mammoth and it held up great!
Kershaw 1074 Camp 18 Fixed 18" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mike
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Materials
Cons: None
Kershaw 1074 18" Camp knife
Awesome blade and comes with a good sheath. It has a good feel of quality that many in this size range lack. It is a speciality knife and is a little (pun intended) big for general use, but great for clearing or chopping around the camp site. Fast shipping and the lowest price on a great product makes this purchase a no brainier.
Kershaw 1074 Camp 18 Fixed 18" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Robert
Fla
Oct 01, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Seems good for the price
Overall happy except the sheath.
Kershaw 1074 Camp 18 Fixed 18" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Charles Wi
Spain
Jul 01, 2014
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
- Kershaw 1074 Camp 18.
Good and confortable Machete, lightweight and sharp so you can use it pretty easy over time; good handle for use with the naked hand but i'll recomend to use gloves. Is a great tool for clean paths and use as survival/bivac tool. The rigid sheat offers many ways of attach it to belts, backpacks or vests and also even to the leg using some cord; is a great buy that im proud of.
Kershaw 1074 Camp 18 Fixed 18" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bob
Dayton,Ohio
Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Nice Machete
I am using it to cut wild brush in the back of the property. The balance is really good and the length is great to prevent from bending over to much to chop the base of the brush. Seems to hold it's edge fairly well, although I am chopping into the ground a lot which absolutely dulls the edge. The size makes it difficult to handle when sharpening. The sheath is okay, but I do not see much use for it since I am not hiking with it. It's just a way to store the knife. I am overall pleased with the machete, after it's use is over with the brush, it will still be a good weapon for the Zombie apocalypse.
Kershaw 1074 Camp 18 Fixed 18" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tim
Ohio
Feb 02, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Brush Crusher
I have used this primarily for clearing brush along my property line. It is heavy enough to easily handle small trees, but light enough that you don't feel like you don't feel like you are trying to swat flies with a sledge hammer when you need to deal with brambles and other smaller underbrush. The only downside to me is the scabbard. I will be making a custom leather sheath to replace the clunky, awkward thing it came with.
Kershaw 1074 Camp 18 Fixed 18" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Devon
Ontario, Canada
Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Materials, Sheath/Scabbard
Great blade, excellent price
This is a fantastic blade! Came in the mail very quickly and razor sharp out of the box. The blade is durable, I had cut a few old small trees down in my yard and the blade is still sharp! Handle feels perfect in the hand with the perfect length. Weight is distributed nicely towards the top of the blade for chopping. Some cons are, the sheath does not hold the blade completely in place (like a kydex) unless you use the retaining strap, the blade is loose in the hard plastic sheath. It is a full tang construction but the pommel of the handle is a hard plastic so if you were to hit something with the pommel I feel it might crack the plastic. Aside from that this machete is amazing for its price!
Kershaw 1074 Camp 18 Fixed 18" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Gary S
Umkomaas, Other
Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Excellent value for money
I've used this cutting brush and small trees and branches up to 2". Excellent tool at the price highly recommend it. Handle non slip and rubber checkering can tend to rub a bit when new. Only wish it had a leather sheath therefore 4 stars, but that said sheath is sturdy and secure. A really sturdy tool although not the lightest as the blade is hefty and thick. Oil the edge or it will eventually get surface rust. Was sharp enough to shave my arm when it arrived. I've used many machetes and bush knives and this is truly great product, well balanced, can take a hefty beating and at the price you don't have to be too concerned about it. Really worth recommending. Excellent service from KnifeCentre.
Kershaw 1074 Camp 18 Fixed 18" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Terry M
Kensington, MD
Nov 21, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Kershaw 18"
I love the blade, but the sheath is as bad as the blade is good. It is noisy and clumsy, and the blade does not seem to be properly secured. I don't know why Kershaw did not use a simple, quiet, nylon sheath.
Kershaw 1074 Camp 18 Fixed 18" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Martin
Knysna, South Africa
May 12, 2018
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Material
Camp knife broke in half
My Kershaw Camp 18 broke in half after 2 years. Just used to split wood for making a fire. Really disappointed, it worked so well..
Kershaw 1074 Camp 18 Fixed 18" Blade, Sure-Grip Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Keith M
Snohomish, WA
Jul 31, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Material, Materials
Blade chipped first time out
Bought this in early July when knifecenter had it on sale. I recently bought 6 wooded acres and took this out with me to clear some underbrush. WIthin 30 minutes I noticed the blade had a nickel size half circle chunk missing from it. I wasnt bashing it hard onto anything soild or abusing it in any way. MSg'd Kershaw on their website. One week later havent received any response. Finally called their 800 number and after negotiating a terrible menu finally got a person on the phone. He told me I had to send it in AND pay for shipping to OR. I am very displeased.